MadCrix wrote:i know german sherps loyal like how rover loyal to honda
buh i want teh MEAN lookign type of guard dog.. and rotts loyal as well ent?
when u say high maintence smurf, can u expand?
99.9% of dog breeds nowadays are not bred for any purpose other than looking attractive and having to adhere to some useless conformation standard.
When you breed (dogs, horses, whatever) without testing the parents for the traits desirable in the breed standard (the important traits, not the physical look of the animals) you end up breeding pretty, useless, trash.
Hence, most of these "show dog champions" could never do the jobs they are designed for. Those 3 time winning, purple ribbon, sheepdogs, would likely get a heart attack and die if they ever attempted to actually wrangle sheep.
Now there are still performance dogs available, bred for "go" and not just show ... The Schutzhund (German for "protection dog") training is a performance standard that is very desirable if one was looking for a performance animal. A dog bred from a long line of Schutzhund titled animals in it's pedigree is likely to be a very formiddable animal to deal with, even if he's not as impressive looking as some of the show champions icon_rolleyes.gif
Consequently, almost all of these big breed dogs are useless as they have not been bred from actual working / guard stock in decades! The show ring encourages the breeding of shy / complacent dogs as they are easier to handle icon_rolleyes.gif Too, when someone says, "well I owned xxxx dog breed and they were awesome guard dogs", what is their point of reference? That the dog used to bark and act mean to strangers? icon_rolleyes.gif
When was the dog ever tested in a combat scenario or simulation?
The REAL mastiff breeding stock (Roman era) were very difficult dogs to handle! They would just as soon as bite you as someone else and had to be treated as the unpredictable animals that they were. They looked closer to half breed rottweilers than the oversized rubbish you see today and could actually chase and kill someone as they were working dogs of war.
The dogs that killed the best, were the best ones to breed to icon_twisted.gif
That's a very different animal to what passes for a Mastiff today icon_razz.gif
As I always say, picture someone trying to breed chamipon race horses without ever racing them ... Sounds stupid doesn't it ... Picture these same people trying to breed pitbulls without fighting them or protection dogs without working them ... An equally ridiculous scenario.