bullet wrote:I'm thinking about purchasing one just like to know the experiences of those who own or owned one. Thanks
SUPERMAN2 wrote:jus 4 the record the rb or sr stock not beating the a4 or passat
u cant go wrong with a european vehicle
by the way u say 1 guy died in a passat right how many died in a civic u cant even check safety wise is something u wont mind putting ur babies in u know they safe there
body wise it way stronger and more durable than any japanese vehicle
the lag time is because of how the car is built u ever notice when the automatic transmission changes gear u dont feel the big jerk as in most japanese vehicles if u put a gear box in that u flying![]()
plex306 wrote:test drive both Audi & VW (1.8T) models.. after all it is you who are going to buy a car; what some people may like may not be like by others..so go and test drive the euros and tell us which one u like..
SUPERMAN2 wrote:oh please allyuh saying it slow like a civic fast
allyuh ever actually travel in one of these they does run
the ride quality tops comfort to the max and it real safe u simply cant compare a european to a japanese
an audi a4 u cant go wrong
and we all know they more than outrunning civics premieras and them sr and rb boys yes parts are expensive but they dont go as fast as japanses cars so when u spend money on something u good to go 4 a long time
safety u cant go wrong u never hear anyone die when they crash in a eurpoean car its a well built piece of machinery i personally drove them several times the passat and boras are also real good cars
thegtiman wrote:plex306 wrote:test drive both Audi & VW (1.8T) models.. after all it is you who are going to buy a car; what some people may like may not be like by others..so go and test drive the euros and tell us which one u like..
Also the Passat(3B) and A4(8D/8E) are the same cars up to 2005 mechanically. I said that for you to also consider that option which may be cheaper.
Audi 4s tend to be more prestigus and compete with the Mercedes C Class, BMW 3 series, Jaguar X type and Lexus IS series where relevant.
Known faults I have had with the A4 8E chassis are the instrument panel fuel gauges reading incorrectly ( yes the car came in with a new Audi fuel sender). Only know solution is to replace instrument cluster and adapt at dealer. Also the cambelt in these (3B, 8D and 8E chassis) need replacing every 62000miles and this invovles removing the front of the car to gain access where all belts should also be renewed with the cambelt tensioner.
Make sure front CV boots are not leaking any grease and makesure all the upper and lower ball joint arms are in good working order.
Use VAG 505 approved engine oils and G12 plus coolant and replace on time as per OEM schedule
Replace plugs every 40000miles with the correct NGK or Bosch equivalents
Brakes pads use either Textar or ATE or Padgid replacements.
A few ppl in Trini have asked me to source 120A alternators but this may be due to some problem relating to the local market as I can't recall that problem happening here.
1.8 20vT is a flexable alternative to the more thirsty 2.4 V.6 version, gutless 1.8 20v N/A and frugal but slower 2.0 20v. Some of the later A4s had a 2.0 FSi 16v as well as a more powerful 1.8T (K03s turbo).
If the car is an automatic use approved VAG ATF fluid and replace oil and filter at OEM intervals
This vehicle is not your typical "boy racer" car and will NOT win a race with a SR'd powered Civic or B16A powered Sunny B15 or any other 3ne2nr modified ricer really, but hey this is a different level of automobile and class.
If you can afford a car like this you can afford to look after it!
SUPERMAN2 wrote:jus 4 the record the rb or sr stock not beating the a4 or passat
u cant go wrong with a european vehicle
by the way u say 1 guy died in a passat right how many died in a civic u cant even check safety wise is something u wont mind putting ur babies in u know they safe there
body wise it way stronger and more durable than any japanese vehicle
the lag time is because of how the car is built u ever notice when the automatic transmission changes gear u dont feel the big jerk as in most japanese vehicles if u put a gear box in that u flying![]()