88sins wrote:pugboy wrote:it have too many bobol ppl collecting full nis pension and full old age social grant
what they plan to do to crack down on this?
Nuttn wrong with collecting both, IF you qualify for both.
ppl does feel, once yuh hit 65 yuh gettin dat old age grant sure as d sun rises. not knowing, there's hoops and hurdles to clear first. And let's just clarify a few things here one time.
That old age grant, is NOT a right, nor is it mandatory. So, nobody is entitled to it. So, if you want to apply for it, you MUST be able to prove that you qualify to receive it. One thing that is used as a qualifier, is you MUST be a citizen, another is that your monthly income must be below a certain amount, yet another is that you MUST have maintained residence in the country for the last 20 years prior to applying, meaning, you have to be able to prove that you've been here for that whole time.
Yuh feel dem eh kno, it have ppl who live their whole life abroad & build where they living overseas, yet they contribute absolutely nothing to this country but sharpening dey dentures to come back here looking for free money?
88sins wrote:pugboy wrote:it have too many bobol ppl collecting full nis pension and full old age social grant
what they plan to do to crack down on this?
Nuttn wrong with collecting both, IF you qualify for both.
ppl does feel, once yuh hit 65 yuh gettin dat old age grant sure as d sun rises. not knowing, there's hoops and hurdles to clear first. And let's just clarify a few things here one time.
That old age grant, is NOT a right, nor is it mandatory. So, nobody is entitled to it. So, if you want to apply for it, you MUST be able to prove that you qualify to receive it. One thing that is used as a qualifier, is you MUST be a citizen, another is that your monthly income must be below a certain amount, yet another is that you MUST have maintained residence in the country for the last 20 years prior to applying, meaning, you have to be able to prove that you've been here for that whole time.
Yuh feel dem eh kno, it have ppl who live their whole life abroad & build where they living overseas, yet they contribute absolutely nothing to this country but sharpening dey dentures to come back here looking for free money?
daring dragoon wrote:why plan to retire??? when you old you have to spend your money on medication and doctor visit. spend the money when you young on rum, hoes, travel the world, beat out a woman in every country, run hoes in every country, eat the best, party hard, swim all 7 seas, buy a boat and sail the world and forget old age. when you old make sure your funeral expenses covered and if you lucky after a life on enjoyment you die on a box and they put you in a box an you dont have to suffer at Mt hope, POSGH or any trinidad health care institutions, you dont have to watch the cut yuh foot off from diabetic, yuh dont have to watch everyone eating the curry duck and dhal and rice and you have to eat porridge or steam veggies. look to die by age 65-70. take your money and enjoy your life. dont give it to sagicor or guardian life that take your money and enjoy their life and when your need the money they find a way not to pay.
daring dragoon wrote:you idiots realize there is more to life than working 8am to 4pm with a 2 week vacation a year counting down to death. your plan is just to work to make death easier. you all are just like the 99% sheep in this world that just follow others to do good in CXC and A levels and get a govt wuk or a good wuk, drink a lil 2 beers on a friday or saturday night, bubble a pot sunday and return to work on monday morning. Great plan for life. it is you 99% sheep that need the rope and the poison cocktails. fix up you idiots play it safe, tip toe through life to arrive safely at death.
timelapse wrote:Serious talk that most people don't even consider.
Find out how much is the insurable amount of each of your bank/credit union accounts.This issue came up during the HCU fiasco.
There is a maximum amount of your accounts eg. $70 k that your bank has insured in case they go bankrupt per account.This may vary.
Don't exceed this amount as you may risk losing the excess in case something happens to your bank.
We live in unstable times with long standing business folding up.
Look at Lawrence duprey... died a infamous conman. Again it comes down to trust. These ppl trusted these institutions and I'm sure they learnt the number one lesson. Trust NOBODYalfa wrote:timelapse wrote:Serious talk that most people don't even consider.
Find out how much is the insurable amount of each of your bank/credit union accounts.This issue came up during the HCU fiasco.
There is a maximum amount of your accounts eg. $70 k that your bank has insured in case they go bankrupt per account.This may vary.
Don't exceed this amount as you may risk losing the excess in case something happens to your bank.
Had an uncle who lost his entire life savings with hcu, died without ever getting back a cent. Kinda his fault too as Indian get dotish when they saw 10 percent interest. The harrynarine boy probably laughing all now if he still around.
My father used to say 'put yuh money in the white man bank.'
alfa wrote:timelapse wrote:Serious talk that most people don't even consider.
Had an uncle who lost his entire life savings with hcu, died without ever getting back a cent. Kinda his fault too as Indian get dotish when they saw 10 percent interest. The harrynarine boy probably laughing all now if he still around.
alfa wrote:Had an uncle who lost his entire life savings with hcu, died without ever getting back a cent. Kinda his fault too as Indian get dotish when they saw 10 percent interest. The harrynarine boy probably laughing all now if he still around.
The claimants alleged that, based on representation made by Harnarine, they incorporated ABGH2021 and injected approximately $2.5 million in capital funds to begin operation of the new store.
They alleged that Harnarine also induced them to enter into all payments with his family’s business on the understanding that it would be transferred to ABGH2021 when it was fully incorporated.
Court documents stated that, based on these representations, the claimants cleared significant debts for Harnarine’s hardware store as well as paid for a lease to be entered with Mega Foods Ltd.
The claimants alleged that when the new hardware began operation, Harnarine, as manager, charged all the expenditure to the new hardware and diverted all the revenue to his family’s business.
Court documents further alleged that the proceeds from sale of hardware material by the new hardware were diverted to Harnarine and to the account of his family’s business.
pugboy wrote:how educated are those victims ?
what are the reasons they keep falling for him?
VexXx Dogg wrote:pugboy wrote:how educated are those victims ?
The same reasons that conmen are successful.
A combination of confidence and charisma, and the ability to sell ice to an Eskimo, which is apparently a verboten expression now.
pugboy wrote:how educated are those victims ?
alfa wrote:pugboy wrote:how educated are those victims ?
What about tanty who recently went Mexico to meet a man who showed her a pic of a Dubai prince. Lolineness is a big reason for old folks
alfa wrote:pugboy wrote:how educated are those victims ?
What about tanty who recently went Mexico to meet a man who showed her a pic of a Dubai prince. Lolineness is a big reason for old folks
pugboy wrote:for real, lot of ppl home and their only outlet/perception of the world is social media
on my neighborhood residents chat there are many persons who are mostly home and live on social media
they think social media is reality
they get very upset when i send sarcastic or cynical messagesalfa wrote:pugboy wrote:how educated are those victims ?
timelapse wrote:pugboy wrote:for real, lot of ppl home and their only outlet/perception of the world is social media
on my neighborhood residents chat there are many persons who are mostly home and live on social media
they think social media is reality
they get very upset when i send sarcastic or cynical messagesalfa wrote:pugboy wrote:how educated are those victims ?
Here's a school of thought on that pugboy , not sure of your age,but it is an older generation you are dealing with here. Pre-internet and smart phones was television.People believed the news and unfortunately some of the fictional woks as well.
Pre- that was the written word. People believed the newspaper and magazines and trusted whole heartedly that what they read was the truth. Pre-that ,the only written word was the Bible and anything sanctioned by the government. This behaviour was indoctrinated in the older folks.They are trusting of media.
VexXx Dogg wrote:
Love/Companionship scams are complex. Younger people might ketch kix on it, but I saw one unfold that I helped stop.
Retired aunty, lived in the states for years, came back to TT after retirement.
"met" someone on social media, supposedly in the US.
exchanged numbers, used to chat on WhatsApp and even calls.
he sent her several small gifts unsolicited via mail (ttpost mostly), which helped build confidence that it was not a scam.
That's when I kinda warned her that you never met this man, be careful.
Then he created a fake emergency and didn't directly ask for money, but withdrew from the calls a bit
She asked if there's anything she can do.
He then asked for some cash to get him out of trouble.
Got her out of it in time. It was a couple thousand USD he asked for. His gifts prob cost 30-40USD total, and he woulda likely get the payoff if we didn't intervene.
I think they even discussed meeting up the next time she was up there, as she has to travel to maintain her green card.
pugboy wrote:this is a classic road map, usually the give away is where the gifts were mailed from and where you have to wire the money to.
these scams are all run by chinese mafia in south east asia, the kicker is the person whom she thinks she was in a relationship with would actually be a slave victim of human trafficking being forced to do this online scamming.
google myanmar or cambodia scams
it is mind blowing, cities of buildings
built by chinese billionaires who run these scamsVexXx Dogg wrote:
Love/Companionship scams are complex. Younger people might ketch kix on it, but I saw one unfold that I helped stop.
Retired aunty, lived in the states for years, came back to TT after retirement.
"met" someone on social media, supposedly in the US.
exchanged numbers, used to chat on WhatsApp and even calls.
he sent her several small gifts unsolicited via mail (ttpost mostly), which helped build confidence that it was not a scam.
That's when I kinda warned her that you never met this man, be careful.
Then he created a fake emergency and didn't directly ask for money, but withdrew from the calls a bit
She asked if there's anything she can do.
He then asked for some cash to get him out of trouble.
Got her out of it in time. It was a couple thousand USD he asked for. His gifts prob cost 30-40USD total, and he woulda likely get the payoff if we didn't intervene.
I think they even discussed meeting up the next time she was up there, as she has to travel to maintain her green card.
daring dragoon wrote:you idiots realize there is more to life than working 8am to 4pm with a 2 week vacation a year counting down to death. your plan is just to work to make death easier. you all are just like the 99% sheep in this world that just follow others to do good in CXC and A levels and get a govt wuk or a good wuk, drink a lil 2 beers on a friday or saturday night, bubble a pot sunday and return to work on monday morning. Great plan for life. it is you 99% sheep that need the rope and the poison cocktails. fix up you idiots play it safe, tip toe through life to arrive safely at death.
st7 wrote:daring dragoon wrote:you idiots realize there is more to life than working 8am to 4pm with a 2 week vacation a year counting down to death. your plan is just to work to make death easier. you all are just like the 99% sheep in this world that just follow others to do good in CXC and A levels and get a govt wuk or a good wuk, drink a lil 2 beers on a friday or saturday night, bubble a pot sunday and return to work on monday morning. Great plan for life. it is you 99% sheep that need the rope and the poison cocktails. fix up you idiots play it safe, tip toe through life to arrive safely at death.
i curious --- what do you do?