The comprehensive 4age thread

It's all about 4AGE, NZE, 3SGTE, 1JZ, 2JZ etc.

Postby Hook » October 9th, 2009, 11:37 am

I not saying don't rebuild. I just saying instead of looking for all these miscellaneous parts (piston, crank etc.), u could get a block in good condition in d boo, so all u do is change seals/gaskets/rings/bearings etc. and have a perfectly good engine in a shorter time than it takes to go hunting for assorted internal parts.

And it's better than taking a chance on a cat-in-bag head and block (altho you may be lucky to score a damn good one at a reasonable price, but that don't happen too often)

Unless somebody has a block on the ground and they willing to let go of the piston and crank for small money, I see rebuilding a complete FU block as a more viable option.

haydn28

Postby haydn28 » October 9th, 2009, 1:55 pm

Hook wrote:
haydn28 wrote: Anthony Soprano buy a 4afe engine and box , do a cold air intake , end exaust ,and u just as fast as any 20v for 1/2 the price too

1sigh

I knew you couldn't resist acting like a 12y/o for too long......check me when you grow up...I out...

lol..how is my advice bad? It's a real course of action that has shown its benefits through experience

'check you'? Who was even talking to you? :| it's a sad day when no one is even talking to you yet you feel the need to make a statement including yourself...self rate up FTL

take it ez dey bro....doh lemmeh hadda bring Barry fuh yuh :arrow:

Postby Hook » October 9th, 2009, 2:12 pm

haydn28 wrote:
Hook wrote:
haydn28 wrote: Anthony Soprano buy a 4afe engine and box , do a cold air intake , end exaust ,and u just as fast as any 20v for 1/2 the price too

1sigh

I knew you couldn't resist acting like a 12y/o for too long......check me when you grow up...I out...

lol..how is my advice bad? It's a real course of action that has shown its benefits through experience

'check you'? Who was even talking to you? :| it's a sad day when no one is even talking to you yet you feel the need to make a statement including yourself...self rate up FTL

Well well well, if it isn't Creepy Staring Guy...hmmm u real shy in person but u have REAL mouth online. E-thug FTL.

I'm not your "bro", I have a backbone. Rate that.

Back to the topic :arrow:

Anthony Soprano

Postby Anthony Soprano » October 9th, 2009, 3:03 pm

I am thinking about buying a whole engine but i will check out just buying the head and block and see if that will work out better but i am also looking to get a new gearbox so if i get a good deal on an engine and gearbox, i may go that way. I'm looking for the cheapest and quickest option out of my problem.

Postby eliteauto » October 9th, 2009, 4:05 pm

corollalover101 wrote:TRDcorolla, I'm doing research online in Malaysia atm, plus picking up some tips from the "37*" Aussies :lol: :lol:

another forum wrote: Im using 20v silvertop stock standard, with 50 shot nos ,160hp on dyno dynamic.fren of mine pump 100 shot in his standard silvertop ,190hp on dyno dynamic,no damage on the engine using untill now,tuner is very important bro.

Hmmm

Postby A172 » October 9th, 2009, 4:49 pm

^sweet

what kinda afr's dem fellas getting?

Postby eliteauto » October 9th, 2009, 5:12 pm

A172, getting them fellas to explain everything is pressure, more so because of the local slangs and broken english, but the guy who posted that agreed on my design and rpm window, still haven't found out if they're doing direct port or single fogger, lots still to learn

Postby A172 » October 9th, 2009, 5:18 pm

link for the forum?

Postby eliteauto » October 9th, 2009, 5:30 pm

www.zerotohundred.com Toyota forums

TRDcorolla

Postby TRDcorolla » October 9th, 2009, 5:54 pm

bess, at least its some head way to knowing what can be done..... btw wat ddi the aussie dude say?

really wanna hear his take on that lol

Postby eliteauto » October 9th, 2009, 7:11 pm

^^I posed a question to them on the water/meth setup still waiting on a reply

Postby A172 » October 9th, 2009, 7:42 pm

checked it out, not much tech talk thus far...

some pretty basic questions however:

corollalover101 wrote:Hmm I'm also considering using NOS in my 20V ST and mine's automatic lol, just curious as to what setups are being used and if they're being done on the stock ecu thanks

how would the stock ecu know when nitrous is being injected into the engine and how would it know when to pull back timing, and how much?

what octane rating are you planning to use?

lastly ,as i asked before, do you have any idea what kind of afr you're gonna run whether wet or dry shot? I'm surprised that thread reached 2 pages and not a mention of that (u know...the most important variable :| ).....the English seemed pretty fine to me.

Feedback appreciated. :)

Postby eliteauto » October 9th, 2009, 8:03 pm

A172, sounds like you might know a thing or 2 any advice you wanna share, so far I've heard of only one local BT using NOS and I haven't been able to contact the guy, any help would be valuable

Postby A172 » October 9th, 2009, 8:26 pm

I don't mind sharing a bit of info from the little I've learnt personally....but before I add anything more, lemme ask you this first:

all the questions i asked above.....are basic tuning procedures that any tuner should know...

I'm asking you now, what's your personal take on those things.....you must have asked yourself these things before, right?

Postby A172 » October 9th, 2009, 9:48 pm

:?: :?: :?:

Zeriam

Postby Zeriam » October 9th, 2009, 11:33 pm

corollalover101 wrote:A172, sounds like you might know a thing or 2 any advice you wanna share, so far I've heard of only one local BT using NOS and I haven't been able to contact the guy, any help would be valuable
i also know of 1 currently undergoing a nos addon and haltec addon waiting to see results.

Postby eliteauto » October 10th, 2009, 2:13 am

NOS and management...very nice

haydn28

Postby haydn28 » October 10th, 2009, 8:53 am

Zeriam wrote:
corollalover101 wrote:A172, sounds like you might know a thing or 2 any advice you wanna share, so far I've heard of only one local BT using NOS and I haven't been able to contact the guy, any help would be valuable
i also know of 1 currently undergoing a nos addon and haltec addon waiting to see results.

this particular project is heading in the right direction .....but i hope its not a haltech interceptor their using lol , better they go S/A and done.

another concern is the strength of the B/T con rod.

it looks like they might have to limit their nitrous to small 'shots', under high octane..

Postby eliteauto » October 10th, 2009, 9:10 am

Zeriam, is the guy using a single fogger or direct port setup for the nitrous?

Postby A172 » October 10th, 2009, 10:10 am

A172 wrote:checked it out, not much tech talk thus far...

some pretty basic questions however:

corollalover101 wrote:Hmm I'm also considering using NOS in my 20V ST and mine's automatic lol, just curious as to what setups are being used and if they're being done on the stock ecu thanks

how would the stock ecu know when nitrous is being injected into the engine and how would it know when to pull back timing, and how much?

what octane rating are you planning to use?

lastly ,as i asked before, do you have any idea what kind of afr you're gonna run whether wet or dry shot? I'm surprised that thread reached 2 pages and not a mention of that (u know...the most important variable :| ).....the English seemed pretty fine to me.

Feedback appreciated. :)

cl101, any reason you're avoiding my questions?

haydn28

Postby haydn28 » October 10th, 2009, 12:11 pm

Hook wrote:
haydn28 wrote:
Hook wrote:

1sigh

Well well well, if it isn't Creepy Staring Guy...hmmm u real shy in person but u have REAL mouth online. E-thug FTL.

I'm not your "bro", I have a backbone. Rate that.

Back to the topic :arrow:

:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: I just pictured u saying that.........

in your blue nike juzzie

Postby eliteauto » October 10th, 2009, 5:09 pm

*sigh*

Postby eliteauto » October 10th, 2009, 5:12 pm

hearing some positive things about water/meth, gonna do some research, anyone here using it in a N/A application?

Postby A172 » October 10th, 2009, 5:43 pm

^^from the look of things in this thread you got a LOT of research/ learning to do still....starting with the basics of performance tuning...

don't hesitate to ask questions here, no matter how basic...srsly...

good luck with the plans man.

Postby Hook » October 10th, 2009, 6:18 pm

Postby eliteauto » October 10th, 2009, 9:10 pm

Postby honda hoe » October 11th, 2009, 1:09 am