Bridgestone Potenza RE 11 american spec for autocrossing!

Official Solodex Forum -
Please visit www.carstt.com for more info on Autocross (aka Solodex)

Moderators: CarsTT, CARSTT SoloDex, 3ne2nr Mods

Garrett Inside

Bridgestone Potenza RE 11 american spec for autocrossing!

Postby Garrett Inside » February 18th, 2009, 2:26 pm

Supposedly to be released in the states on march 1st by bridgestone america!
Supposedly the upgrade to the notoriously known mighty re01r
Supposedly BETTER than the japan spec RE 11
Supposedly better than Direzza Z1 Star spec, Advans etc or just about any other tyre we can solodex with beside R comps

Lets hear some views!

Postby MG Man » February 18th, 2009, 2:43 pm

Yokohama A032

Postby eliteauto » February 18th, 2009, 5:22 pm

I love my Advan Neova, hands down the best tyres I've ever used, even with almost no thread on my front pair it was practically impossible to hydroplane em on the highway, sadly they were replaced with a pair of RE01Rs today :cry: I've used those before but I rate the Advans higher, luckily my back pair are still great

Garrett Inside

Postby Garrett Inside » February 18th, 2009, 6:14 pm

Those yokohamas have some really decent specs,
but whenever i search most forums on the net for solodex type tyres this RE11 keeps popping up even though its not yet released.
The Dunop star specs apparantly are making a huge impact on the racing scene for guys looking for 140 TW and above.

have you guys actually solodexed with those yokos and felt their grip in both dry and wet surfaces?

3rdGen7

Postby 3rdGen7 » February 18th, 2009, 6:17 pm

MG Man wrote:Yokohama A032

You are a smart man.. thought i was the only one who knew about these sticky bastards ! :wink:

TREX

Postby TREX » February 18th, 2009, 6:43 pm

Try the Toyo R888's
MileageMack has in Stock - 100 Tread wear
Might get a set for the Street !!
Once u drive sticky tires its hard to go back to 280+ TW

Postby eliteauto » February 18th, 2009, 7:00 pm

Garrett Inside, I'm don't have a highly powered vehicle, but the Yokos are excellent for both wet and dry traction, and were great for dex

ImamurA

Postby ImamurA » February 18th, 2009, 7:35 pm

Try the Toyo R888's
MileageMack has in Stock - 100 Tread wear

really?...hmmm...u kno a price?

Postby MG Man » February 18th, 2009, 8:06 pm

3rdGen7 wrote:
MG Man wrote:Yokohama A032

You are a smart man.. thought i was the only one who knew about these sticky bastards ! :wink:

when you have a car that requires 215-50-13s you have limited options. The US market does not cater to these sizes. The UK market, which still has historic cars that still compete has a good-sized market for such sizes. Yokohama pretty much rules the roost with club racers there. A version of this tyre was also developed especially for the Lotus Exige. When you build tyres for Lotus, you earn respect :!:

Mr. Fixables

Postby Mr. Fixables » February 19th, 2009, 12:19 am

I am currently looking into the Dunlop Direzza Star Spec Z1, but I am also considering the new Hankook Ventus RS3 which is scheduled to land on US shores mid March 09.

Either way, all the tires you guys mentioned are great choices, and are within 1-2% of each other.

A good driver however, will make up that difference in a heartbeat.

Kirk

Postby SUPAstarr » February 19th, 2009, 8:09 am

Mr. Fixables wrote:I am currently looking into the Dunlop Direzza Star Spec Z1, but I am also considering the new Hankook Ventus RS3 which is scheduled to land on US shores mid March 09.

Either way, all the tires you guys mentioned are great choices, and are within 1-2% of each other.

KIRK IN AN ALMERA however, will make up that difference in a heartbeat.

Kirk

FIXED

sirbill

Postby sirbill » February 19th, 2009, 8:23 am

Oh goody. RE-11 release just in time for me burthday!!! Now I can burn out the RE01r's nex dex. Too lazy to change tyres again.

Sh!t- global down-turn.........

Postby r3iXmann » February 19th, 2009, 8:26 am

what's the typical prices of these tyres?

sirbill

Postby sirbill » February 19th, 2009, 8:32 am

A lot unfortunately. Check out Tirerack for RE-01R pricing and then add some. The Dunlop Direzza Star Spec Z1 are better value for money since they are better than RE01R and equal to RE-11 (J spec).

Originally Posted by Luke@tirerack View Post

The new Bridgestone Potenza RE-11 Extreme Performance Summer tire has arrived.

I will have more info in the near future but, I can tell you that this is a North American-spec tire, which is different than the original version already available in Japan. But, before you think that we are getting an inferior product, know that Bridgestone North America has done extensive testing, and has developed a spec that is faster at street tire autocross competition (where the RE-01R has already been very competitive) than both the Potenza RE-01R and the JDP-spec RE-11.

The Potenza RE-11 is an Extreme Performance Summer tire developed for enthusiastic sports car, sports coupe and performance sedan drivers. The Potenza RE-11 is designed to combine traction, handling and driving control with good noise and ride comfort. The Potenza RE-11 is tuned for dry and wet conditions but like all summer tires, it not intended to be driven in near-freezing temperatures, through snow or on ice.

The Potenza RE-11 is the first Potenza street tire to incorporate Bridgestone's 3D Seamless Stealth technology originally introduced in their Formula 1 and GP2 racing tires. The Potenza RE-11 features an asymmetric tread pattern that combines massive outboard independent shoulder blocks interlocked with a notched circumferential intermediate rib that provides the lateral stiffness needed to enhance steering response and increase dry cornering traction. Inboard, a continuous intermediate rib and notched shoulder rib are separated by wide, straight circumferential grooves that provide water evacuation to resist hydroplaning and enhance wet traction.

The tire's internal structure features a custom designed asymmetric shape that helps distribute footprint pressure more evenly by keeping the straighter outboard sidewall from "falling down" while helping the more rounded inboard sidewall resist "falling away" during aggressive cornering. Two wide steel belts reinforced by spirally wound nylon provide strength, uniform ride quality and high-speed capability.

Bridgestone Potenza RE-11 tires feature black letter styling and are available in selected 55-, 50-, 45-, 40-, 35-, and 30-series V- or W-speed rated sizes for 15" to 19" wheel diameters.

Postby MG Man » February 19th, 2009, 12:49 pm

sigh
if only I could become the Yokohama Agent

BTW, the Goodyear Eagle F1 GSD3 is a brilliant tyre, and often overlooked :!:

Mr. Fixables

Postby Mr. Fixables » February 20th, 2009, 9:23 pm

How people beatin me up for driving mih Mother's Almera so boy?

That was a long time ago. It seems like old scars heal slow!!

Kirk

Postby MG Man » February 20th, 2009, 9:37 pm

Mr. Fixables wrote:How people beatin me up for driving mih Mother's Almera so boy?

That was a long time ago. It seems like old scars heal slow!!

Kirk

u remember they wanted to bump the car after I scrutineered it? :?
some things never change eh :wink:

Mr. Fixables

Postby Mr. Fixables » February 20th, 2009, 9:48 pm

Yeah I remember people would not believe I brought a stock automatic Almera to race in Dex.

They said Fixables doh drive nuttin STOCK!!! :lol: :lol:

Kirk

Postby eliteauto » February 20th, 2009, 9:49 pm

MG Man, you doing scrutineering on the 22nd? will let you check my car :|

Postby MG Man » February 20th, 2009, 10:28 pm

I too depressed to come dex.........nuttin worse than havin to sit and watch other ppl race :(

Kirk boy, I always say..........some ppl ha reeeeeeal skills and others, 'hadda be de car'

Mr. Fixables

Postby Mr. Fixables » February 20th, 2009, 10:33 pm

Kevin boy ....

Up here, I sometimes feel I need to blame the car. Competition rough up here.

I need to find an original excuse ....

Kirk

Postby MG Man » February 21st, 2009, 12:47 am

Mr. Fixables wrote:Kevin boy ....

Kirk

get an MG :lol:
when u lose they cheer
when u win they cheer

Postby Ignorant Ignis » February 21st, 2009, 8:27 am

Mr. Fixables wrote:Kevin boy ....

Kirk

get an MG :lol:
when u lose they cheer
when u win they cheer

Postby pete » February 21st, 2009, 8:45 am

yuh mean when you finish the course they cheer :P

Garrett Inside

Postby Garrett Inside » February 21st, 2009, 10:02 am

As i understand it for solodex (tight autocross events) you should raise your tyre pressure by 8-12 psi higher than your normal everyday pressures.
Can anyone confirm this and if so what is a good pressure for front tyres and back tyres?
And what tolerance does the tyres that you've used have for changes in pressure, as some users on various forums claim (dependant on tyre used), that they can perform badly if a little off.

Mr. Fixables

Postby Mr. Fixables » February 21st, 2009, 10:02 am

yuh mean when you finish the course they cheer

HAHAHA. Classic.

Kirk

Mr. Fixables

Postby Mr. Fixables » February 21st, 2009, 10:10 am

Generally, for Front wheel drive cars, start off with 35F and 38R and make small adjustments to your pressures to fine tune.

I have found that you can dramatically change your car's handling with a few psi change to the front or back.

For example: when i ran my car at 36F/36R, the car understeered, and the turn-in was ok at best. I upped the rears to 38, and the car immediately felt more tossable and showed some mild turn in oversteer (which is good). I then realized that I was not utilizing the entire cross section of the FRONT tire as the tire did not show any scuffing at the edges of the tire, so I dropped it to 34psi, and WOW, the car turned in great, while keeping the rear firm enough to slalom, but will also give lift off oversteer.

Everyone has their own comfort level, and ONLY YOU can find it. Tire pressures are your friend. Use a test and tune to find the right combination.

Kirk

chris1388

Postby chris1388 » February 21st, 2009, 12:16 pm

Hi mr fixables, these are cold tyre pressures right?? Also how come you want the back harder in a FWD car? I only just started dexing and am quite unexperienced about the whole tyre pressure issue so plz forgive my ignorance :oops:
I have an ignis sport and the back is REALLY light, infact the whole car is extremely light. Last time i was running 35F and 32R, car handled pretty well but i guess this was wrong??

Postby wagonrunner » February 21st, 2009, 12:34 pm

chris1388,
Everyone has their own comfort level, and ONLY YOU can find it.

most cars are designed to understeer, by upping the rear tire pressure you can negate that.
depending on your driving style / technique, it can be an asset.

Postby MG Man » February 21st, 2009, 7:13 pm

pete wrote:yuh mean when you finish the course they cheer :P

funny thing is, they cheering the car, not me :oops:

I ran the Mini at 38psi all round for Dex 1 and I really loved how it handled. I shuld have raised the back to 40 tho, to help with turn in :!:
Very VERY different drive to the MG and HSR which are RWD

Return to “CARS - Autocross (Solodex)”