Logitech Z5500 Sub repaired and Blew Again!! WTF?

RadeonHD

Postby RadeonHD » February 28th, 2009, 4:07 am

Boyaka I get the speaker. 12 in the night to the man pass and drop it. lol

Mine has resin behind the speaker so the speaker looks exactly like the original.

You cannot tell if it was repaired.

And by the spider the pig tale thingy looks thicker and stuff.

I wonder if its more watts now? hmm only one way to know.
I can't play it yet cause its night and these people go put me out ah this house :| :|

So I hadda try it later today when I wake up like 12 noon and thing

But that resin real stifen da cone in truth.

I wonder wa kinda voice coil he use and stuff. Anyways will give a sound review later but thus far but this far it looks near exact as the original.

Postby 3stagevtec » February 28th, 2009, 4:38 am

remember to give it a week at medium volume to break in.. don't 'baby it' during the break in period, but don't push it as well..

allow the coil to heat up good during the break in time, so don't be afraid to let it run for a few songs well..

from what i was told the new coil should be able to handle more power than the original..

southside connections

Postby southside connections » February 28th, 2009, 4:43 am

yep^^^ the speakers all have a new 6 layer coil, also the coil wires are thicker than before

it's a original coil(not remade) but it's just slightly upgraded

BTW as this coil/spider system is new please allow 1-2 weeks minum break out time

Postby 3stagevtec » February 28th, 2009, 4:55 am

you mean an original 6 layer coil from another sub???

southside connections

Postby southside connections » February 28th, 2009, 6:28 am

yep, same znom, different windings/thow size ect

so thereofore ts parameters would hav changed also

RadeonHD

Postby RadeonHD » February 28th, 2009, 4:12 pm

Speaker blew within just 1 hour.

Same problem yet again.
But not as bad as before its still passable.

Waste of fcuking money and time.

Same ratteling sound yet again.

Funny thing is I had it at only half volume. :? Was playing basstronics to hear how it sounded and it did sound a bit better.

And whats Amazing is that these people home so I could not even play it hard self.

Now when I take the speaker out of the box I do not hear the cracking sound but as soon as I put it back in the cracking sound starts.

southside connections

Postby southside connections » February 28th, 2009, 4:25 pm

we'll pass for it in the week

southside connections

Postby southside connections » February 28th, 2009, 4:29 pm

but thats not the speaker check the amplifier for anything burnt because the last coil was actually the same ting, so check the internal amplifier

first time we getting a complaint for this particular sub, i mean we've done soooo many other with no problems whatsoever

RadeonHD

Postby RadeonHD » February 28th, 2009, 4:29 pm

But hear this when I take it out of the box it don't give the same problems.

But when I put it back in it gives the same problem.

It was working good eh, I made sure and kept the volume low this time just to be on the safe side. And just like that it start back.

However I can safely say the Bass improved a Lot it sounds like a real sub.

But once I put this volume past quarter it starts to give that cracking sound.

ut the bass improved a Lot.

southside connections

Postby southside connections » February 28th, 2009, 4:31 pm

check the enclosure, chances are it's heavily leaking or broken somwhere

u sure it is the subwoofer?,because it dosen't seem like that to me,more like the box itself

RadeonHD

Postby RadeonHD » February 28th, 2009, 4:34 pm

But I being 100% honest I never had it more than half volume.

Perhaps its something else causing this problem.

Cause the last time even when I took it out of the box I heard the cracking sound.

Now when I take it out of the box there is no cracking sound so i assume the speaker may be good.

I shall investigate this further.

RadeonHD

Postby RadeonHD » February 28th, 2009, 4:37 pm

southside connections wrote:check the enclosure, chances are it's heavily leaking or broken somwhere

u sure it is the subwoofer?,because it dosen't seem like that to me,more like the box itself

when I take the woofer out it plays perfect no cracking sound.

The thing was playing perfect and just like that after 1 hour it start to make this same kind of noise.

But the noise is not as bad as before you can listen to it at quarter and don't notice it.

Let me investigate perhaps as you say its leaking or something so. Perhaps its the box

southside connections

Postby southside connections » February 28th, 2009, 4:42 pm

yep look into it and let us know asap thanks

RadeonHD

Postby RadeonHD » February 28th, 2009, 5:19 pm

Is the speaker that giving the problem.

Apparently it is happening when the speaker is in the box.

Suppose the FS and stuff had changed and the box was not designed for this new speaker and thats what caused it?

The sound is definitely coming from the speaker itself.

But suppose it fix again and the same problem happen yet again?

Because it could never be the power it has to be how the box tune now since this driver is totally different.

If you see how low I had this playing and that same problem started just like that. Perhaps I have to what buy an actual brand new speaker?

HCCA

Postby HCCA » February 28th, 2009, 6:06 pm

Have that whole sub/box and amp checked by a pro. I had two systems already and used to run them hard for hours and never get a prob like what u describing. Probably something just loose in the box or the amp getting probs.

altec

Postby altec » February 28th, 2009, 6:10 pm

check to see if the spider unstuck somewhere.

RadeonHD

Postby RadeonHD » February 28th, 2009, 6:15 pm

Ok I have confirmed its the Speaker.

Its making the same noise outside the box now.

Seems like its the spider again. I can't believe thi less than an hour and less than Half volume and yet again same thing.

Is it possible the guy who fixed this maybe just maybe he made a mistake in this? Perhaps wrong voice coil? perhaps something else.

This damaged waay to fast and such low volume, the original one used to go max for long periods of time and still worked.

And just to be safe I actually took my time with this this time just to avoid that problem. And it happened again.

I wonder if the guy made an error with this? So basically if I get this fixed again I go cah run it more than quarter volume then?
And imagine this thing had resin and stuff jed? WTMC?

RadeonHD

Postby RadeonHD » February 28th, 2009, 6:31 pm

I should mention that the bass has improved noticeably I mean the quality of bass its deeper and more detailed and more controlled. :|

Facking thing was sounding real bess jed and look wa gone and happen :|

I still trying to get over how easy this sheit blow at half volume in less than an hour.

is bess I did really buy ah audiopipe or something yes.
If I did know repairing a speaker was so pointless I would ah never even bother to repair it in the first place. :?

RapToR
Location: Wholesaler & Reseller --- FREE Delivery<--Almost Anywhere!

Postby RapToR » February 28th, 2009, 10:08 pm

2ha

RadeonHD

Postby RadeonHD » February 28th, 2009, 10:48 pm

Ah feel ah should ah listen to pioneer and go KP yes and just pay the lil extra money :|

I just cah believe this sheit nah jed. Steups!!!!

And the thing look so professional and well done you would swear this was the real deal.

Anyways its possible this could have been a error by the guy who knows. You know sometimes you fix something and its as perfect as others. Sometimes you miss out a lil thing that can cause the problem. cause the way people talk about it I could swear yuh could drop a billion RMS on the thing :|

I must be drop only 80 RMS on it and its a 188 RMS soofer. :|

This facking thing real blight jed.

But I think cracky may fix it back for me cause most likely it may be an error on his part. Human error may it be. Who knows.

Postby 3stagevtec » February 28th, 2009, 11:40 pm

my cousin's sub still performing as it should.. and why you gone playing 'basstronics' tracks on it so soon?? some of those tracks can cause the sub to unload and place extra stress on the suspension system, maybe the glues didn't get time to fully cure yet..

examine the sub close up and see if anything detached anywhere..

also, if possible, connect the sub to a home stereo system and see if it still makes noise.. OR connect another 8ohm speaker to the logitech's sub amp output...

(i looking at a possible fault on the Z55 amp)

theblitz

Postby theblitz » March 1st, 2009, 12:15 am

^^^ true those things are not for bass breakers anyway and that's why some tracks have WARNINGS saying that they will FCK UP yuh system if you play them on unsuitable equipment.

Even 1/4 vol as stated may not be small power as you can only estimate what was going to the sub. Low frequencies require greater power for the sub to handle properly. As 3stagevtec said subs in the wrong enclosure UNLOAD below tuning freq and this is never a good thing.

You should have gone with a cheap new sub... even audiopipe would have fit the bill here.

Fellaz, what kind of problem do you all think the amp has that can be damaging the sub? The coil isn't burnt so it isn't over-powered. I'm pretty sure this guy will know if the bass was distorting during play and clearly it wasn't from his descriptions. I don't know what in an amplifier other than these can damage the sub like that.

Alpine, it seems that the repaired sub you have is a polished turd :lol:
From the time the orig sub fail I wudda buy new.

Are you seeing any mechanical failure on the sub?

theblitz

Postby theblitz » March 1st, 2009, 12:22 am

and if the foul-ups with that system so far haven't broken your spirit I dare you to damage a RF P1 8-ohm :twisted:

Postby 3stagevtec » March 1st, 2009, 12:23 am

i had an amp that continuously made a scratching / popping sound when connected.. it was tested on multiple systems, so i knew the amp was at fault..

it is a long shot, but i figured it's worth a check..

theblitz

Postby theblitz » March 1st, 2009, 12:25 am

^^^ yes of course its worth a check... Alpine, do you have another speaker (doesn't have to be a sub) that you can connect outside the sub chamber?

RadeonHD

Postby RadeonHD » March 1st, 2009, 1:01 am

I inspected the speaker and it looks perfect.

Yes I have 2 SONY woofers 6 ohms and I play them on the Z5500 amp and they play perfect. But them sony old so I kinda hate them.

The basstronics was only at quarter volume and other sounds was at half and even then it could not even shake the boxes i kinda have decorated in my room them video card boxes.

Before it was repaired when it came new it could shake glass in the kitchen at the back of the house even the roof of the house you hear it rattling outside.

This thing was barely doing anything you could not even feel the bass self.

The bass was clear and clean, deep and lower and smoother than the original driver. You could hear more detail and definition with this repaired sub
But that sheit damage real fast :?

So what would ah happen if I had run this thing on max jed? :roll:
God forgive boost mode. :?

Waste ah facking time if you ask me yes, my dual 6 inch sony woofers I hook up to the amp play louder than this and never blew and if you see licks I give them sony.

I should ah buy a audiopipe from day one when this blew.

I have some audiophile headphones, so I guess its back to my headphone hobby yes. :? Steups

I get basstronics bass I love you is a bass testing song but come on quarter volume? and the EQ was flat cause they does have warning in all them bass testing songs.

I waste time repairing this piece of sh!t I should ah buy ah 200 RMS audiopipe one so powerful not even the amp can push it then we would ah see who the fack was blowing then.

But I kinda fedup spend money so I eh go bother nah. Fack this yes I done I fedup with this. Maybe I go buy one of them diamond audio in truth the dual 4 ohm or the rockford P1. I doubt this AMP can even dream of damaging them car audio speakers.

RadeonHD

Postby RadeonHD » March 1st, 2009, 1:53 am

I was told the glue did not dry properly and stuff.

The guy will collect it and repair it for me at no charge.

I don't wanna rush the man cause he did leave all the way south to drop the speaker for me and I did kinda rush the man to fix it fast cause I was impatient.

I believe thats what really caused this it did not dry properly or something.

Well the guy cracky does have the best customer service since he delivers home.
Perhaps it really did not cure properly. No one told me about this though eh I now find out it did not cure properly. But the man work was extremely professional you could not even tell if it was repaired.

Postby 3stagevtec » March 1st, 2009, 1:23 pm

i realize you vex about the sub giving out, but that is a really odd situation imo.. i've seen repaired subs, like yours, take a lot of abuse with no problems..

i don't know what happened, but you just real unlucky jed..

give it a 2nd chance, let Crakey check it back for you and then see what happens..

NOTE:
power from an amplifier rises at a logarithmic rate, so that the sound you hear can rise at a linear rate..

so at half volume, you will be using less than 1/2 the capability of the amp..

RadeonHD

Postby RadeonHD » March 1st, 2009, 3:54 pm

^ Yeah

It could be I was just seriously unlucky cause I know some men repair car subs and them thing taking jamming like never before and it wukking fine.

So it wa s abit strange this one give out so easy, I feel i was just unlucky yes.

Cracky say he go pass and he go fix it for me at no cost.

I giving it one last chance. I go hadda wait a while for it but say what I done spend $120 here so I cah really throw away that money so I am giving it back and will one last shot and see.

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » March 1st, 2009, 6:49 pm

i sugg when d man collect back d sub that u give him d box too & let him keep it & play around with it for 2 wks b4 u run around in circles again ...