crazybalhead wrote:AbstractPoetic wrote:crazybalhead,
Thank you very much!!
Good luck looking for an apartment. I'm sure your patience and persistence will eventually pay off!
Is me yuh talking about apartment dey? I has a mortgage gyul!
Me ent going in no apartment tuh live.
Conrad wrote:^^^ exactly.
AP my income doesn't allow for me to own my home...as yet BUT I do not see the sense of living beyond your means i.e. persons, couples, families all want 3 bedroom homes with 2 bathrooms and 2 floors with their 3 car garage HOWEVER many do not earn the sufficient income to fulfill these wants and therefore chose/prefer to rent until such a blessing comes up. I for one am very young and intend to do investments (I don't see how one can call their home a financial investment when they don't plan to sell) before ever settling down. I don't want to admit it but I somehow believe I would not be living in my home country by the time I'm ready to own a house.
The best option as CBH already disclosed is to get serious, narrow down your available choices/options by discussing with a professional financial planner or lending organization like credit unions and then make the necessary financial adjustments to make your dreams a reality. The key is discipline, planning and a strong network with people in the know.
I know of a house in Tobago that was purchased approx 4 years ago for the value of $250k, this was done through a good network, before the house could hit the market the prospective buyers learnt of the intended sale and jumped on the opportunity. With additional material and labour of approx 200k the house (now several apartments) is more than worth over 1 mill. and is earning the owners a steady income.
Discipline, Planning and Networking.
Conrad wrote:I fully agree with you i.e. investment not only in credit unions and other under-the-matress methods. My father has/is trying to take me under his wing and teach me the ropes so that when I'm ready I'll be at an advantage (he is a contractor not the fly-by-night type and has dabbled in real estate)
I believe as a single professional that you'll save more as an individual in comparison to a couple. Knowing your limits as an individual as well as living on a tight budget, which you know if broken you as an indiviual will have to stand the consequences alone, lends to the discipline involved in maintaining a sound financial life.
Abstractpoetic wrote:Dave wrote:money market fund really helped me out
Which Income Fund/Money Market do you recommend using?
Can it be compared to a sou-sou?
MonsterPower wrote:ap contrary to may beliefs i have coem across quite a few women who despote their lack of tertiary level eduction can count money and manage it effectively
AbstractPoetic wrote:Conrad,
Your previous argument went on the premise that having a mate is an expense, which is not always the case.
Just have to find someone who has and can live by the same financial goals you had set for yourself.
Meaning, no golddiggers or woman who doesn't know how to manage her own money.
Good luck with finding that in Trinidad.![]()
AbstractPoetic wrote:MonsterPower wrote:ap contrary to may beliefs i have coem across quite a few women who despote their lack of tertiary level eduction can count money and manage it effectively
Did I ever imply in this thread there being a direct correlation between a woman's money management skills and her level of education?
I think not.
And by money management I mean having the ability to not only count but save and have something to show for it.
Not saving under the mattress, or in a safe, but by doing the research, speaking with a consultant and gambling a bit. Not only being safe but taking risks.
And not having the mentality that buying an Audi and going to the mall every weekend is effectively "showing" one's ability to have and manage money.