What the Best Split level AC Units...Carrier LG, Panasonic?

Re: What the Best Split level AC Units...Carrier LG, Panasonic?

Postby maj. tom » June 21st, 2023, 9:48 pm

Oh nice, I going through with NK then. I just need to get one of those 230V breakermatic plugs.

Postby Dave » June 22nd, 2023, 6:24 am

Very indeed.
Good job.
rollingstock wrote:I have the led through the cover. Bought from Neil cool about 7 years now. Just routine cleaning that I did myself. First time having an issue and I consider a bad cap minor.

Postby pugboy » June 22nd, 2023, 7:29 am

whats the oldest units allyuh have in use ?

I have 3 original peake units from 2000 before they went cheapo.

Postby Dave » June 22nd, 2023, 7:33 am

Have a tgm top discharge from late 90s. A blower motor was all ever I changed in it.

Postby pugboy » June 22nd, 2023, 7:44 am

tgm not around again ?
they were fairly popular around that time too

Dave wrote:Have a tgm top discharge from late 90s. A blower motor was all ever I changed in it.

Postby Dave » June 22nd, 2023, 8:17 am

Nope well not in this market again..Maraj was the dealer iirc.

Postby Chimera » June 22nd, 2023, 10:08 am

pugboy wrote:whats the oldest units allyuh have in use ?

I feel this is over 20 years old
20230622_100614.jpg

Postby Dizzy28 » June 22nd, 2023, 10:10 am

pugboy wrote:whats the oldest units allyuh have in use ?

Changed out a Miller in my son's room in 2021 that was installed in 2005. Probably could have repaired it but opted for a replacement.

nick639v2

What the Best Split level AC Units...Carrier LG, Panasonic?

Postby nick639v2 » June 24th, 2023, 2:47 pm

Jerry84 wrote:What about multi zone units like those seen in the US? Basically you have multiple points of use (part that's inside) and one compressor (part that's outside).

How reliable are these locally?? Do they make sense for multiple room applications? Cost factor when compared to individual units?

The in-laws have one of these, it’s a pretty penny. Peakes brought it in (York unit) and they had to outsource installation and servicing.. it works extremely well, I think it’s 17 points installed right now with ports to add on more and 3 inverter compressors in the condenser outside working as it needs to and auto switches to equal usage etc

Postby maj. tom » July 21st, 2023, 11:10 am

WHY CAPACITORS FAIL in Air Conditioners: Run Capacitors.

nervewrecker, anything else you've seen locally on this?

TLDW:
1. Overheating. The environment and outside heat of the direct sun on the capacitor panel area can cause early failure.

2. Capacitors have a lifespan and can't last forever.

3. Brief voltage spikes in the constant supply damages the capacitor plates if the sum of the input + back emf voltages from the motors exceeds the voltage limits on the capacitor label. {Put a voltage regulator device on the plug for this reason.}

4. Bad or corroded capacitor electrical connections can cause capacitor failure when localized shorts at the bad connection point can overheat the capacitor. {Dielectric grease application for electrical connections in any outdoor environment}

Postby nervewrecker » July 21st, 2023, 12:30 pm

I believe it's inferior parts because some older units have never changed a cap.

Heat from lack of servicing and high ambients. Strain on motor windings / high current draw from dirty blower wheels and condenser coils.

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » July 27th, 2023, 7:42 pm

d9793456402831d5fdf2a7d309314014.jpg

Anyone know where I can get one of these motors? It’s from a 12k daikin

(Motor seems to be from here units too)

Tried a 27w motor but didn’t work

Peaks, maraj nor general in south have

Postby pugboy » July 28th, 2023, 7:17 am

we had a fire caused by a cap in a window sill unit, very common cause of air conditioner fires
I also know of a child who was badly burnt when the evaporator caught fire above the bed.

a running ac motor/cap is a system involving the inductance of the motor coils and current(excess load etc)
when something out of whack it can be catastrophic, which is why you should never try a diff value cap.

Postby nervewrecker » July 28th, 2023, 4:09 pm

nick639v2 wrote:
d9793456402831d5fdf2a7d309314014.jpg

Anyone know where I can get one of these motors? It’s from a 12k daikin

(Motor seems to be from here units too)

Tried a 27w motor but didn’t work

Peaks, maraj nor general in south have
Lemme guess, stator toast?

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » July 31st, 2023, 3:33 pm

Well you help me out. I went and get the coil sensor,

It came me with ambient sensor on the same jack but I had to re-use my original room sensor to get the unit to cycle.

So some madness went on where both motor and coil sens crap Itself..

Ac give me more headache than ice machine and walk ins yes

Jerry84

Postby Jerry84 » August 1st, 2023, 11:23 am

nick639v2 wrote:
Jerry84 wrote:What about multi zone units like those seen in the US? Basically you have multiple points of use (part that's inside) and one compressor (part that's outside).

How reliable are these locally?? Do they make sense for multiple room applications? Cost factor when compared to individual units?

The in-laws have one of these, it’s a pretty penny. Peakes brought it in (York unit) and they had to outsource installation and servicing.. it works extremely well, I think it’s 17 points installed right now with ports to add on more and 3 inverter compressors in the condenser outside working as it needs to and auto switches to equal usage etc
Any ideas on the cost factor for this unit?

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » August 2nd, 2023, 10:47 am

Jerry84 wrote:
nick639v2 wrote:

Any ideas on the cost factor for this unit?

400k+

Postby pugboy » August 2nd, 2023, 11:28 am

how much less current a r410 5ton burning compared to r22 ?

a man tell about 60% of what the r22 using
30amp breaker vs 50amp
true?

Postby nervewrecker » August 2nd, 2023, 1:47 pm

pugboy wrote:how much less current a r410 5ton burning compared to r22 ?

a man tell about 60% of what the r22 using
30amp breaker vs 50amp
true?
Most 410A if not all are the same.

18A RLA, can run off a 30A double pole breaker.

Some R22 units were 25A RLA but I have seen 45A on some of the smaller condensing units.

wingnut

Postby wingnut » August 2nd, 2023, 2:54 pm

Any reviews on the Mastertech brand?

Saw courts had a sale recently, prices look good i'm assuming it does not include installation
R410 units, think its 1 year warranty

Postby pugboy » August 2nd, 2023, 3:22 pm

so nobody can say if a 5ton 410 burns less current than a 22?

Postby nervewrecker » August 2nd, 2023, 3:31 pm

I just confirmed that, 18A.

Ask about the unit however. Ask to see the tag or specs because things may have changed since I out of the business.

Postby pugboy » August 2nd, 2023, 3:49 pm

18amps?

Postby nervewrecker » August 2nd, 2023, 4:58 pm

Yeeppp

Postby pugboy » August 2nd, 2023, 5:33 pm

i should measure what the existing 22 pulling

Postby nervewrecker » August 2nd, 2023, 5:34 pm

That and you can clamp the wire with a clamp meter and see.

Postby pugboy » August 2nd, 2023, 5:35 pm

yeah a clamp
meter

nervewrecker wrote:That and you can clamp the wire with a clamp meter and see.

Postby pugboy » August 3rd, 2023, 1:12 pm

22 5ton checked out at 26amps continuous

Postby nervewrecker » August 3rd, 2023, 6:32 pm

pugboy wrote:22 5ton checked out at 26amps continuous
Place was hot ent? Did I not say 25A.

Looks like I still got it.

Postby pugboy » August 3rd, 2023, 7:13 pm

would like to know if anybody has a 410 unit we can clamp and check the rla first hand before i decide if to upgrade