Energy Policy-Why Not Nuclear Power for TnT?

Re: Energy Policy-Why Not Nuclear Power for TnT?

Postby rspann » November 9th, 2019, 9:56 am

The party hacks on a 5 years shift and the feeding frenzy they indulge in is what have us where we are. Think about the amount of money that went through the country like a dose of senna over our years since independence and where we would have been today had it been put to proper use. If they have gov't projects as a policy programme and people start making serious jail for public funds, these and other projects like a mass transit system and water for all could become reality. Don't feel I was bashing your idea ,I was just looking at it from where we are as a nation presently.

Postby Redman » November 9th, 2019, 10:14 am

Nah- we leaving the bashing for the chirren in the peanut gallery.

I have no brief for Adv Nuc-I think it provocative as fk tho....and I have my 10 year old that will be part of TnT for the next 100+ years.

I am interested in what people think of the bulb idea in the last budget-and the chart.

carluva

Postby carluva » November 9th, 2019, 2:27 pm

Look. The energy policy in this country is $hit.

The underlying 50+ year principle is that produce gas cheap, collect royalties and taxes from the energy companies and pass on those cheap savings to the population through subsidies.

That's why ppl bawl when fuel prices went up.

That's why trinis have a gimme gimme mentality. Because our energy economy was never based on getting top $ for hydrocarbons and then monetise the same to better the country.

That's why now we are in a bind because now that gas contracts (both production and supply) are coming up for renewal, the govt is now tryna do something different and can't because now, all the cheap shallow water blocks of gas runny low and deep water production is expensive to the point where it's not economically viable.

That's why T&TEC operate at a loss and WASA too.

If our economy was structured differently, energy policy wise, all the billions that flowed through and out into the pockets of foreign multi-nationals could have stayed here and be used to make Trinidad an IT or finance hub of the region.

But noone has vision. So, it's easier to get 1 billion over three years than it is to get 10 billion over 10 years. Those in power simply prefer to get money quick rather than wait for it to grow.

This is but one of the reasons our country is so backward. But if the population can realise that we need to band out bellies for a few years then who knows, maybe we can prosper.

Postby adnj » November 9th, 2019, 3:12 pm

Redman wrote:Nah- we leaving the bashing for the chirren in the peanut gallery.

I have no brief for Adv Nuc-I think it provocative as fk tho....and I have my 10 year old that will be part of TnT for the next 100+ years.

I am interested in what people think of the bulb idea in the last budget-and the chart.
That chart implies total electricity consumption will be reduced but I have no idea how many incandescent bulbs are in service.

What I do know is that the average CFL on a 10% duty cycle will save about 410 kWh per year. The CFL exchange will save about 165 GWh per year. But had LED lamps been used instead, the savings would have been bumped to 215 GWh.

Postby Redman » November 9th, 2019, 4:44 pm

Well Less technically directed ...That was presented at by Kev Ramnarine in 2015.
https://www.slideshare.net/lokjackgsb/p ... rgy-sector

Yet the concept is being

A Good idea regardless of who presents it-a fkin pointless exercise if not executed.

At some point in our near future -we have some hard decisions to make.

Postby rspann » November 9th, 2019, 4:56 pm

Doh worry, when Kamla win the elections next year ,she will implement it. :drinking:

Postby Redman » November 9th, 2019, 5:52 pm

Isn’t bad enough that this is In the national Budget?

Postby rspann » November 9th, 2019, 6:00 pm

]I find that lots of good ideas are presented in budgets (and manifestos) to make it sound like they have a plan,especially in election years. Most times they have no real intention to implement. Something like diversification , local government reform and campaign finance reform.

Postby Redman » November 10th, 2019, 9:20 am

Sure- there good ideas-but we get one year plans- lofty ideas sounds good...and then nothing-
What % of PNM/UNC/NAR have been accomplished ves ALL of the money being spent.

So a regurgitated idea-that as adnj succinctly points out-should be on its second round of tech upgrade...cfl to LED.

But PNM announces it-amid rara/booboo depending on what which 3 letters you subscribe-the UNC criticizes it- but it is 4 years behind on implementation-and we IF for example we did infact implement on time- what would the benefits have been-xs gas? more rev? etc...

Rgdless of the timing- WE need to start talking about the Generation of Elec in TnT -post NG.

What is the situation if we ballz that up-have the take or pays in place....and have insufficient local supply of NG-or have to import?

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » November 11th, 2019, 7:44 pm

Natural Gas Is Fighting For Survival

By Irina Slav - Nov 11, 2019, 3:00 PM CST

Natural gas has been hailed as the bridge fuel between the fossil fuel economy of the past and present, and the renewables economy of the future. With renewable energy costs falling steadily and considerably, some are beginning to worry that gas is facing increasingly fierce competition amid fast-growing supply.

A recent couple of reports from a nonprofit organization promoting renewable energy suggested solar and wind, plus storage, could become cheaper than most gas-fired power plants in the United States in just 16 years.

Ragnor

Postby Ragnor » November 11th, 2019, 9:11 pm

Okay, so there seem to be some misconceptions in this thread so ill post a few things that know I personally. (Feel free to correct)

The total power consumption of Trinidad and Tobago is around 1370 MW. In the early days power was supplied by 3 main entities, POWERGEN NORTH, POWERGEN SOUTH and TRINITY Power.

POWERGEN NORTH closed its operations since TRINIDAD GENERATION UNLIMITED came onstream. There was no need for that excess capacity. Since the total contracted power by T&TEC is approximately 1760 MW.

There exists a surplus of power as at 2017 of 388 MW because of these contracts, as far as I know, have not been renegotiated. The surplus exists bc capacity was allocated for Mittal, the aluminum plant and petrotrin.

TGU produces 720 MW at full capacity and since it uses steam turbines it saves about $TTD 1 million in gas per day when compared to other facilities.

As 2014 the cost of production per kilowatt for 18.25 for TGU, 26 cents for PN and 19 cents for Trinity.

Renewable energy makes no sense in Trinidad for two reasons, there is a surplus of energy and scalability. The efficiency in renewable energy is around 20% whereas gas has an efficiency of 90%. So to increase ouput you need more solar panels and wind turbines per square mile.

Postby Redman » November 12th, 2019, 6:32 am

I believe TGU generates most of its power from NG via 6 NG Generators
It captures xs heat from the NG to power 2 steam generators

Ragnor

Postby Ragnor » November 12th, 2019, 6:47 am

Redman wrote:I believe TGU generates most of its power from NG via 6 NG Generators
It captures xs heat from the NG to power 2 steam generators

This is correct. The plant consists of 6 GE gas turbines offering a combined output of 450 MW. Waste head from the exhaust are then directed to plant’s heat recovery generators which produce steam. The steam produced from these generators can power 2 steam turbines which can produce an additional 270 MW without any added consumption of natural gas.

Which is how they save the $TT 1 Million per day.

Postby Redman » November 12th, 2019, 6:54 am

What happens after Nat. Gas?

Postby zoom rader » November 12th, 2019, 7:04 am

Redman wrote:What happens after Nat. Gas?
Not our problem we will all be 6 ft under.

Ragnor

Postby Ragnor » November 12th, 2019, 7:07 am

Talk has been they use Geo Thermal Energy (similar to what is being built in Dominica) plus the creation of a new solar park through a JV with MPC. The average cost for renewable energy is USD$0.135 kWh compared to the regional average of fossil fuel consumption of USD$0.33 kWh.

The problem is energy efficiency and wasteful behavior. Roughly 43 percent of all house­holds in the coun­try used more than 1000kwh. This is probably fueled by the subsidy on electricity. Additionally, to generate the output required via Renewable Energy requires massive technological investment and space. Something Trinidad does not have (since the energy efficiency for RE is around 20%).

Nuclear energy is definitely out since waste is an issue. The plant would generate approximately .00015 grams of waste per kWh electricity. Waste disposal is becoming a global issue as there is excess.

Sadly, I don't think T&T will ever become carbon neutral unless the energy efficiency in RE is improved.

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » November 12th, 2019, 7:54 am

Trinidad express

SPEAKING at the opening of the BP Statistical Review of World Energy, Claire Fitzpatrick, Regional President of bpTT, announced that BP had submitted a bid to the Ministry of Energy and Energy Industries (MEEI) for a commercial scale solar power project with partners Lightsource BP and Royal Dutch Shell.

interest (EOI) for utility scale renewable energy (RE) projects. The EOIs that were received were evaluated and a short list of companies were invited to a request for proposals (RFP) phase, which closed at the end of June this year.

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » November 12th, 2019, 8:03 am

Guardian

With­in the next two years, ten per cent of the coun­try’s elec­tric­i­ty will come from re­new­able re­sources. Ac­cord­ing to Pub­lic Util­i­ties Min­is­ter Robert Le Hunte by 2021 T&T must be­come more de­pen­dent on re­new­able en­er­gy be­cause of the Unit­ed Na­tions (UN) Paris Agree­ment for the low­er­ing of green­house gas emis­sions.

Postby Redman » November 12th, 2019, 8:42 am

Ragnor wrote:

Talk has been they use Geo Thermal Energy (similar to what is being built in Dominica) plus the creation of a new solar park through a JV with MPC. The average cost for renewable energy is USD$0.135 kWh compared to the regional average of fossil fuel consumption of USD$0.33 kWh.

The problem is energy efficiency and wasteful behavior. Roughly 43 percent of all house­holds in the coun­try used more than 1000kwh. This is probably fueled by the subsidy on electricity. Additionally, to generate the output required via Renewable Energy requires massive technological investment and space. Something Trinidad does not have (since the energy efficiency for RE is around 20%).

Nuclear energy is definitely out since waste is an issue. The plant would generate approximately .00015 grams of waste per kWh electricity. Waste disposal is becoming a global issue as there is excess.

Sadly, I don't think T&T will ever become carbon neutral unless the energy efficiency in RE is improved.

Advanced Nuclear reduces the waste volumetrically and the amount of radiation in the waste.

Also what are our factual reserves of Natural Gas?

Postby adnj » November 12th, 2019, 1:45 pm

Ragnor wrote:

The problem is energy efficiency and wasteful behavior. Roughly 43 percent of all house­holds in the coun­try used more than 1000kwh. This is probably fueled by the subsidy on electricity.
Additionally, to generate the output required via Renewable Energy requires massive technological investment and space. Something Trinidad does not have (since the energy efficiency for RE is around 20%).

NG is 90%+ efficient meaning that nearly all of the heat generated is converted electrify.

Renewables are less than 20% efficient meaning that more than 80% of the wind and sunshine is converted. But wind blowing and sun shining happens anyway.

There is also the opportunity to vastly increase the efficency of renewables in both storage and conversion. Which is current research in many Universities with new tech coming online within 10 years.

Postby bluefete » November 12th, 2019, 1:47 pm

Once you are dealing with radiation we dead, because which government is going to pass legislation to ensure that the nuclear company does the right thing?

Did you see what happened in JAPAN which has some of the best nuclear systems in the world?

The population of Japan is about 160 million. The population of T&T is 1.3-1.4 million. The island size is much smaller. Do the math.

Renewable energy using wind turbines will require substantial land space to be close to effective.

Solar can be feasible but will still require lots of space for the panels depending on output required. But Barbados is making it work.

Postby Redman » November 12th, 2019, 2:32 pm

Bluefete- tell us how many peopled died from Radiation associated illnesses in the fukishima incident.

Link it when you done

Different Technology-so Fukishima is irrelevant beyond the emotional knee jerk reaction.

If we having a discussion at least lets discuss the same technology

Postby pugboy » November 12th, 2019, 3:01 pm

I suspect it is unlikely we will run out of ng to supply electricity generation just like that to dead zero.

Simply because by that time the major users
Pt lisas plants etc would have packed up shop due to supply volume shortages making them no longer profitable and the ng left in the ground should be enough for ttec.

We already have ng delivery shortfall issues.

Postby RedVEVO » November 12th, 2019, 3:14 pm

Yes , yes , yes ... or yes

Let's ask the Chinese Gov't to install or set up a Nuclear Plant in Trinidad .

We will be financed and supported by the Russians y Cubans y Venezuelans .

PNM have no vision . They build a walk over, and a fish market and waiting to suck on property taxes.

Welcome Rosneft !!

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » November 12th, 2019, 3:16 pm

Based on reports we will have 10 percent of out electricity by Solar by 2021

As I posted above this is a commitment to the Paris Accord

Short listing has occurred and RFQ has already already been sent out

If it can be done for 10 percent then this can be extended

We have lots of sun here based on improving solar technology there is no need for nuclear plants

Postby De Dragon » November 12th, 2019, 5:07 pm

Redman wrote:Bluefete- tell us how many peopled died from Radiation associated illnesses in the fukishima incident.

Link it when you done

Different Technology-so Fukishima is irrelevant beyond the emotional knee jerk reaction.

If we having a discussion at least lets discuss the same technology

What is the contaminated area exclusion zone around Chernobyl and Fukushima?. Radioactive fallout is not the only contamination from nuclear powered accidents.

Postby Redman » November 12th, 2019, 8:12 pm

Well no one has died and see for yourself what the analysis says about the radiation levels post accident
Here is the link -
https://www.world-nuclear.org/informati ... ident.aspx

And of course today Russia is pressing ahead on the Advanced Nuc expansion.
As are China and India
But what do they know?

Interesting info on radiation levels
https://xkcd.com/radiation/

..its different technology.

Advanced Nuclear does not involve the high pressure and the possibility of the run away reactions.
It was designed to AVOID most if not all of the pitfalls of the Gen1 and 2 reactors-Light Water Reactors.

You are making a point based on 1970 design.
Are we doing that with anything else?

Postby RedVEVO » November 13th, 2019, 2:51 pm

Nuclear power is the way to go in TT .

We have this and we will have investments and revenue like crazy ants .

Solar is dead .

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » November 13th, 2019, 3:01 pm

RedVEVO wrote:^^

Nuclear power is the way to go in TT .

We have this and we will have investments and revenue like crazy ants .

Solar is dead .
We will be 10 percent solar by 2021

Obviously solar is not dead

On a small scale .ist of the lights on the Manza stretch is solar

The SH high way has many solar lights between the east and west bound lanes

Trinidad with 12 hour days are ideal for solar

I have changed out all my dusk to dawn to solar and I get bright lights for the whole night

Postby RedVEVO » November 13th, 2019, 3:07 pm

TT is a dot on a map.

We have nuclear energy we can be a star .

We have to have vision .

Rowley will keep us slaves forever .

Manning had vision .

He was my hero.