A good retirement plan

Re: A good retirement plan

Postby alfa » February 22nd, 2025, 9:16 pm

If the cap is 5k and you and the missus retiring the same time 10k is really good, more than a lot of single and some double income families making right now

Postby The_Honourable » February 22nd, 2025, 10:24 pm

pugboy wrote:it have too many bobol ppl collecting full nis pension and full old age social grant
what they plan to do to crack down on this?

Nuttn wrong with collecting both, IF you qualify for both.

ppl does feel, once yuh hit 65 yuh gettin dat old age grant sure as d sun rises. not knowing, there's hoops and hurdles to clear first. And let's just clarify a few things here one time.

That old age grant, is NOT a right, nor is it mandatory. So, nobody is entitled to it. So, if you want to apply for it, you MUST be able to prove that you qualify to receive it. One thing that is used as a qualifier, is you MUST be a citizen, another is that your monthly income must be below a certain amount, yet another is that you MUST have maintained residence in the country for the last 20 years prior to applying, meaning, you have to be able to prove that you've been here for that whole time.

Yuh feel dem eh kno, it have ppl who live their whole life abroad & build where they living overseas, yet they contribute absolutely nothing to this country but sharpening dey dentures to come back here looking for free money?

Yuh preaching, well said. It's foolish for you to sit down for decades EXPECTING the old age grant from the government when you turn 65, and when you do and get blank for not fulfilling basic requirements, you more vex than anyone else. Even worse, you get desperate and want to commit fraud.

And pugboy... to be fair Donna Cox is cracking down. The thing is it's not easy and governments past and present took too long to deal with it. Ministry of Social Development and NIB have to now share their databases which is different and has both digital and paper records. Then when you get down to persons you have different id's, addresses, alias names, duplicates, deceased, etc.

https://newsday.co.tt/2022/12/23/social ... -with-nib/

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » February 23rd, 2025, 12:54 am

pugboy wrote:it have too many bobol ppl collecting full nis pension and full old age social grant
what they plan to do to crack down on this?

Nuttn wrong with collecting both, IF you qualify for both.

ppl does feel, once yuh hit 65 yuh gettin dat old age grant sure as d sun rises. not knowing, there's hoops and hurdles to clear first. And let's just clarify a few things here one time.

That old age grant, is NOT a right, nor is it mandatory. So, nobody is entitled to it. So, if you want to apply for it, you MUST be able to prove that you qualify to receive it. One thing that is used as a qualifier, is you MUST be a citizen, another is that your monthly income must be below a certain amount, yet another is that you MUST have maintained residence in the country for the last 20 years prior to applying, meaning, you have to be able to prove that you've been here for that whole time.

Yuh feel dem eh kno, it have ppl who live their whole life abroad & build where they living overseas, yet they contribute absolutely nothing to this country but sharpening dey dentures to come back here looking for free money?

Sad thing is, they still getting through. Men putting their money in padna account, claiming to be renting from family and beating the system.

The other classic: yuh hushand/wife have million and 1 apartments in their children name, you gone to live in one, apply for pension and gt.

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » February 23rd, 2025, 8:21 am

why plan to retire??? when you old you have to spend your money on medication and doctor visit. spend the money when you young on rum, hoes, travel the world, beat out a woman in every country, run hoes in every country, eat the best, party hard, swim all 7 seas, buy a boat and sail the world and forget old age. when you old make sure your funeral expenses covered and if you lucky after a life on enjoyment you die on a box and they put you in a box an you dont have to suffer at Mt hope, POSGH or any trinidad health care institutions, you dont have to watch the cut yuh foot off from diabetic, yuh dont have to watch everyone eating the curry duck and dhal and rice and you have to eat porridge or steam veggies. look to die by age 65-70. take your money and enjoy your life. dont give it to sagicor or guardian life that take your money and enjoy their life and when your need the money they find a way not to pay.

Postby The_Honourable » February 23rd, 2025, 11:29 am

daring dragoon wrote:why plan to retire??? when you old you have to spend your money on medication and doctor visit. spend the money when you young on rum, hoes, travel the world, beat out a woman in every country, run hoes in every country, eat the best, party hard, swim all 7 seas, buy a boat and sail the world and forget old age. when you old make sure your funeral expenses covered and if you lucky after a life on enjoyment you die on a box and they put you in a box an you dont have to suffer at Mt hope, POSGH or any trinidad health care institutions, you dont have to watch the cut yuh foot off from diabetic, yuh dont have to watch everyone eating the curry duck and dhal and rice and you have to eat porridge or steam veggies. look to die by age 65-70. take your money and enjoy your life. dont give it to sagicor or guardian life that take your money and enjoy their life and when your need the money they find a way not to pay.

Nice plan for your life, in reality most who live like that are not lucky and don't die quickly unless they commit suicide. Them is the first to make poor life decisions for decades, become a burden to their friends and family, end up in the hospital taking up bedspace and wasting taxpayers money, running down NIB and social development for a grant, cussing the government and "the system" when they get blank, waiting for the church to give dem a "lil help", giving trevor sayers your small money and drinking moringa, delude themselves reading awake and watchtower magazine with no plans to change, get a serious medical condition like a stroke, and end up lying down on a bed with their mouth open staring into space. When you dead worse than a dog, THEN you end up in a lil cheap box and probably just burn your body because cemetery space running out. Family then tries to remember you for "the good" you do but then realize that you were a waste of time and is a good thing you went and "rest yuhself".

Good luck.

Postby pugboy » February 23rd, 2025, 11:48 am

“remember for the good”
a real excuse to say not much
lollllll

Postby 88sins » February 23rd, 2025, 9:43 pm

daring dragoon wrote:why plan to retire??? when you old you have to spend your money on medication and doctor visit. spend the money when you young on rum, hoes, travel the world, beat out a woman in every country, run hoes in every country, eat the best, party hard, swim all 7 seas, buy a boat and sail the world and forget old age. when you old make sure your funeral expenses covered and if you lucky after a life on enjoyment you die on a box and they put you in a box an you dont have to suffer at Mt hope, POSGH or any trinidad health care institutions, you dont have to watch the cut yuh foot off from diabetic, yuh dont have to watch everyone eating the curry duck and dhal and rice and you have to eat porridge or steam veggies. look to die by age 65-70. take your money and enjoy your life. dont give it to sagicor or guardian life that take your money and enjoy their life and when your need the money they find a way not to pay.

Well, why waste time and energy if daz what u really think?
If yuh really srs, why u eh take a boat cruise, and when u reach the bocas, go for a swim with about a dozen 10" blocks chained to your ankles? yuh fraid sea or d boat ride too expensive? Mango tree and rope. Can't climb? Jump off a walkover across the highway just a truck passing below Too far to the walkover? Pull a /// and run up on a popo, sleep with a plastic bag over yuh head, drink a bleach cocktail, yuh have more than 6 million options.

Meanwhile, back here in reality and life business, we the responsible will plan and prep for retirement, and if for some reason we eh make it to that milestone, at least we have a lil sumn to leave as a starter package and a legacy for the future generations of our bloodline.
Because unlike the selfish wotless useless cowardly gutless parasites in society, some of us actually give a crap about ourselves and our people, and would like to help them with whatever head start we can provide them with, be it financial, material or intellectual.

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » February 25th, 2025, 7:09 am

you idiots realize there is more to life than working 8am to 4pm with a 2 week vacation a year counting down to death. your plan is just to work to make death easier. you all are just like the 99% sheep in this world that just follow others to do good in CXC and A levels and get a govt wuk or a good wuk, drink a lil 2 beers on a friday or saturday night, bubble a pot sunday and return to work on monday morning. Great plan for life. it is you 99% sheep that need the rope and the poison cocktails. fix up you idiots play it safe, tip toe through life to arrive safely at death.

Postby timelapse » February 25th, 2025, 7:47 am

Serious talk that most people don't even consider.
Find out how much is the insurable amount of each of your bank/credit union accounts.This issue came up during the HCU fiasco.
There is a maximum amount of your accounts eg. $70 k that your bank has insured in case they go bankrupt per account.This may vary.
Don't exceed this amount as you may risk losing the excess in case something happens to your bank.
We live in unstable times with long standing business folding up.

Postby pugboy » February 25th, 2025, 8:41 am

depends if your “work” is what you enjoy or if you are one of those who better off sitting on the block

daring dragoon wrote:you idiots realize there is more to life than working 8am to 4pm with a 2 week vacation a year counting down to death. your plan is just to work to make death easier. you all are just like the 99% sheep in this world that just follow others to do good in CXC and A levels and get a govt wuk or a good wuk, drink a lil 2 beers on a friday or saturday night, bubble a pot sunday and return to work on monday morning. Great plan for life. it is you 99% sheep that need the rope and the poison cocktails. fix up you idiots play it safe, tip toe through life to arrive safely at death.

Postby alfa » February 25th, 2025, 9:13 am

timelapse wrote:Serious talk that most people don't even consider.
Find out how much is the insurable amount of each of your bank/credit union accounts.This issue came up during the HCU fiasco.
There is a maximum amount of your accounts eg. $70 k that your bank has insured in case they go bankrupt per account.This may vary.
Don't exceed this amount as you may risk losing the excess in case something happens to your bank.

Had an uncle who lost his entire life savings with hcu, died without ever getting back a cent. Kinda his fault too as Indian get dotish when they saw 10 percent interest. The harrynarine boy probably laughing all now if he still around.
My father used to say 'put yuh money in the white man bank.'

Postby hover11 » February 25th, 2025, 9:54 am

alfa wrote:

Had an uncle who lost his entire life savings with hcu, died without ever getting back a cent. Kinda his fault too as Indian get dotish when they saw 10 percent interest. The harrynarine boy probably laughing all now if he still around.
Look at Lawrence duprey... died a infamous conman. Again it comes down to trust. These ppl trusted these institutions and I'm sure they learnt the number one lesson. Trust NOBODY

Sent from my SM-N986U1 using TriniTuner mobile app

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » February 26th, 2025, 5:50 am

alfa wrote:

any yet idiots saying save yuh money to retire. banks like scotia and royal all from canada downsizing and it is a matter of time before they buss out. yesterday alone bank in china cut 4000 jobs , starbucks cutting jobs also. so wuk yuh whole lofe give yuh money to a white man and let he enjoy he life on his yatch, sailing with hoes all over the world, drinking and eating the best and one day he will tell you it buss an you go hadda wuk till the day you dead and from the looks of trini style yuh go be selling doubles or wuking taxi till yuh dead since allyuh so bright.

Postby 16 cycles » February 26th, 2025, 6:59 am

alfa wrote:Had an uncle who lost his entire life savings with hcu, died without ever getting back a cent. Kinda his fault too as Indian get dotish when they saw 10 percent interest. The harrynarine boy probably laughing all now if he still around.

Alot of the Caroni workers were fooled by HCU thinking 'hindu credit union' could never be a scam - live and learn

https://trinidadexpress.com/business/lo ... a2470.html
Harry still at it - ^

The claimants alleged that, based on representation made by Harnarine, they incorporated ABGH2021 and injected approximately $2.5 million in capital funds to begin operation of the new store.

They alleged that Harnarine also induced them to enter into all payments with his family’s business on the understanding that it would be transferred to ABGH2021 when it was fully incorporated.

Court documents stated that, based on these representations, the claimants cleared significant debts for Harnarine’s hardware store as well as paid for a lease to be entered with Mega Foods Ltd.

The claimants alleged that when the new hardware began operation, Harnarine, as manager, charged all the expenditure to the new hardware and diverted all the revenue to his family’s business.

Court documents further alleged that the proceeds from sale of hardware material by the new hardware were diverted to Harnarine and to the account of his family’s business.

Those ex-Caroni workers never stood a chance :(

Postby pugboy » February 26th, 2025, 7:09 am

how educated are those victims ?
what are the reasons they keep falling for him?

Postby VexXx Dogg » February 26th, 2025, 7:17 am

pugboy wrote:how educated are those victims ?

The same reasons that conmen are successful.

A combination of confidence and charisma, and the ability to sell ice to an Eskimo, which is apparently a verboten expression now.

Postby pugboy » February 26th, 2025, 7:41 am

yes but imagine that here locally it’s not like there are many ppl who have never heard of him

btw i know somebody who was caught with pig butchering, it is mind blowing how they are catching so many ppl, billions being taken
all starting with a simple msg on social media

VexXx Dogg wrote:

The same reasons that conmen are successful.

A combination of confidence and charisma, and the ability to sell ice to an Eskimo, which is apparently a verboten expression now.

Postby alfa » February 26th, 2025, 7:44 am

Uncle was ex cane farmer, put his life savings of 100000 in hcu when they were big. He was as old school as they come and just like any other cane farmer I guess when it came to understanding financial matters.
Probably didn't believe a fellow Hindu would con him like that.
Last edited by alfa on February 26th, 2025, 7:51 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby alfa » February 26th, 2025, 7:48 am

What about tanty who recently went Mexico to meet a man who showed her a pic of a Dubai prince. Lolineness is a big reason for old folks

Postby pugboy » February 26th, 2025, 8:03 am

for real, lot of ppl home and their only outlet/perception of the world is social media

on my neighborhood residents chat there are many persons who are mostly home and live on social media
they think social media is reality
they get very upset when i send sarcastic or cynical messages

alfa wrote:

What about tanty who recently went Mexico to meet a man who showed her a pic of a Dubai prince. Lolineness is a big reason for old folks

Postby VexXx Dogg » February 26th, 2025, 9:06 am

alfa wrote:

Love/Companionship scams are complex. Younger people might ketch kix on it, but I saw one unfold that I helped stop.

Retired aunty, lived in the states for years, came back to TT after retirement.
"met" someone on social media, supposedly in the US.

exchanged numbers, used to chat on WhatsApp and even calls.
he sent her several small gifts unsolicited via mail (ttpost mostly), which helped build confidence that it was not a scam.

That's when I kinda warned her that you never met this man, be careful.

Then he created a fake emergency and didn't directly ask for money, but withdrew from the calls a bit
She asked if there's anything she can do.

He then asked for some cash to get him out of trouble.

Got her out of it in time. It was a couple thousand USD he asked for. His gifts prob cost 30-40USD total, and he woulda likely get the payoff if we didn't intervene.

I think they even discussed meeting up the next time she was up there, as she has to travel to maintain her green card.

Postby timelapse » February 26th, 2025, 9:10 am

pugboy wrote:for real, lot of ppl home and their only outlet/perception of the world is social media

on my neighborhood residents chat there are many persons who are mostly home and live on social media

alfa wrote:

Here's a school of thought on that pugboy , not sure of your age,but it is an older generation you are dealing with here. Pre-internet and smart phones was television.People believed the news and unfortunately some of the fictional woks as well.
Pre- that was the written word. People believed the newspaper and magazines and trusted whole heartedly that what they read was the truth. Pre-that ,the only written word was the Bible and anything sanctioned by the government. This behaviour was indoctrinated in the older folks.They are trusting of media.

Postby pugboy » February 26th, 2025, 9:15 am

correct
for us and current generation we view social media as large amusement and a grain of salt
for those older folks they think it’s gospel

timelapse wrote:
pugboy wrote:for real, lot of ppl home and their only outlet/perception of the world is social media

alfa wrote:

Here's a school of thought on that pugboy , not sure of your age,but it is an older generation you are dealing with here. Pre-internet and smart phones was television.People believed the news and unfortunately some of the fictional woks as well.
Pre- that was the written word. People believed the newspaper and magazines and trusted whole heartedly that what they read was the truth. Pre-that ,the only written word was the Bible and anything sanctioned by the government. This behaviour was indoctrinated in the older folks.They are trusting of media.

Postby pugboy » February 26th, 2025, 9:19 am

this is a classic road map, usually the give away is where the gifts were mailed from and where you have to wire the money to.

these scams are all run by chinese mafia in south east asia, the kicker is the person whom she thinks she was in a relationship with would actually be a slave victim of human trafficking being forced to do this online scamming.

google myanmar or cambodia scams
it is mind blowing, cities of buildings
built by chinese billionaires who run these scams

VexXx Dogg wrote:

Love/Companionship scams are complex. Younger people might ketch kix on it, but I saw one unfold that I helped stop.

he sent her several small gifts unsolicited via mail (ttpost mostly), which helped build confidence that it was not a scam.

Then he created a fake emergency and didn't directly ask for money, but withdrew from the calls a bit

Got her out of it in time. It was a couple thousand USD he asked for. His gifts prob cost 30-40USD total, and he woulda likely get the payoff if we didn't intervene.

I think they even discussed meeting up the next time she was up there, as she has to travel to maintain her green card.

Postby timelapse » February 26th, 2025, 9:26 am

pugboy wrote:this is a classic road map, usually the give away is where the gifts were mailed from and where you have to wire the money to.

these scams are all run by chinese mafia in south east asia, the kicker is the person whom she thinks she was in a relationship with would actually be a slave victim of human trafficking being forced to do this online scamming.

google myanmar or cambodia scams
it is mind blowing, cities of buildings
built by chinese billionaires who run these scams

VexXx Dogg wrote:

There are agents of these foreign scam artists right here in T&T.

Postby pugboy » February 26th, 2025, 9:56 am

location doesn’t seem to important though
they even use spoofed phone numbers if you want to speak to them in person
usually turkey or thereabouts which have lax telecoms numbering laws

Postby st7 » February 26th, 2025, 4:31 pm

daring dragoon wrote:you idiots realize there is more to life than working 8am to 4pm with a 2 week vacation a year counting down to death. your plan is just to work to make death easier. you all are just like the 99% sheep in this world that just follow others to do good in CXC and A levels and get a govt wuk or a good wuk, drink a lil 2 beers on a friday or saturday night, bubble a pot sunday and return to work on monday morning. Great plan for life. it is you 99% sheep that need the rope and the poison cocktails. fix up you idiots play it safe, tip toe through life to arrive safely at death.

i curious --- what do you do?

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » February 26th, 2025, 8:49 pm

st7 wrote:

i curious --- what do you do?

lets say i am i the import / export business. customers invite me to different parts of the world and wine and dine me in order to buy their sprockets. i recently purchased a used leopard cause them planes only falling from the sky. soon i would be sailing to the different destinations.

Postby alfa » February 26th, 2025, 10:04 pm

LOL sure

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » February 26th, 2025, 10:31 pm

I wonder if the man who bumped this thread has any relation to Rowley?