mero wrote:
mero wrote:
mero wrote:
j.o.e wrote:
Redress10 wrote:
We going back and arrest Khan for GBH or attempted murder?

What is it we really doing here? This is a whole other issue if it was Young who buss a head, got expelled and that story buried until today.

We all went to school and saw a day when a bully got a dose. We really coming in 2025 to question a man character because of rough play in a boy's seconday school from 33 years ago? Those of us who went boys school know that everyday is fight and wildness.

That story aint sound far fetch or even weird. Nuff busshead pass in my days and men laughing and kixing days after. Nuff busshead pass from fighting and ya have to lie and say ya fall and hit ya head from football so it eh escalate any further.

Leave then nah. Just remember if we digging this deep and grasping at straws for Young things from last week and last year should be acceptable…… it goes both ways. Leave them
Meanwhile tuners quiet for this. UNC ppl big hard back bully chirren. No 2nr thesis provided for this cuz Indian is only the victim, never ever the bully.

Rambachan hasn't been in Parliament since 2020 and is not an active member of the UNC having announced his retirement from Politics in 2019. That's his adult son who by outward looks appears to be mentally retarded. What really is there for anyone to discuss as opposed to the head of Govnt who as recent as October 2024 was caught using homophobic slurs in Parliament in relation to opposition members.

His bullying habits as a teenager seems pretty germaine today as opposed to discussing some ogre stuck in the backroom of a regional corporation fighting with drunks.
Bullying is bullying to me. Retarded, rich, poor, idian, negro. Never acceptable, (maybe sometimes for the development arc). My issue is why it
Khan being presented as a victim after he buss way Stuart head. Daz school boy minor scenes.

And there seems to be a correlation with ppl calling out Kamla as a carpet muncher and becoming PM. Ent Jack Warner was the first one to buss that mark on the podium calling her a dyke yet still be rewarded as acting PM by Kamla herself?

Podium ≠ Parliament though
Decorum is not expected on the platform

Decorum expected in Parliament ? Lol. In Trinidad?

The Standing Orders of the House is 70 pages long and addresses among other issues behaviours in chamber, language, time keeping etc.
So yes decorum should be expected.

HUSH YUH STINK MOUTH!!

PariaMan

Re: PNM in Gov't

Postby PariaMan » March 19th, 2025, 3:25 pm

You cannot have rules for everything. I guess it is expected that the right choices will be made.

This is certainly the wrong choice.

We must call a spade a spade

Postby Dave » March 19th, 2025, 3:28 pm

Where is Imran now?

Postby hover11 » March 19th, 2025, 3:29 pm

Young making big mistakes first day on the job. With all these years of experience under his belt.....true incompetence

Sent from my SM-N986U1 using TriniTuner mobile app

Re: Re: PNM in Gov't

Postby bluefete » March 19th, 2025, 3:51 pm

https://wired868.com/2025/03/19/imran-k ... Uy4HLWARyw

Imran Khan vs Stuart Young; my memory of that infamous clash at CIC
Lasana Liburd Wednesday 19 March 2025

I never forgot the last time that I saw Imran Khan—my former St Mary’s College classmate, not the cricketer. We were on the second floor of the school one morning, and I heard a buzz in the corridor.

I looked up to see Imran walking towards me with a blood-stained baton.

“What happened?!” I asked.

“I just couldn’t take any more,” he said.

And Imran put the baton in his locker, closed it and walked towards his classroom.

I walked in the direction that Imran came from to find out what happened. Everywhere, boys looked stunned. Imran, they said, had just cracked open Stuart Young’s head.

Thirty-three years later, that memory has not dimmed.

Three and a half years after that incident, I joined the Trinidad Guardian newspaper, and I’ve worked as a journalist ever since—in a career that took me from the Guardian to the Trinidad Express to Wired868, with several overseas jobs in between.

I have rarely written first-person columns in my three decades in this profession. And I have never mentioned this incident publicly, but it touched me very deeply.

For years, as Young’s star rose in local politics, I wondered about that event—and what it might say about the man. Mostly, I wondered if the news of that violent affair would ever resurface.

That the Imran Khan episode emerged within hours of Young’s coronation as prime minister had me shaking my head. It was about to become political theatre, I thought. I definitely wanted nothing to do with that.

However, a story in today’s Trinidad Express, headlined The baton attack on teen Stuart, changed my mind. And, against the firm, well-meaning advice of a close friend, I now feel compelled to share my own recollection of the interaction between the two boys at the time.

It is hard for me to abide by misinformation. And the claim that Young “never had any interaction with the boy before the unprovoked attack” is quite simply untrue.

I do not intend to make any moral judgment on either party, but I do want to address that excerpt.

I started form one at St Mary’s College as a tiny, starry-eyed 11-year-old from Arima—excited at the opportunity to move from the modest D’Abadie Government Primary School to such a prestigious institution.

I do not know Khan’s origin story, but I assume he came from similarly modest means. He was, at the time, a short, fat, friendly, soft-spoken boy of East Indian descent.

Almost from the moment my form one group walked through the door at Frederick Street, we were greeted with bullying by older boys, who set on us like wolves: taps, kicks, insults, etc.

I think our attackers were mostly second-form students, and I assumed that this was the treatment they received themselves. It was a rough initiation.

In most cases, the bullying petered off by the end of the first term. We learnt how to defend ourselves by forming groups, standing up for ourselves, and getting pretty good at insults ourselves. Or maybe most of the older boys just found something better to do with their time.

In third form, when a tall, tough boy from a higher form kicked one of our classmates after school and took his football, we retaliated in kind. There were more than a half dozen, I think; I remember D’urville Rogers being our best fighter, and Marc Gaspard not being too shabby.

Picture a giant grappling with an army of dwarves and you’d pretty much have the correct visual image. There were boys hanging onto his leg, jumping onto his back, and attacking from all sides.

It was a spectacular conquest, and word of it spread. None of the older boys ever troubled us (the boys involved from my form) after that.

But Imran never had such a triumph. And, in his case, Young appeared to have never let up: from form one straight to five.

A victim of bullying.
(via Timedot.)

To say that Young “never had any interaction” with Imran is an insult to an entire form of witnesses.

Boys like Imran and myself earned the right to attend St Mary’s College through exceptional marks at the then Common Entrance Examination, which marked us out as some of the best students in the country.

But at the Frederick Street institution we met another class of boys, whose status was determined by something else entirely.

We would watch in amazement as some boys had butlers turn up at lunchtime in black and white uniforms to drop off their hot meals. Others had employees from their family-owned companies deliver their lunches.

I remember one boy who bragged about the number of sneakers he owned—and proved it by wearing a different one each day for at least two weeks.

They were not like us. But we made lasting friends and connections with some boys from different social circles and ethnicities—that’s what school is about.

I remember young Bernard Yetming, who was a cool, funny, scrawny little fellah. And there was Ian Hamel-Smith who was half-crazy in our opinion—the sort who would skateboard down Lady Chancellor on a dare.

Those boys were liked and accepted by all. But there were always reminders that some students were not like the others.

In fourth form, we were playing football in the ‘big yard’ when the bell went to signal the end of lunch. One boy, the second youngest from a famous school football family, remained in the play area juggling a football.

A teacher (I believe it was form one dean, Mr Lee John) went out and ordered him to put away the ball and go to class. And, as cool as you like, the kid took the ball and banged it against the teacher with great force.

And he continued playing as if nothing happened.

We were told afterwards that the boy got a brief suspension but I don’t remember the duration.

The rules did not apply to some students in the same way that it did to others.

And, against that backdrop, Imran’s complaints about being bullied by Stuart failed to prompt any meaningful corrective action over the years—even though he was not short of witnesses. I am one such witness.

Then, in his fifth year at CIC, to quote Imran: “I just couldn’t take any more…”

I make no moral judgment on the prime minister. I do not know why he behaved the way he did in school. I do not know his journey since and whether or not it has significantly altered his temperament.

But I do remember Imran. He was funny and friendly. He was beloved by everyone in the form.

I remember him beating his desk and beat-boxing with his good friend at the time, Colin Santana, as they basically butchered popular tunes by turning them into parody (Ice Ice Baby became Rice Rice and Curry), or created their own silly songs.

Ehhh…
I always wondered what happened to him. Based on the recent social media posts, Imran moved to Canada and made a new life for himself—I’m really happy to hear that.

Young is a repeat MP; he has handled several high-profile ministries without major incident, and he is our eighth prime minister. I do not know his journey from St Mary’s College to the Red House.

Maybe the Imran incident is irrelevant in the wider scheme of things.

However, it did happen—and not in the way that today’s Express article claimed.

More from Wired868

Lasana Liburd
Lasana Liburd is the managing director and chief editor at Wired868.com and a journalist with over 20 years experience at several Trinidad and Tobago and international publications including Play the Game, World Soccer, UK Guardian and the Trinidad
11 comments

DTayeWednesday 19 March 2025 at 1:53 pm
Sadly, I, too, have far too many of these stories. And I want to caution the casual reader about Saint’s life…
You see, for many of us kids from the wrong side of the Lady Young Road, or the wrong side of the Bus Route…or the wrong side of the Lighthouse…the Blue and White stripes gave us super powers.
We were not just the brightest kids in our Common Entrance cohort — we were the lucky ones to have parents who had the extra sense to put down CIC as our first choice.
But, from the first day at #75 Frederick Street (from me it was SEP 6, 1982) we saw what the divide between the Haves and the Have Nots meant. I often tell people that I never knew I was poor till I went Saints.
Privilege seeps through those sesquicentennial halls…the Terrazo in the Centennial Hall should be earmarked an architectural treasure. The Art Deco nods of the main admin block are subtle but distinctive reminders that We Are Other.
But then we get to find out about the “Second Son” Syndrome of the many families that have and hold various claims to owning and running this town. Those little basterds[sic] were pure evil. I had many many mannnny encounters with so many of them. But from Day ONE I told myself I would prefer to die than be bullied again.
So I fought over EVERYTHING. Fought till I got very good at it (massive shout out to G. Anthony Joseph who taught a bunch of us lads the secret arts of street fighting between Forms 1 and 2. I was an avaricious student of violence as defensive art.) And fought till I myself became the bully. Yeah. I pre-bullied anybody that looked at me funny or, as in the case of Dopson; pushed me out the line to buy pies from Pie Guy. He swung at me, missed. I swung back, and smashed his face in. I was sent to the Form 4 Dean, Fr Mendes, who attempted to adjudicate on behalf of Dopson based only on the fact that: “but your face is unmarked—look at what you did to this boy! What did you hit him with?? Brass knuckles??”
When I showed Fr where my hand was bruised and swollen he still did not believe me.
And, that day, were it not for MY support system of eyewitnesses: Garras, Ever-Ready Everard Caton, Puggy and some of the other Pie Guy pie addicts and regulars, I would have been a victim of “The Saint’s Code”.
Fr Mendes and I would become great friends after that. And I coached the school’s basketball team for 12 years…but you see that class line that Lasana talked about there? Yeah, that is as real as it gets.
One of these days I will talk about the day we had to assemble The Caledonians to roll for Remis and McSween and John and dem Five R boys who went after Everard and we had to…oh…look…goin through a tunnel…loosing signal…I’ll call you back….

Postby st7 » March 19th, 2025, 3:52 pm

hover11 wrote:
st7 wrote:
hover11 wrote:
st7 wrote:
hover11 wrote:
j.o.e wrote:
hover11 wrote:
j.o.e wrote:
These the requirements when she was admitted to the bar in 1985 ? Seems like a screen shot of the current requirements
Men trying all kinda technicalities well yes.....well Joe you didn't need maths and English to be a lawyer , pilot, doctor , geologist or civil engineer back then I applying your logic

Well if she said she don’t have maths (I assume she did) the faculty have to explain why she was accepted or if she provided some remedial work. I don’t even know where the ‘ no maths’ originated.
The woman said it in an open forum she is not good figures and she never did maths. That is the example pnm setting. Don't bother sending your children to school to learn. Once you have the party card , you inside.

so how she get thru at the school to do law?
Same way Marcelle gt with law school without maths as he said on the radio station. Concessions were made for the chosen few. Party card confirmed

this is how you get granted a HDC house straight out of uwi?

what good for one nuh good for the other?
I have no party card sir, hdc is a lottery system, luck and chance.No concessions were EVER made for me nor on my behalf

suuuuuuuure thing.

Postby 16 cycles » March 19th, 2025, 4:04 pm

Happy that sunlight shinning on Saints

Postby hover11 » March 19th, 2025, 4:13 pm

Must be nice
FB_IMG_1742415185813.jpg

Postby st7 » March 19th, 2025, 4:18 pm

yuh sounding jealous

Postby eliteauto » March 19th, 2025, 4:56 pm

Dave wrote:Where is Imran now?
Canada

Postby hover11 » March 19th, 2025, 5:07 pm

PRIME MINISTER STUART YOUNG RESPONDS TO BULLYING CLAIMS------ DOES NOT DENY ALLEGATIONS
FB_IMG_1742418411156.jpg

Postby bluefete » March 19th, 2025, 5:09 pm

That is a nothing press release.

Postby hover11 » March 19th, 2025, 5:21 pm

bluefete wrote:That is a nothing press release.
He should of included " I'm deeply sorry for my past actions that I'm absolutely not proud of,hence my commitment to solutions for bullying". Instead of this vague statement. It don't matter how much time past it still happened. Is apologizing that hard, take some accountability man

dogg

Postby dogg » March 19th, 2025, 5:51 pm

Dave wrote:Where is Imran now?

Read the article I posted

Postby alfa » March 19th, 2025, 6:43 pm

He did everything short of apologizing. Quite the political response

Postby Dave » March 19th, 2025, 6:55 pm

Thanks Elite and Dogg..I did read it.

Postby pugboy » March 19th, 2025, 7:35 pm

ppl asking why imran himself not speaking out
chances are he is an introverted non confrontational type, who are usually the targets of bullies

Postby Gladiator » March 19th, 2025, 7:44 pm

pugboy wrote:ppl asking why imran himself not speaking out
chances are he is an introverted non confrontational type, who are usually the targets of bullies

I heard he died

Postby The_Honourable » March 19th, 2025, 8:22 pm

Gladiator wrote:
pugboy wrote:ppl asking why imran himself not speaking out

I heard he died

Sister confirmed on social media that he's alive

Postby st7 » March 19th, 2025, 8:31 pm

lemme get this straight... and this is for everyone.

the sheit you do in high school you still do today, or did you learn to be better? it seems allyuh real like to criticize ppl for how young and dotish they was as teenagers and act like they dont change.

i know hovie have issue because he neighbour bullying him all the time, but allyuh really want to vilify what a man do when he was a young and dotish teenager? real cancel culture thing oui

Postby Dizzy28 » March 19th, 2025, 8:34 pm

st7 wrote:lemme get this straight... and this is for everyone.

the sheit you do in high school you still do today, or did you learn to be better? it seems allyuh real like to criticize ppl for how young and dotish they was as teenagers and act like they dont change.

i know hovie have issue because he neighbour bullying him all the time, but allyuh really want to vilify what a man do when he was a young and dotish teenager? real cancel culture thing oui
Zammy was just some random shiet or a continuation of his bullish ways?

The hope is people mature mentally as they age but not everyone does.

You go around your workplace uttering slurs?

Postby st7 » March 19th, 2025, 8:38 pm

st7 wrote:lemme get this straight... and this is for everyone.

Zammy was just some random shiet or a continuation of his bullish ways?

The hope is people mature mentally as they age but not everyone does.

You go around your workplace uttering slurs?

probably a continuation and it could be more 'diplomatic' but no one coming down on his actions now as compared to this whole high school bullying thing. by next week this whole bullying thing would be forgotten -- everyone making noise on social media, but not one physical action being done.

as timelapse say -- where is the conviction?

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » March 19th, 2025, 8:51 pm

Kamla still on track to lose elections and men worrying about who bullying who 30 years ago in high school??? :lol: :lol: :lol:

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » March 19th, 2025, 9:03 pm

DMan7 wrote:Kamla still on track to lose elections and men worrying about who bullying who 30 years ago in high school???
Thats just a feeling no polling to suggest that as yet

Postby hover11 » March 19th, 2025, 9:08 pm

Up to now nobody giving a good enough reason to vote PNM.....we know what five more years of pnm will be like. More gas increases, property tax, increased utility rates, increased NIs rates along with increased retirement age.All the bad is coming and not one good thing to look forward to

Postby j.o.e » March 19th, 2025, 9:14 pm

hover11 wrote:Up to now nobody giving a good enough reason to vote PNM.....we know what five more years of pnm will be like. More gas increases, property tax, increased utility rates, increased NIs rates along with increased retirement age.All the bad is coming and not one good thing to look forward to

Ent you say UNC don’t want to win because place too hard to run ….. so KPB coming to fix we up nice or make hard calls?
What is she going to do ?
Sleep on it and tell me tomorrow

Postby hover11 » March 19th, 2025, 9:18 pm

j.o.e wrote:
hover11 wrote:Up to now nobody giving a good enough reason to vote PNM.....we know what five more years of pnm will be like. More gas increases, property tax, increased utility rates, increased NIs rates along with increased retirement age.All the bad is coming and not one good thing to look forward to

Ent you say UNC don’t want to win because place too hard to run ….. so KPB coming to fix we up nice or make hard calls?
What is she going to do ?
Sleep on it and tell me tomorrow
Can you answer the question just once.....please. what the citizens have to look forward to

Postby MaxPower » March 19th, 2025, 9:38 pm

years ago?

Allyuh Trinis really pathetic yes.

Why allyuh don’t study the new Tobago airport allyuh going to nasty and destroy and not going to bother to maintain?

Postby hover11 » March 20th, 2025, 7:18 am

Israel khan has spoken. Waiting for ppl to call him racist. She does meet the minimum requirements to be AG. That's a FACT
IMG-20250320-WA0084.jpg

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » March 20th, 2025, 7:24 am

Imo, people real grasping as it relates to this 30 year old issue. Allyuh behaving like allyuh never did sheit as teenagers.

You live and learn