DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » June 12th, 2008, 8:50 pm

slacker_jack wrote:
DJ Q wrote:^you can buy two of the earthquakes for the price of one kicker

and i find kickers were always WAYY too overpriced

yuh get wah you pay for hoss
kicker does always underrate they amps

take for example, a kicker amp a man was sellin in the classifieds, 1.000rms it rated @ but it was putin out more than 1.400 rms
wen they say 10,000, you kno wah they mean 8-)

But even if the amp is underated... is that call for it to be double the price of another reputable brand? It's not like Earthquake is BOSS or anything...

For US$10,000 you can buy two of the Earthquake Power House amps which will definitely put out more power than one Kicker Warhorse and also allow them to not be under as much strain as the one amp would be.

If the WarHorse is 97% efficient... that means that it will put out 9,700 watts at the given resistance... let's throw in another 1000 watts to cover Kicker's "underratedness".

If the Power House is a regular Class D... it should be somewhere around 80% efficient.. so that covers 8,000 watts.

US$9,995.00 = 10,700 watts
2 x US$4,995.00 = 16,000 watts

Which one would you buy :?:

Postby 3stagevtec » June 12th, 2008, 9:09 pm

you know how much current those two earthquakes will pull... you will need an insane power plant to get that kind of power out of them..

it will be alot easier to produce that 10,000W from the kicker than a similar rating from the earthquake..

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » June 12th, 2008, 9:20 pm

^but is it worth double the money?

Postby 3stagevtec » June 12th, 2008, 9:29 pm

for its cutting edge design and ultra high efficiency, i'd say yes it is... (but if it was me, i would buy another cheaper / similarly powerful amp and spend the $$$ i saved on extra alternators... :wink: )

southside connections

Postby southside connections » June 12th, 2008, 11:04 pm

hmmm just think-

2 350amp alternators runnin on 16v
10 16v batts
3 runs power/3runs gground all 0awg

hmmm reallly expensive wirein

sound*ster

Postby sound*ster » June 13th, 2008, 6:11 am

but if it was me, i would buy another cheaper / similarly powerful amp and spend the $$$ i saved on extra alternators... )

ah think daz d point Q tryin to make

Postby 3stagevtec » June 13th, 2008, 6:52 am

sound*ster wrote:
but if it was me, i would buy another cheaper / similarly powerful amp and spend the $$$ i saved on extra alternators... )

ah think daz d point Q tryin to make

i saw that, but like i said above, for its new design, you gotta expect it to cost a bit...

sound*ster

Postby sound*ster » June 13th, 2008, 6:56 am

well yea for dat price it aint practical for anybody to really buy dat amplifier unless you really wanna show off.

4 Crossfire XP2400D's i sure won't cost $60000TT, Actually you could build a whole system with dat kinda $$

boom

Postby boom » June 13th, 2008, 7:11 am

I think buying one of these is like buying a ferrari or gallardo, you can get the same performance from a silvia with half the price tag of a enzo but you can never get that same wow factor...

Its gonna be exclusive and that I think makes it a amp with a high price amonst other factors.. Also its new, gotta expect a bit of a high price, like the Iphone when it now came out..

sound*ster

Postby sound*ster » June 13th, 2008, 7:19 am

^^ well true it has the wow factor in the bag, same thing like when the Gti was released..

but still, i'm sure this amplifier will only show up in kicker sponsored vehicles and cars of die hard kicker enthusiasts who have alot of extra cash to spend.

Highly doubt we gonna see it on the local scene tho..

anybody knows how much current the warhorse actually needs???
should be somewhere upwards of 900A ent??

Postby 3stagevtec » June 13th, 2008, 8:16 am

in the vid i posted, they said that with 4 of Kickers 2500.1 classD amps (=10,000rms), you will get around 1300 - 1400A of current draw.. but the warhorse will only draw 700-800A... that makes it worth the money..

but still, that amp is only US$9,995.00... you guys ever check the price tag on this amp...

MSRP $24,999.99

and Steve Meade has 2 of those in the Caddy... :faint:

Postby SR » June 13th, 2008, 8:22 am

keep pne thing in mind

these amps are designed as a marketing tool to attract you to thier brands

yes they are for sale as well but its moslty for marketing showcasing what the company can do with the technology

however not all of that technology is in their cheaper model amplifiers for obvious reasons

Postby nervewrecker » June 13th, 2008, 8:37 am

3stagevtec wrote:in the vid i posted, they said that with 4 of Kickers 2500.1 classD amps (=10,000rms), you will get around 1300 - 1400A of current draw.. but the warhorse will only draw 700-800A... that makes it worth the money..

but still, that amp is only US$9,995.00... you guys ever check the price tag on this amp...

MSRP $24,999.99

and Steve Meade has 2 of those in the Caddy... :faint:

I not even goin to open that link, I kno is the rf tk15 8-)

same thing I was asking in my ched bout why maunfacturers doh make high power amps, I kno price is definatly the factor cuz look @ the price of dat amp, why pios doh hav a 5000rms amp? man tellin me bout ohms law......

sound*ster

Postby sound*ster » June 13th, 2008, 8:57 am

jack i remember your ched and it was basically why manufacturers don't make amplifiers to "match" their speakers and you mentioned spaker impedance saz why some tuners hit yuh wid ohms law lol

anywayz sr makes a good point on the subject, it's a big marketing campaign

Sony P910i

Postby Sony P910i » June 13th, 2008, 9:31 am

But the kicker amp is new on the market so the price is high

In a while it should come down below 5k

Postby nervewrecker » June 13th, 2008, 10:18 am

why should it? the rf puttin out 1.5 times it power & is more than 2.5 times the price, the price hasent gone down. I eh hear nobody complaining bout the price of the rf.

if im not mistaken rf & kicker in the same league.

US$9,995.00 for the kicker vs US $24,999.99 for the rf.

Sony P910i

Postby Sony P910i » June 13th, 2008, 10:23 am

The JBL a6000gti is $3800

sound*ster

Postby sound*ster » June 13th, 2008, 10:50 am

The JBL a6000gti is $3800

now i would prefer spend my money there

2 JBL gti's and you packing more that 15000W
olus you'll have ah 2000 extra for batteries etc lol

Postby nervewrecker » June 13th, 2008, 10:57 am

well you hav to consider that we are comparing 3 amps that are underrated here,

jbl puttin out 6,000 rms

kicker puttin out 10,000

rf putin out 15,000 (im quoting the rated power here, we all kno each of them can put out more)

look @ the prices, $3,800, approx $10,000 & approx $25,000 respectively.

the jbl puttin out 3/5 the kicker power & is less than 3/5 the price, so I suppose the price of the kicker is so much as it is fairly new on the scene, it will prolly drop a bit in time to come as it gets older & as new technology comes out (higher power amps with lower power consumption).

but I still cant justify the price of the rf.......

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » June 13th, 2008, 11:02 am

well when the RF came out... it was the only amplifier that could put out so much power... and in fact it still is. but buying that is purely for the wow factor since u'd be able to get 3 kickers @ that price on 2nr :|

sound*ster

Postby sound*ster » June 13th, 2008, 11:03 am

the JBL rated @ 7214W Rms eh which is almost 3/4 the kicker power.

Postby nervewrecker » June 13th, 2008, 11:11 am

rated @ or tested @? I jus asking eh, dis new ibm moving like crap here...

if thas the jbl rated power, even still I stand corrected, kicker price hav to go down a bit then...... :oops:

but prolly kicker looking @ the fact that it is the only amp to even rival the rf power so It holding that price since you can buy 2 of them with the money you buying the rf with & get more than 1.5 times the rf power.
Last edited by nervewrecker on June 13th, 2008, 11:50 am, edited 2 times in total.

sound*ster

Postby sound*ster » June 13th, 2008, 11:16 am

daz d rated JBL power.
It actually comes on the manual and is CES certified

i get ur point on d topic
the kicker really too expensive

Sony P910i

Postby Sony P910i » June 13th, 2008, 11:42 am

If the JBL a6000gti was produced solely by JBL and had not partnered with Crown would there be the same interest in the amp?

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » June 13th, 2008, 1:34 pm

i get ur point on d topic
the kicker really too expensive

Thank you.
:?

Postby nervewrecker » June 13th, 2008, 1:38 pm

ur welcome, yuh buying meh a beer fuh dat :?: :mrgreen:

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » June 13th, 2008, 1:40 pm

slacker_jack wrote:^^^

ur welcome, yuh buying meh a beer fuh dat :?: :mrgreen:
buh is my bday jus went :|

Postby nervewrecker » June 13th, 2008, 1:42 pm

well I donno where you was fuh dat day........yuh went by de gyual yuh get de # from nah :mrgreen:

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » June 13th, 2008, 1:44 pm

slacker_jack wrote:well I donno where you was fuh dat day........yuh went by de gyual yuh get de # from nah :mrgreen:

i was in hospital :?

Postby nervewrecker » June 13th, 2008, 1:45 pm

who, wah........

wtf