COVIDIOTS in Trinidad & Tobago

Re: COVIDIOTS in Trinidad & Tobago

Postby timelapse » February 28th, 2021, 6:44 am

Meem know about that.Blacks working fine to me.My mom goes by a cuban in Caroni somewhere

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » February 28th, 2021, 10:08 am

The covid spread in TT has little to do with temperature. This virus needs to be transported via people so as long as people social distance and take precautions the numbers will remain low.

In other countries, the people are still moving out and about. They are not wearing masks. It is easier to control a virus in a small population vs a large one. Think about the millions of people who are in NY or London at any given time. Think about congestion on the tube or subway. All of these things play a part.

In the USA you have to go to work even if suspected of being sick because of their weak labour laws. So sick people have been going to work and infecting others and the cycle repeats.

We are not immune to a spike or outbreak in covid. What we have are small infection numbers and strict health compliance by a population afraid of the police and state. We are essentially easier to control than the populations of the other countries.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » February 28th, 2021, 10:52 am

Redress10 wrote:The covid spread in TT has little to do with temperature. This virus needs to be transported via people so as long as people social distance and take precautions the numbers will remain low.

In other countries, the people are still moving out and about. They are not wearing masks. It is easier to control a virus in a small population vs a large one. Think about the millions of people who are in NY or London at any given time. Think about congestion on the tube or subway. All of these things play a part.

In the USA you have to go to work even if suspected of being sick because of their weak labour laws. So sick people have been going to work and infecting others and the cycle repeats.

We are not immune to a spike or outbreak in covid. What we have are small infection numbers and strict health compliance by a population afraid of the police and state. We are essentially easier to control than the populations of the other countries.

The fact that you don't think trinis moving about kinda shows how out of touch you are right now.

But your last paragraph is true, we are not immune.

The weather does play a big roles, lots of studies are now showing how much of a role it plays.

Why isn't Covid bad in SE Asia, Africa and the Caribbean? Why was FL, the most open state did not have as severe Covid deaths as the northern states.

Postby ruffneck_12 » February 28th, 2021, 10:58 am

it have a 98% survival rate fellas

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » February 28th, 2021, 11:45 am

Dohplaydat wrote:
Redress10 wrote:The covid spread in TT has little to do with temperature. This virus needs to be transported via people so as long as people social distance and take precautions the numbers will remain low.

The fact that you don't think trinis moving about kinda shows how out of touch you are right now.

The weather does play a big roles, lots of studies are now showing how much of a role it plays.

Why isn't Covid bad in SE Asia, Africa and the Caribbean? Why was FL, the most open state did not have as severe Covid deaths as the northern states.

You and I have two completely different meanings when it comes to the term "out and about". You can't even sit down in ya private car without wearing a mask in TT. That is how restrictive it is. Compared that to the USA where night clubs are still open and people are partying as usual. Our restrictions are very different.

During winter, ppl are always sickly. Not to mention that buildings and homes are sealed to keep the cold outside. So less fresh air circulating. Add to that fact, your body is using more energy and resources just to keep warm so it makes it more difficult to fight off diseases. The immune system could only take so much.

Alot of those countries u mention there also allow for greater social distancing. When you consider how densely populated bigger countries are it makes it difficult to avoid people when doing things such as grocery shopping etc. Also remember that plenty ppl in those countries are very unhygienic and don't even practice basic hygiene such as bathing, washing hands and covering mouths when coughing.

It's an amalgamation of differences tbh.

Postby adnj » February 28th, 2021, 12:19 pm

Redress10 wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:

You and I have two completely different meanings when it comes to the term "out and about". You can't even sit down in ya private car without wearing a mask in TT. That is how restrictive it is. Compared that to the USA where night clubs are still open and people are partying as usual. Our restrictions are very different.

During winter, ppl are always sickly. Not to mention that buildings and homes are sealed to keep the cold outside. So less fresh air circulating. Add to that fact, your body is using more energy and resources just to keep warm so it makes it more difficult to fight off diseases. The immune system could only take so much.

Alot of those countries u mention there also allow for greater social distancing. When you consider how densely populated bigger countries are it makes it difficult to avoid people when doing things such as grocery shopping etc. Also remember that plenty ppl in those countries are very unhygienic and don't even practice basic hygiene such as bathing, washing hands and covering mouths when coughing.

While I would typically not intervene...

Trinidad has a greater degree of social mobility than many countries.

Trinidad is not densely populated when compared to any large metropolis.

Vitamin D plays a significant part in immuno-response.

Corona virus prefers moderate humidity and temperatures.

Covid spreads more easily during close interpersonal contact and while temperatures are in the 20°C and humidity in the 50% ranges.

Freezing cold temperatures help the virus to live longer on surfaces.

Moderate temperature and humdity help to create smaller aerosol particles from human breathe that propagate farther.

Postby redmanjp » February 28th, 2021, 12:47 pm

8-)
ruffneck_12 wrote:it have a 98% survival rate fellas

Not for your parents or
Grandparents though.

And it also has a 30% rate of giving u months of post covid problems. For those with mild symptoms as well. Perhaps years for some ppl. It ain't all about death. STDs are survivable but I still would rather do without it.

Postby redmanjp » February 28th, 2021, 1:04 pm

I doubt an employer could force someone under a quarantine order from a state health authority to work. Most that would happen is u don't get paid leave but to be fired I doubt. They do have OSHA regulations which I imagine would apply to dangerous infectious diseases.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » February 28th, 2021, 1:14 pm

redmanjp wrote:8-)

Not for your parents or
Grandparents though.

And it also has a 30% rate of giving u months of post covid problems. For those with mild symptoms as well. Perhaps years for some ppl. It ain't all about death. STDs are survivable but I still would rather do without it.

Even without covid your grand parents rate of surviving life is quite low. Your risk of getting cancer today is 1 in 3. Heart disease is still a titan in terms of death vs the corona common cold. But hey continue to chomp down that KFC but remember to wear your mask!

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » February 28th, 2021, 1:19 pm

drchaos wrote:

Not for your parents or
Grandparents though.

Even without covid your grand parents rate of surviving life is quite low. Your risk of getting cancer today is 1 in 3. Heart disease is still a titan in terms of death vs the corona common cold. But hey continue to chomp down that KFC but remember to wear your mask!

Covid can cut their lifespan by 10 years.....small thing ent?

Postby redmanjp » February 28th, 2021, 1:21 pm

I do agree we have an epidemic of NCDs, but that makes us more vulnerable to covid as many other countries with the same problem, but many ppl in my family have lived with NCDs (mother and grandmother takes meds) my grandmother is in her 90s despite having both diabetes and hypertension but add covid to that and they can end up in ICU. So can 200000 ppl in the country who have diabetes alone. Don't think we have one tenth of the hospitals that would be needed for a situation where everyone gets infected.

Postby ruffneck_12 » February 28th, 2021, 1:27 pm

drchaos wrote:

Not for your parents or
Grandparents though.

fax

Brb drinking a whole 20oz coke with my roti for lunchies

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » February 28th, 2021, 2:05 pm

redmanjp wrote:

I doubt an employer could force someone under a quarantine order from a state health authority to work. Most that would happen is u don't get paid leave but to be fired I doubt. They do have OSHA regulations which I imagine would apply to dangerous infectious diseases.

I was speaking more to low wage earners than professionals. What I meant was ppl were hiding their illnesses etc just to work as many jobs wouldn't allow sick leave etc. Not an employer forcing sick employees to work.

Remember we also talking about a place with plenty illegal immigrants who can't access healthcare and are forced to do whatever jobs they can find. These ppl also tend to live in small places with extended family members.

All of these factors play a role in prolonging disease transmission.

Postby redmanjp » February 28th, 2021, 2:27 pm

OSHA regulations ought to play a role in this, if someone with clear flu like symptoms is at work they will be putting other employees at risk.

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » February 28th, 2021, 2:52 pm

redmanjp wrote:OSHA regulations ought to play a role in this, if someone with clear flu like symptoms is at work they will be putting other employees at risk.

Prob in TT. Not always so cut and dry in the home of the free and the land of exploitation.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » February 28th, 2021, 3:50 pm

adnj wrote:
Redress10 wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:

While I would typically not intervene...

Trinidad has a greater degree of social mobility than many countries.

Trinidad is not densely populated when compared to any large metropolis.

Vitamin D plays a significant part in immuno-response.

Corona virus prefers moderate humidity and temperatures.

Covid spreads more easily during close interpersonal contact and while temperatures are in the 20°C and humidity in the 50% ranges.

Freezing cold temperatures help the virus to live longer on surfaces.

Moderate temperature and humdity help to create smaller aerosol particles from human breathe that propagate farther.

Thanks for the facts, explains a lot why Covid-19 has never become severe in the majority of tropical countries.

Postby paid_influencer » February 28th, 2021, 5:44 pm

nah, we get a taste of what uncontrolled spread looks like back in August. The graph looked like a straight vertical line going upwards.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » February 28th, 2021, 6:46 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:
drchaos wrote:

Not for your parents or
Grandparents though.

Please quote the peer review study with a large enough sample size to back up this BS claim.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » February 28th, 2021, 6:58 pm

drchaos wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:
drchaos wrote:

Not for your parents or
Grandparents though.

Please quote the peer review study with a large enough sample size to back up this BS claim.

Here you go, and there are many many many others showing simile

https://wellcomeopenresearch.org/articles/5-75

https://www.pnas.org/content/118/5/e201 ... 201.13%20y.

https://www.sciencedaily.com/releases/2 ... 181301.htm

https://www.sciencedaily.com/releases/2 ... 163958.htm

https://www.npr.org/sections/coronaviru ... -concludes

drchaos

Postby drchaos » March 2nd, 2021, 11:25 am

You said 10 years ... the article you quoted said less than 1 year for white americans and 3 for ethnic minorities.

Postby adnj » March 2nd, 2021, 11:36 am

drchaos wrote:You said 10 years ... the article you quoted said less than 1 year for white americans and 3 for ethnic minorities.
Read it again.

---------

Deaths from COVID-19 represent a substantial burden in terms of per-person YLL, more than a decade, even after adjusting for the typical number and type of LTCs found in people dying of COVID-19. The extent of multimorbidity heavily influences the estimated YLL at a given age. More comprehensive and standardised collection of data (including LTC type, severity, and potential confounders such as socioeconomic-deprivation and care-home status) is needed to optimise YLL estimates for specific populations, and to understand the global burden of COVID-19, and guide policy-making and interventions.

https://wellcomeopenresearch.org/articles/5-75

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » March 2nd, 2021, 11:45 am

drchaos wrote:You said 10 years ... the article you quoted said less than 1 year for white americans and 3 for ethnic minorities.

That's general life expectancy, to have a decrease even in one year when the previous trend was increasing means that lots of people had their life cut short substantially.

Postby sMASH » March 5th, 2021, 12:48 pm

Postby adnj » March 5th, 2021, 1:05 pm

sMASH wrote:Not sure how to embed.

https://www.facebook.com/watch/?v=880874565789638

Here you are:

Numb3r4

Postby Numb3r4 » March 5th, 2021, 8:39 pm

I couldn't hear what was said, what is he going to mash up for her?

drchaos

Postby drchaos » March 6th, 2021, 12:52 am

Dohplaydat wrote:

That's general life expectancy, to have a decrease even in one year when the previous trend was increasing means that lots of people had their life cut short substantially.

Living to 69 years with covid (Plus renal failure and cardiovascular disease) VS living 70 years without it is cutting your life substantially?

Bearing in mind these studies that he claimed 10 years for and is actually 1 year was done in America and not in Trinidad where covid is a non issue.
Last edited by drchaos on March 6th, 2021, 12:53 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby sMASH » March 6th, 2021, 12:53 am

Numb3r4 wrote:I couldn't hear what was said, what is he going to mash up for her?
i was too distracted by mamoo littering and fire hazarding in the the background. technically we are in the dry season.

Skanky

Postby Skanky » March 6th, 2021, 7:49 am

Didn't Texas and Mississippi drop/ lower their Covid restrictions this week?
Maybe they know something about this 'killer virus' that the mental 99% don't?

Am I the only person who saw trump get the Covid, go into a military hospital with symptoms on Friday and come out good as new on Monday?

Also why a military hospital?

While the mental 99% pinning their lives on vaccines and talking heads what in the world did trump get that cured his covid so quickly?

Shandilay? Shining Bush? Zebapique and puncheon?

Postby De Dragon » March 6th, 2021, 12:22 pm

Skanky wrote:Didn't Texas and Mississippi drop/ lower their Covid restrictions this week?

Am I the only person who saw trump get the Covid, go into a military hospital with symptoms on Friday and come out good as new on Monday?

While the mental 99% pinning their lives on vaccines and talking heads what in the world did trump get that cured his covid so quickly?

Texas and Mississippi are simply thumbing their noses at Biden.
ALL US Presidents go to a military hospital like Walter Reed if the White House facilities are deemed incapable.
Trump got an experimental treatment unavailable to most
Cured? 98% of all positive cases are asymptomatic, his treatment was precautionary in the absence of a vaccine, plus his doctors were never really forthcoming with his symptoms.

Postby pugboy » March 6th, 2021, 12:27 pm

add Maxie Cuffie to the Walter Reed alumni list

it is a top hospital no holds barred, that is where they does try to stick back together the soldiers who come back in pieces from war.

Skanky wrote:Didn't Texas and Mississippi drop/ lower their Covid restrictions this week?

Texas and Mississippi are simply thumbing their noses at Biden.
ALL US Presidents go to a military hospital like Walter Reed if the White House facilities are deemed incapable.
Trump got an experimental treatment unavailable to most
Cured? 98% of all positive cases are asymptomatic, his treatment was precautionary in the absence of a vaccine, plus his doctors were never really forthcoming with his symptoms.