evo-STI-k wrote:well- do enlighten me please Zeriam.
Where in trinidad does?
cornfused wrote:Gaza yeah right , i don't see tanks and skilled sharpshooters taking aim and blowing off limbs and life in any so called Gaza , here or in Jamaica
countries fought wars over the control of the Gaza, not a few minute gun fight , wars fought long before most of us were born and continue up to this day , associating a slum area because of the activities them people there chose to do with the real GAZA is nothing short of misguided identity and a want of so called recognition
GAZA![]()
tr1ad wrote:dis look like a fackin court of law?
this is ole talk
buzz wrote:illumin@ti wrote:buzz wrote:Some people in the Beetham work hard too and are good people but the majority of the inhabitants bring the good ones down.
which is very true. but the whole existence of the beetham is in question.. and the problems that exist there are textbook examples of many theories you come across in sociology : - about low income areas,, depressed living conditions and population turnover...
yes, many work hard for what they have ans strive to leave the area, but by and large the majority remains,, have kids and repeat the cycle,,, and the ones that leave are just replaced by more from elsewhere.. that area should have been torn down long ago instead of having them old barracks and tenement yard type dwellings around so long ...
these are the problems u face when u have a high concentration of people living in a small area.. its a proven fact... look at maloney and la-horquetta.. in maloney yuh have 21 buildings each with 64 apartments . lets average u have 4 ppl living in an apartment. thats 256 ppl living in one building,, an 5376 total , living in just the buildings alone ,, far less the single units and wafdas... no wonder a lot of them are highly aggressive and territorial... when u create an atmosphere that only breeds discomfort and frustration, you set the stage for human nature to take many down the wrong road,,, yes you provide housing, but lag in education and maintenance in these communities,,, dont provide facilities and opportunities in the quantities that are needed to give the ones who are ambitious an avenue to be productive..... of course it will go on, and on , and on,
how do you even begin to address a problem like that ?
the issue is not beetham gardens per se ,, its bad planning, bad adminstration, lack of vision, and a trail of manifesto butt-fuxx that the people have been swallowing for years on end...
very true
a friend of mine was also saying this
the environment itself isn't conducive for growth
coupled with the lack of career/job opportunities in this country
alas i have to say it, it IS the gov't fault... give out homes and get votes
eric williams started it
d spike wrote:buzz wrote:illumin@ti wrote:buzz wrote:Some people in the Beetham work hard too and are good people but the majority of the inhabitants bring the good ones down.
which is very true. but the whole existence of the beetham is in question.. and the problems that exist there are textbook examples of many theories you come across in sociology : - about low income areas,, depressed living conditions and population turnover...
yes, many work hard for what they have ans strive to leave the area, but by and large the majority remains,, have kids and repeat the cycle,,, and the ones that leave are just replaced by more from elsewhere.. that area should have been torn down long ago instead of having them old barracks and tenement yard type dwellings around so long ...
these are the problems u face when u have a high concentration of people living in a small area.. its a proven fact... look at maloney and la-horquetta.. in maloney yuh have 21 buildings each with 64 apartments . lets average u have 4 ppl living in an apartment. thats 256 ppl living in one building,, an 5376 total , living in just the buildings alone ,, far less the single units and wafdas... no wonder a lot of them are highly aggressive and territorial... when u create an atmosphere that only breeds discomfort and frustration, you set the stage for human nature to take many down the wrong road,,, yes you provide housing, but lag in education and maintenance in these communities,,, dont provide facilities and opportunities in the quantities that are needed to give the ones who are ambitious an avenue to be productive..... of course it will go on, and on , and on,
the issue is not beetham gardens per se ,, its bad planning, bad adminstration, lack of vision, and a trail of manifesto butt-fuxx that the people have been swallowing for years on end...
very true
eric williams started it
I agree with what is said here, but is there really a lack of job opportunities here? Or is it that there is a lack of preferred job opportunities? The agriculture industry has plenty room for growth and offers much employment, but is ignored. We have developed into a "gimme a wuk nah, boss" society, where everyone wants a 'desk' job - where your salary does not directly depend on your work output.
It can be argued that there are too many negative aspects to agriculture here in TnT which make it a daunting venture - praedial larceny, poor infrastructure such as access roads and water - but self-employment always involves some risk.
Eric started this nonsense (no argument there) with his "make wuk",hand-out programmes. This was to break the back of the plantocracy, which he succeeded in doing. Unfortunately, it spawned a generation of outstretched hands, which in turn, bred these creatures that believe they are entitled to such largesse, and see it as their just due - and seeking vengeance when it is not forthcoming.
How are these people going to be encouraged to find employment on their own, when they have been bred to expect better for less? They will sit there and gripe about being downtrodden when the biggest boot on their backs is their own...
evo-STI-k wrote:pioneer wrote:Sadly though they multiplying faster than the police can kill them
as i have said for years!
POPULATION CONTROL for certain Areas!
International SOS Security Advisories wrote:Security Situation Updates
Trinidad and Tobago
Residents protest, block roads in Port-of-Spain over police killings; further unrest possible
Created: October 16, 2009 20:20 GMT
Updated: October 16, 2009 21:32 GMT
Residents of the eastern Beetham Gardens area of the capital Port-of-Spain on 15 October blocked roads and clashed with the security forces during protests against the killing of two local men by the police on the previous day. The rioting began at around 18.00 (local time); demonstrators reportedly set various items alight and dragged them onto nearby roads, blocking traffic and causing significant congestion on both the Beetham Highway and the Eastern Main Road. Shots were fired and at one stage the protesters also threw bricks and debris at passing vehicles. The security forces eventually contained the rioters.
Comment and Analysis
Although calm has been restored to the area, tensions remain high and further protests are possible. While Beetham Gardens is a part of the capital that business visitors are unlikely to visit, they face incidental risks in the event that unrest spreads to more central areas. In addition, drivers travelling through Beetham could face disruption in the event of further disturbances. Moreover, the incident is a reminder of the high levels of lawlessness that continue to pose serious security risks in Port-of-Spain. Socio-economic inequality, drug-trafficking gangs and the ready availability of firearms contribute to the problem. Violent crime and civil unrest generally occur in impoverished and depressed areas, such as Beetham Gardens, that travellers rarely have cause to visit, though petty and street crime is a concern in most areas.
The police on 14 October shot and killed two men who they believed were responsible for the murder of an illegal street vendor. Four men were allegedly caught fleeing the crime scene and opened fire when their vehicle was intercepted by the police; two were killed during the shootout, one was injured and one was arrested on 15 October. Residents of Beetham Gardens, where the victims lived, allege that at least one of the men was innocent, and that the two men were in fact shot by the police outside their homes. According to the local media, the number of people killed by the police in the Port-of-Spain area so far in 2009 stands at 29 following the latest incident.
On 25 September the security forces raided Beetham Gardens; illegal arms, ammunition and drugs were seized and 29 people were arrested. In November 2008, officers from the US Los Angeles Police Department (LAPD) assisted with a training programme for the local police, designed to help them tackle rising gang crime. At the same time, Deputy Police Commissioner Gilbert Reyes announced that the police would be liaising with the government over the introduction of restraining orders for persistent youth criminals, as well as implementing policies to help dissuade youths from joining gangs. However, a worsening economic climate has hindered efforts to curb crime and the government has been slow to implement reform. Although a statement on the budget released on 8 September detailed some steps forward, it stated that the majority of the government's plans would not see fruition for at least the next two years.
Travel Advice
•Personnel are advised to avoid Laventille, Beetham and Belmont as there is considerable criminal gang activity in these areas.
•Avoid all demonstrations and protests as they may quickly degenerate into violence. Leave an area at the first sign of any disturbance.
•Personnel should adopt sensible security precautions at all times to reduce the risk of exposure to crime.
•Do not attempt to cross any roadblocks as this may provoke a hostile reaction from demonstrators.
d spike wrote:buzz wrote:illumin@ti wrote:buzz wrote:Some people in the Beetham work hard too and are good people but the majority of the inhabitants bring the good ones down.
very true
eric williams started it
I agree with what is said here, but is there really a lack of job opportunities here? Or is it that there is a lack of preferred job opportunities? The agriculture industry has plenty room for growth and offers much employment, but is ignored. We have developed into a "gimme a wuk nah, boss" society, where everyone wants a 'desk' job - where your salary does not directly depend on your work output.
It can be argued that there are too many negative aspects to agriculture here in TnT which make it a daunting venture - praedial larceny, poor infrastructure such as access roads and water - but self-employment always involves some risk.
Eric started this nonsense (no argument there) with his "make wuk",hand-out programmes. This was to break the back of the plantocracy, which he succeeded in doing. Unfortunately, it spawned a generation of outstretched hands, which in turn, bred these creatures that believe they are entitled to such largesse, and see it as their just due - and seeking vengeance when it is not forthcoming.
How are these people going to be encouraged to find employment on their own, when they have been bred to expect better for less? They will sit there and gripe about being downtrodden when the biggest boot on their backs is their own...
QG wrote:Crackpot, I understand what you are saying, if what you say is TRUE (that the victims are innocent and did not shoot at the police), then I will support you and the police actions was wrong.
Now my problem is, on the news report, I heard the protesters THREW STONES AND OBJECTS at passing by vehicles.....WHY???
That tells me, that SOME of the residents were acting inappropriately![]()
The police getting frustrated, when ppl act like that, it gives the whole community a bad name...I am just say eh...I am not attacking you in no way!