The | Apple Inc.  | Thread - WWDC 2025

SRASC

Re: The | Apple Inc. | Thread

Postby SRASC » May 6th, 2011, 3:41 pm

As Ronald Reagan once famously said, "There you go again." Microsoft has unleashed some new ads in Canada that suggest if you buy a PC laptop instead of a Mac you can use the money you save to take a trip to Hawaii.

Saving money? That sounds good... until you look at the comparisons. Microsoft's chart compares various Mac laptops with PC counterparts from HP, Dell, Sony, Toshiba, Asus and others. True enough, Apple products are often more expensive than Windows laptops at first glance, especially if you don't perceive any value in running Mac OS X and avoiding aggravation, malware and compatibility headaches. While Windows 7 is pretty good, I use it alongside Mac OS X and find that there is no comparison.

Above you'll see Microsoft's pairing of the 11" MacBook Air with three US$300-ish netbooks. While the price comparison is stark, the fact is that these netbooks are not even close to the MacBook Air where it counts, and to put them in the same category is silly at best and deliberately deceptive at worst.

The Core 2 Duo chip in the MBA is faster than the netbook Atom or E-Series CPUs, the 64 GB "HardDrive" in the Air is a super-speedy SSD that charges up performance even further, there's no comparison on battery life where the Air shines; really the only comparable spec on these machines is the screen resolution. Oh, and that HP Pavilion DM1 sitting in the middle of the lineup? I'm sure it's nice enough, but it weighs in at 3.46 lbs (1.56 kg) -- 150% as massive as the slender, featherweight 2.3 lb (1.08 kg) 11" Air. How much do you have to save on chiropractor bills before the 'inexpensive' netbook stops being such a bargain?

Microsoft runs these campaigns when it gets worried about its OS market share slipping. Now that Apple is ahead of MS in profits, tablets, and smartphones, maybe that concern is justified. Of course, Apple slammed Microsoft many times with the "Get A Mac" campaign, but at least the ads were funny and generally grounded in truth -- working off of Apple's underdog status in the PC market, rather than playing defense as MS is doing here.

Microsoft, as it has in some past campaigns, is doing its best to mislead, and trying to sway would-be buyers on price alone when in fact MacBook Air buyers aren't looking for the cheapest possible laptop. It would have been really interesting to put those netbooks alongside the iPad in a similar graphic, but no way does Microsoft want to plant the seed of doubt in consumers' minds that they might consider a speedy, light, 10-hour battery Apple tablet instead of a tiny, underpowered Windows netbook.

I doubt these new ads will put a dent in Apple's ascendant Mac sales, but they will fuel the inevitable flame wars between advocates for each platform.

casper

Postby casper » May 6th, 2011, 3:50 pm

^^^with all that said...the price difference is really and truely very ridiculous..i mean yea i'm an apple fanboy but man...look at that price difference and the hardware u getting in comparison to the other machines...u not getting anything out of this world for so much money more...

real difference is really the OS which IMHO isnt worth an entire $800US more :?

thats just my opnion though...they should really do something bout those ridiculous prices man

SRASC

Postby SRASC » May 6th, 2011, 5:22 pm

Just an Apple follow up on an issue I raised earlier.

Symptoms
Some Apple portable computers (PowerBook G4, iBook, MacBook Pro, MacBook, and MacBook Air) may not show the battery as 100 percent charged in Mac OS X, even when the power adapter is connected.

The battery may appear to stop charging between 93 percent and 99 percent. Note: PowerPC-based computers may stop charging between 95 and 99 percent; Intel-based computers may stop charging between 93 and 99 percent.

Products Affected
    MacBook Pro, iBook, MacBook Air, PowerBook, MacBook, Portable Computers

Resolution
This is normal. The batteries used in these computers are designed to avoid short discharge/charge cycles in order to prolong the overall life of the battery.

When setting the Mac OS X battery status menu bar icon to display charge state by percentage, you may notice that the reported charge stays between 93 or 95 percent and 99 percent.

To allow the adapter to recharge the battery to 100%, simply allow the charge to drop below 93%. The adapter will automatically recharge the battery to 100%

---

Summary
You can calibrate your iBook, PowerBook, MacBook, MacBook Air, or MacBook Pro computer's lithium ion battery for best performance.

Products Affected
    MacBook Pro, iBook, MacBook Air, PowerBook, MacBook

The battery has an internal microprocessor that provides an estimate of the amount of energy in the battery as it charges and discharges. The battery needs to be recalibrated from time to time to keep the onscreen battery time and percent display accurate and to keep the battery operating at maximum efficiency. You should perform this procedure when you first use your computer and then every few months after that. If you normally leave your Apple portable computer connected to AC power and very rarely use it on battery power you may want to perform this process once a month. The website http://www.apple.com/batteries has more helpful information regarding batteries and offers an iCal calendar to remind you to calibrate your battery.

Note: If you're not sure which model of PowerBook you have, see PowerBook G4 Computers: How to Identify Different Models for assistance.

iBooks and PowerBook G4s other than the PowerBook G4 (15-inch Double-Layer SD)
    1. Plug the power adapter in and fully charge your computer's battery until the battery indicator lights turn off and the adapter plug light goes from amber to green, which indicates that the battery is fully charged.
    2. Disconnect the power adapter and use your iBook or PowerBook. When your battery gets low, you will see the low battery warning dialog on the screen. Continue to use your computer until it goes to sleep. At that point the battery has been sufficiently drained for calibration.
    3. Connect the power adapter and leave it connected until the battery is fully charged again.

Rest of article

Also found out about this interesting little app called coconutBattery 2.7 (MacBook/Pro/Air, MacOS X 10.5 or higher)

My battery reading

casper

Postby casper » May 6th, 2011, 11:13 pm

M_2NR wrote:I reading the same thing... iPhone 4's being a big btch.

Casper, try 4.3.3 with the latest redsn0w. Word is, your issue is fixed:
http://blog.iphone-dev.org/post/5239805497/tic-tac-toe

i downloaded the firmware and when trying to restore using the new firmware 4.3.3 that i downloaded it getting an error STUPESSSSS

what to do??? update to 4.3.3 using itunes?

iDynamic

Postby iDynamic » May 7th, 2011, 1:37 am

M_2NR wrote:
NiTrOuS RaCeR wrote:
M_2NR wrote:
NiTrOuS RaCeR wrote:How is the speeds with TSTT EDGE on the iPad2 ?

usable for reading blogs , html pages etc?

duane will say yea (and surprisingly i dunno how but his does work nice) but generally if you have patience, it will load but take a while!
Im on digicel edge and i use opera browser with it. Works ok.

ok cool thanks for the info
Me? nah I find it damn slow

but it's usable if you really need to get something done

d man mash up d quote tags deh boy...
But yours did work better I find. *inserts how Duane knows everyone and owns piece of TSTT & Flow* :lol:

Mifi is certainly the fastest way but... I dont see myself paying 400+ even 250+ for those speeds. But i realize Chiney and others will have much more use for it than me. I'm home mostly anyway.

tonight on the radio i heard bmobile advertising 4G portable hotspots for ipads and bb.......is that "Mifi" ?

Also i get the impression its something like this http://youtu.be/

Postby M_2NR » May 7th, 2011, 1:47 am

casper wrote:^^^with all that said...the price difference is really and truely very ridiculous..i mean yea i'm an apple fanboy but man...look at that price difference and the hardware u getting in comparison to the other machines...u not getting anything out of this world for so much money more...

thats just my opnion though...they should really do something bout those ridiculous prices man

i eh mean to quote u eh... but is d whole topic... so... first off:
1) they (not u) didnt just compare a core 2 duo to an atom... :rofl:
2) SSD storage vs. HDD?
3) Form factor...

anyway... that still wont justify me paying so much for a mac now anyway. But remember one thing, Hardware alone does not justify performance, its how the software handles the said hardware and the user experience.

wrt to your issue... why u restoring to it etc? yes slip it into dfu and handle yuh story but just upgrade first and try to get it to boot. just update to 4.3.3 /fin.

NiTrOuS RaCeR, for that discussion please jump inside here:
TSTT WiMax 4G + Hotspot Thread
Thanks ;)

iDynamic

Postby iDynamic » May 7th, 2011, 1:56 am

M_2NR wrote:
casper wrote:^^^with all that said...the price difference is really and truely very ridiculous..i mean yea i'm an apple fanboy but man...look at that price difference and the hardware u getting in comparison to the other machines...u not getting anything out of this world for so much money more...

i eh mean to quote u eh... but is d whole topic... so... first off:
1) they (not u) didnt just compare a core 2 duo to an atom... :rofl:
2) SSD storage vs. HDD?
3) Form factor...

anyway... that still wont justify me paying so much for a mac now anyway. But remember one thing, Hardware alone does not justify performance, its how the software handles the said hardware and the user experience.

wrt to your issue... why u restoring to it etc? yes slip it into dfu and handle yuh story but just upgrade first and try to get it to boot. just update to 4.3.3 /fin.

NiTrOuS RaCeR, for that discussion please jump inside here:
TSTT WiMax 4G + Hotspot Thread
Thanks ;)

cool

the ssd works magic ...check the macbook Pro specs and compare it to the air

SRASC

Postby SRASC » May 7th, 2011, 2:38 am

Skype 5.1.0.922. Mac users are encouraged to download this version of Skype as the previous version has an unpatched security flaw that that allows a person to gain remote access to another's machine simply by sending a Skype message. The flaw was discovered last month thanks to the work of researcher Gordon Maddern from the firm Pure Hacking.
They then issued a hotfix for the security hole in a minor update (Skype for Mac version 5.1.0.922). However, responding to the issue in an official blog post today the Skype for Mac team said, "As there were no reports of this vulnerability being exploited in the wild, we did not prompt our users to install this update, as there is another update in the pipeline that will be sent out early next week."

------

After all the furore surrounding the revelation that iOS devices have been keeping tabs on where they’ve been and saving the information to various log files both on the device and the computer they’re synced to, Apple released iOS 4.3.3 to rectify the issue. But did it do the job? According to PCMag, it did indeed.

Apple claimed the huge log file created by iOS devices containing a database of locations was actually a bug, and that while the data was being collected anonymously, it should not be logging it as thoroughly as it appeared to be. With iOS 4.3.3 supposedly bringing with it a fix for the issue, PCMag went all detective using a couple of different method, and according to their results, Apple were good to their word.

First off, they tried the now infamous iPhoneTracker app.

When we tested this a few weeks ago, the results were clear: while rogue location points peppered the map, for the most part, results appeared surprisingly accurate, showing that the iPhone tracked us to and from work and followed us on vacation. This time, however, there was nothing. Neither of the iPhones we tested showed any evidence of location data being collected and stored in the backup files.

PCMag even went the more manual route of hunting out the log files themselves. Same result. The logs that before were around 380KB were now 24KB – fitting in with Apple’s claims their software was logging too much data.

This time around, however, that same file contained almost no data whatsoever. Any data it did collect wasn’t related to tracking

That’s all fine and dandy, but what if you’re faced with a more sophisticated location fiend? PCMag broke out the big guns – iOS forensic app Lantern.

Again, iOS 4.3.3 appears to have put right the wrongs of earlier releases when it comes to keeping tabs on people.

While Lantern did an outstanding job retrieving everything from voicemails to text messages from the devices, post-iOS 4.3.3, it found no location-based information on either phone, with or without Location Services enabled.

casper

Postby casper » May 7th, 2011, 8:06 am

i'm getting a 3194 error everytime i try to restore with either the downloaded 4.3.33 firmware or even the stock one from itunes...HELP PLEASE!!!!!!

Parvin

Postby Parvin » May 7th, 2011, 8:16 am

Try this?

http://osxdaily.com/2010/12/06/error-31 ... or-itunes/

Also, ultrasn0w has been updated to 1.2.3 (restart device after updating)

casper

Postby casper » May 7th, 2011, 9:13 am

^^^^it worked it worked it worked!!!!!

:D :D :D :D :D :D

had to remove sauriks from the host cuz i eft it in the host by mistake that is why it wasnt updating to the latest firmware.....wooooooooooooooohoooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo!!!!!

FINALLY!!!!!!!

Parvin

Postby Parvin » May 7th, 2011, 9:21 am

kool scene bro :)

Postby Chimera » May 7th, 2011, 10:23 am

4.3.2 on a 3gs working real buggy yes, slow and sticking

mite hadda upgrade to 4.3.3

casper

Postby casper » May 7th, 2011, 10:37 am

4.3.2 is $hit...thats why they released a new version so quickly...i think thats the most unstable iOS of recent....i learned this by lots and lots of reading i was doing to find a fix for my jailbreak issue on the 4.3.2 firmware...

Postby M_2NR » May 7th, 2011, 3:16 pm

casper wrote:^^^^it worked it worked it worked!!!!!

:D :D :D :D :D :D

had to remove sauriks from the host cuz i eft it in the host by mistake that is why it wasnt updating to the latest firmware.....wooooooooooooooohoooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo!!!!!

FINALLY!!!!!!!

yuh know if you had checked the blog i write you would have had your answer answered...
http://modblog101.wordpress.com/2011/04 ... encounter/

glad it finally worked tho :)

ABA Trading LTD wrote:4.3.2 on a 3gs working real buggy yes, slow and sticking

mite hadda upgrade to 4.3.3

yup... 4.3.3 is working ok thus far. my 3GS is not getting as hot as it was before. I even restored from my 4.3.2 backup instead of a clean restore so it wasnt as stressful

Postby Chimera » May 7th, 2011, 4:43 pm

yeah 4.3.3 running great..dunno wtf was up with the 4.3.2, i hadda slide to power off and it only sliding halfway, then a 30 secs later it sliding d rest

4.3.3 runnin good tho

Postby M_2NR » May 7th, 2011, 5:12 pm

If you all patch your commcenters... it is a BIG beyotch now. Wortel has stopped doing any iPhone mods since 4.2.1 and well the only other way was using bspatch. But at the end of it... i got it to work... iPhone camp... never a dull moment

Parvin

Postby Parvin » May 7th, 2011, 5:46 pm

Think I gonna update to the 4.3.3 since ulyuh say it running good.

M_2nr ... I thought that the battery getting hot was just my imagination or how it was in my pocket yes :P

Postby M_2NR » May 7th, 2011, 5:59 pm

no boy. Since iOS 4 the 3GS does get REAL hot. i had a 2G as well and that could have scorched your hand!

Parvin

Postby Parvin » May 7th, 2011, 6:41 pm

Sn0wbreeze to jailbreak 4.3.3?

Postby M_2NR » May 7th, 2011, 7:03 pm

Parvin

Postby Parvin » May 7th, 2011, 8:12 pm

You still have to run the SAM thingy for the battery issue? (if it still present)

Postby M_2NR » May 7th, 2011, 9:38 pm

yea use SAM, i finally got it to get my push certs too. So its still very useful. Without it, whatsapp and push wont work good.

Parvin

Postby Parvin » May 7th, 2011, 9:41 pm

Kool scene.

i had the URL wrong

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » May 7th, 2011, 11:28 pm

Personal hotspot is now working with Bmobile in 4.3.3

was out on the road and I was able to surf the net on my wifi only iPad by using the personal hotspot on the phone - its faster than I thought too!

in 4.3.2 it just wasnt working, didnt try it with Digicel.

mojosodope

Postby mojosodope » May 7th, 2011, 11:42 pm

wait.. the personal hotspot feature works in iphone 4's down here? I'm on bmobile too can you tell me how it established using just the normal edge connection?

Postby M_2NR » May 8th, 2011, 1:21 am

mojosodope wrote:wait.. the personal hotspot feature works in iphone 4's down here? I'm on bmobile too can you tell me how it established using just the normal edge connection?

I'm on a 3GS and it works sans Wifi. I noticed a few Settings were moved to the front page of Settings. Internet Tethering was renamed to Personal Hotspot also. Just enter the relevant APN for internet tethering and it works.
For jailbroken iPhones that are software unlocked i believe you /may/ have to pwn the commcenter.

Duane, pass a day and bring teh iPad over nuh. I have yet to use one. :oops:

mojosodope

Postby mojosodope » May 8th, 2011, 9:25 am

I think tethering was renamed personal hotspot since 4.3 was released wasn't it?, what are the settings for internet tethering/hotspot on bmobile? I know the apn for mobile data is internet but are there additional settings to apply for tethering?

I should be fine I think running an iPhone 4 with gevey pro, lost the window for the factory unlock :(

Postby Aaron 2NR » May 8th, 2011, 9:33 am

just updated to 4.3.3....resorting as we speak....do i need SAM even though i have an AT&T sim?

mojosodope

Postby mojosodope » May 8th, 2011, 9:44 am

nope if you're using ultrasn0w just activate the phone with your AT&T sim and then transfer over to your bmobile/digi sim, that's what I did. SAM is basically there to emulate an official activation to solve the push notifications being signed incorrectly. I didn't need SAM when I used to activate with my AT&T .