import wrote:Weyyyy LOOK HOW OLD...
Allyuh tell meh is Makeup have David lookin so nah..
Cuz i ent wanna see de Trans-Am if thats how de Driver lookin
Terran wrote:By the way, Hook, it's called "Super Pursuit Mode".
Thinking back to the show, I think it failed for a premiere. Sure, KITT's new features are cool, very good special effects, but I find he appears to be kinda "sorf".
First of all, the damage repair thing is kinda cool, but in that regard, the old KITT was built rock solid and would deflect objects (except Goliath). New KITT absorbs the impact and "heals" himself. What is he - the T1000 from Terminator 2? Maybe with a blast hard enough, he might splatter all over the place. In his second escape, he literally made all sorts of u-turns to evade 2 bullets and appeared to be saving himself from a few scrapes had he crashed through a wall or fence.
Secondly, since when did you ever see an episode of Knight Rider when KITT did not "turbo boost"? Or crash through a wall? I thought with all those aero effects on the Attack KITT that he would literally leave the ground when pushed to the limits. Furthermore, 3 hours 17 minutes to travel 627 miles? What is he - a Honda? Old KITT would do that in 2 hours in Super Pursuit Mode and NOT have to stop for gas!
Or maybe the producers decided to be more practical about the car this time. Sure, a turbo boost will increase an engine's power, but sufficient for it to lift off the ground? It's not a Boeing 757. What the hell did old KITT run on? Air and what? A V8 turbocharged engine, capable of what kinda output? For the tuner at heart and even the newcomer, I guess new KITT is practical in that regard. When old KITT shut down his systems or was deactivated, the car was totally dysfunctional. New KITT reminds you that putting aside the computer and AI technology, it's still a car. He could shut up and shut down, but it's still a car.
I guess it's still worth looking out for in the future. But, this first run did not live up to my expecation, and it certainly didn't fit the like of a $100M premiere as it was rated to be.
One other thing - are you all sure that Val Kilmer plays the voice of KITT? It sounds like him, but in all the news releases, they said Will Arnett will be the voice of KITT. I'm not even sure I know who he is, nor his voice, but anyone took notice of the credits?