COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago (Local Updates & Discussions Only)

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 25801 cases, 556 deaths, 10049 active, 15196 recovered in T&T

Postby alfa » June 5th, 2021, 6:24 pm

wtf wrote:
MaxPower wrote:Speaking of Venes,

Seeing that allyuh Trinis quick to blame Venes for spreading Covid rather than YOURSELVES…..

Should they be given priority to be vaccinated first?
I fed up of you and this vene sh!t.
Jump on a plane and get the ph uck out of Trinidad. You won't be missed I can assure you.

No need to leave T&T bro…things nice too bad here.

We have to work with what we have and use all opportunities and resources available.

All you need is a good team, minus the xenophobia.

So, again….should Venezuelans be given a priority to be vaccinated seeing that Trinis assume they alone brought Covid?

Simple yes or no, could put aside the toting.

If legal yes, if here illegally they shouldn't even be allowed to buy a loaf of bread

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 25801 cases, 556 deaths, 10049 active, 15196 recovered in T&T

Postby K74T » June 5th, 2021, 6:28 pm

paid_influencer wrote:I have a strong urge to go to the bar right now.
Yuh could go Bar

...ataria

Postby sMASH » June 5th, 2021, 6:31 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:Did they specifically say anything about hardwares

stay tuned next week they will update, going back into phased reopening like the last time, but expedited reopening according to vacination drive.
they gonna do sumting like america with vacinations points all over like promenade, stadiums, mobile units, etc.

had to borrow tent from usa, had to pull people from A&E, all vacation and time off cancelled for medical staff but vacine drive dawg

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » June 5th, 2021, 7:06 pm

sMASH wrote:
Phone Surgeon wrote:Did they specifically say anything about hardwares

stay tuned next week they will update, going back into phased reopening like the last time, but expedited reopening according to vacination drive.
they gonna do sumting like america with vacinations points all over like promenade, stadiums, mobile units, etc.

had to borrow tent from usa, had to pull people from A&E, all vacation and time off cancelled for medical staff but vacine drive dawg

Nothing eh wrong with dat we need to get as much people vaccinated for schools to reopen and for carnival 2022

Postby sMASH » June 5th, 2021, 7:10 pm

nothing wrong with that. my issue is the resources they say they gonna throw at it, compared to the resources we see they DONT HAVE.

selling dreams.

Postby aaron17 » June 5th, 2021, 7:34 pm

Ent they does have carnival launch in oct. or something? That might be the greatest carnival launch in history

Postby pugboy » June 5th, 2021, 7:46 pm

so what happens if we don’t get the vaccine uptake
ie plenty hesitation

Postby redmanjp » June 5th, 2021, 8:27 pm

aaron17 wrote:Ent they does have carnival launch in oct. or something? That might be the greatest carnival launch in history

Way to early to have unless it virtual and involve everyone masked. If there's any chance of Carnival in 2022 it would be with masks and other measures e.g. alcohol ban. This was asked today but the PM said not to keep your hopes up for next year.

Postby adnj » June 5th, 2021, 8:57 pm

pugboy wrote:so what happens if we don’t get the vaccine uptake
ie plenty hesitation
Spikes, lockdowns and mutations are likely.

"Vaccine refusal could eventually make the pandemic worse for everyone

While it largely remains a personal choice, those who are eligible to get the vaccine but chose not to — for whatever reasons — run the risk of not only getting the virus and transmitting it to others, but also of prolonging the pandemic, contributing to spikes in cases, and giving the virus more opportunities to mutate.

Medical experts say we’re currently in a crucial part of the pandemic. We need to get enough people to have antibodies against the coronavirus — whether through vaccination or prior infection — to prevent it from mutating into strains (or variants) that may be more lethal."

https://www.healthline.com/health-news/ ... r-everyone

Postby MaxPower » June 5th, 2021, 9:01 pm

alfa wrote:
wtf wrote:
MaxPower wrote:Speaking of Venes,

Seeing that allyuh Trinis quick to blame Venes for spreading Covid rather than YOURSELVES…..

Should they be given priority to be vaccinated first?
I fed up of you and this vene sh!t.
Jump on a plane and get the ph uck out of Trinidad. You won't be missed I can assure you.

No need to leave T&T bro…things nice too bad here.

We have to work with what we have and use all opportunities and resources available.

All you need is a good team, minus the xenophobia.

So, again….should Venezuelans be given a priority to be vaccinated seeing that Trinis assume they alone brought Covid?

Simple yes or no, could put aside the toting.

If legal yes, if here illegally they shouldn't even be allowed to buy a loaf of bread

True, i can try to agree.

But the priority i would say is to vaccinate as many Trinis as we can as they pose the higher threat.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » June 5th, 2021, 9:10 pm

adnj wrote:
ie plenty hesitation
Spikes, lockdowns and mutations are likely.

"Vaccine refusal could eventually make the pandemic worse for everyone

While it largely remains a personal choice, those who are eligible to get the vaccine but chose not to — for whatever reasons — run the risk of not only getting the virus and transmitting it to others, but also of prolonging the pandemic, contributing to spikes in cases, and giving the virus more opportunities to mutate.

Medical experts say we’re currently in a crucial part of the pandemic. We need to get enough people to have antibodies against the coronavirus — whether through vaccination or prior infection — to prevent it from mutating into strains (or variants) that may be more lethal."

https://www.healthline.com/health-news/ ... r-everyone

Yup, remember the more infections you have the more variants will occur so we need every single person across the planet to get their ass vaccinated asap.

Postby pugboy » June 5th, 2021, 9:19 pm

town ain’t taking vaccine
maybe if some incentives but certainly not by carnival 2022

Postby paid_influencer » June 5th, 2021, 9:25 pm

now that I've calmed down... PM talking reopening school in September. J&J Vaccines coming in August. So, is probably not that he talking about - it too close for that J&J shipment to be the savior that allows us to reopen schools (takes some time to distribute and then some weeks after to take effect). So that leaves Sinopharm or Biden... so we either getting a farkload of Sinopharm next month or...and this is the interesting part.. Biden coming with something big and Keith playing coy?

Postby redmanjp » June 5th, 2021, 9:30 pm

ie plenty hesitation

That's why they need to role it out widely to private sector. Also setup mass sites with army medics putting shots into arms.
The next would be all manner of incentives. Lotto and play whe tickets, fete tickets (assuming fetes are allowed), airline tickets, free kfc etc.

Maybe even indoor dining and indoor bars for fully vaxxed ppl alone until herd immunity.

So u can choose to not get vaccinated but u go real miss out while all your vaccinated friends enjoying a return to normal.
Last edited by redmanjp on June 5th, 2021, 9:37 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby paid_influencer » June 5th, 2021, 9:35 pm

^i feel is all the talk about Kelvin Doubles and going for KFC that have me so. Them know what they was doing. Plenty people would take vaccine for a snackbox

Postby pugboy » June 5th, 2021, 9:40 pm

that’s prob the only way but then lawyers go say it’s unconstitutional to bar unjabbed ppl

Postby hover11 » June 5th, 2021, 9:43 pm

Antigua have a land lottery and trinis selling themselves short for carnival lol
pugboy wrote:town ain’t taking vaccine
maybe if some incentives but certainly not by carnival 2022

Postby hover11 » June 5th, 2021, 9:45 pm

It is at the end of the day it's a choice you can't force that on ppl....you will always have unvaccinated ppl among us
pugboy wrote:that’s prob the only way but then lawyers go say it’s unconstitutional to bar unjabbed ppl

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » June 5th, 2021, 10:27 pm

No carnival.

Can't have thousands of ppl grinding up and rubbing up on one another.

Vaccine, mask and social distance is still the order of the day. Vaccines are for when the virus interacts with you the effects are less.

The more ppl interacting in that way the more chances of creating a new variant. Everywhere that opening up doesn't have carnival type interactions.

It is not a cure.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » June 5th, 2021, 10:45 pm

Redress10 wrote:No carnival.

Vaccine, mask and social distance is still the order of the day. Vaccines are for when the virus interacts with you the effects are less.

The more ppl interacting in that way the more chances of creating a new variant. Everywhere that opening up doesn't have carnival type interactions.

It is not a cure.

It's outdoors bro, just wear masks....them Monday wear designers go have a field day selling decorative masks. Carnival won't lead to an increase in cases compared to simple things like stopping work from home.

Postby redmanjp » June 5th, 2021, 10:58 pm

In big crowds it can especially with these new variants which spread much more easily. It all depends on herd immunity and the level of infection we will have by the end of this year.

The vaccine is not a cure but it will cause the virus spread to reduce as the R0 will be less than 1 even when we relax some restrictions

Postby redmanjp » June 5th, 2021, 11:08 pm

pugboy wrote:that’s prob the only way but then lawyers go say it’s unconstitutional to bar unjabbed ppl

Maybe for employment or for essential businesses like going grocery but merely enjoying the finer things in life which pose a super spreader risk?

The court already dismissed various claims against the health ordinance so I think they could try it. Only until herd immunity or a dramatically low rate of spread.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » June 5th, 2021, 11:18 pm

redmanjp wrote:In big crowds it can especially with these new variants which spread much more easily. It all depends on herd immunity and the level of infection we will have by the end of this year.

The vaccine is not a cure but it will cause the virus spread to reduce as the R0 will be less than 1 even when we relax some restrictions

There are big events being held all over the world right now.

Look if we can do 60% by Jan, which is difficult (due to anti-vaxxers) but made much easier with J&J .....then we can start restart, no point in suffering through boredom again.

Postby MaxPower » June 5th, 2021, 11:30 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:

It is not a cure.

It's outdoors bro, just wear masks....them Monday wear designers go have a field day selling decorative masks. Carnival won't lead to an increase in cases compared to simple things like stopping work from home.

Bro,

Which part you not getting about people not wearing masks or more so, not wearing properly?

The population is generally irresponsible and they will continue to do so.

With opened bars, beaches, rivers and Carnival combined with a highly contagious variant is a disaster.

People are not listening.

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » June 5th, 2021, 11:32 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:

It is not a cure.

Bro

Do you does think before you post?

What is the point of wearing a mask if you gonna be in a thicky sweaty crowd whole day with ppl brwathing directly into other people's faoces. What about the extremely close contact that carnival is known for? What abt the direct exchange of bodily fluids.

I swear some of you all make no sense. The vaccine is there for us to go back to "normal". Normal being home, work, school, mall, bars etc. Social distancing and mask wearing will still be practiced to an extent.

All of the sanitising is still there. Thw virus hasn't gone away.

You talking about events all over the world but the crowd in nba stadium or sporting arena is completely different to what takes place in a mas band on carnival monday and tuesday.

Just look at it this way. Every carnival there is an increase in the common cold and flu like illnesses. That alone should tell you something.

No Carnival. Let the children and them go to school first and settle in nah before you come with a potential mass spreading event.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » June 5th, 2021, 11:36 pm

Redress10 wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:

It is not a cure.

Bro

Do you does think before you post?

What is the point of wearing a mask if you gonna be in a thicky sweaty crowd whole day with ppl brwathing directly into other people's faoces. What about the extremely close contact that carnival is known for? What abt the direct exchange of bodily fluids.

I swear some of you all make no sense. The vaccine is there for us to go back to "normal". Normal being home, work, school, mall, bars etc. Social distancing and mask wearing will still be practiced to an extent.

All of the sanitising is still there. Thw virus hasn't gone away.

You talking about events all over the world but the crowd in nba stadium or sporting arena is completely different to what takes place in a mas band on carnival monday and tuesday.

Just look at it this way. Every carnival there is an increase in the common cold and flu like illnesses. That alone should tell you something.

No Carnival. Let the children and them go to school first and settle in nah before you come with a potential mass spreading event.

Mother of all Carnivals coming, hard luck for you introverts.

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » June 5th, 2021, 11:39 pm

Has nothing to do with introvertism.

Some of us actually have more important sh*t to worry about than sh*tty little experiences such as carnival.

How old are you?

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » June 5th, 2021, 11:41 pm

Redress10 wrote:Has nothing to do with introvertism.

Some of us actually have more important sh*t to worry about than sh*tty little experiences such as carnival.

How old are you?

old enough, and why you think Carnival not important?

Postby redmanjp » June 5th, 2021, 11:56 pm

AG never say Carnival 2022. Even with Seychelles they had a surge with a majority of ppl vaccinated and Carnival would cause more spread which can create another wave and kill another couple hundred people.

If it's a scaled down Carnival maybe but certainly not the mother of all Carnivals unless we want the mother of all covid surges.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » June 6th, 2021, 12:15 am

redmanjp wrote:AG never say Carnival 2022. Even with Seychelles they had a surge with a majority of ppl vaccinated and Carnival would cause more spread which can create another wave and kill another couple hundred people.

If it's a scaled down Carnival maybe but certainly not the mother of all Carnivals unless we want the mother of all covid surges.

We can only hope. Seychelles has the South African variant in which the AZ and Sinopharm perform poorly. This is why we need a mix of vaccines, JJ is slightly better, mRNAs would be best. But fortunately, we don't have that variant, and those vaccines work fairly well against the P1 and UK variants.

If the majority of over 60s and high-risk persons are vaccinated, then it'd mostly be the anti-vaxxers who'd be suffering.

All this is dependent on our vaccination and rollout. If we not at 50% by Jan31st I would advise against Carnival.