This PS3 thing going too far...

Postby RASC » November 18th, 2006, 7:54 am

getmad, well to you, who are in the gaming world heavy-forum, video reviews etc-but to the layperson, or casual gamer as myself, and many many others on this forum, it was a shock...

either way, whats the difference between the 60gig version and the 30 gig version? just tha harddrive size? or other stuff...?

WD-40

Postby WD-40 » November 18th, 2006, 8:37 am

HUTRINI wrote:TO DUANE:
1. for $1200+ the watch was most likely hand made
2. some go up in value
3. conversation starter
4. can last you well pat the lifetime of a ps3-a decade or more-even generations dependsing on make

now thats value for money, lemme see a ps3 do that?

NO $1200 watch is handmade. Talk to me about something costing $10,000 and then we can talk about keepsakse for generations to come.

P.S What the hell was that comment about smoking cigarettes about? That was out of order.

Postby RASC » November 18th, 2006, 8:53 am

WD-40 wrote:
2. some go up in value
3. conversation starter
4. can last you well pat the lifetime of a ps3-a decade or more-even generations dependsing on make

NO $1200 watch is handmade. Talk to me about something costing $10,000 and then we can talk about keepsakse for generations to come.

P.S What the hell was that comment about smoking cigarettes about? That was out of order.

what are you talking about...even the citizen 2100 chronograph titanium is hand assembled...and it costs $600 in retail stores

and secondly, i made a simple observation, and i didnt realise that smoking was so addictive that you cant sit still and watch a 2 hour movie without going for a smoke...

out of order... who the f@ck are you to tell me i cant comment on smoking addictions?

WD-40

Postby WD-40 » November 18th, 2006, 9:13 am

HUTRINI wrote:
WD-40 wrote:
2. some go up in value
3. conversation starter

what are you talking about...even the citizen 2100 chronograph titanium is hand assembled...and it costs $600 in retail stores

Most Rolexes are mass produced. ( What they don't want you to know. :shock: )

So far less.....

and secondly, i made a simple observation, and i didnt realise that smoking was so addictive that you cant sit still and watch a 2 hour movie without going for a smoke...

out of order... who the f@ck are you to tell me i cant comment on smoking addictions?

^^ When you appear to be chastising me for it. You're free to say whatever you want but it just isn't polite and we co-exist on the same board. Just saying.

Postby RASC » November 18th, 2006, 9:25 am

What chastising you?

1) I never said anything ill of you
I spoke ILL of the addiction :!:

2) If I wanted to speak bad about you, I wouldve...i dunno bout all this co-exist stuff, as if we living in tellytubbies lala-land :!:

WD-40

Postby WD-40 » November 18th, 2006, 11:03 am

HUTRINI wrote:
2) If I wanted to speak bad about you, I wouldve...i dunno bout all this co-exist stuff, as if we living in tellytubbies lala-land :!:

Maybe we are and don't know it? :lol:

SUB

Postby SUB » November 18th, 2006, 5:41 pm

HUTRINI wrote:getmad, well to you, who are in the gaming world heavy-forum, video reviews etc-but to the layperson, or casual gamer as myself, and many many others on this forum, it was a shock...

either way, whats the difference between the 60gig version and the 30 gig version? just tha harddrive size? or other stuff...?

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/PlayStation_3

have a look at the basic and premium packages

The thing is a flipping computer, entertainment system and a gaming machine in one :shock:

The new bluray technology thats been built into it is sweet but a bluray dvd player cost around USD$900 or less.

The thing have WiFi and a 3.2GHz processor
this thing mek my computer look like shite :lol: :oops:

Postby RASC » November 18th, 2006, 8:33 pm

Well fellas I just played the PS3 today :!:

NBA 2K7-WOW :shock:

when you really analysis it, with the specs and features, $600 really isn't that much :wink:

scientist

Postby scientist » November 18th, 2006, 9:21 pm

getmad wrote:
HUTRINI wrote:getmad, well to you, who are in the gaming world heavy-forum, video reviews etc-but to the layperson, or casual gamer as myself, and many many others on this forum, it was a shock...

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/PlayStation_3

have a look at the basic and premium packages

The thing is a flipping computer, entertainment system and a gaming machine in one :shock:

The new bluray technology thats been built into it is sweet but a bluray dvd player cost around USD$900 or less.

The thing have WiFi and a 3.2GHz processor
this thing mek my computer look like shite :lol: :oops:

Your computer with a Midrange video card will make PS3 look like shite

Postby cinco » November 18th, 2006, 9:42 pm

played the ps3 in best buy today that shite is CRAZY
they are gonna have to start making games look fake that was a little tooooo real.

Kwissywissy

Postby Kwissywissy » November 19th, 2006, 2:29 am

the 1st batches usually have glithches so why rush like that for it??? to have to send it back? steups. People are rediculous!!! and need to get a fcuking life!

Postby RASC » November 19th, 2006, 3:50 am

scientist, yes i have heard of your hate :lol:

considering it just came out, and no one has truly taped its power...and seeing the same game run on the two machines at the same time NBA 2K7-360 aint want nothing with the graphicaloutput of the ps3-after seeing it in real, i have been converted...

the thing JUST came out,(its not gonna figure out those bugs and start to push the envelop til sometime mid next year) and unless blue ray technology flops, PS3 for the win :!:

scientist

Postby scientist » November 19th, 2006, 12:20 pm

Consider this, devoted most of their time and budget towards PS3, Xbox, Gamecube and 360 had better games running at launch.

I stated what about the PS3 i didn't like. I used my cousin 360 till about last week(from since sep), and i bought my own 360 after playing PS3 and seeing what it lacked in the whole offering.

Judging from industry response from developers, i also chose 360 since it has a much better lineup of Exclusive titles and judging by the top graphical firms 360 will look better for atleast the next 4 years.

Call me biased etc...but after being dissapointed from all the HYPE i was fed, and then Delivering a Halfassed result....sue me, i turned Xbox 360. and yeah i do play my games at 1080p using the VGA cable for xbox 360....and yeah the graphics got a whole lot better and crisper...esp Test drive unlimited

PS hutrini.....have you Played any good 360 games? and compare them graphically to the PS3 ones? or the whole experience to the PS3 ones?

Smokey

Postby Smokey » November 19th, 2006, 4:14 pm

scientist, once again, even if u are able to output at 1080p, its upscaled. Even the old xbox could have done that :(

X_pl0d

Postby X_pl0d » November 19th, 2006, 4:38 pm

PS3 is a good system. But ill wait on their second wave of titles before i recommend anyone to spend that kinda money.

Smokey

Postby Smokey » November 19th, 2006, 5:37 pm

X_pl0d, im buying a ps3 and a wii when i go up florida next summer. Hopefully, there'll be some price drops and better games by then.

X_pl0d

Postby X_pl0d » November 19th, 2006, 5:41 pm

Got my Wii already. Had the PS3 test system a month before launch, sent it back to Santa Monica last week after evaluating their launch titles. Ill recomend everyone to wait a bit on that PS3 before they buy it. I dunno who fooling people head, their launch is sh!t, just like the 360 launch.
The Wii, well you buy it for Zelda...thats about it, for now. But thats enough...the game is VERY long, which is a good thing.

Postby RASC » November 19th, 2006, 5:52 pm

scientist, good point...and to answer no not really...i guess i need to- really get what yur saying...

even if-the only way i would not buy a PS3-is if blue ray technology floops :!:

Postby RASC » November 19th, 2006, 5:53 pm

X_pl0d, i dunno i never got caught up in the whole zelda fan boy thing...just didnt appeal to me :|

X_pl0d

Postby X_pl0d » November 19th, 2006, 6:06 pm

no seen. To each their own. :) Thats why it have variety. I playing games for how long boy...more than 23 years, so ive played every Zelda game, i guess its nostalgia or something.....and well game production is my career :D so i hadda play it anyway to know about it.

Postby RASC » November 19th, 2006, 6:16 pm

oh yeh thats cool! i just wanna see whats up with the WII graphical capacity...C.O.D. 3 coming out so let the real war begin...would love to see how they compare!

X_pl0d

Postby X_pl0d » November 19th, 2006, 7:08 pm

Wii cant touch the 360 and PS3 graphically.....it like the hottest regular XBOX can get....well a bit better. Its more gameplay. But trust mih. Siddown with 4 fellas and play Red Steel....10 beer in yuh head and yuh runnin around sword fighting like real @ss....is good fun LOL

Postby RASC » November 20th, 2006, 6:17 am

pioneer wrote:But damn...the PS3 no vibration ting really sucks :(

actually, to be honest, i didnt miss not having the rumble feature...with the motion control it was good enough...besides rumble wasnt that importnat to me int he first place

yeh for real on the WII probably being the most fun youll have...anyone here got one? besides no. 1 fan cjrukus

X_pl0d

Postby X_pl0d » November 20th, 2006, 8:56 am

yep got one sent to me already. Red Steel, Wii Sports and Zelda. Fun games. Zelda is really nice, especially for zelda fans, but there are so much out there it doesnt matter, it will sell. Its actually impossible to find the game now at a regular price. Wii sports is fun, works well, the tennis is one of the more fun games.
Red Stell is HARD to master. The controls work well, but incorporating them into heated battles will take some getting used to. the kinda "oh sh!t i do X when i should do Y" kinda thing. Spend enough time though and you will like it. Multiplayer is the best part, but then it isnt online, i was a bit dissapointed with that. At E3 Ubisoft told me that it was gonna be online. Oh well. Im not worried about Nintendo's sales. Just like DS, people scoffed at the system saying the graphics were lame and the innovative games werent there. But it takes a while for these ppl to realize the potential of the system. Over the next year you gonna see enough reasons to get the Wii...Played Mario Galaxy and Metroid Prime 3 at E3 and was very impressed, reason alone to get it there. If you like those kinda games.

But in all honesty folks, the best games to get this xmas if you cant get a next gen console is PS2 games. Final Fantasy 12, Okami, Guitar Hero 2.....well it have more but those 3 will keep you busy for a while.
Last edited by X_pl0d on November 20th, 2006, 9:15 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby RASC » November 20th, 2006, 9:13 am

X_pl0d, i feel you on that...i love the fact that the WII has the integrated wifi-which the 360 totally ingored..less wires is always a good thing, especially when your house is more than one level. so what else can i truly look forward to on the WII? by your estimations also, which one you like most? or the most satisfying after a marathon session on the system?

Strauss

Postby Strauss » November 20th, 2006, 9:25 am

I Dont know if I can live without the rumble on the controller.
How can I really play Grand Tourismo? I like to run the rally courses just because of the FEEL of it!!

Perhaps next year they will have rumble on 2nd gen controllers? For older titles.. I NEED MY RUMBLE!!

Postby r3iXmann » November 20th, 2006, 10:14 am

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?Vi ... &rd=1&rd=1

somebody is gonna be very upset when they open the shipping box ^^

scientist

Postby scientist » November 20th, 2006, 10:49 am

Smokey wrote:scientist, once again, even if u are able to output at 1080p, its upscaled. Even the old xbox could have done that :(

Not so...some 360 games run 1080 natively...PS3 upscales 480i to 1080i....sony said they will try to release the bug fix for it soon, it is supposed to try upscale 720p to get 1080i. i Currently use my VGA cable to watch my games in HD on my monitor. Only games i've seen upscale are the ones that do not support 1080p. Just like the Launch titles for PS3 are 720p, because developers are having frame rate jitters getting their games running at 1080....

As i said, the 360 suited me better, Better 3rd party game support, Xbox Live, control suits my style of game play better, Price is well within my budget.

My decision was made to buy after i got hands on time with both systems. After going from the robust network interface of Xbox live, and the whole gaming experience, Sony's free offering just falls way short for me as a gamer. I mean you can't even invite your friend to play a game if you they are not online playing that same game at the moment, or check what games they have in their library to see if u can play against them. Plus Microsoft has always made it mandatory for all games to support voice chat, and you are given 8 channels to have private chats. You do not even need to be on a game to chat with your friends....another feature they failed to implement. Oh yeah i 4got, there isn't even an announcement for a headset...something i also go free.

At the end of the day....buy what suits your pocket....i gave both systems a fair chance....The one iw anted to win me over, disappointed me...so i moved ship.

Halfbreed07

Postby Halfbreed07 » November 20th, 2006, 11:48 am

as high as 3,000 usd on ebay yo.
the hype sony getting out of dis is priceless fellas beleive dat

Strauss

Postby Strauss » November 20th, 2006, 11:50 am

No rumble... :(