US may ban TikTok

Re: US may ban TikTok

Postby paid_influencer » March 15th, 2024, 9:29 pm

Bad Dog wrote:Washington’s Renewed Urgency for TikTok Ban Is Due to War on Gaza.
Here is a few points:
1. Many of TikTok’s users share pro-Palestinian messages far more frequently than pro-Israeli viewports.
2. Washington insiders on both sides of the aisle were spurred to act immediately by the platform’s overwhelming pro-Palestinian content.
3. “People who historically hadn’t taken a position on TikTok became concerned with how Israel was portrayed in the videos and what they saw as an increase in antisemitic content posted to the app.”
4. Members of the China committee believed the platform was exposing users to too much Pro-Palestinian content.

https://news.antiwar.com/2024/03/15/was ... r-on-gaza/

dog, you not suppose to say the quiet part out loud

Postby paid_influencer » March 15th, 2024, 9:41 pm

i doh like the term 'social media'
it sounds too clinical. too dignified for what it is

i prefer the term spigot.
nearly nothing on my feed is "social"
everything is one-way dialog
i doh post chit on fb
nobody i know irl does post chit on fb
but the feed full, all kinda crap from people i never met and reshares
selected by the algorithm

and dat algorithm know everything about me
it know what i interested in
how long i watch the video of the pregnant lady
recorded to the millisecond
showing me all kinda thing related
to shove down the spigot

who controlling the spigot? where and how the algorithm finding things to shove down the spigot
feed
spigot feed
meme spigot
i donno

but something controlling it
streamlining it
down boosting this, up boosting that
shaping my views
everybody views

but at least now the control of the spigot in the capable hands of the
capitalist spigot
not communist spigot
why it have grammarly ads lemme scroll some more more addicting than crack
i donno why it stop showing me pregnancy reels now is kfc from all over the wurl reels how can i get back the old reels

wing

Postby wing » March 15th, 2024, 10:12 pm

paid_influencer wrote:i doh like the term 'social media'
it sounds too clinical. too dignified for what it is

i prefer the term spigot.
nearly nothing on my feed is "social"
everything is one-way dialog
i doh post chit on fb
nobody i know irl does post chit on fb
but the feed full, all kinda crap from people i never met and reshares
selected by the algorithm

and dat algorithm know everything about me
it know what i interested in
how long i watch the video of the pregnant lady
recorded to the millisecond
showing me all kinda thing related
to shove down the spigot

who controlling the spigot? where and how the algorithm finding things to shove down the spigot
feed
spigot feed
meme spigot
i donno

but something controlling it
streamlining it
down boosting this, up boosting that
shaping my views
everybody views

but at least now the control of the spigot in the capable hands of the
capitalist spigot
not communist spigot
why it have grammarly ads lemme scroll some more more addicting than crack
i donno why it stop showing me pregnancy reels now is kfc from all over the wurl reels how can i get back the old reels
"i doh post chit on fb
nobody i know irl does post chit on fb"

Not even "I support PEA" FB page?

Postby nervewrecker » March 16th, 2024, 1:24 pm

Good, now this crazy gyul can stop using my accounts and causing havoc.

Imagine my surprise that my FB account been active and in use after I deactivated it how long now. Bad part is I have one pw for everything and like she having a ball. Set ah mad woman, let them bann everything so she can occupy herself with something constructive.

Postby Rovin » March 16th, 2024, 3:01 pm

if they really shutdown tiktok & porn some ppl might dead ... :lol:

Postby 88sins » March 16th, 2024, 7:25 pm

Amusing :lol:
Americans driving cars with parts and electronics made and programmed in China, phones made in China, with their OS installed in China, with Chinese parts, wearing Chinese made clothing, enjoying appliances of Chinese origin.

But the "threat" their government concerned with, is an app made for social media that focuses on people who possess the attention span of a flea in mind, one where someone gonna probably cause them serious grief wrt infringing on their freedom of speech

This go be somewhat entertaining

Postby pugboy » March 16th, 2024, 7:37 pm

meanwhile everything you do on google and
gmail is not monitored eh

Postby 88sins » March 16th, 2024, 9:35 pm

pugboy wrote:meanwhile everything you do on google and
gmail is not monitored eh

Of course not :lol:

Postby adnj » March 16th, 2024, 9:54 pm

Even China restricts TikTok.

team 394

Postby team 394 » March 17th, 2024, 6:22 am

I'm not a Tic Toc fan but I get messages with Tic Toc posts but since yesterday the videos are not playing.

Postby maj. tom » March 17th, 2024, 7:08 am

Tik Tok nearing death. It was a sudden death, but it was predicted that by 2025 it would fall in the whole cycle of pop social media.

The age of YouTube shorts begins. Harder to plug onlyfans on YouTube though. It may even become a separate new service from Google.

But expect the YouTube algorithm to vastly change and bring you constant irrelevant new nonsense on your frontpage from now. The official Google app will be updated to mine more of your personal data. Unskippable ads.

Bad Dog

Postby Bad Dog » March 17th, 2024, 3:20 pm

For more than four years there was talk of banning Tik Tok but recently the Anti-Defamation League chief executive Jonathan Greenblatt, freaked out "because global youth aren’t buying Israel’s propaganda". Many Tik Tok users were, according Greenblatt, interested in what is going on in Gaza and were receiving information hostile to Israel.
Since the long arms of the lobby could not censure, erase or ban Tic Tok they enlist their attack dogs in Congress to do their dirty work to ban Tik Tok or buy it to control its content. They cannot ask China to do it.

To control the narrative on Israel Twitter/X Elon Musk was accused of antisemitism he promptly visited Israel where the president scolded him over the content on his platform endorsing antisemitic theory. He grovelled!
https://apnews.com/article/elon-musk-is ... 9a04b54fb7

Mark Zuckerberg and Facebook is know to remove content pages and profiles of Palestinians activists and is an ardent supporter of Israel joining their "Secret Tel Aviv" Facebook group.

Instagram head Adam Mosseri also voiced his deep concern about the devastating events in Israel. He has family living in Israel.

The big three social media platforms is all in Israel's corner. Should we believe that only China is using Tik Tok to steal our personal information and spy on us and must be banned when the other platforms is doing it?
The passage of the bill overwhelmingly, which was rushed through Congress, demonstrates yet again the Israel Lobby power.

Postby Dizzy28 » March 17th, 2024, 4:13 pm

Bad Dog wrote:For more than four years there was talk of banning Tik Tok but recently the Anti-Defamation League chief executive Jonathan Greenblatt, freaked out "because global youth aren’t buying Israel’s propaganda". Many Tik Tok users were, according Greenblatt, interested in what is going on in Gaza and were receiving information hostile to Israel.
Since the long arms of the lobby could not censure, erase or ban Tic Tok they enlist their attack dogs in Congress to do their dirty work to ban Tik Tok or buy it to control its content. They cannot ask China to do it.

To control the narrative on Israel Twitter/X Elon Musk was accused of antisemitism he promptly visited Israel where the president scolded him over the content on his platform endorsing antisemitic theory. He grovelled!
https://apnews.com/article/elon-musk-is ... 9a04b54fb7

Mark Zuckerberg and Facebook is know to remove content pages and profiles of Palestinians activists and is an ardent supporter of Israel joining their "Secret Tel Aviv" Facebook group.

Instagram head Adam Mosseri also voiced his deep concern about the devastating events in Israel. He has family living in Israel.

The big three social media platforms is all in Israel's corner. Should we believe that only China is using Tik Tok to steal our personal information and spy on us and must be banned when the other platforms is doing it?
The passage of the bill overwhelmingly, which was rushed through Congress, demonstrates yet again the Israel Lobby power.
Your'e Trini ..your tik tok is safe.

Jared Mohammed

Postby Jared Mohammed » March 17th, 2024, 4:19 pm

Who actually uses TikTok?

Postby paid_influencer » March 17th, 2024, 5:10 pm

yea dog if it bothers you just close your eyes

Jared Mohammed wrote:Who actually uses TikTok?

middle-aged trinis
tanty network
the young people move to youtube where it safe

Postby Dizzy28 » March 17th, 2024, 7:01 pm

Jared Mohammed wrote:Who actually uses TikTok?
Almost 70% of Trini adults apparently
Screenshot_20240317-190031.jpg

Postby maj. tom » April 19th, 2024, 5:53 pm

Apple pulls WhatsApp, Threads from China app store after Beijing order
https://www.reuters.com/technology/apple-removes-whatsapp-threads-china-app-store-wsj-reports-2024-04-19/

China Orders Apple to Remove Popular Messaging Apps
WhatsApp, Signal and Telegram among apps cut from iPhone app store to comply with censorship demand

April 19 (Reuters) - Apple said on Friday it had removed Meta Platforms WhatsApp and Threads from its App Store in China after being ordered to do so by the Chinese government, which cited national security concerns.

Postby redmanjp » April 19th, 2024, 6:53 pm

tit for tat?

but is tiktok even banned yet?

Postby 88sins » April 19th, 2024, 8:56 pm

maj. tom wrote:Apple pulls WhatsApp, Threads from China app store after Beijing order
https://www.reuters.com/technology/apple-removes-whatsapp-threads-china-app-store-wsj-reports-2024-04-19/

China Orders Apple to Remove Popular Messaging Apps
WhatsApp, Signal and Telegram among apps cut from iPhone app store to comply with censorship demand

April 19 (Reuters) - Apple said on Friday it had removed Meta Platforms WhatsApp and Threads from its App Store in China after being ordered to do so by the Chinese government, which cited national security concerns.

Its actually simpler than that.
can't be having any competition with wii chat and other ccp monitored communication systems and giving people the idea that options and freedoms are things that can exist and they can have access to

Postby shogun » April 19th, 2024, 9:50 pm

Tiny part of my brain wishes they would ban it everywhere already, because the moms completely addicted. Sh!t seriously annoying.

Postby gastly369 » April 19th, 2024, 10:29 pm

shogun wrote:Tiny part of my brain wishes they would ban it everywhere already, because the moms completely addicted. Sh!t seriously annoying.
Have some of them thinking they miss world status after the tiktok attention...

Postby maj. tom » April 24th, 2024, 7:57 am

https://www.reuters.com/world/us/senators-hope-tiktok-will-remain-business-us-under-new-owner-2024-04-23/

The U.S. Senate voted by a wide margin late Tuesday in favor of legislation that would ban TikTok in the United States if its owner, the Chinese tech firm ByteDance, fails to divest the popular short video app over the next nine months to a year.

U.S. President Joe Biden has said he will sign it into law on Wednesday.

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » April 24th, 2024, 8:52 am

shogun wrote:Tiny part of my brain wishes they would ban it everywhere already, because the moms completely addicted. Sh!t seriously annoying.

But….. but….. the jiggling bam bams need my eyes…

Postby j.o.e » April 24th, 2024, 12:02 pm

Never used TikTok other than maybe viewing a link shared on a WhatsApp or something. I already find social media consumes too much time and it seems tiktok might be the most addictive.

Postby Dizzy28 » May 16th, 2024, 9:39 am

Saw a headline last night France bans Tik Tok...The on reading the article there's actually an insurgency in the French overseas territory of New Caledonia in the Pacific. Tik Tok was banned there to help quell the rioting

https://www.bbc.com/news/articles/cq5n5z97pelo

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » May 16th, 2024, 10:39 am

Dizzy28 wrote:Saw a headline last night France bans Tik Tok...The on reading the article there's actually an insurgency in the French overseas territory of New Caledonia in the Pacific. Tik Tok was banned there to help quell the rioting

https://www.bbc.com/news/articles/cq5n5z97pelo

Why was TikTok banned in New Caledonia?
Neither Attal nor High Commissioner Louis Le Franc specified why TikTok had been targeted in particular. However, according to messages from local government representatives shared by New Caledonians on Facebook, the app had been targeted because "messages of hatred and calls for violence" had been shared on it.

What legal basis does the government have for such a ban?
The ban was made possible by the declaration of a state of emergency, on Wednesday evening (Paris time). This temporary measure enables French authorities to take exceptional measures and restrict certain public freedoms to deal with a particularly serious situation.

Technically speaking, how can authorities block access to a social media app?
The main method used by the French authorities to block access to a site or application is based on the use of the domain name system (DNS), the routing system that sends internet users to the correct server when they attempt to access a domain name.

https://www.lemonde.fr/en/pixels/articl ... 55_13.html

It's easy to bypass the DNS by using a VPN - similar to what Trinis do to get US Netflix, Hulu and Paramount+
Inconvenient yes, but not fool-proof.

IMO banning a social media platform is head-in-the-sand thinking.
It's like when T&T minister of education suggested to ban cellphones in schools because of all the video of school fights that were emerging.
It's not dealing with the problem, only trying to find a way to hide it.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » May 16th, 2024, 10:44 am

Interesting article on how Governments can and do restrict internet access through "splinternets"

What Is a Splinternet? And Why You Should Be Paying Attention
https://www.internetsociety.org/blog/20 ... attention/

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » May 17th, 2024, 11:03 pm

Couple of govt buildings here in Manhattan and WiFi spots close to banks already have tik tok blacklisted. My friends’ company phone straight up can’t have tik tok installed too

Postby Dizzy28 » January 19th, 2025, 1:12 am

The day has come
20250119_011140.jpg

Cantmis

Postby Cantmis » January 19th, 2025, 4:19 am