Costatt is really a PNM thing for government work , or jobs for the boys.shake d livin wake d dead wrote:what he said...^
and not bashing here eh....but I spoke to some HR personnel in a recruiting department and they stated that when they see qualifications from
SAMS
SITAL
COSTATT etc etc
they just put that application aside...UWI or Arthur Lok Jack or some international university is what they go for...shrugs shoulders..
as I said before...I'd stick to being bilingual or multilingual
SNIPER 3000 wrote:Any info on the Oil and Gas MBA at stial, CTS or SHEL?
Thnaks.
Ryan197912 wrote:All MBA'S are a waste of time unless you have a solid foundation in a functional area at the undergrad level
thelem-again wrote:Been through this entire thread and everyone who's saying that having a MBA's is a waste of time is providing misleading information.
Having an MBA is really based on where you are, where you want to be. It's meant to prepare you for greater exposure in upper to executive management.
IMO, if you're in an organization long enough in a supervisory to middle management, then a MBA will help you foster and develop your Leadership skills and promote strategic thinking.
agent007 wrote:Sniper, it appears you are still confused and undecided. Tell us what is your profession, current position and educational background. An MBA with oil and gas specialism is 20yrs late in this country but better be late than never.
Tell us what area you from? SITAL, CTS and SHEL are catering for almost the same kind of person just in different areas. What is important for you? Parking, admin assistance/customer service, lecturer support, study rooms, access to libraries and cost?
So much more things I can pull up. So, let’s get granular and we can help you decide if any of these 3 schools is a right fit for you or say another one like SAMs.
agent007 wrote:I still cannot add value to your concerns without having a proper background on yourself and what you truly expect. So to be broad, let me summarize it as this from a T&T viewpoint:
Most highly ranked MBA available: HWU - SBCS
Best indigenous MBA: ALJGSB
Most affordable MBA: UoB - CTS, SHEL, SITAL
Best MBA facilities: ARU - SAM
Most parking: ALJGSB
Best lecturer to student support: ARU - SAM
Best library: ALJGSB
Best customer service: UoB - CTS
Most appreciated MBA for career advancement locally: ALJGSB
Most appreciated MBA for career advancement regionally and internationally: HWU - SBCS
If you like exams then HWU - SBCS.
If you like a combination of coursework and exams then ARU - SAM.
If you like coursework - UoB - CTS, SHEL, SITAL
Cramming for exams is typical and some can leave HWU - SBCS without a clue as to what they’ve done. I’m talking about retention of what was learnt. Getting the opportunity to makeup marks via exam from coursework or vice versa is important for some also and that means ARU - SAM would be your practical choice. If you just like to type, and do a lot of it, then the UoB trio would be your choice.
I like the practicality and contemporary topics offered by UoB. I like the array of options available via HWU and I like the intensity of ALJGSB. Lastly, I like the ARU approach as it’s the most mind friendly one of this bunch.
Concerning the USC MBA, I guess if you have an allegiance to the SDA church then maybe that’s the one for you but I can’t go any further.
Costs subject to confirmation:
ALJGSB:
$128,060. IMBA
Figure includes programme costs, student services fees and registration fees.
SBCS:
$98,244. General MBA
$120,076. Specialist MBA
Figures include tuition, registration and university fees.
SAM:
$81,071.
Figure include tuition, executive support (optional), registration, thesis and university fees.
CTS:
$44,774.
Figure includes tuition, registration and university fees. A discount of $6,000. will be given to specially qualified attendees of the free information session.
Good luck.
agent007 wrote:I’m a current and former stakeholder of all mentioned. I know all the facilities well and have information packets. Based on what I mentioned, it’s actually facts coupled with my opinions.
agent007 wrote:I still cannot add value to your concerns without having a proper background on yourself and what you truly expect. So to be broad, let me summarize it as this from a T&T viewpoint:
Most highly ranked MBA available: HWU - SBCS #personal-opinion
Best indigenous MBA: ALJGSB #dubious (you mean "local"?)
Most affordable MBA: UoB - CTS, SHEL, SITAL #objective
Best MBA facilities: ARU - SAM #personal-opinion
Most parking: ALJGSB #objective
Best lecturer to student support: ARU - SAM #personal-opinion
Best library: ALJGSB #dubious (what is "best library"?)
Best customer service: UoB - CTS #personal-opinion
Most appreciated MBA for career advancement locally: ALJGSB #personal-opinion
Most appreciated MBA for career advancement regionally and internationally: HWU - SBCS #personal-opinion
If you like exams then HWU - SBCS. #personal-opinion
If you like a combination of coursework and exams then ARU - SAM. #personal-opinion
If you like coursework - UoB - CTS, SHEL, SITAL #personal-opinion
Cramming for exams is typical and some can leave HWU - SBCS without a clue as to what they’ve done. I’m talking about retention of what was learnt. Getting the opportunity to makeup marks via exam from coursework or vice versa is important for some also and that means ARU - SAM would be your practical choice. If you just like to type, and do a lot of it, then the UoB trio would be your choice.
I like the practicality and contemporary topics offered by UoB. I like the array of options available via HWU and I like the intensity of ALJGSB. Lastly, I like the ARU approach as it’s the most mind friendly one of this bunch.
Concerning the USC MBA, I guess if you have an allegiance to the SDA church then maybe that’s the one for you but I can’t go any further.
ALJGSB:
$128,060. IMBA
SBCS:
$98,244. General MBA
$120,076. Specialist MBA
SAM:
$81,071.
Figure include tuition, executive support (optional), registration, thesis and university fees.
CTS:
$44,774.
Figure includes tuition, registration and university fees. A discount of $6,000. will be given to specially qualified attendees of the free information session.
Good luck.
FrankChag wrote:agent007 wrote:I’m a current and former stakeholder of all mentioned. I know all the facilities well and have information packets. Based on what I mentioned, it’s actually facts coupled with my opinions.
Not saying you're wrong, but most seem to be your personal opinion...
Also, the UWI has an MSc Management and MSc Leadership & Strategic Management.agent007 wrote:I still cannot add value to your concerns without having a proper background on yourself and what you truly expect. So to be broad, let me summarize it as this from a T&T viewpoint:
Most highly ranked MBA available: HWU - SBCS #personal-opinion
Best indigenous MBA: ALJGSB #dubious (you mean "local"?)
Most affordable MBA: UoB - CTS, SHEL, SITAL #objective
Best MBA facilities: ARU - SAM #personal-opinion
Most parking: ALJGSB #objective
Best lecturer to student support: ARU - SAM #personal-opinion
Best library: ALJGSB #dubious (what is "best library"?)
Best customer service: UoB - CTS #personal-opinion
Most appreciated MBA for career advancement locally: ALJGSB #personal-opinion
Most appreciated MBA for career advancement regionally and internationally: HWU - SBCS #personal-opinion
If you like exams then HWU - SBCS. #personal-opinion
If you like a combination of coursework and exams then ARU - SAM. #personal-opinion
If you like coursework - UoB - CTS, SHEL, SITAL #personal-opinion
ALJGSB:
$128,060. IMBA
SBCS:
$98,244. General MBA
$120,076. Specialist MBA
SAM:
$81,071.
CTS:
$44,774.
Good luck.
Joshie23 wrote: Frank, it seems as though you're just as 'opinionated' as 007, (whose review was excellent, by the way) but he offered some logic and insight into why he said what he said (which is the purpose of the thread), however you just opposed his review without providing any background info of your own.How about strengthening your argument and offer some 'facts' and experiences of your own?
Most highly ranked MBA available: HWU - SBCS
Best indigenous MBA: ALJGSB
Most affordable MBA: UoB - CTS, SHEL, SITAL
Best MBA facilities: ARU - SAM
Most parking: ALJGSB
Best lecturer to student support: ARU - SAM
Best library: ALJGSB
Best customer service: UoB - CTS
Most appreciated MBA for career advancement locally: ALJGSB
Most appreciated MBA for career advancement regionally and internationally: HWU - SBCS
If you like exams then HWU - SBCS.
If you like a combination of coursework and exams then ARU - SAM.
If you like coursework - UoB - CTS, SHEL, SITAL
ALJGSB:
$128,060. IMBA
SBCS:
$98,244. General MBA
$120,076. Specialist MBA
SAM:
$81,071.
CTS:
$44,774.
Good luck.
Good advise.The days of having a degree or masters and getting a good job are gone. There are open scholarships winners with degrees from top international universities struggling to get a job. People should treat education like an investment and ensure they can get a ROI before pursuing.shake d livin wake d dead wrote:the amount ah people running down that strategic leadership thing from UWI is mind blowing....and these people manage to be more chupid after they complete the program...
my 2 cents....MBA and masters etc etc in this country is a WOFT....unless you planning on teaching or you are already well poised in a company and up for promotion which requires a higher level of education (then by all means)....other than that, save that money and invest in something...
there are thousands of people with masters and their salary aint cross 10k yet..if you want to do a masters just for the sake of saying "I have ah masters" then fix up....unless you or your family are well known and you can score a good job, suck salt with yuh masters
FrankChag wrote:Joshie23 wrote: Frank, it seems as though you're just as 'opinionated' as 007, (whose review was excellent, by the way) but he offered some logic and insight into why he said what he said (which is the purpose of the thread), however you just opposed his review without providing any background info of your own.How about strengthening your argument and offer some 'facts' and experiences of your own?
Sigh... you should read more about personal opinions vs objective facts.
I think crash course has a series on media literacy you might want to chk out also.
Joshie23 wrote:FrankChag wrote:Joshie23 wrote: Frank, it seems as though you're just as 'opinionated' as 007, (whose review was excellent, by the way) but he offered some logic and insight into why he said what he said (which is the purpose of the thread), however you just opposed his review without providing any background info of your own.How about strengthening your argument and offer some 'facts' and experiences of your own?
I think crash course has a series on media literacy you might want to chk out also.
So you don't have any facts to debunk 007 or corroborate your own argument...lol. Thanks for your time, I guess.
FrankChag wrote:Not saying you're wrong, but most seem to be your personal opinion...
neilsingh100 wrote:Good advise.The days of having a degree or masters and getting a good job are gone. There are open scholarships winners with degrees from top international universities struggling to get a job. People should treat education like an investment and ensure they can get a ROI before pursuing.shake d livin wake d dead wrote:the amount ah people running down that strategic leadership thing from UWI is mind blowing....and these people manage to be more chupid after they complete the program...
my 2 cents....MBA and masters etc etc in this country is a WOFT....unless you planning on teaching or you are already well poised in a company and up for promotion which requires a higher level of education (then by all means)....other than that, save that money and invest in something...
there are thousands of people with masters and their salary aint cross 10k yet..if you want to do a masters just for the sake of saying "I have ah masters" then fix up....unless you or your family are well known and you can score a good job, suck salt with yuh masters
FrankChag wrote:Joshie23 wrote:FrankChag wrote:Joshie23 wrote: Frank, it seems as though you're just as 'opinionated' as 007, (whose review was excellent, by the way) but he offered some logic and insight into why he said what he said (which is the purpose of the thread), however you just opposed his review without providing any background info of your own.How about strengthening your argument and offer some 'facts' and experiences of your own?
So you don't have any facts to debunk 007 or corroborate your own argument...lol. Thanks for your time, I guess.
You must not have read when I said to the goodly gentleman/gentlelady "agent007"...FrankChag wrote:Not saying you're wrong, but most seem to be your personal opinion...
You seem also not to be understanding that it's (scientifically) "okay" to challenge someone on the internet when they give their personal opinion on a matter. The goodly gentleman/gentlelady seemed to understand that and responded accordingly in a respectful way, pretty much indicating that he had based his statements on some objective facts, and that he is perhaps more informed on the matter than the rest of us.. which is also fine (ref. the delphi method).
What is not fine is when some idiot (who clearly went to sital or shel), doesnt understand the first thing about the different between facts and opinions.
shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Another piece of my 2 cents...I have been in conversations with mangers and hr people...when hiring they tend to look for graduates from arthur lok jack first because according to them, ALJ is more recognised and not watered down like
Sams
Sital
Sbcs etc
All this sheit about masters in a year blah blah