COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago (Local Updates & Discussions Only)

Kay_B

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 7783 cases, 140 deaths, 112 active, 7531 recovered in T&T

Postby Kay_B » March 18th, 2021, 6:31 am

Habit7 wrote:
De Dragon wrote:You facking serious? How TF do you determine active cases again?

Are you Prior from AZP news?

Lower testing rates obviously results in lower positive case numbers :roll:
C'mon nah man, it's like you're not even trying anymore :roll:

It is logical. I'm not exactly sure, but the number of tests prescribed depends on the number of people who go to hospitals. Although, maybe doctors do not prescribe everyone testing to artificially lower the indicators. I've heard this theory.

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 7783 cases, 140 deaths, 112 active, 7531 recovered in T&T

Postby sMASH » March 18th, 2021, 6:40 am

Habit7 wrote:Right now in Jamaica, there are ppl laughing at T&T because they have higher testing that us.

All while tourist arrivals down by 65-80%, they have half the hospital beds per capita to us, healthcare is not free, they have 15,000 active cases and they have less than 100K vaccine doses, enough to vaccine 50K of their 2.7M population.

But at least they test more because as we all know, testing is a more important metric than active cases.

:shock: :shock:
You facking serious? How TF do you determine active cases again?
You really in your own little LFD RFD PNM universe yes! :roll:

de man hadda be intentionally dumb, cant be this dotish for free.
that is the same mentality that said covid would spread more in open air at the doubles shed so to close it, but its okay indoors at kfc, so that could stay open.

Postby adnj » March 18th, 2021, 7:11 am

Habit7 wrote:Right now in Jamaica, there are ppl laughing at T&T because they have higher testing that us.

All while tourist arrivals down by 65-80%, they have half the hospital beds per capita to us, healthcare is not free, they have 15,000 active cases and they have less than 100K vaccine doses, enough to vaccine 50K of their 2.7M population.

But at least they test more because as we all know, testing is a more important metric than active cases.
Jamaica has total deaths per million due to Covid that is four times the TTO deaths per million.
Last edited by adnj on March 18th, 2021, 7:11 am, edited 3 times in total.

Postby De Dragon » March 18th, 2021, 7:11 am

sMASH wrote:

that is the same mentality that said covid would spread more in open air at the doubles shed so to close it, but its okay indoors at kfc, so that could stay open.

And he type that sheit with confidence you know! :lol:

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 7807 cases, 140 deaths, 121 active, 7546 recovered in T&T

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » March 18th, 2021, 9:03 am

Over 100 ttps members from central are presently in quarantine

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 7807 cases, 140 deaths, 121 active, 7546 recovered in T&T

Postby timelapse » March 18th, 2021, 9:05 am

Was waiting for that^. Dem fackers does be liming all over the place doing everything except police work, unless is certain businessmen calling them.

Postby Habit7 » March 18th, 2021, 11:51 am

sMASH wrote:

Restaurants stopped in house dining - 16 March 2020
Non-essential work ceased (with included Doubles) - 26 March 2020
All restaurants to be closed - 6 Apr 2020

I know in the small mind of your tribe it would be remembered that Govt closed Doubles specifically and KFC was open as if KFC is the only restaurant in T&T. But it was a gradual ramping up of measures to stop the spread of covid-19 that affected EVERYBODY.

adnj wrote:

Jamaica has total deaths per million due to Covid that is four times the TTO deaths per million.

It was sarcasm. ZR and his plebs were saying Caricom countries laughing at T&T and have higher testing. When the reality is that they have higher active cases requiring higher testing.

Postby redmanjp » March 18th, 2021, 12:00 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Over 100 ttps members from central are presently in quarantine

yuh see why i does be wearing my mask in d office whole day while other staff members not- dem officers does come here all d time and a few of them feel dey cud come in d office without mask. 17 of my coworkers had to quarantine last July/August. :roll:
Last edited by redmanjp on March 18th, 2021, 12:13 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby sMASH » March 18th, 2021, 12:04 pm

redmanjp wrote:
shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Over 100 ttps members from central are presently in quarantine

yuh see why i does be wearing my mask in d office- dem officers does come here all d time and a few of them feel dey cud come in d office without mask

pics or u lie.

Postby sMASH » March 18th, 2021, 12:06 pm

Habit7 wrote:
sMASH wrote:

Restaurants stopped in house dining - 16 March 2020
Non-essential work ceased (with included Doubles) - 26 March 2020
All restaurants to be closed - 6 Apr 2020

I know in the small mind of your tribe it would be remembered that Govt closed Doubles specifically and KFC was open as if KFC is the only restaurant in T&T. But it was a gradual ramping up of measures to stop the spread of covid-19 that affected EVERYBODY.

adnj wrote:

It was sarcasm. ZR and his plebs were saying Caricom countries laughing at T&T and have higher testing. When the reality is that they have higher active cases requiring higher testing.

[quote:"habbit"] blah blah blah [/attempt at chain up]

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » March 18th, 2021, 12:30 pm

adnj wrote:

Deaths per capita is also a poor a metric to judge Covid performance. There are many inconsistencies in how deaths are counted. Suspected Covid deaths without a positive Covid test are ruled not Covid in come countries, while others count it.

While Jamaica is definitely higher than us, it's not quite 4 times, a lot of data normalisation needs to be done before comparing these stats directly.

A more realistic figure would be to use excess deaths during this period. But alas our CSO is years behind in accurate data so we'll likely never know.

Postby Habit7 » March 18th, 2021, 12:37 pm

THE Ministry of Health continues to monitor pneumonia and such related deaths.

Speaking at Monday’s virtual health press conference to update on Covid-19, technical director of the Epidemiological Division Dr Avery Hinds said that, on average, deaths from pneumonia for this year have not surpassed the average number.

He said, “We continue to monitor for what we call excess mortality, more deaths than we expect, more deaths than is usual, and while we do see that there have been increases between May and August, those increases have not yet surpassed the average.

https://trinidadexpress.com/newsextra/t ... a74ab.html

I expect the goalpost to change now to find some other metric to push the narrative that things are worst than we know in T&T

Postby zoom rader » March 18th, 2021, 12:38 pm

In every chead Habit7 does get make out and pronounce Bobolee

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » March 18th, 2021, 1:05 pm

Habit7 wrote:
THE Ministry of Health continues to monitor pneumonia and such related deaths.

Speaking at Monday’s virtual health press conference to update on Covid-19, technical director of the Epidemiological Division Dr Avery Hinds said that, on average, deaths from pneumonia for this year have not surpassed the average number.

He said, “We continue to monitor for what we call excess mortality, more deaths than we expect, more deaths than is usual, and while we do see that there have been increases between May and August, those increases have not yet surpassed the average.

https://trinidadexpress.com/newsextra/t ... a74ab.html

I expect the goalpost to change now to find some other metric to push the narrative that things are worst than we know in T&T

Right, you don't have the data, the data isn't being made public so we have no idea what's really been happening.

Habit7, I'm not saying things are bad in T&T, I'm saying comparing figures between two islands isn't easy. Especially when we aren't testing at nearly the rate of most of the Caribbean. That alone skews things considerably.

Might I add, we definitely should be the lowest in the Caribbean given that we have by far the most strict measures in place.

But yet we are, not.

Now it's your turn to blame illegal Venezuelans, and then Max will defend.

Let's just skip all that and agree that things aren't bad but the management of this situation leaves a lot to be desired.

Postby Habit7 » March 18th, 2021, 1:35 pm

The data was made public but even if you are demanding dynamically updated data every day then you will have a hard time comparing it to other countries because they don't release such detail data either.

https://www.looptt.com/content/health-m ... ted-deaths

We are not testing like our neighbours because we don't require as much testing as our Caribbean neighbours. When places like Jamaica getting 700 cases a day, think of contact tracing for that. Since last year Carnival, there has always been those who doubt our numbers and believe they are secretly higher. Well then we need to share our secret on how we have worse numbers but just have 5 ppl in hospital.

Postby teems1 » March 18th, 2021, 1:53 pm

Habit7 wrote:The data was made public but even if you are demanding dynamically updated data every day then you will have a hard time comparing it to other countries because they don't release such detail data either.

We are not testing like our neighbours because we don't require as much testing as our Caribbean neighbours. When places like Jamaica getting 700 cases a day, think of contact tracing for that. Since last year Carnival, there has always been those who doubt our numbers and believe they are secretly higher. Well then we need to share our secret on how we have worse numbers but just have 5 ppl in hospital.

I'm sure we aren't as bad as the other islands because of closed borders, but the low testing surely helps makes our numbers look better than they are.

Many Trinis have an aversion to going to the hospital or getting tested in the first place, and would simply fight it out at home.

The point is that everything is conjecture until you can put numbers to it, and the only way we can put numbers to it to widespread test.

make meh care

Postby make meh care » March 18th, 2021, 1:57 pm

Habit7 wrote:The data was made public but even if you are demanding dynamically updated data every day then you will have a hard time comparing it to other countries because they don't release such detail data either.

always using some horseshiet data as usual .

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » March 18th, 2021, 1:58 pm

Lol if you think that's what it means to make data public.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » March 18th, 2021, 2:00 pm

teems1 wrote:

I'm sure we aren't as bad as the other islands because of closed borders, but the low testing surely helps makes our numbers look better than they are.

Many Trinis have an aversion to going to the hospital or getting tested in the first place, and would simply fight it out at home.

The point is that everything is conjecture until you can put numbers to it, and the only way we can put numbers to it to widespread test.

In Aug to Oct, primary contacts were all tested, mandatory testing. They stopped that since and you're being told to quarantine for 2 weeks and get tested if you feel sick.

That alone could have dropped our case load significantly.

Postby redmanjp » March 18th, 2021, 2:29 pm

afaik they still testing primary contacts regardless of symptoms

Postby sMASH » March 18th, 2021, 2:32 pm

habbit is the kinda man, he will go and tro a hook in the sea, cetch 10 fish and tell every body, the sea had 10 fish.

he is saying, no need to do more testing, cause the cases low. news flash palos, if u test more u will get more.

u hadda pay somebody to be that dotish, cant push that propaganda for free.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » March 18th, 2021, 2:50 pm

redmanjp wrote:afaik they still testing primary contacts regardless of symptoms

Nah that stop long time, my cousin's brother got tested positive, no one at his home was called in for testing.

As for me, a coworker was positive around divali time, I wasn't told to test.

Postby Habit7 » March 18th, 2021, 2:58 pm

So first it was the Caricom laughing at us
-But we are doing the one of best in the Caribbean

Then it was "How TF do you determine active cases again?"
-By being informed with information

Then it was "lower testing rates obviously results in lower positive case numbers"
-Who is to say low cases equates to lower testing. Testing is available public and private, I was tested (to enter a deliver room), anybody can go to healthcare or pay a lab and be tested. The main reason why other islands have higher testing is because incoming passengers are rapid tested. That is being compared to our PCR testing.

CSO hiding the data "We don't know the excess mortality"
-It was commented on by technical director of the Epidemiological Division Dr Avery Hinds

We don't have the data!
-He shared the data and if you have a doubt just email a reporter and ask them to pose the question at the multiple pressers each week. In fact, just call the ministry of health and request it.

I am being to think that there is no scenario that would warrant some of you all not being cynical. Even the WHO is pleased with us but for some of you armchair epidemiologists, you know better.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » March 18th, 2021, 3:07 pm

Habit7,

We are too restricted given the number of cases, ease up is necessary as it's affecting people's livelihoods far too long. Not to mention the adverse effects on kids absent from school.

We are severely undertesting, why is it many other places with similar number of cases have way more tests? We are on the bottom 3 of the Caribbean.

We dropped the ball on getting free vaccines from India.

The data shared is an already produced bar chart, we don't know how that data was collected, aggregated and processed. Make the original source available online like many other countries. Lying with statistics is a thing dofus.

And we are not doing the best in the Caribbean. A measure of success with Covid is how well you balance cases/deaths with keeping the economy and borders open.

Grenada wins hands down in that regard

Postby redmanjp » March 18th, 2021, 3:13 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:

Nah that stop long time, my cousin's brother got tested positive, no one at his home was called in for testing.

did u have direct contact with him/her?

Postby redmanjp » March 18th, 2021, 3:20 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:Habit7,

And we are not doing the best in the Caribbean. A measure of success with Covid is how well you balance cases/deaths with keeping the economy and borders open.

all those islands economies would have collapsed as they are primarily tourism based so they had to keep borders open to some extent, we are not tourism based so our priorities are different.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » March 18th, 2021, 3:21 pm

redmanjp wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:

did u have direct contact with him/her?

He literally works 9ft away from me.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » March 18th, 2021, 3:29 pm

redmanjp wrote:

all those islands economies would have collapsed as they are primarily tourism based so they had to keep borders open to some extent, we are not tourism based so our priorities are different.

Right, not like Tobago lives matter.

Our entertainment and hospitality industry is in shambles. School children are suffering immensely. Also taxis and maxi men, this thing reaches far. It's not just bar owners.

I'd agree with most of the MoH measured except the mask wearing in cars, the blocking of citizens from returning, the lack of widespread testing, serving no alcohol in restaurants (jus limit group size and overcrowding and keep the 10pm limit), no river limes and the failure to acquire the free vaccines from India.

Additionally, international borders could have been opened for Tobago. Create a zone for them to keep contact between locals and trinis at a minimum.

Postby Habit7 » March 18th, 2021, 3:33 pm

We are too restricted given the number of cases, ease up is necessary as it's affecting people's livelihoods far too long. Not to mention the adverse effects on kids absent from school.

We are severely undertesting, why is it many other places with similar number of cases have way more tests? We are on the bottom 3 of the Caribbean.

We dropped the ball on getting free vaccines from India.

The data shared is an already produced bar chart, we don't know how that data was collected, aggregated and processed. Make the original source available online like many other countries. Lying with statistics is a thing dofus.

So you saw Grenada's data in the same way you are dubious about ours?

Or are you just raising your skepticism when it comes to T&T, but lowering it for others?

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » March 18th, 2021, 3:43 pm

Well they are testing at 3 times our rate. Their borders have been open 6 months plus, yet our death rate is 10 times higher and cases per million is 4.5 times higher. And don't tell me their population small and it's spaced out, it is small but not like nearly half the island living in around St George's.