Ariapita Avenue looks like Shanty Town

orangefox

Ariapita Avenue looks like Shanty Town

Postby orangefox » February 16th, 2015, 9:42 pm

" Shanty town has now moved to Woodbrook’s Ariapita Avenue with these makeshift “galvanise” bars which take up the entire pavement, leaving pedestrians no option but to walk in the street.

No problem with people trying to make a dollar but can’t the Port of Spain Corporation or Tourism Ministry or whoever come up with a plan to make the vendors look organised?

Is this the mecca of Carnival? "
Last edited by orangefox on February 18th, 2015, 7:06 am, edited 2 times in total.

bignog

Re: Ariapita Avenue looks like Shanty Town

Postby bignog » February 16th, 2015, 9:53 pm

op ..............listen to super blue ..........wine back an suck yuh finger!!!!!!!and STFU!

Postby ruffneck_12 » February 16th, 2015, 9:56 pm

:pics:

Postby pugboy » February 16th, 2015, 10:18 pm

Savannah worse, people sleeping in the back of them vendor stalls

Postby hustla_ambition101 » February 16th, 2015, 10:19 pm

bignog wrote:op ..............listen to super blue ..........wine back an suck yuh finger!!!!!!!and STFU!

:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

moses_boss12
Location: The Beautiful Hills of.................... Hellshire!!

Postby moses_boss12 » February 16th, 2015, 11:06 pm

bignog wrote:op ..............listen to super blue ..........wine back an suck yuh finger!!!!!!!and STFU!

:D :D :D :D :D

orangefox

Postby orangefox » February 16th, 2015, 11:16 pm

:P :P :P

A sufferer with powder chess .. :mrgreen:

bignog

Postby bignog » February 16th, 2015, 11:56 pm

Ent carnival is African culture .........well give them a week of carnival an sweet Trinidad go turn to a slum town

orangefox

Postby orangefox » February 17th, 2015, 1:41 am

bignog wrote:Ent carnival is African culture .........well give them a week of carnival an sweet Trinidad go turn to a slum town

Yep .. so correct. You just start ah debate :mrgreen: But why ?

Better to make it look like Movie Towne or Falls ? :mrgreen:

alex jj

Postby alex jj » February 17th, 2015, 1:45 am

bignog wrote:Ent carnival is African culture .........well give them a week of carnival an sweet Trinidad go turn to a slum town

zr is that u

Postby MaxPower » February 17th, 2015, 3:11 am

OP, you hadda take matters into your own hands. Tell them that you are upset and you want them organize themselves.

You can make change happen...you hear me? YOU can do this.

Let me know how it turns out..everything will be okay, you can trust me

Postby Morpheus » February 17th, 2015, 4:21 am

alex jj wrote:

ZR is that u?

Postby zoom rader » February 17th, 2015, 5:30 am

Morpheus wrote:
alex jj wrote:

ZR is that u?

En no carnival is not african culture, it's European Roman catholic culture.

orangefox

Postby orangefox » February 17th, 2015, 5:59 am

Yes correct. While medieval pageants and festivals such as Corpus Christi were church-sanctioned celebrations, carnival was also a manifestation of medieval folk culture.

Postby DVSTT » February 17th, 2015, 6:53 am

3rd world ftw

Postby cinco » February 17th, 2015, 8:43 am

On shanty om

VII

Postby VII » February 17th, 2015, 9:06 am

African or any other slums in the world pales in comparison to that of my mother's Motherland India,in fact the slum populations of India far exceeds the TOTAL population of any African or ANY COUNTRY(and some continents) in the entire world for that matter,not to mention the volume of untreated human fecal waste and unburied dead relatives floating and bloating in and around the blessed Ganges and any other available watercourse.

Did you know that people literally sheit in open drains on the sidewalks as the norm,with the added bonus of rotting corpses here and there,both human and livestock?

And you totally off with the origins of Carnival also. It's painful reading ignorance as if it's matter of fact,and what's even more painful is to see others just as ignorant. Put a gun in you guy's hands and those guys from Laventille etc would look like boy scouts,even your own foot would be at risk..lol..

God help us.
Last edited by VII on February 17th, 2015, 9:21 am, edited 2 times in total.

bignog

Postby bignog » February 17th, 2015, 9:18 am

Big man this is not the history channel ..........it is what it is ........carnival is African culture an doh forget that ..........shanty town forever ........and for the fresh water Yankee to come back to feel they better than the rest ........ah lie ? #realtalkandohcare

VII

Postby VII » February 17th, 2015, 9:20 am

bignog wrote:Big man this is not the history channel ..........it is what it is ........carnival is African culture an doh forget that ..........shanty town forever ........and for the fresh water Yankee to come back to feel they better than the rest ........ah lie ? #realtalkandohcare

You just reinforced my point,congrats...lol you guys are so cute,like little mogwais before they eat chicken..

Oh and maybe you should take a history lesson or two,how does it feel to be totally baseless and uninformed in all that you believe and propagate ? Sad,you remind me of a silly movie called the village,you need to jump over the wall,I'm waiting to mentally rescue you pal.

And...Fresh water Yankee?? Is this some kinda added bonus of frivolity to go with your patent ignorance? Well at least you consistent and in perspective.

Regards.
Last edited by VII on February 17th, 2015, 9:31 am, edited 1 time in total.

cornfused

Postby cornfused » February 17th, 2015, 9:31 am

Carnival Slave Culture : Farewell to the flesh

The ignorance in that statement is quite strong . This festival occurs just before Lent which is a Christian period . Go back to primary school .

Crackpot

Postby Crackpot » February 17th, 2015, 10:03 am

bignog wrote:Big man this is not the history channel ..........it is what it is ........carnival is African culture an doh forget that ..........shanty town forever ........and for the fresh water Yankee to come back to feel they better than the rest ........ah lie ? #realtalkandohcare

Somebody feed the troll please, because the vendors he beating up about doh sell attention :|

alex jj

Postby alex jj » February 17th, 2015, 11:31 am

carnival started with the french colonists

bignog

Postby bignog » February 17th, 2015, 12:17 pm

alex jj wrote:carnival started with the french colonists

so then africans have no identity?

Postby redmanjp » February 17th, 2015, 12:19 pm

socadrome becoming a permanent ting now- just now nobody will go in d savannah

redrum

Postby redrum » February 17th, 2015, 12:20 pm

Last edited by redrum on February 17th, 2015, 2:42 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Postby zoom rader » February 17th, 2015, 12:26 pm

alex jj wrote:carnival started with the french colonists

No it did not, it started in the middle ages Europe. It was however brought to the west Indies by both the Catholic Spanish and French .

Carnival is not an african culture, it was adopted by the Slaves as a method of freeing themselves in song and dance.
Song and dance was forbidden by the then powers, only at carnival this was allowed.

Postby pioneer » February 17th, 2015, 12:31 pm

Whoever decided to remove this slavery ting is an idiot.

Postby UML » February 17th, 2015, 12:32 pm

redrum wrote:V11-It is very sad that your comparison to India it that of a delusion bat, your articulation is one of a mentally incapacitated individual, who is incapable of making rational statements. Either because of the following reasons: 1) You are an unclaimed premature fetus, who's brain matter has not grown since. 2) Unlike most people, you live in a paranormal subliminal box, which may account for your schizophrenic delusion. 3) People like you try to find faults in others, but the truth is you hate yourself and what you are not. 4) You are an apparent dunce who has flunked history, and is using a dictionary for your vocabulary and statements on tuner..... The same feces your are referring to, is spewing from your mouth.Be guided accordingly.....

It's foetus and faeces.....but calling ppl dunce!!!

Pot calling Kettle black

Maybe u shud take ur own advice and use a dictionary

:lol::lol::lol:

Norton12005

Postby Norton12005 » February 17th, 2015, 1:02 pm

It's those roadside shed make the carnival "carnival"

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » February 17th, 2015, 1:09 pm

LOL at comments on this thread.

On another note let us say you were to move into a nice neighborhood in say USA or Canada, people with nice shingle roofing houses etc and you bought a piece of land, and you build up a slum looking house. What would be the outcome?

I know you can do these things in Trinidad but in the first world if you did attempt to do this what would be the outcome? are there any sort of laws and standards you have to adhere to? I would assume so since houses are built so lovely in North America and Europe?