bleedingfreak wrote:^^^ Totally agree... copper IS the best conductor (barring gold I think!). The performance difference it significant enough (platinum vs iridium) but then again. so is the price. Platinum plugs go for $40-50 for one. Whereas iridium can see for $75 - $100 for one!
I would recommend them. Just don't get RIPPED off when buying them
Silvermike wrote:iridiums are usless on a stock ignition. copper plugs are fine for a stock car.
if u running something with plenty firepower then go to the iridiums.
Doom wrote:coopers 4 a bill, saddist u gehhin rip off, but u probably doh spen yuh money
i run iridiums on a fully modified ignition system because coopers don't last more than 3mths with it
i use coopers for racing
plats and irids are good for longevity like a k&n filter, no real gain
cdx2k1 wrote:Rudman wrote:Granted they are overengineered for stock application, this would mean that they will last very long (on stock)Rudman wrote:That can't be useless
I'm thinking the same thing
Though long-life platinum plugs cost more than standard spark plugs, the OEMs are using them for several reasons. One is that they reduce the risk of misfire, which is essential to meet OBD II requirements. Another is that they help prolong the life of the catalytic converter (also by reducing misfires). Third, they almost eliminate the need for periodic maintenance. On many engines today, replacing the spark plugs can be a difficult and time-consuming job - particularly the back bank of plugs on transverse-mounted V6 engines in front-wheel drive cars and minivans.
One thing to keep in mind about all "performance" spark plug designs is that no plug can magically create horsepower out of thin air or add horsepower that wasn't there in the first place. But improved ignition reliability can minimize horsepower losses caused by misfires. That's why some plug manufacturers claim their spark plugs improve power. The gains come from power that was being lost to misfires.