WHAT ARE YOUR VIEWS ON AUDI A4 1.8T

BMW, Mercedes, Mini, Audi, Peugeot, Renault, VW, Rover, Volvo, Porsche, Jaguar etc.

bullet

WHAT ARE YOUR VIEWS ON AUDI A4 1.8T

Postby bullet » November 19th, 2006, 1:44 pm

I'm thinking about purchasing one just like to know the experiences of those who own or owned one. Thanks

thegtiman

Re: WHAT ARE YOUR VIEWS ON AUDI A4 1.8T

Postby thegtiman » November 19th, 2006, 3:03 pm

bullet wrote:I'm thinking about purchasing one just like to know the experiences of those who own or owned one. Thanks

I might be able to give my 2 pc on this as a UK VAG enthusiast. I look after a few of these and its cousin car the Passat. The 1.8T motor to us VW men is what the SR20DET is to all trinituners. You can pm me and give more specifics on this car which will help me to take you through what to look for on these cars in Trinidad's climate and technical know how.

plex

Postby plex » November 19th, 2006, 3:05 pm

Good cars..I know a friend who has one and no problems so far...He kept up with the maintenance schedule.... :|

TREX

Postby TREX » November 19th, 2006, 3:35 pm

Great car
Fun to drive
lots of performance potential with the 1.8T
BUT
Its expensive to maintain
make double sure that its checked before U buy.
BTW
"dealer maintained" means .......NOTHING

mattu

Postby mattu » November 19th, 2006, 5:36 pm

parts are expensive :(

STi-N

Postby STi-N » November 19th, 2006, 7:23 pm

NOT that fast
Last edited by STi-N on November 20th, 2006, 4:16 pm, edited 1 time in total.

nismo3ne

Postby nismo3ne » November 19th, 2006, 7:42 pm

For that sized car a 1.8 engine sound underpowered but the turbo helps and if you can afford it and you want to you can try chipping it.
A friend of mind did that to his, well actually it was an A6 but same 1.8T and boy did that car ever perform after woweee :lol:
Major improvement......

Postby equipped2ripp » November 19th, 2006, 7:46 pm

which model a4 btw?

parts are very expensive...

if you're thinking abt doing mods to it, be prepared to spend plenty $$$.

cdx2k1

Postby cdx2k1 » November 20th, 2006, 8:26 am

^^Mhmmm.I think it's a nice ride>comfort wise.But the older models (B5 Chassis>around 1999-2000) has some issues with the electronic display.

Val

Postby Val » November 20th, 2006, 8:31 am

I find dey slow but pretty.

scooby

Postby scooby » November 20th, 2006, 9:41 am

very very expensive parts

LOCO

Postby LOCO » November 20th, 2006, 9:45 am

Nice car, very comfortable, the only thing I've heard about going wrong "often" with those is the lcd display unit which is quite expensive at the dealership. If you are going with a new car, it might be worth your while to go and check out the subaru legacy GT, in my opinion this vehicle is superior in every aspect to the A4 and Passat.

Strauss

Postby Strauss » November 20th, 2006, 10:35 am

vin_ud wrote:no that fast

Disappointingly slow, you mean.
Even the new ones really laggy.

SUPERMAN2

Postby SUPERMAN2 » November 20th, 2006, 3:20 pm

oh please allyuh saying it slow like a civic fast
allyuh ever actually travel in one of these they does run
the ride quality tops comfort to the max and it real safe u simply cant compare a european to a japanese
an audi a4 u cant go wrong
and we all know they more than outrunning civics premieras and them sr and rb boys
yes parts are expensive but they dont go as fast as japanses cars so when u spend money on something u good to go 4 a long time
safety u cant go wrong u never hear anyone die when they crash in a eurpoean car its a well built piece of machinery i personally drove them several times the passat and boras are also real good cars

evokiller

Postby evokiller » November 20th, 2006, 3:26 pm

false a guy i no died in his passat....those cars are sfer than japs cars...but speed wise ur majorly rong,i drove 1 aswell...and very laggy im pretty sure the sr and rb boys beat this car in a race

STi-N

Postby STi-N » November 20th, 2006, 4:18 pm

1.8T not as fast as u would expect
runs like a regular 2.0

bullet

Postby bullet » November 20th, 2006, 4:24 pm

fellas thanks for the input but speed isn't a major concern when i have a rotary to settle that argument

Postby equipped2ripp » November 20th, 2006, 5:08 pm

vin_ud wrote:1.8T not as fast as u would expect
runs like a regular 2.0

you know there's the 2.0 A4 right... the 1.8T is faster than the 2.0

hong kong phooey

Postby hong kong phooey » November 20th, 2006, 6:03 pm

Those cars are veryexpensive to maintain and some of the parts difficult to get, some of them u have to source directly from london.
Some models of the A4 there is alternator problems.

the cars are realy nice thoughif u buy them from new. Sweet ride

Re: WHAT ARE YOUR VIEWS ON AUDI A4 1.8T

Postby MG Man » November 20th, 2006, 8:04 pm

bullet wrote:I'm thinking about purchasing one just like to know the experiences of those who own or owned one. Thanks

what other vehicles have you considered? What are you looking for? Speed? Luxury, prestige? After sales service and parts? Cost of maintenance????

We have the base model 1.8T (PBW model)
I find the interior cheap, especially the stick-on wood finish
I hate the handbrake location
Seats are reasonably comfy, audio pretty good and a/c is simple to use
Rear seat room is great and the trunk swallows two suitcases easily
I find the car fast enough. You can cruise effortlessly at 160, and not even realize it. I've punched it at 140 and it pulled strongly. You cud feel the torque and the kick in your back. NarendZORCE can confirm this. The engine feels torquey and lag is negligible. the worst part is that it's front wheel drive. It's too easy to spin the inside front wheel when turning out from a side street, and you look like a twit. That said, its waay quicker than an equivalently priced 3 series (at the time), and the only edge in the beemer is rear wheel drive. Other than that, the T takes win. I cannot comment on running costs cuz its a company car.......

Postby X2 » November 20th, 2006, 11:44 pm

It's a VW with fancy parts.

The 1.8T engine makes decent power, but the A4 is kinda heavy... a chip and some bolt ons and you can run a quick 14 second sedan on stock turbo. The car is very attractive, but has some quirks like the faulty screen and the random electrical problem.

Personally I'd rather save the $$ and buy a Passat w/ a 1.8T...but an A4 is rather pimp.

SUPERMAN2

Postby SUPERMAN2 » November 21st, 2006, 8:30 am

jus 4 the record the rb or sr stock not beating the a4 or passat
u cant go wrong with a european vehicle
by the way u say 1 guy died in a passat right how many died in a civic u cant even check safety wise is something u wont mind putting ur babies in u know they safe there
body wise it way stronger and more durable than any japanese vehicle
the lag time is because of how the car is built u ever notice when the automatic transmission changes gear u dont feel the big jerk as in most japanese vehicles if u put a gear box in that u flying :twisted: :x :x :P :shock: :shock: :twisted: :twisted:

Xman

Postby Xman » November 21st, 2006, 9:05 am

^^^your comparison is cheap ........cause you comparing to the civic on the road which vastly outnumbers the Audi......hence if you compare the accident ratio of couse there are more civic crashes and ultimately deaths.......because you compare the EK3 and ES8..........

Compare the 2005/6 Accord (inline 4 and V6), and new 2006 Civic..........now you comparison has merit cause you are in the same league now

plex

Postby plex » November 21st, 2006, 10:15 am

test drive both Audi & VW (1.8T) models.. after all it is you who are going to buy a car; what some people may like may not be like by others..so go and test drive the euros and tell us which one u like..

fafrumlosin

Postby fafrumlosin » November 21st, 2006, 10:23 am

SUPERMAN2 wrote:jus 4 the record the rb or sr stock not beating the a4 or passat
by the way u say 1 guy died in a passat right how many died in a civic u cant even check safety wise is something u wont mind putting ur babies in u know they safe there
the lag time is because of how the car is built u ever notice when the automatic transmission changes gear u dont feel the big jerk as in most japanese vehicles if u put a gear box in that u flying :twisted: :x :x :P :shock: :shock: :twisted: :twisted:

not to burst your bubble but are you comparing stock sr and rb turbo to a 1.8t a4?? if so i think u need to revaluate ur statements cause either of them will beat a a4....actually my little 1.6 20 valve does beat up on 1.8t passats and a4

thegtiman

Postby thegtiman » November 21st, 2006, 11:10 am

plex306 wrote:test drive both Audi & VW (1.8T) models.. after all it is you who are going to buy a car; what some people may like may not be like by others..so go and test drive the euros and tell us which one u like..

Also the Passat(3B) and A4(8D/8E) are the same cars up to 2005 mechanically. I said that for you to also consider that option which may be cheaper.
Audi 4s tend to be more prestigus and compete with the Mercedes C Class, BMW 3 series, Jaguar X type and Lexus IS series where relevant.
Known faults I have had with the A4 8E chassis are the instrument panel fuel gauges reading incorrectly ( yes the car came in with a new Audi fuel sender). Only know solution is to replace instrument cluster and adapt at dealer. Also the cambelt in these (3B, 8D and 8E chassis) need replacing every 62000miles and this invovles removing the front of the car to gain access where all belts should also be renewed with the cambelt tensioner.
Make sure front CV boots are not leaking any grease and makesure all the upper and lower ball joint arms are in good working order.
Use VAG 505 approved engine oils and G12 plus coolant and replace on time as per OEM schedule
Replace plugs every 40000miles with the correct NGK or Bosch equivalents
Brakes pads use either Textar or ATE or Padgid replacements.
A few ppl in Trini have asked me to source 120A alternators but this may be due to some problem relating to the local market as I can't recall that problem happening here.
1.8 20vT is a flexable alternative to the more thirsty 2.4 V.6 version, gutless 1.8 20v N/A and frugal but slower 2.0 20v. Some of the later A4s had a 2.0 FSi 16v as well as a more powerful 1.8T (K03s turbo).
If the car is an automatic use approved VAG ATF fluid and replace oil and filter at OEM intervals
This vehicle is not your typical "boy racer" car and will NOT win a race with a SR'd powered Civic or B16A powered Sunny B15 or any other 3ne2nr modified ricer really, but hey this is a different level of automobile and class.
If you can afford a car like this you can afford to look after it!

Postby crazybalhead » November 21st, 2006, 1:36 pm

SUPERMAN2 wrote:oh please allyuh saying it slow like a civic fast
allyuh ever actually travel in one of these they does run
the ride quality tops comfort to the max and it real safe u simply cant compare a european to a japanese
an audi a4 u cant go wrong
and we all know they more than outrunning civics premieras and them sr and rb boys yes parts are expensive but they dont go as fast as japanses cars so when u spend money on something u good to go 4 a long time
safety u cant go wrong u never hear anyone die when they crash in a eurpoean car its a well built piece of machinery i personally drove them several times the passat and boras are also real good cars

I want some of what you are smoking sir.

Postby equipped2ripp » November 21st, 2006, 2:01 pm

thegtiman wrote:
plex306 wrote:test drive both Audi & VW (1.8T) models.. after all it is you who are going to buy a car; what some people may like may not be like by others..so go and test drive the euros and tell us which one u like..

Also the Passat(3B) and A4(8D/8E) are the same cars up to 2005 mechanically. I said that for you to also consider that option which may be cheaper.
Audi 4s tend to be more prestigus and compete with the Mercedes C Class, BMW 3 series, Jaguar X type and Lexus IS series where relevant.
Known faults I have had with the A4 8E chassis are the instrument panel fuel gauges reading incorrectly ( yes the car came in with a new Audi fuel sender). Only know solution is to replace instrument cluster and adapt at dealer. Also the cambelt in these (3B, 8D and 8E chassis) need replacing every 62000miles and this invovles removing the front of the car to gain access where all belts should also be renewed with the cambelt tensioner.
Make sure front CV boots are not leaking any grease and makesure all the upper and lower ball joint arms are in good working order.
Use VAG 505 approved engine oils and G12 plus coolant and replace on time as per OEM schedule
Replace plugs every 40000miles with the correct NGK or Bosch equivalents
Brakes pads use either Textar or ATE or Padgid replacements.
A few ppl in Trini have asked me to source 120A alternators but this may be due to some problem relating to the local market as I can't recall that problem happening here.
1.8 20vT is a flexable alternative to the more thirsty 2.4 V.6 version, gutless 1.8 20v N/A and frugal but slower 2.0 20v. Some of the later A4s had a 2.0 FSi 16v as well as a more powerful 1.8T (K03s turbo).
If the car is an automatic use approved VAG ATF fluid and replace oil and filter at OEM intervals
This vehicle is not your typical "boy racer" car and will NOT win a race with a SR'd powered Civic or B16A powered Sunny B15 or any other 3ne2nr modified ricer really, but hey this is a different level of automobile and class.
If you can afford a car like this you can afford to look after it!

this man know what he's talking abt...

nortel

Postby nortel » November 21st, 2006, 2:49 pm

it's a nice car, it's a real bess ride. my friend own one of these, it does drive real nice but the maintance cost is very high though.

Raziel

Postby Raziel » November 21st, 2006, 4:21 pm

SUPERMAN2 wrote:jus 4 the record the rb or sr stock not beating the a4 or passat

WTF? can't go right with a european vehicle, can you say Rover, Peugot, Renault, etc, etc

The older A4's are slow as sheit, my 1.6 20V Trueno (Levin) will smoke that coming and going.

The cars have a nice executive look, decent ride, and you can get a decent deal on a second hand one.

But as mentioned, parts expensive, not always readily available (you could always try VW or Skoda parts though), and resale value will be sheit.

Return to “EURO”