Bad Dog wrote:Washington’s Renewed Urgency for TikTok Ban Is Due to War on Gaza.
Here is a few points:
1. Many of TikTok’s users share pro-Palestinian messages far more frequently than pro-Israeli viewports.
2. Washington insiders on both sides of the aisle were spurred to act immediately by the platform’s overwhelming pro-Palestinian content.
3. “People who historically hadn’t taken a position on TikTok became concerned with how Israel was portrayed in the videos and what they saw as an increase in antisemitic content posted to the app.”
4. Members of the China committee believed the platform was exposing users to too much Pro-Palestinian content.
https://news.antiwar.com/2024/03/15/was ... r-on-gaza/
"i doh post chit on fbpaid_influencer wrote:i doh like the term 'social media'
it sounds too clinical. too dignified for what it is
i prefer the term spigot.
nearly nothing on my feed is "social"
everything is one-way dialog
i doh post chit on fb
nobody i know irl does post chit on fb
but the feed full, all kinda crap from people i never met and reshares
selected by the algorithm
and dat algorithm know everything about me
it know what i interested in
how long i watch the video of the pregnant lady
recorded to the millisecond
showing me all kinda thing related
to shove down the spigot
who controlling the spigot? where and how the algorithm finding things to shove down the spigot
feed
spigot feed
meme spigot
i donno
but something controlling it
streamlining it
down boosting this, up boosting that
shaping my views
everybody views
but at least now the control of the spigot in the capable hands of the
capitalist spigot
not communist spigot
why it have grammarly ads lemme scroll some more more addicting than crack
i donno why it stop showing me pregnancy reels now is kfc from all over the wurl reels how can i get back the old reels
pugboy wrote:meanwhile everything you do on google and
gmail is not monitored eh
Your'e Trini ..your tik tok is safe.Bad Dog wrote:For more than four years there was talk of banning Tik Tok but recently the Anti-Defamation League chief executive Jonathan Greenblatt, freaked out "because global youth aren’t buying Israel’s propaganda". Many Tik Tok users were, according Greenblatt, interested in what is going on in Gaza and were receiving information hostile to Israel.
Since the long arms of the lobby could not censure, erase or ban Tic Tok they enlist their attack dogs in Congress to do their dirty work to ban Tik Tok or buy it to control its content. They cannot ask China to do it.
To control the narrative on Israel Twitter/X Elon Musk was accused of antisemitism he promptly visited Israel where the president scolded him over the content on his platform endorsing antisemitic theory. He grovelled!
https://apnews.com/article/elon-musk-is ... 9a04b54fb7
Mark Zuckerberg and Facebook is know to remove content pages and profiles of Palestinians activists and is an ardent supporter of Israel joining their "Secret Tel Aviv" Facebook group.
Instagram head Adam Mosseri also voiced his deep concern about the devastating events in Israel. He has family living in Israel.
The big three social media platforms is all in Israel's corner. Should we believe that only China is using Tik Tok to steal our personal information and spy on us and must be banned when the other platforms is doing it?
The passage of the bill overwhelmingly, which was rushed through Congress, demonstrates yet again the Israel Lobby power.
Jared Mohammed wrote:Who actually uses TikTok?
Almost 70% of Trini adults apparentlyJared Mohammed wrote:Who actually uses TikTok?
maj. tom wrote:Apple pulls WhatsApp, Threads from China app store after Beijing order
https://www.reuters.com/technology/apple-removes-whatsapp-threads-china-app-store-wsj-reports-2024-04-19/
China Orders Apple to Remove Popular Messaging Apps
WhatsApp, Signal and Telegram among apps cut from iPhone app store to comply with censorship demand
April 19 (Reuters) - Apple said on Friday it had removed Meta Platforms WhatsApp and Threads from its App Store in China after being ordered to do so by the Chinese government, which cited national security concerns.
Have some of them thinking they miss world status after the tiktok attention...shogun wrote:Tiny part of my brain wishes they would ban it everywhere already, because the moms completely addicted. Sh!t seriously annoying.
shogun wrote:Tiny part of my brain wishes they would ban it everywhere already, because the moms completely addicted. Sh!t seriously annoying.
Dizzy28 wrote:Saw a headline last night France bans Tik Tok...The on reading the article there's actually an insurgency in the French overseas territory of New Caledonia in the Pacific. Tik Tok was banned there to help quell the rioting
https://www.bbc.com/news/articles/cq5n5z97pelo