MadCrix

Info on Guard Dogs

Postby MadCrix » December 22nd, 2005, 1:11 pm

I looking for a gurad dogs.. well 2 gurads dogs

what are good breeds

i thinking rotts.

gimme pros and cons of any breed u post up pls.. and pls keeep the ridiculous posts toa mininium thanks folks
Last edited by MadCrix on December 22nd, 2005, 3:02 pm, edited 1 time in total.

2NR Smurf

Postby 2NR Smurf » December 22nd, 2005, 1:15 pm

yuh cant go wrong wid a rott man....best dog i ever had. :!:
a bit high maintenance but they worth it.

Yeo

Postby Yeo » December 22nd, 2005, 1:16 pm

(biased) German Shepherds loyal to you and family and would give up their lives in protecting you and yours.

Postby Cjruckus » December 22nd, 2005, 1:17 pm

I have a Pompeck,
They make Real noise when someone is in the yard, and its like they dont sleep.
Always wired on CRACK.

I like the smaller dogs because its less sheit to clean up and maintainence on them arent as much as bigger dogs.

I used to have a German Shepard back in the day, and a pair of pitbulls. The Pitbulls were tough, seen that dog jump fences trying to run down a theif. Those real good dogs just you need to get them trained for strangers, either way they will be loyal to the master and take a bullet for you.

Thats my dog cents. Get an Army of Pompecks, them theifs and them will cry. Good Luck man.

Val

Postby Val » December 22nd, 2005, 1:17 pm

get two alligator and call dat george.

Postby Cjruckus » December 22nd, 2005, 1:20 pm

http://www.dogbreedinfo.com/guarddogs.htm

Check this webpage, gives you a good description of some guard dogs.

Postby Dave » December 22nd, 2005, 1:23 pm

what about dobermans

Yeo

Postby Yeo » December 22nd, 2005, 1:25 pm

what about dobermans

Not too bright...seen 1 bite the owner for no reason..

[X]~Outlaw

Postby [X]~Outlaw » December 22nd, 2005, 1:26 pm

i biased to german shepherds all our dogs till recently were shephers but we doh have de space for dem again :( good loyal dogs

Mini

Postby Mini » December 22nd, 2005, 1:44 pm

horse... get some pot hound

1. they free
2. they eating anything
3. get one that mix with a bad breed
4. they less prone to disease... (most purebred are prone because of inter-breeding at some point along the bloodline)

but I want a sheperd or a rot

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » December 22nd, 2005, 1:49 pm

i know german sherps loyal like how rover loyal to honda

buh i want teh MEAN lookign type of guard dog.. and rotts loyal as well ent?

when u say high maintence smurf, can u expand?

seanf3000

Postby seanf3000 » December 22nd, 2005, 1:52 pm

Letsee letsee.......Fav dog was dads german shepherd/dober mix. Doh like strangers at all, but damned loyal once yuh been to the house once or twice.

Pompeks go be noisy as hell. But if yuh want it to double as a housedog....

Terriers..... very noisy, territorial and wired on crack!!!! Damn, dem buggers doh sleep.

Great danes expensive, but i've seen a friends one greet me by the gate. All 4.5ft tall and ting. I was like "When yuh get the pony?"

Another partner have some bull mastiffs. Yuh know....like in turner and hooch. He have one hell of a story about that dog and a curious postman......but lets leave that for another time.

Noisiest and most irratating dog i ever had was a Pekinese. LAWD FADDA!!!!!! That thing high pitched. Better than any alarm. Best door bell ever!!

But yes....i go second a rott. Most rot owners i know...their rotts reaaaaaal loyal. Some a bit bad tempered...but yuh never know.

I like the shepherd...shepherd/dober mix. That there is an intimidating dog.
Last edited by seanf3000 on December 22nd, 2005, 1:56 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Mini

Postby Mini » December 22nd, 2005, 1:53 pm

high maintenance meaning food, vet bills etc.

my sis had a rot... female and was spayed... weighed a shade over 120lbs :shock:

get a pot hound boy... I know a pit hound by meh neighbour when I was in p-a-p used to eat slice bread and ketchup and thing and was bad like crab... now dat is dog to have

InDeForest

Postby InDeForest » December 22nd, 2005, 1:56 pm

The dobermann is the ultimate sneak of those mentioned, its likely after some inital barking they will attack an intruder without making any noise, straight for the throat, they are loyal to the death, with amazing agility.
I consider the rotts the biggest deterrent and physically toughest, and I consider the shepherd the most intelligent companion,out of those three.

Postby X_Factor » December 22nd, 2005, 2:01 pm

high maintence.....means...yuh does hafta care for them like ah child
till they get big enuff....i saw friends spend up to 8k on ah dog and it died still
i always say if ur ah teef...one yrd have 2 pot hound...d other have 2 rotts or pits or germans...which u gonna try to break into?
i hadda get a pair for my yard..jus eh have d $ for dem rite now

i think Germans r great does but when dey get old is like they does get senile

rotts or pits would be my bet
once the proper maintance...care and protection against friends and family u good to go.....not to mention d surroundings of ur home gonna hafta be checked out and secured incase dey break out....
buh cater to spend like about 5-10k on ah pair of good rotts eh
1000-1500 per pup and then maintaince

silver

Postby silver » December 22nd, 2005, 2:02 pm

^^^ I agree...
except Rotts are also silent stalkers...they tend to sit back and asses a situation
before attacking... their bark is reserved
They are the most stubborn of all the breeds mentioned here..Except for
Bull Mastiffs...which to me are the ultimate !!

otherwise the Presacanrio is an excellent choice..

I had belgium shepherd and rott..now i have 2 labradors...very intelligent
and good watches

Mini

Postby Mini » December 22nd, 2005, 2:05 pm

would love a labrador

where yuh get them?

Postby X_Factor » December 22nd, 2005, 2:08 pm

another thing...if u get ah good bloodline registered set of dogs
u could make some $$ on them later on when dey get older and line
and make pups...just ah thought doh.....

Yeo

Postby Yeo » December 22nd, 2005, 2:08 pm

Mini wrote:would love a labrador

where yuh get them?

from dey mudder and fadder...DUHH!

:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

2NR Smurf

Postby 2NR Smurf » December 22nd, 2005, 2:09 pm

MadCrix wrote:i know german sherps loyal like how rover loyal to honda

buh i want teh MEAN lookign type of guard dog.. and rotts loyal as well ent?

when u say high maintence smurf, can u expand?

food n vet bills yeh. an yuh gonna have to have yuh yard well kept too.
the rott we had wasnt too agressive, didnt usually bark at strangers walkin in the street, just gave them a hard stare, i think that scared them more than the bark. 2 rotts would be more than enough to keep an eye on things in and around yuh property.

silver

Postby silver » December 22nd, 2005, 2:13 pm

Just got them actually...
now 4 months old...
found a breeder in the classifieds...
they are brothers...
Last edited by silver on December 23rd, 2005, 10:21 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Cjruckus » December 22nd, 2005, 2:29 pm

They are the most stubborn of all the breeds mentioned here..Except for
Bull Mastiffs...which to me are the ultimate

Those dogs real bad, but they have a phoq up attitude though.

Cooper

Postby Cooper » December 22nd, 2005, 2:29 pm

I've owned a lot of dogs since I was a kid. The Dobermans are kind dumb, the Rotts are realiable, but I would lean towards the Shepherd if you want a 'high end' dog. The Shepherds we had were very faithful and protective.

Right now I have mixed breed dogs (pothounds :-P)...five of them actually. They are very faithful and very obdient (as long as you train them from a pup). If you can't afford to maintain the high end dogs go for some pothounds! :mrgreen:

Mini

Postby Mini » December 22nd, 2005, 2:47 pm

i want a lab...

silver

Postby silver » December 22nd, 2005, 2:52 pm

If u really serious about gettin a one of a kinda Guard dog
The Presa canario is what u want... strong...invincible...Loyal

silver

Postby silver » December 22nd, 2005, 2:54 pm

The Canario has recently been reborn, although once near extinction. The Canary Islands belonging to Spain were actually named for the fierce dogs found there, not for its little yellow singing birds. From the Latin cane came the "Island of the Dogs." These tough, smooth-coated, livestock and farm dogs, called Bardino Majero, were probably similar to the Perro de Pastor Mallorquin and the Cao de Castro Labor-eiro and were present before Hispanic times.

When English settlers came to the archipelago in the 19th century, they brought mastiffs and old-style bulldogs which were crossed with these native dogs. The result was the Canary Dog.

This breed was selected and bred specifically for organized fights and became an extremely game, powerful and able fighting machine. Outlawed in 1940, dog-fighting continued as a clan-destine activity, with the quality and purity of the breeding stock deteriorating.

By the 1960s, when the Canary Dog was at an all-time low, the German Shepherd Dog was introduced to the islands. The Shepherd became the breed in vogue, almost causing the demise of the native canine. In the early 1970s, however, interest was renewed in the native breeds, and Spaniards began to search for examples of the Canary Dog. Fortunately, pure specimens had been retained by farmers in rural and isolated areas where the Canario was found to be a good farm hand. Ten years later, breeders produced good examples of the breed, which can be seen today at dog shows. An active breed club is promoting him at home and elsewhere in Europe. Dr. Carl Semencic conducted research and introduced the breed to North America in recent years. Fanciers feel confident the breed is close to FCI recognition.

These dogs have a wide, solid head, often with an undershot jaw. A bit of loose, hanging skin appears on the chin and throat, and the ears are cropped to a point. The Canary Dog, despite his size, is quiet and subdued in the home. Devoted to his family, he makes an excellent home guardian.

RichieRich
2NR MILF Hunter

Postby RichieRich » December 22nd, 2005, 2:55 pm

"Inof on guard dogs" inof ? :roll:

Mr. Go Slow

Postby Mr. Go Slow » December 22nd, 2005, 2:59 pm

*deep breath*

http://forums.trinituner.com/forums/vie ... 8&start=20

99.9% of dog breeds nowadays are not bred for any purpose other than looking attractive and having to adhere to some useless conformation standard.

When you breed (dogs, horses, whatever) without testing the parents for the traits desirable in the breed standard (the important traits, not the physical look of the animals) you end up breeding pretty, useless, trash.

Hence, most of these "show dog champions" could never do the jobs they are designed for. Those 3 time winning, purple ribbon, sheepdogs, would likely get a heart attack and die if they ever attempted to actually wrangle sheep.

Now there are still performance dogs available, bred for "go" and not just show ... The Schutzhund (German for "protection dog") training is a performance standard that is very desirable if one was looking for a performance animal. A dog bred from a long line of Schutzhund titled animals in it's pedigree is likely to be a very formiddable animal to deal with, even if he's not as impressive looking as some of the show champions icon_rolleyes.gif

Consequently, almost all of these big breed dogs are useless as they have not been bred from actual working / guard stock in decades! The show ring encourages the breeding of shy / complacent dogs as they are easier to handle icon_rolleyes.gif Too, when someone says, "well I owned xxxx dog breed and they were awesome guard dogs", what is their point of reference? That the dog used to bark and act mean to strangers? icon_rolleyes.gif

When was the dog ever tested in a combat scenario or simulation?

The REAL mastiff breeding stock (Roman era) were very difficult dogs to handle! They would just as soon as bite you as someone else and had to be treated as the unpredictable animals that they were. They looked closer to half breed rottweilers than the oversized rubbish you see today and could actually chase and kill someone as they were working dogs of war.

The dogs that killed the best, were the best ones to breed to icon_twisted.gif

That's a very different animal to what passes for a Mastiff today icon_razz.gif

As I always say, picture someone trying to breed chamipon race horses without ever racing them ... Sounds stupid doesn't it ... Picture these same people trying to breed pitbulls without fighting them or protection dogs without working them ... An equally ridiculous scenario.

Val

Postby Val » December 22nd, 2005, 3:01 pm

shot boy mini. :lol:

RichieRich
2NR MILF Hunter

Postby RichieRich » December 22nd, 2005, 3:03 pm

:?.
Last edited by RichieRich on December 22nd, 2005, 3:06 pm, edited 1 time in total.