9:00 pm..... The Official Knight Rider Thread!

Advil
Location: searching for an avatar that will not offend the idiots

Postby Advil » February 18th, 2008, 12:00 am

but me eh see no turbo boost

and the sideways thing

2hours long, 65 minutes advertisement

Postby tr1ad » February 18th, 2008, 12:01 am

<embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/ykSzwYQV6PU&rel=1" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" wmode="transparent" width="425" height="355"></embed>

Postby Cjruckus » February 18th, 2008, 12:02 am

Well FORD is king of product placement. Look at I am Legend. The first 15 minutes of that movie is a Mustang Commercial

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » February 18th, 2008, 12:03 am

^ man that was like a 2hr looong advertisement for the Mustang :x
it was kinda corny, but then again I'm not 10yrs old anymore and today the old knight rider seems cornier.

I'd still give it 7/10 - I enjoyed it, I guess.
But damn I am not watching next week if they gonna kill us with ads again!

A33_VQ35

Postby A33_VQ35 » February 18th, 2008, 12:04 am

import wrote:Weyyyy LOOK HOW OLD...

Allyuh tell meh is Makeup have David lookin so nah..

Cuz i ent wanna see de Trans-Am if thats how de Driver lookin

Fuh real... de man eh even lookin tall an lanky from long time... he tall and bout 300lbs yes!!!

So they gave up the semi for a freaking cargo plane??? and pls tell me de chinee dude is not de mech......

Postby tr1ad » February 18th, 2008, 12:04 am

ah wah see eeeetttttt

Postby RASC » February 18th, 2008, 12:06 am

What the hell happend to the semi-truck...the cargo plane thing is KILLIN' it :roll:

Postby cinco » February 18th, 2008, 12:09 am

frig allyuh
i watch the original knight rider all day today :lol: :lol: :lol:
this was a waste

DJ Kaotic

Postby DJ Kaotic » February 18th, 2008, 12:14 am

How the hell a cargo plane would pick up d car on d highway? Wha mike would have to drive to an airport runway for briefings steups. Ionly enjoyed the car love the mustangs

JM

Postby JM » February 18th, 2008, 12:20 am

The car was sweet...
the story waas lacking...
and im sure im gonna be dreaming Ford ads whole night....
gonna watch it next week just to see how he plans to get back ON the plane...

NarendZORCE

Postby NarendZORCE » February 18th, 2008, 12:25 am

Total blast from the past with modern dressing!

The Hoff, Mike, the new Knight Industries Three Thousand... and the new "Bonnie!"

KITT is BACK YO!!!

NarendZORCE

Postby NarendZORCE » February 18th, 2008, 12:26 am

DJ Kaotic wrote:Too much ads though
THEY WORK THEM ADS TO THE GROUND!

kg494EJ-1

Postby kg494EJ-1 » February 18th, 2008, 12:27 am

the show seemed like your regular, corny, two hour Ford commercial, I was looking forward to seeing it and it just disappointed me commercial after commercial :|

all motor

Postby all motor » February 18th, 2008, 12:30 am

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:...
But damn I am not watching next week if they gonna kill us with ads again!

This reminds me of trinituner.

NarendZORCE

Postby NarendZORCE » February 18th, 2008, 12:32 am

...after a day of dexing like a merry-go-round, somehow the show worked for me lol

I know it was corny and had unbelievable stuff in it but that's the point, I guess. The old show in it's time had that same effect.

I agree that directing could have been better certain scenes like girly antagonizing over kitt's evasive driving in the mountain passes took way long, Ford really want the car to be seen

The prospect of a nanide-active car seems way cool, someone should have left it to the kid in F&F :P

NarendZORCE

Postby NarendZORCE » February 18th, 2008, 12:36 am

You have to admit though the Mustang 500KR is a cool car – see the brainwashing is working! Bleh... hard luck for the brand association, I still don't care for the American-market Focus and the total FORD-ing out of the show was stupid. But once I got past that and the ads, I liked it the show.

The show seems to be very pro-daddyness so far as well, perhaps an interesting undertone for today's society, or was that a random though spurred on by the My Dad is better that Your Dad commercials :lol:

What about the two-tier WING aaaaaahahahahahahahahah that was actually funny-stupid aaaaahahahahahah

NarendZORCE

Postby NarendZORCE » February 18th, 2008, 12:39 am

So, who's buying a black car???? I'm gonna download that new theme music lol

ZanRx8

Postby ZanRx8 » February 18th, 2008, 1:01 am

OK so a lot of anticipation surrounding this show; ever since the first commercial came out and the exposure on tuner.
I guess its the memory of childhood days that spawn such a feeling. Like Monday morning when you got back to school to chat with all your friends about the cool special effects and crazy stuff that kitt did, not totally understanding what was going on but being mesmerise by humanly impossible stuff that you believed was real. Fast forward to today and watching the new or continuation as nbc would put it. Place a lot into perspective of how naive we could be as kids :) and then realise how Corney something is as adult.
I agree with the comments about this being a 2hr commercial for ford, the story line sucking and watching certain aspects of the show that didn't make sense. :evil:
So its left to see what nbc has plan for the coming weeks and if the show will generate the ratings it needs to live in the footsteps of the original. :idea:
At least some major movie company didn't decide to make a movie of it and charge us $$$$ to see it, then that would have been really jacked up instead we just got our time wasted :!: :!: :!:

Terran

Postby Terran » February 18th, 2008, 1:06 am

I like the car... not bad. Whether KITT will develop the character from the 80s is left to be seen. The driving was blah, in my opinion. Hasselhoff and the Trans Am could put the new KITT to shame with all that driving around they did just to evade 2 gunmen. I'll look out for it next week. There would be or SHOULD be far less ads than the premiere as the series now kicks off to 1-hour episodes. Expect 45-48 minutes of action and 12-15 minutes in ads.

plex

Postby plex » February 18th, 2008, 7:56 am

The show was great, love the ads to it...Hope a series is in the making. But that car is sweet..Black is the color for it..

Strauss

Postby Strauss » February 18th, 2008, 8:12 am

WAIT I MISS IT !!!!!!

This friggin woman and she friggin food network.

STEUPS.

Cooper

Postby Cooper » February 18th, 2008, 8:22 am

The show was aight.....liked the hot lesbo cop :mrgreen:

val kilmer voice kinda spoil kitt though :evil:

DJ Kaotic

Postby DJ Kaotic » February 18th, 2008, 8:24 am

NarendZORCE wrote:So, who's buying a black car???? I'm gonna download that new theme music lol

My car painting Black :D :D :D

plex

Postby plex » February 18th, 2008, 8:27 am

Cooper wrote:The show was aight.....liked the hot lesbo cop :mrgreen:

She really is sweet..

aR&D

Postby aR&D » February 18th, 2008, 8:28 am

On a scale of 1 to 10 i'll give it a nice 7. It was quite enjoyable. I think i'll make the effort to follow the series episodes.

btw: is the FBI agent a lesbian?. After all she had a chix sleeping in her bed

also: Is Mike partial to 3somes' and will be be seeing more of that later on?

Terran

Postby Terran » February 18th, 2008, 8:49 am

By the way, Hook, it's called "Super Pursuit Mode".

Thinking back to the show, I think it failed for a premiere. Sure, KITT's new features are cool, very good special effects, but I find he appears to be kinda "sorf".

First of all, the damage repair thing is kinda cool, but in that regard, the old KITT was built rock solid and would deflect objects (except Goliath). New KITT absorbs the impact and "heals" himself. What is he - the T1000 from Terminator 2? Maybe with a blast hard enough, he might splatter all over the place. In his second escape, he literally made all sorts of u-turns to evade 2 bullets and appeared to be saving himself from a few scrapes had he crashed through a wall or fence.

Secondly, since when did you ever see an episode of Knight Rider when KITT did not "turbo boost"? Or crash through a wall? I thought with all those aero effects on the Attack KITT that he would literally leave the ground when pushed to the limits. Furthermore, 3 hours 17 minutes to travel 627 miles? What is he - a Honda? Old KITT would do that in 2 hours in Super Pursuit Mode and NOT have to stop for gas!

Or maybe the producers decided to be more practical about the car this time. Sure, a turbo boost will increase an engine's power, but sufficient for it to lift off the ground? It's not a Boeing 757. What the hell did old KITT run on? Air and what? A V8 turbocharged engine, capable of what kinda output? For the tuner at heart and even the newcomer, I guess new KITT is practical in that regard. When old KITT shut down his systems or was deactivated, the car was totally dysfunctional. New KITT reminds you that putting aside the computer and AI technology, it's still a car. He could shut up and shut down, but it's still a car.

I guess it's still worth looking out for in the future. But, this first run did not live up to my expecation, and it certainly didn't fit the like of a $100M premiere as it was rated to be.

One other thing - are you all sure that Val Kilmer plays the voice of KITT? It sounds like him, but in all the news releases, they said Will Arnett will be the voice of KITT. I'm not even sure I know who he is, nor his voice, but anyone took notice of the credits?

Postby Dave » February 18th, 2008, 9:02 am

Someone asked where MR. Feeney, he's watching from above, RIP Mr. Feeney

Somethings are better left in the past IMO
Should have used a car nowaday more resembling The 1983 Transam

The best part was the last 10mins where David Hasselhoff appeared and they tried an updated techno version of the original music

But yes, Ford dealerships is gonna have tonns of people in the showrooms this morning, lol

[X]~Outlaw

Postby [X]~Outlaw » February 18th, 2008, 9:44 am

the only Knight Rider is the original series...they really should just leave some things alone :|

`psycho

Postby `psycho » February 18th, 2008, 9:55 am

<object width="425" height="355"><param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/Aj0DbBt4dXs&rel=1"></param><param name="wmode" value="transparent"></param><embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/Aj0DbBt4dXs&rel=1" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" wmode="transparent" width="425" height="355"></embed>

A33_VQ35

Postby A33_VQ35 » February 18th, 2008, 11:44 am

Terran wrote:By the way, Hook, it's called "Super Pursuit Mode".

Thinking back to the show, I think it failed for a premiere. Sure, KITT's new features are cool, very good special effects, but I find he appears to be kinda "sorf".

First of all, the damage repair thing is kinda cool, but in that regard, the old KITT was built rock solid and would deflect objects (except Goliath). New KITT absorbs the impact and "heals" himself. What is he - the T1000 from Terminator 2? Maybe with a blast hard enough, he might splatter all over the place. In his second escape, he literally made all sorts of u-turns to evade 2 bullets and appeared to be saving himself from a few scrapes had he crashed through a wall or fence.

Secondly, since when did you ever see an episode of Knight Rider when KITT did not "turbo boost"? Or crash through a wall? I thought with all those aero effects on the Attack KITT that he would literally leave the ground when pushed to the limits. Furthermore, 3 hours 17 minutes to travel 627 miles? What is he - a Honda? Old KITT would do that in 2 hours in Super Pursuit Mode and NOT have to stop for gas!

Or maybe the producers decided to be more practical about the car this time. Sure, a turbo boost will increase an engine's power, but sufficient for it to lift off the ground? It's not a Boeing 757. What the hell did old KITT run on? Air and what? A V8 turbocharged engine, capable of what kinda output? For the tuner at heart and even the newcomer, I guess new KITT is practical in that regard. When old KITT shut down his systems or was deactivated, the car was totally dysfunctional. New KITT reminds you that putting aside the computer and AI technology, it's still a car. He could shut up and shut down, but it's still a car.

I guess it's still worth looking out for in the future. But, this first run did not live up to my expecation, and it certainly didn't fit the like of a $100M premiere as it was rated to be.

One other thing - are you all sure that Val Kilmer plays the voice of KITT? It sounds like him, but in all the news releases, they said Will Arnett will be the voice of KITT. I'm not even sure I know who he is, nor his voice, but anyone took notice of the credits?

I agree, down to even the tires used to deflate.... NEW kitt just an ordinary car not capable of doing much. Imagine u could still get shot at yes!!! That would never happen with the old kitt