Honda transmission: replace or repair?

d spike

Honda transmission: replace or repair?

Postby d spike » December 20th, 2010, 10:59 pm

A friend of mine has a problem with his EK3 CVT transmission. It doesn't work until the engine warms up. Can this be repaired easily (cheaply)? Or should he replace it... and if so, then where can one be acquired, and what is its approximate cost?
Any pertinent advice welcome.
(Any impertinent advice would also be appreciated - I could do with a good laugh. :lol: )

Re: Honda transmission: replace or repair?

Postby Trini Hookah » December 20th, 2010, 11:03 pm

keeshan say yuh bredren shudda never buy no honda dan, he say he b12 wukkin bess bess

Postby K74T » December 20th, 2010, 11:06 pm

and is essarrtwentee keeshan have too

dem bussin up dem honda normel normel

Postby Trini Hookah » December 20th, 2010, 11:09 pm

he say he doh like dem MUGEN bizness...buh yet he always wearin dem Infiniti juzzey dan

Chipz

Postby Chipz » December 20th, 2010, 11:53 pm

replace eeet with ah bee fourteen engine an tranny :|

Postby kurpal_v2 » December 21st, 2010, 1:13 am

647-6739

ask for david,he is a transmission specialist and would be able to advise you.

Postby kurpal_v2 » December 21st, 2010, 1:17 am

pioneer wrote:umm i jus call that number n noone answer :roll:

Be being himself :|

Postby Trini Hookah » December 21st, 2010, 1:23 am

know how long me eh hear from noone, lass time i see him was up in saghs dance oui :|

Postby mero » December 21st, 2010, 5:52 am

yuh real stale hoss

Postby cinco » December 21st, 2010, 8:56 am

las time i had to do dah it was d bulb in d driveshaff d blow hoss tell him doh fuss up an go an buy ah leff hand screwdriver an a 5w big parklight he go be in bizness

on a realz tho
replace no one wants to fix them the cvt repair kits dont last

streak

Postby streak » December 21st, 2010, 9:26 am

There is a man in La romain that specializes in repairing transmission.. His name is Keith Charles.. i don't have a contact number for him though, but if you ask around someone might know or even look him up in the directory..He will tell you if it can repair .. if it can't, you can buy one for about $1500 -$2000 at Kars 6572287 located in cocoyea.. call first and find out if they have first.

d spike

Postby d spike » December 21st, 2010, 10:47 am

streak wrote:There is a man in La romain that specializes in repairing transmission.. His name is Keith Charles.. i don't have a contact number for him though, but if you ask around someone might know or even look him up in the directory..He will tell you if it can repair .. if it can't, you can buy one for about $1500 -$2000 at Kars 6572287 located in cocoyea.. call first and find out if they have first.

Thanks, Streak... I'll pass that info on to the lad.

cinco wrote:replace no one wants to fix them the cvt repair kits dont last

Quite likely. Those modern toy cars just don't seem to last... I would doubt that the kits built to repair them would last long either :lol:

Postby cinco » December 21st, 2010, 11:19 am

u can take it to a chinaman he wud probably
replair it for u

Postby Cjruckus » December 23rd, 2010, 12:00 am

d spike wrote:A friend of mine has a problem with his EK3 CVT transmission. It doesn't work until the engine warms up. Can this be repaired easily (cheaply)? Or should he replace it... and if so, then where can one be acquired, and what is its approximate cost?
Any pertinent advice welcome.
(Any impertinent advice would also be appreciated - I could do with a good laugh. :lol: )

When you say doesn't work?
The Car doesn't move?
Or doesn't go into high gear? Because if it doesnt go into high gear, thats normal.

CVT repairs are expensive, the kit will set you back close to $3k then expect to put out at least 2,000 in labor.

A used CVT honda civic Transmission is about $3,000. That was the last price is saw them going for. If you buy a complete tranny you get what you pay for.. you couldnt be buying someone else's problem.

Postby A172 » December 23rd, 2010, 5:16 am

mero wrote:yuh real stale hoss

lmao :lol: :lol:

d spike

Postby d spike » December 23rd, 2010, 9:20 pm

Cjruckus wrote:
When you say doesn't work?
The Car doesn't move?
Or doesn't go into high gear? Because if it doesnt go into high gear, thats normal.

It doesn't move... not until it warms up (so it seems).

Cjruckus wrote:CVT repairs are expensive, the kit will set you back close to $3k then expect to put out at least 2,000 in labor.

A used CVT honda civic Transmission is about $3,000. That was the last price is saw them going for. If you buy a complete tranny you get what you pay for.. you couldnt be buying someone else's problem.

Thanks lad, this is quite helpful.