plk wrote:What are the requirments to get a Taxi Badge?
Soundwave wrote:.ROZAC:.. wrote:Illegal yes but they are saviours. Travel with the ones you know.
agreed, I've seen people stand up waiting for transport on Barrackpore stand in sando for hours waiting in the night, til gov't does transport properly in this country I don't mind...
pioneer wrote:Ban them all.
On a lighter note i saw a taxi driver almost get a bad beat down after slamming into the back of an almera in aranguez on the highway
also registered taxi drivers find it unsafe to be working
buzz wrote:we know most "PH" drivers cause traffic, drive like cnuts, feel they own the road, play loud annoying parlor dub, the list goes on....
Sky wrote:buzz, If they are registered and registered to work in Trincity as their area you can report them. Many people don't know this. That is their job, their duty. They cant tell you they not going St. Clair or egg layer-rio ave, because they have a pricelist for each ave and can't be bussin style. Only the PH drivers can get away with that actually.
buzz wrote:If we are to fix the problem of the illegal plying a vehicle for hire, shouldn't we first address the problems that many commuters face with the current public transportation system ?
plk wrote:Could it be that because of their criminal record that many (not all) PH drivers cannot get a Taxi Badge? Therefore the reason for rapes and kidnappins.
Maxis and Taxis have regulated stands, PH drivers do what they want ,where they want and contribute to most of the congestion on the roads.
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:buzz wrote:If we are to fix the problem of the illegal plying a vehicle for hire, shouldn't we first address the problems that many commuters face with the current public transportation system ?
seriously though - we are all too familiar with a similar situation
"govt doh provide us with a race track so we hadda race on the streets"
now we all know that kind of thinking is wrong
regardless if there is a race track or not, street racing is still illegal and wrong
and whether there is good public transport or not, running PH is illegal
6 of one and half a dozen of the other
illegal is illegal
20 PH drivers were murdered in 2008
clearly the characters plying this trade are either overly and unnecessarily being subjected to the wrath of criminals and murderers, which makes their job far too dangerous to be allowed to continue OR they themselves are tied up in the criminal circles.
Now we have to ask how many licensed taxi drivers running the same routes as the murdered PH drivers were also murdered, if any at all, and what is the inherent difference between the two that one ends up with a far more dangerous job than the other. Surely it cant be because of a taxi badge - otherwise Batman should keep a T&T taxi badge in his utility belt!!!
buzz wrote:Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:buzz wrote:If we are to fix the problem of the illegal plying a vehicle for hire, shouldn't we first address the problems that many commuters face with the current public transportation system ?
seriously though - we are all too familiar with a similar situation
"govt doh provide us with a race track so we hadda race on the streets"
now we all know that kind of thinking is wrong
regardless if there is a race track or not, street racing is still illegal and wrong
and whether there is good public transport or not, running PH is illegal
6 of one and half a dozen of the other
illegal is illegal
20 PH drivers were murdered in 2008
clearly the characters plying this trade are either overly and unnecessarily being subjected to the wrath of criminals and murderers, which makes their job far too dangerous to be allowed to continue OR they themselves are tied up in the criminal circles.
Now we have to ask how many licensed taxi drivers running the same routes as the murdered PH drivers were also murdered, if any at all, and what is the inherent difference between the two that one ends up with a far more dangerous job than the other. Surely it cant be because of a taxi badge - otherwise Batman should keep a T&T taxi badge in his utility belt!!!
i'm not condoning it
but duane ppl need transport
we dont need to race
my majour issue/arguement if u will is that all of this stems from crime
clamping down on noise levels from vehicles, tint, PH drivers etc would do just about nothing for the current crime situation
another smoke screen to make ignorat citizens feel that the TTPS is addressing the issue with an iron fist...
the "waste of time smoke screen" that was the tint exercise caught 11,000 law breakers and 45 persons with outstanding warrants who were evading police for criminal charges.
to me that's 45 or more future crimes prevented there - old habits die hard, and all that jazz