HOUSE

Postby quintessentiallyenigmatic » June 18th, 2008, 2:15 pm

these houses available for the public or HDC still have to contact u if u apply

AbstractPoetic

Postby AbstractPoetic » June 18th, 2008, 2:17 pm

crazybalhead,

Thank you very much!!

Good luck looking for an apartment. I'm sure your patience and persistence will eventually pay off!

evo-STI-k

Postby evo-STI-k » June 18th, 2008, 2:17 pm

bess yuh live with yuh parents or yuh inlaws till the market crash! let all the chupid people enter into high mortgages beyond their reach, save yuh money and when it DOES go down buy a lil place!

Postby crazybalhead » June 18th, 2008, 2:19 pm

AbstractPoetic wrote:crazybalhead,

Thank you very much!!

Good luck looking for an apartment. I'm sure your patience and persistence will eventually pay off!

Is me yuh talking about apartment dey? I has a mortgage gyul!

Me ent going in no apartment tuh live.

Conrad

Postby Conrad » June 18th, 2008, 2:19 pm

^^^ exactly.

AP my income doesn't allow for me to own my home...as yet BUT I do not see the sense of living beyond your means i.e. persons, couples, families all want 3 bedroom homes with 2 bathrooms and 2 floors with their 3 car garage HOWEVER many do not earn the sufficient income to fulfill these wants and therefore chose/prefer to rent until such a blessing comes up. I for one am very young and intend to do investments (I don't see how one can call their home a financial investment when they don't plan to sell) before ever settling down. I don't want to admit it but I somehow believe I would not be living in my home country by the time I'm ready to own a house.

The best option as CBH already disclosed is to get serious, narrow down your available choices/options by discussing with a professional financial planner or lending organization like credit unions and then make the necessary financial adjustments to make your dreams a reality. The key is discipline, planning and a strong network with people in the know.

I know of a house in Tobago that was purchased approx 4 years ago for the value of $250k, this was done through a good network, before the house could hit the market the prospective buyers learnt of the intended sale and jumped on the opportunity. With additional material and labour of approx 200k the house (now several apartments) is more than worth over 1 mill. and is earning the owners a steady income.

Discipline, Planning and Networking.

AbstractPoetic

Postby AbstractPoetic » June 18th, 2008, 2:22 pm

crazybalhead wrote:
AbstractPoetic wrote:crazybalhead,

Thank you very much!!

Is me yuh talking about apartment dey? I has a mortgage gyul!

Me ent going in no apartment tuh live.

You said you were looking at an apartment in Champs Fleurs. Now knowing that you are a homeowner, I thought you were looking to buy and rent out, not live by any means.

Postby crazybalhead » June 18th, 2008, 2:28 pm

that was before we found our house.

AbstractPoetic

Postby AbstractPoetic » June 18th, 2008, 2:36 pm

Conrad wrote:^^^ exactly.

AP my income doesn't allow for me to own my home...as yet BUT I do not see the sense of living beyond your means i.e. persons, couples, families all want 3 bedroom homes with 2 bathrooms and 2 floors with their 3 car garage HOWEVER many do not earn the sufficient income to fulfill these wants and therefore chose/prefer to rent until such a blessing comes up. I for one am very young and intend to do investments (I don't see how one can call their home a financial investment when they don't plan to sell) before ever settling down. I don't want to admit it but I somehow believe I would not be living in my home country by the time I'm ready to own a house.

The best option as CBH already disclosed is to get serious, narrow down your available choices/options by discussing with a professional financial planner or lending organization like credit unions and then make the necessary financial adjustments to make your dreams a reality. The key is discipline, planning and a strong network with people in the know.

I know of a house in Tobago that was purchased approx 4 years ago for the value of $250k, this was done through a good network, before the house could hit the market the prospective buyers learnt of the intended sale and jumped on the opportunity. With additional material and labour of approx 200k the house (now several apartments) is more than worth over 1 mill. and is earning the owners a steady income.

Discipline, Planning and Networking.

Conrad,

I am also young and am somewhat at a disadvantage because I have yet to finish schooling. However, I am not waiting until I start my career to save/invest. I'm currently working to pay any liabilities I have here in the States, save, and invest those savings in either the Euro market or US market.

At any rate, I'm hoping that by the time I do relocate to Trinidad, the real estate market will be more accessible to young professionals. Renting at almost 1kUS/month for an apartment in Trinidad is absurd to me and it seems like I may have no other choice but to live by my father's before moving out on my own.

Anyway, I say still keep at it. Keep saving, put those saving in investments (not only credit unions, but if you can afford, buy property/land) and network. I'm sure something will come around and you'll be able to live in your homeland by the time you are ready to buy.

I'm not sure if you actually have a family, but assuming you are a single and young professional like myself, do you believe that single-hood would be a deterrent in owning/buying a home, especially if deciding to take the subsidized housing route in Trinidad?

Conrad

Postby Conrad » June 18th, 2008, 2:45 pm

I fully agree with you i.e. investment not only in credit unions and other under-the-matress methods. My father has/is trying to take me under his wing and teach me the ropes so that when I'm ready I'll be at an advantage (he is a contractor not the fly-by-night type and has dabbled in real estate)

I believe as a single professional that you'll save more as an individual in comparison to a couple. Knowing your limits as an individual as well as living on a tight budget, which you know if broken you as an indiviual will have to stand the consequences alone, lends to the discipline involved in maintaining a sound financial life.

Postby Dave » June 18th, 2008, 2:46 pm

money market fund really helped me out

Conrad

Postby Conrad » June 18th, 2008, 2:46 pm

Buy land when blood is flowing in the streets.

Postby crazybalhead » June 18th, 2008, 2:47 pm

Conrad wrote:I fully agree with you i.e. investment not only in credit unions and other under-the-matress methods. My father has/is trying to take me under his wing and teach me the ropes so that when I'm ready I'll be at an advantage (he is a contractor not the fly-by-night type and has dabbled in real estate)

I believe as a single professional that you'll save more as an individual in comparison to a couple. Knowing your limits as an individual as well as living on a tight budget, which you know if broken you as an indiviual will have to stand the consequences alone, lends to the discipline involved in maintaining a sound financial life.

I wouldn't say that at all nah boy. But if thais how yuh feel, cool. 8-)

evo-STI-k

Postby evo-STI-k » June 18th, 2008, 2:47 pm

AP- honestly - anyone who investing in real estate now in Trinidad HAS to have disposable income.
Its so much better to look for Foreclosures in the US right NOW- invest there and by the next 5 years you should be able to get a sizable return.

Conrad

Postby Conrad » June 18th, 2008, 2:49 pm

CBH please elaborate.

Do you mean that "two salaries are better than one"

OR

A couple has more "saving potential"

Please elaborate. Just learning the opinion of others.

Postby crazybalhead » June 18th, 2008, 2:50 pm

Both Conrad.

AbstractPoetic

Postby AbstractPoetic » June 18th, 2008, 2:54 pm

Conrad,

Your previous argument went on the premise that having a mate is an expense, which is not always the case.

Just have to find someone who has and can live by the same financial goals you had set for yourself.

Meaning, no golddiggers or woman who doesn't know how to manage her own money. ;)

Good luck with finding that in Trinidad. :lol: :lol: :lol:

Rudman
Location: Finding out all the good tyres in life begins with "R".

Postby Rudman » June 18th, 2008, 2:57 pm

^^I guess Im one of the lucky few then!....... 8-)

AbstractPoetic

Postby AbstractPoetic » June 18th, 2008, 2:58 pm

Abstractpoetic wrote:
Dave wrote:money market fund really helped me out

Which Income Fund/Money Market do you recommend using?

Can it be compared to a sou-sou?
Last edited by AbstractPoetic on June 18th, 2008, 4:26 pm, edited 2 times in total.

AbstractPoetic

Postby AbstractPoetic » June 18th, 2008, 2:58 pm

Rudman wrote:^^I guess Im one of the lucky few then!....... 8-)

Count your blessings! :lol:

MonsterPower

Postby MonsterPower » June 18th, 2008, 3:07 pm

ap contrary to may beliefs i have coem across quite a few women who despote their lack of tertiary level eduction can count money and manage it effectively

AbstractPoetic

Postby AbstractPoetic » June 18th, 2008, 3:17 pm

MonsterPower wrote:ap contrary to may beliefs i have coem across quite a few women who despote their lack of tertiary level eduction can count money and manage it effectively

Did I ever imply in this thread there being a direct correlation between a woman's money management skills and her level of education?

I think not.

And by money management I mean having the ability to not only count but save and have something to show for it.

Not saving under the mattress, or in a safe, but by doing the research, speaking with a consultant and gambling a bit. Not only being safe but taking risks.

And not having the mentality that buying an Audi and going to the mall every weekend is effectively "showing" one's ability to have and manage money.

Conrad

Postby Conrad » June 18th, 2008, 3:48 pm

True that AP. Thank God my gf encourages me to save.

In fact she's cheaper than I am.

¤Sabrina¤

Postby ¤Sabrina¤ » June 18th, 2008, 4:18 pm

crazybalhead wrote:Don't want to disclose my business here

u done tote the feelings then?

u never thought about living in the other country?

NST

Postby NST » June 18th, 2008, 4:23 pm

Dave could you elaborate a bit more on how the MMF works, the minimum investment required etc

soundboy101

Postby soundboy101 » June 18th, 2008, 4:24 pm

even though you want to buy a cheap HDC home, ent you still have to qualify and go through all they red tape, its not easy as walking in and say i want to buy here

AbstractPoetic

Postby AbstractPoetic » June 18th, 2008, 4:26 pm

Dave, is this you?

i said money market not income

money mkt is what is referred to as the 2nd scheme and UTC, RBL, RBTT all have and they all pay roughly the same %

I would appreciate if you NOT edit my posting next time around.

Anyway, Thank you.

Postby Dave » June 18th, 2008, 4:31 pm

oh no, i didn't do that

NST, i believe the starting amt. is $500tt and int is calculated qtrly
u need to keep investing in it for it to add up and make money
it is not guaranteed but these financial institutions won't "close up shop" tomorrow if u understand
they have a range of funds, orgs, etc they invest in and more money base they have, returns are bigger and they take their portion and pass on to the investor, u and me

Postby AllTrac » June 18th, 2008, 7:40 pm

crazybalhead wrote:Think outside your comfort zone, get out of the east west corridor mentality, there are a lot of nice properties to be had outside that area.

:idea: :idea: :idea: :idea:

Postby RASC » June 18th, 2008, 8:29 pm

AbstractPoetic wrote:Conrad,

Your previous argument went on the premise that having a mate is an expense, which is not always the case.

Just have to find someone who has and can live by the same financial goals you had set for yourself.

Meaning, no golddiggers or woman who doesn't know how to manage her own money. ;)

Good luck with finding that in Trinidad. :lol: :lol: :lol:

Good luck finding that ANYWHERE in the world :?

MonsterPower

Postby MonsterPower » June 18th, 2008, 11:00 pm

AbstractPoetic wrote:
MonsterPower wrote:ap contrary to may beliefs i have coem across quite a few women who despote their lack of tertiary level eduction can count money and manage it effectively

Did I ever imply in this thread there being a direct correlation between a woman's money management skills and her level of education?

I think not.

And by money management I mean having the ability to not only count but save and have something to show for it.

Not saving under the mattress, or in a safe, but by doing the research, speaking with a consultant and gambling a bit. Not only being safe but taking risks.

And not having the mentality that buying an Audi and going to the mall every weekend is effectively "showing" one's ability to have and manage money.

again i saying i have met a few who impressd me because they did not get a college education still manage to manage and save a sizeable portion of their salary

this shows that there is still alot of women in trinidad who capable of helping out in any relationship both financially as well as morally ...

my g/f has saved and bought her own car as well as put aside some for her futuer in regards of investments ..

in other words she used her commmon sense and not book sense ...