TINT LAWS IN TRINIDAD & TOBAGO

Re: TINT LAWS IN TRINIDAD & TOBAGO

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » July 31st, 2024, 4:59 am

PariaMan wrote:Where is the evidence that tint causes crime?

Heinz say is so... So is so

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » July 31st, 2024, 5:47 am

redmanjp wrote:

possibly criminals would want to use dark tint to evade being seen as well as try to hide any weapons they have from ttps simply glancing around at vehicles. though if they usually have a stolen car it would mean stealing cars which already have dark tint vs putting it on themselves.

but we are not the only country with tint laws- the US have them as well the only difference is they always used % instead of an officer deciding if your tint too dark and we now keatch up to that.

The issue isn't the enforcement of tint laws. The issue (or at least, my issue) is the predictable knee-jerk reaction of the police to rising crime is merely more road blocks and checks for tint and fogs.

Always has been, always will be.

I called it as soon as the announcement of the "full force of the law" was brought up by the Gov't.:
Untitled.jpg

What about all those high-risk areas that Chris Must List showed in his videos? And the gangs and guns shown there? Do we really think those areas should be left alone? Why?

Should those gangs not be broken up and arrested? If not, why?

Is there any chance those gangs are involved in:

- Kidnappings?

- Murders?

- Home invasions?

- Car theft and robberies?

But no - arrest the messenger and not the source.

But no - the law just wants to stand about and let "criminals" drive up to them.

But no - just target the working population who's actually keeping the country afloat. Who's keeping the economy and gas in motion. Who keeps paying taxes and keeping the powers-that-be in power.

Again, it seems to me (speculation) that the powers-that-be are fully capable of bringing crime down, and CAN do it, but are being hamstrung by "other powers" and prevented from doing so.

Postby zoom rader » July 31st, 2024, 8:41 am

Alpha_2nr wrote:
redmanjp wrote:

possibly criminals would want to use dark tint to evade being seen as well as try to hide any weapons they have from ttps simply glancing around at vehicles. though if they usually have a stolen car it would mean stealing cars which already have dark tint vs putting it on themselves.

but we are not the only country with tint laws- the US have them as well the only difference is they always used % instead of an officer deciding if your tint too dark and we now keatch up to that.

The issue isn't the enforcement of tint laws. The issue (or at least, my issue) is the predictable knee-jerk reaction of the police to rising crime is merely more road blocks and checks for tint and fogs.

I called it as soon as the announcement of the "full force of the law" was brought up by the Gov't.:
Untitled.jpg

What about all those high-risk areas that Chris Must List showed in his videos? And the gangs and guns shown there? Do we really think those areas should be left alone? Why?

- Kidnappings?

- Murders?

- Home invasions?

But no - the law just wants to stand about and let "criminals" drive up to them.

But no - just target the working population who's actually keeping the country afloat. Who's keeping the economy and gas in motion. Who keeps paying taxes and keeping the powers-that-be in power.

Again, it seems to me (speculation) that the powers-that-be are fully capable of bringing crime down, and CAN do it, but are being hamstrung by "other powers" and prevented from doing so.
Easier to ticket and take advantage of drivers rather that deal with PNM ghetto youths with rented guns.

Its simple, road block PNM hot spots and profile these pest. Lock them in

Postby MaxPower » July 31st, 2024, 9:31 am

zoom rader wrote:Easier to ticket and take advantage of drivers

Exactly.

It’s a comfort zone for the TTPS.

Postby gastly369 » July 31st, 2024, 10:26 am

4 MC stops this morning few hundred ft from each literally.... Defuq mannnnnn

Postby zoom rader » July 31st, 2024, 10:32 am

gastly369 wrote:4 MC stops this morning few hundred ft from each literally.... Defuq mannnnnn
Vote PNM bro

Postby Chimera » July 31st, 2024, 10:44 am

gastly369 wrote:4 MC stops this morning few hundred ft from each literally.... Defuq mannnnnn

lol where that happen?

they stopping everyone or they stop u for some reason

Postby *KRONIK* » July 31st, 2024, 10:53 am

Alpha_2nr wrote:
redmanjp wrote:

Untitled.jpg

- Kidnappings?

- Murders?

- Home invasions?

Easier to ticket and take advantage of drivers rather that deal with PNM ghetto youths with rented guns.

Correk

Why look for the REAL CRIMINALS when you can get the "law-breakers" to come to you

Postby zoom rader » July 31st, 2024, 11:52 am

*KRONIK* wrote:
Alpha_2nr wrote:
redmanjp wrote:

Untitled.jpg

- Kidnappings?

- Murders?

- Home invasions?

Correk

Why look for the REAL CRIMINALS when you can get the "law-breakers" to come to you
No profit in real crime, prisons cost too much.
I think it cost $60 per meal for convict, so $180 food , bed about $250 per day.

Free money in Tickets.

How more stupid can the voting public be.

Kick PNM out

Postby MaxPower » July 31st, 2024, 12:49 pm

Kick PNM out

Zoom,

The citizens in support of the PNM have already spoken.

PNM 2025

Postby gastly369 » July 31st, 2024, 1:37 pm

Chimera wrote:

lol where that happen?

Random stops but so happens I get in all

South side today between oropouche and to point

K_J_R

Postby K_J_R » July 31st, 2024, 3:22 pm

gastly369 wrote:
Chimera wrote:

lol where that happen?

Random stops but so happens I get in all

South side today between oropouche and to point

dem south ppl is known criminal

South people duz make trinidad look bad wit all dey crime and gang warfare in.penal and debe.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » July 31st, 2024, 4:04 pm

7ebde6c3-2d29-4607-ad9d-6eaf8ce24755.jpeg

killercow

Postby killercow » November 15th, 2024, 8:31 am

So after reading through this thread I decided to upgrade my tint. I previously had Suntek by Tint Nation done years ago which I never really had any issues with, but the heat levels these days warranted an upgrade.

After doing research, my choice came down to these three:

Llumar IRX (US made)
Llumar Formula One Stratos (US made)
Xpel Prime XR Plus (India / Pakistan made)

All three seem to rank just about the same in terms of quality and performance, however I had to rule out the IRX as the vehicle came with treated glass and I wanted to remain within legal SPEC (the lightest IRX comes in is 50% which when combined with my treated glass would have been well below the 20% for rear glasses and definitely not applicable for front windshield).

Now the vehicle in question to be done was an SUV, so there was more glass to be covered than a regular sedan. I received an estimate from both Professional Tint Distributors & Techmotive for the Formula One Stratos and Xpel Prime XR Plus respectively;

Stratos: 6.5k
XR Plus: 6k

Both were willing to provide an appointment within a couple of days and have the job completed within 24 hours, but given the fact that I'm centrally located, I decided to go with Techmotive.

Today is day two after installation, and it seems as though today will be the first day of hot sun to test.

On a side note, I did not know until installation that there is a 3% margin of error when reading tint levels, so really you have up to 67% for whole front, 32% for front doors, and 17% for the rest (it's posted on the MOWT website).

Postby MaxPower » November 15th, 2024, 9:36 am

The XR Plus is amazing.

Postby MG Man » November 15th, 2024, 10:17 am

killercow wrote:
XR Plus: 6k.

:shock: :shock: :shock:
I go take mih hot sun oui

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » November 15th, 2024, 11:10 am

Some fellars have a lot of spare change hanging around yes

Postby pugboy » November 15th, 2024, 11:21 am

how these tints compare to the original llumar air80?

Postby MaxPower » November 15th, 2024, 11:42 am

pugboy wrote:how these tints compare to the original llumar air80?

pug,

MAJOR difference.

Before you buy, compare the both.

Postby hover11 » November 15th, 2024, 11:49 am

killercow wrote:
XR Plus: 6k.

:shock: :shock: :shock:
I go take mih hot sun oui
6k for tint.... rel sawaties and big shots in here yes

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » November 15th, 2024, 12:12 pm

Xpel is worth it, I can park my car in the blazing hot sun for hours then put my hands flat on the dashboard without issue

Postby pugboy » November 15th, 2024, 12:43 pm

i have the original air 80 on my front glass and it was worth the $600 i paid back in 2015

but are ppl putting these clearish heat block tints over existing tint on windows also?

pugboy wrote:how these tints compare to the original llumar air80?

pug,

MAJOR difference.

Before you buy, compare the both.

Postby MG Man » November 15th, 2024, 1:02 pm

ProtonPowder wrote:Xpel is worth it, I can park my car in the blazing hot sun for hours then put my hands flat on the dashboard without issue

been driving a car with zero tint 3 years now, since they said they clamping down on tint, and parking in the sun all day as well. I pop open a sun shade under the windscreen and that's it.
I'll live with 3 minutes to cool the car down every day vs 6k for tint
Same for traffic. AC maintained well enough, so basically only my right arm feels the burn if I'm driving with one hand on the door in 12:00 sun. Car is sufficiently cool

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » November 15th, 2024, 1:08 pm

Maybe your car AC powerful enough to cool down a scorching hot cabin in 3 mins, but most peoples' cars cant do that at all.

Postby MG Man » November 15th, 2024, 2:15 pm

ProtonPowder wrote:Maybe your car AC powerful enough to cool down a scorching hot cabin in 3 mins, but most peoples' cars cant do that at all.

AE111 Corolla
Nobody who could afford 6k in tint driving a s!itbox with sketchy ac

david12

Postby david12 » November 15th, 2024, 4:41 pm

6k could buy small mods not tint lol

Sunshade ftw!

Postby *KRONIK* » November 15th, 2024, 6:49 pm

david12 wrote:6k could buy small mods not tint lol

Sunshade ftw!
Yup
Even tho i have llumar and the airblue installed on both vehicles
I still put up a sunshade/visor when i'm parking for prolonged periods

Postby redmanjp » November 15th, 2024, 7:40 pm

my car is parked facing the sun everyday so by 8-8:30am it hot.

i usually turn down the windows for a minute and put the AC on fresh air and at 22C. i would stat driving as this would allow natural breeze to blow through. then after that minute or two put back up the windows but keep AC on fresh air for another 3 minutes or so. by that time the air in the cabin is no hotter than outside so then i put the AC back on recirculate.

6k for tint now? how much the air80 is? i would settle for that and just buy a sunscreen

Postby Chimera » November 15th, 2024, 8:22 pm

D fuq @ tint price

Postby VexXx Dogg » November 15th, 2024, 9:03 pm

[emoji6]k? My kidney stones start to vomit yes