Eco Resort Jungle Bay Dominica reopened...

Postby Monk BANzai » July 2nd, 2019, 11:32 pm

Just some shots from a Design/Branding project I recently completed. It's amazing to see what this country has done in just over a year since Hurricanes and storms obliterated this island. Yes I ramble alot about this country becuz they put us to shame when it comes to eco-culture and proper tourism push. Being part of this just opened my eyes so much over the past year to true eco-tourism and what is stands for from a global perspective and how the world LONGS for us as a region to get our acts together. Did i mention ZERO Styrofoam (as of this year) and they are dropping their plastic foot print to 50% consumption by 2020?

Ran across briefly for the opening.

check them out.
https://junglebaydominica.com/

Re: Eco Resort Jungle Bay Dominica reopened...

Postby bluefete » July 2nd, 2019, 11:46 pm

Banzai: Why you coming here this hour of the night to put up some sense.

You doh realize that we will ALWAYS have oil and gas? And if oil and gas ever done, we will always have it. So says Napoleon Bonaparte and Baldy Growlers.

Why you want to educate people about eco-tourism? Don't you know that our Tourism Board is for the Minister and Big shot executives to fly first class and get US$ per diem to go on fancy trips that have no measurable returns for T&T?

Dr. Auliana Poon has been really trying but she is spitting in the wind as long as the PNM and the UNC run this country.

Very nice pictures though.

matix

Postby matix » July 3rd, 2019, 12:20 am

Good stuff

Postby Rory Phoulorie » July 3rd, 2019, 6:24 am

Look at the roof overhangs in those buildings. In Trinidad we like to have lots of shade and have these long roof overhangs which, with the slightest strong wind, gets ripped off and then we go crying about ODPM not helping we. I am truly afraid for T&T when, not if, a hurricane hits us.

Banzai, what kind of timber they used in those buildings? Greenheart?

Nexus

Postby Nexus » July 3rd, 2019, 7:04 am

It's sad, because the raw potential TT holds for ecotourism opportunities far surpass many of these islands, but we are left far behind in the dust.
I'm doing some work that requires input from Min of Tourism and it is horrible. All these years after rebranding or whatever and they still can't get their act together, they sing a song about no funding to do anything, but flying to every conference. Most of the marketing really being done by local tour operators not the agency appointed to do that

Postby adnj » July 3rd, 2019, 8:12 am

When you look at T&T vs DR you see that T&T has:
A lower unemployment rate
An older workforce
Higher average education levels
Higher average wage levels
Higher per capital GDP
A higher standard of living
Smaller population (1/8th)
Less undeveloped land
Less coastline (1/3rd)
Lower mountain range peak height (1/4th)

Higher costs and less variety are the likely reasons that T&T does not draw as many visitors as an eco-tourism destination.

TurboSingh12

Postby TurboSingh12 » July 3rd, 2019, 10:32 am

Such a beauty.

Postby Dizzy28 » July 3rd, 2019, 1:05 pm

bluefete wrote:Banzai: Why you coming here this hour of the night to put up some sense.

You doh realize that we will ALWAYS have oil and gas? And if oil and gas ever done, we will always have it. So says Napoleon Bonaparte and Baldy Growlers.

Why you want to educate people about eco-tourism? Don't you know that our Tourism Board is for the Minister and Big shot executives to fly first class and get US$ per diem to go on fancy trips that have no measurable returns for T&T?

Dr. Auliana Poon has been really trying but she is spitting in the wind as long as the PNM and the UNC run this country.

Very nice pictures though.

Was speaking with someone from the EU last week and they were telling me that it really is a shame that Dr Poon has done tourism consultancies for some 18 countries in the region but never for T&T which is where she is based.

We like the people telling us to do stuff to be blonde haired and blue eyed.

Postby hustla_ambition101 » July 3rd, 2019, 2:49 pm

adnj wrote:When you look at T&T vs DR you see that T&T has:
An older workforce
Higher per capital GDP
Less undeveloped land
Less coastline (1/3rd)

Higher costs and less variety are the likely reasons that T&T does not draw as many visitors as an eco-tourism destination.
Its 2019, time to stop confusing Dominica and The Dominican Republic (DR).

Postby adnj » July 3rd, 2019, 4:10 pm

hustla_ambition101 wrote:
adnj wrote:When you look at T&T vs DR you see that T&T has:
An older workforce
Higher per capital GDP
Less undeveloped land
Less coastline (1/3rd)

Its 2019, time to stop confusing Dominica and The Dominican Republic (DR).

Yes, I have been known to do that. Dominica is one of the least visited Carribean islands, has many varied types of natural features, and superior scuba diving sites, IMHO.

Everything else still holds true: cost and variety.

Postby VexXx Dogg » July 3rd, 2019, 7:19 pm

Wow. I for one would love to visit