De Dragon wrote:Habit7 wrote:De Dragon wrote:You facking serious? How TF do you determine active cases again?
Are you Prior from AZP news?
Lower testing rates obviously results in lower positive case numbers![]()
C'mon nah man, it's like you're not even trying anymore
De Dragon wrote:Habit7 wrote:Right now in Jamaica, there are ppl laughing at T&T because they have higher testing that us.
All while tourist arrivals down by 65-80%, they have half the hospital beds per capita to us, healthcare is not free, they have 15,000 active cases and they have less than 100K vaccine doses, enough to vaccine 50K of their 2.7M population.
But at least they test more because as we all know, testing is a more important metric than active cases.
You facking serious? How TF do you determine active cases again?
You really in your own little LFD RFD PNM universe yes!
Jamaica has total deaths per million due to Covid that is four times the TTO deaths per million.Habit7 wrote:Right now in Jamaica, there are ppl laughing at T&T because they have higher testing that us.
All while tourist arrivals down by 65-80%, they have half the hospital beds per capita to us, healthcare is not free, they have 15,000 active cases and they have less than 100K vaccine doses, enough to vaccine 50K of their 2.7M population.
But at least they test more because as we all know, testing is a more important metric than active cases.
sMASH wrote:De Dragon wrote:Habit7 wrote:Right now in Jamaica, there are ppl laughing at T&T because they have higher testing that us.
de man hadda be intentionally dumb, cant be this dotish for free.
that is the same mentality that said covid would spread more in open air at the doubles shed so to close it, but its okay indoors at kfc, so that could stay open.
sMASH wrote:De Dragon wrote:Habit7 wrote:Right now in Jamaica, there are ppl laughing at T&T because they have higher testing that us.
de man hadda be intentionally dumb, cant be this dotish for free.
that is the same mentality that said covid would spread more in open air at the doubles shed so to close it, but its okay indoors at kfc, so that could stay open.
adnj wrote:Jamaica has total deaths per million due to Covid that is four times the TTO deaths per million.Habit7 wrote:Right now in Jamaica, there are ppl laughing at T&T because they have higher testing that us.
shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Over 100 ttps members from central are presently in quarantine
redmanjp wrote:shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Over 100 ttps members from central are presently in quarantine
yuh see why i does be wearing my mask in d office- dem officers does come here all d time and a few of them feel dey cud come in d office without mask
Habit7 wrote:
adnj wrote:Jamaica has total deaths per million due to Covid that is four times the TTO deaths per million.Habit7 wrote:Right now in Jamaica, there are ppl laughing at T&T because they have higher testing that us.
THE Ministry of Health continues to monitor pneumonia and such related deaths.
Speaking at Monday’s virtual health press conference to update on Covid-19, technical director of the Epidemiological Division Dr Avery Hinds said that, on average, deaths from pneumonia for this year have not surpassed the average number.
He said, “We continue to monitor for what we call excess mortality, more deaths than we expect, more deaths than is usual, and while we do see that there have been increases between May and August, those increases have not yet surpassed the average.”
https://trinidadexpress.com/newsextra/t ... a74ab.html
Habit7 wrote:THE Ministry of Health continues to monitor pneumonia and such related deaths.
Speaking at Monday’s virtual health press conference to update on Covid-19, technical director of the Epidemiological Division Dr Avery Hinds said that, on average, deaths from pneumonia for this year have not surpassed the average number.
He said, “We continue to monitor for what we call excess mortality, more deaths than we expect, more deaths than is usual, and while we do see that there have been increases between May and August, those increases have not yet surpassed the average.”
https://trinidadexpress.com/newsextra/t ... a74ab.html
I expect the goalpost to change now to find some other metric to push the narrative that things are worst than we know in T&T
Habit7 wrote:The data was made public but even if you are demanding dynamically updated data every day then you will have a hard time comparing it to other countries because they don't release such detail data either.
https://www.looptt.com/content/health-m ... ted-deaths
We are not testing like our neighbours because we don't require as much testing as our Caribbean neighbours. When places like Jamaica getting 700 cases a day, think of contact tracing for that. Since last year Carnival, there has always been those who doubt our numbers and believe they are secretly higher. Well then we need to share our secret on how we have worse numbers but just have 5 ppl in hospital.
Habit7 wrote:The data was made public but even if you are demanding dynamically updated data every day then you will have a hard time comparing it to other countries because they don't release such detail data either.
We are not testing like our neighbours because we don't require as much testing as our Caribbean neighbours. When places like Jamaica getting 700 cases a day, think of contact tracing for that. Since last year Carnival, there has always been those who doubt our numbers and believe they are secretly higher. Well then we need to share our secret on how we have worse numbers but just have 5 ppl in hospital.
teems1 wrote:Habit7 wrote:The data was made public but even if you are demanding dynamically updated data every day then you will have a hard time comparing it to other countries because they don't release such detail data either.
I'm sure we aren't as bad as the other islands because of closed borders, but the low testing surely helps makes our numbers look better than they are.
Many Trinis have an aversion to going to the hospital or getting tested in the first place, and would simply fight it out at home.
The point is that everything is conjecture until you can put numbers to it, and the only way we can put numbers to it to widespread test.
redmanjp wrote:afaik they still testing primary contacts regardless of symptoms
Dohplaydat wrote:redmanjp wrote:afaik they still testing primary contacts regardless of symptoms
Nah that stop long time, my cousin's brother got tested positive, no one at his home was called in for testing.
As for me, a coworker was positive around divali time, I wasn't told to test.
Dohplaydat wrote:Habit7,
And we are not doing the best in the Caribbean. A measure of success with Covid is how well you balance cases/deaths with keeping the economy and borders open.
Grenada wins hands down in that regard
redmanjp wrote:Dohplaydat wrote:redmanjp wrote:afaik they still testing primary contacts regardless of symptoms
Nah that stop long time, my cousin's brother got tested positive, no one at his home was called in for testing.
As for me, a coworker was positive around divali time, I wasn't told to test.
did u have direct contact with him/her?
redmanjp wrote:Dohplaydat wrote:Habit7,
And we are not doing the best in the Caribbean. A measure of success with Covid is how well you balance cases/deaths with keeping the economy and borders open.
all those islands economies would have collapsed as they are primarily tourism based so they had to keep borders open to some extent, we are not tourism based so our priorities are different.
Dohplaydat wrote:Habit7,
We are too restricted given the number of cases, ease up is necessary as it's affecting people's livelihoods far too long. Not to mention the adverse effects on kids absent from school.
We are severely undertesting, why is it many other places with similar number of cases have way more tests? We are on the bottom 3 of the Caribbean.
We dropped the ball on getting free vaccines from India.
The data shared is an already produced bar chart, we don't know how that data was collected, aggregated and processed. Make the original source available online like many other countries. Lying with statistics is a thing dofus.