NGK platinum or iridium

pugman18

NGK platinum or iridium

Postby pugman18 » July 24th, 2006, 10:40 am

currently i use the NGK platinum plugs and they work well..
but i'm thinking of puttin in the iridium..
I've heard that the platinum is better coz the iridium has copper in the core and just the tip is made out of iridium
whereas the platinum it fully platinum..

any suggestions on which is better performing???

Rudman
Location: Finding out all the good tyres in life begins with "R".

Postby Rudman » July 24th, 2006, 1:01 pm

There was a thread on this in the forum, do a search.

Do U think U could afford a set of plugs with full iridium electrodes? Why shouldn't the plug perform because the core is made out of copper? Copper is a very good conductor of electricity.

I think it was discussed in that thread that Copper plugs gave the best performance, just that their tips rounded a lot easier than the other metals so they don't last as long (don't quote me on this, not sure).

I have been using NGK Iridium 5's on the lancer for 6 months, no complaints. Never used Platinums to say how it compares.

Some would argue that Iridiums are more suited for the pressures of boosted or Nitrous applications, but that shouldn't stop U from trying them. Just make sure U have the suitable heat range for your application (5,6 or7's) and U good to go.
Last edited by Rudman on July 24th, 2006, 1:24 pm, edited 2 times in total.

bleedingfreak

Postby bleedingfreak » July 24th, 2006, 1:15 pm

^^^ Totally agree... copper IS the best conductor (barring gold I think!). The performance difference it significant enough (platinum vs iridium) but then again. so is the price. Platinum plugs go for $40-50 for one. Whereas iridium can see for $75 - $100 for one!

I would recommend them. Just don't get RIPPED off when buying them :)

Rx

Postby Rx » July 24th, 2006, 8:25 pm

iridiums ....

that's the best :)

Silvermike

Postby Silvermike » July 24th, 2006, 9:53 pm

iridiums are usless on a stock ignition. copper plugs are fine for a stock car.

if u running something with plenty firepower then go to the iridiums.

Silvermike

Postby Silvermike » July 24th, 2006, 10:00 pm

bleedingfreak wrote:^^^ Totally agree... copper IS the best conductor (barring gold I think!). The performance difference it significant enough (platinum vs iridium) but then again. so is the price. Platinum plugs go for $40-50 for one. Whereas iridium can see for $75 - $100 for one!

I would recommend them. Just don't get RIPPED off when buying them :)

silver is a better conductor as well. If the plug had a iridium core it would be quite usless. the iridium serves to protect the copper, which corodes readily. A side effect of this is that the resistance of the plug is increased. U will find ureself having to run lower plug gapping with iridiums than copper plugs.

u can get a set of NGK coppers for 100 bucks. they last me 6 months easily. and i change them cuz i want to, not cuz they go bad. and i run an msd ignition. dont get carried away just cuz the iridium plugs are expensive.

Postby pete » July 24th, 2006, 10:07 pm

4 NGK BP6ES like what I run costs $40 and I had them in my car for over a year. (got my car with them and never changed em til this weekend)

Rudman

Postby Rudman » July 25th, 2006, 7:31 am

Silvermike wrote:iridiums are usless on a stock ignition. copper plugs are fine for a stock car.

if u running something with plenty firepower then go to the iridiums.

Could U say why? Iridiums on stock ignition works just fine.

Granted they are overengineered for stock application, this would mean that they will last very long (on stock). The 0.4mm electrode tip retains sharp edges longer for arc discharge. So if want a plug to stay for a while, this is the plug for U.

That can't be useless.

bleedingfreak

Postby bleedingfreak » July 25th, 2006, 7:48 am

Silvermike, you seeming to forget that newer modern engines have plastic engine / cam covers which are sometimes a hassle to remove. (i.e. MB, BMW, even Toyotas) It's all about having a clean neat looking engine.

Most modern cars come stock with platinum plugs - good for 100K km. Why? Cause it's TEDIOUS to have to remove those plastic covers every time you need to change the plugs.

I agree with you on the copper being better, but doesn't convenience count for anything?

Just my thoughts.

Doom

Postby Doom » July 25th, 2006, 7:57 am

coopers 4 a bill, saddist u gehhin rip off, but u probably doh spen yuh money

i run iridiums on a fully modified ignition system because coopers don't last more than 3mths with it
i use coopers for racing
plats and irids are good for longevity like a k&n filter, no real gain

Rudman

Postby Rudman » July 25th, 2006, 8:40 am

^^Thanks for sharing that Doom. That cleared up the copper, platinum and iridium issue for me right there... :)

Doom

Postby Doom » July 25th, 2006, 8:50 am

well the k&n is a gain in power and longevity whereas the plugs are more of a longevity thing nah

cdx2k1

Postby cdx2k1 » July 25th, 2006, 9:00 am

Rudman wrote:Granted they are overengineered for stock application, this would mean that they will last very long (on stock)

Rudman wrote:That can't be useless

I'm thinking the same thing

Silvermike

Postby Silvermike » July 25th, 2006, 12:31 pm

Doom wrote:coopers 4 a bill, saddist u gehhin rip off, but u probably doh spen yuh money
i run iridiums on a fully modified ignition system because coopers don't last more than 3mths with it
i use coopers for racing
plats and irids are good for longevity like a k&n filter, no real gain

first off fcuk you.

secondly, its copper. cooper is an expensive bug spray

thirdly, i never said they dont last longer.. im thinking from a performance point of view. i dont mind diggin in my engine more often for better performance and less bills.

Silvermike

Postby Silvermike » July 25th, 2006, 12:38 pm

cdx2k1 wrote:
Rudman wrote:Granted they are overengineered for stock application, this would mean that they will last very long (on stock)

Rudman wrote:That can't be useless

I'm thinking the same thing

oh really? the iridium electrodes have a funnie way of carbon foulin quickly due to insufficient spark. ive seen a set blow through in 2 weeks on a partners car. especially under boost, the plugs are usless.... unless u have the proper ignition to give it fire.

Doom

Postby Doom » July 25th, 2006, 12:38 pm

ding ding ding, we have a winner

Rudman

Postby Rudman » July 25th, 2006, 12:53 pm

O.K then pallie, take win. Iridium plugs are useless without the proper ignition.

BTW, did the problem sort itself out when your pardner used another type of plug? The gap in the iridiums are 30 thou, which might lead to an insufficient spark. Other wide gap plugs use 40-43 thou. Did he use a wide gap plug?

Was the correct heat range used in the first place?
Last edited by Rudman on July 25th, 2006, 1:10 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Doom

Postby Doom » July 25th, 2006, 1:02 pm

and the message still not communicated
iridiums and platinums are for stock engine and coppers are better for boosted applications
its just that plats and irids last longer than coppers
u don't use plats and irids for boosted applications

[X]~Outlaw

Postby [X]~Outlaw » July 25th, 2006, 1:10 pm

i use iridiums on a stock motor.......works great!

cdx2k1

Postby cdx2k1 » July 25th, 2006, 1:45 pm

Im officially lost in this thread now :| So you have plugs made of copper or platinum or iridium?So you're also saying that since the resistance on the iridium is so high you need an ignition system that can push enough power to the plugs to create the spark?

bleedingfreak

Postby bleedingfreak » July 25th, 2006, 2:40 pm

Though long-life platinum plugs cost more than standard spark plugs, the OEMs are using them for several reasons. One is that they reduce the risk of misfire, which is essential to meet OBD II requirements. Another is that they help prolong the life of the catalytic converter (also by reducing misfires). Third, they almost eliminate the need for periodic maintenance. On many engines today, replacing the spark plugs can be a difficult and time-consuming job - particularly the back bank of plugs on transverse-mounted V6 engines in front-wheel drive cars and minivans.

One thing to keep in mind about all "performance" spark plug designs is that no plug can magically create horsepower out of thin air or add horsepower that wasn't there in the first place. But improved ignition reliability can minimize horsepower losses caused by misfires. That's why some plug manufacturers claim their spark plugs improve power. The gains come from power that was being lost to misfires.

bleedingfreak

Postby bleedingfreak » July 25th, 2006, 2:57 pm

Silvermike

Postby Silvermike » July 25th, 2006, 5:57 pm

^ yes. thus u will have to run a smaller gappin than u would have had to with the copper plug. this problem is worsened in boosted cars because the spark blows out under booost.

if u not concerned about power, lazy to change ure plugs, like spendin money and have a healthy enough stock ignition system to push the iridiums. then go for it.

bleedingfreak

Postby bleedingfreak » July 26th, 2006, 10:26 am

I am:

b) Lazy to change plugs :)
and
d) have a healthy enough stock ignition system :D

but mostly b)

Postby pete » July 26th, 2006, 10:55 am

how long does it take to change plugs on a 20valve? I'd think the plastic cover wouldn't take moer than about 5 minutes to remove. so 5 mins for the cover and 5mins for the plugs..

seanf3000

Postby seanf3000 » July 27th, 2006, 10:08 am

Interesting topic. However.....

2000+ 1zz-fes....and i wouldnt call that a performance engine....uses Denso iridium 5s with a .043 plug gap, which is what i'm using now.

And i call paying $400 for a set of iridiums that last 100k+ over spending $100 for coppers that last 20k or less.....ah Hell of a good deal!