you thoughts on "PH" drivers ?

Postby buzz » March 17th, 2009, 7:24 pm

If we are to fix the problem of the illegal plying a vehicle for hire, shouldn't we first address the problems that many commuters face with the current public transportation system ?

we know most "PH" drivers cause traffic, drive like cnuts, feel they own the road, play loud annoying parlor dub, the list goes on....

BUT

what about the licensed taxi drivers who :- do not want to carry passengers to areas in their trade zone e.g. trincity mall taxi drivers that only want to go to the mall and back,

and on a semi related note...

maxi drivers who pick up passengers on registered taxi stands and claim that they are only going "short" but still charge the same fare for the whole trip they are registered for eg arima maxis in city gate only going as far as macoya/tunapuna then picking up a next load to go arima also charging full fare...

Zeriam

Postby Zeriam » March 17th, 2009, 7:33 pm

bring taxis under 1 unified body?

Postby pugboy » March 17th, 2009, 7:37 pm

your "BUT" does not justify any means to allow illegal activity

Postby buzz » March 17th, 2009, 7:43 pm

i never said i was pro or con did i ?

.:PROZAC:..

Postby .:PROZAC:.. » March 17th, 2009, 7:46 pm

Illegal yes but they are saviours. Travel with the ones you know.

plk

Postby plk » March 17th, 2009, 7:51 pm

What are the requirments to get a Taxi Badge?

Postby streetbeastINC. » March 17th, 2009, 7:56 pm

^gold teeth..bandana...dub music ...b14/almera......rasta oil... etc

Postby buzz » March 17th, 2009, 7:59 pm

plk wrote:What are the requirments to get a Taxi Badge?

i think 25 yrs and over

cert of character

and a medical

back to the point :arrow:

as prozac said

while i travelled with only "PH" drivers in my area i knew all of them...

as much as to say "ah goin home" when i enter the taxi...

however most if not all of them that i knew either got registered or stopped driving for hire

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » March 17th, 2009, 7:59 pm

streetbeastINC. wrote:^gold teeth..bandana...dub music ...b14/almera......rasta oil... etc

no thats for PH

Postby ronsin1 » March 17th, 2009, 8:19 pm

Soundwave wrote:
.:PROZAC:.. wrote:Illegal yes but they are saviours. Travel with the ones you know.

agreed, I've seen people stand up waiting for transport on Barrackpore stand in sando for hours waiting in the night, til gov't does transport properly in this country I don't mind...

did you forget to take your happy pill today????

seems as though you are talking sense

Postby M_2NR » March 17th, 2009, 9:40 pm

the taxi system need help. By the way... ulyuh does still trust PH drivers or even some hired cars?
after all that pick up.. beat yuh up, rob yuh (rape in some case to), and hopefully drop yuh off living.. cases, you all still trust this?

pioneer wrote:Ban them all.

On a lighter note i saw a taxi driver almost get a bad beat down after slamming into the back of an almera in aranguez on the highway :pwned:

yes guys you saw it... 1st time pios in agreement with an almera jiva

Postby buzz » March 17th, 2009, 9:49 pm

ulyuh does still trust PH drivers or even some hired cars?

thing is some dont really have a choice

either stay at some rural location @ what o clock and possibly get kidnapped and raped

or take your chances with a car and the possibility of getting kidnapped and raped

urabus

Postby urabus » March 17th, 2009, 10:03 pm

im guessing this thread must be emminating from the incident with the 14 yr old school girl from central.....sometimes ppl have no other choice but to travel with ph taxi drivers becuz the registered ones may not be working in the certain unpopular areas, also they may not be able to drive or cant get a car of their own, also registered taxi drivers find it unsafe to be working whether day or night as they themselves fall victims to crime.

i just passed chag, and there are about 90% of ph cars on the streets waiting for passengers.

Postby buzz » March 17th, 2009, 10:11 pm

also registered taxi drivers find it unsafe to be working

good point

so with that said the incident that took place in central (even though the family said she knew this man for years) is it "PH" drivers to blame for crime ?

is the TTPS going to embark on another usless venture to "deal" with the "PH" drivers situation ?

TK!

Postby TK! » March 17th, 2009, 10:13 pm

many a PH driver pull me out when i used to travl home.

H men does buss style... only when comeptition picked up they started going "off route".

i dont like PH drivers tho... lots of them plying their trade for years on end.. and nvr even try to get a badge or H ... laziness is a way of life in the third world. they rather run from police once ah week.

Postby Sky » March 17th, 2009, 10:26 pm

buzz, If they are registered and registered to work in Trincity as their area you can report them. Many people don't know this. That is their job, their duty. They cant tell you they not going St. Clair or Buller-rio ave, because they have a pricelist for each ave and can't be bussin style. Only the PH drivers can get away with that actually.

slick

Re: you thoughts on "PH" drivers ?

Postby slick » March 17th, 2009, 10:28 pm

buzz wrote:we know most "PH" drivers cause traffic, drive like cnuts, feel they own the road, play loud annoying parlor dub, the list goes on....

the same could be said for maxi taxi drivers

plk

Postby plk » March 17th, 2009, 10:29 pm

Could it be that because of their criminal record that many (not all) PH drivers cannot get a Taxi Badge? Therefore the reason for rapes and kidnappins.

Maxis and Taxis have regulated stands, PH drivers do what they want ,where they want and contribute to most of the congestion on the roads.

saxman642

Postby saxman642 » March 17th, 2009, 10:30 pm

Funny you should start this thread, buzz

TV6 News tonight say Police will be cracking down hard on PH drivers very soon.

'Moonlighting' police will also get the shaft.

plk

Postby plk » March 17th, 2009, 10:31 pm

Are you covered by insurance if you are involved in an accident while in a PH taxi?

Postby buzz » March 17th, 2009, 10:31 pm

Sky wrote:buzz, If they are registered and registered to work in Trincity as their area you can report them. Many people don't know this. That is their job, their duty. They cant tell you they not going St. Clair or egg layer-rio ave, because they have a pricelist for each ave and can't be bussin style. Only the PH drivers can get away with that actually.

i know they can be reported but the relavant authorities dont give a rats a$$
i remember jumping out a taxi in trincity mall without paying

when he made a rukus i said that he was not dropping me to my desired location and it was inconvienent for me to drop off at the mall

imagine after d car pull off i go to pay d man and say i going X ave and he say he only going in d mall 2eh

saxman642

Postby saxman642 » March 17th, 2009, 10:33 pm

plk wrote:Are you covered by insurance if you are involved in an accident while in a PH taxi?

NO

(i leave it to others to explain the technicalities if any)

Postby buzz » March 17th, 2009, 10:34 pm

TV6 News tonight say Police will be cracking down hard on PH drivers very soon.

yup another waste of police resource

oh and the breathalizer (sp) that was promised, what, 3 yrs ago?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » March 17th, 2009, 10:37 pm

buzz wrote:If we are to fix the problem of the illegal plying a vehicle for hire, shouldn't we first address the problems that many commuters face with the current public transportation system ?

seriously though - we are all too familiar with a similar situation
"govt doh provide us with a race track so we hadda race on the streets"

now we all know that kind of thinking is wrong

regardless if there is a race track or not, street racing is still illegal and wrong
and whether there is good public transport or not, running PH is illegal and wrong

6 of one and half a dozen of the other

illegal is illegal

20 PH drivers were murdered in 2008
clearly the characters plying this trade are either overly and unnecessarily being subjected to the wrath of criminals and murderers, which makes their job far too dangerous to be allowed to continue OR they themselves are tied up in the criminal circles.

Now we have to ask how many licensed taxi drivers running the same routes as the murdered PH drivers were also murdered, if any at all, and what is the inherent difference between the two that one ends up with a far more dangerous job than the other. Surely it cant be a taxi badge that is protecting them? - otherwise Batman should keep a T&T taxi badge in his utility belt!!!

:idea: :idea: :idea:
Last edited by Duane 3NE 2NR on March 17th, 2009, 10:41 pm, edited 2 times in total.

caliw

Postby caliw » March 17th, 2009, 10:37 pm

plk wrote:Could it be that because of their criminal record that many (not all) PH drivers cannot get a Taxi Badge? Therefore the reason for rapes and kidnappins.

Maxis and Taxis have regulated stands, PH drivers do what they want ,where they want and contribute to most of the congestion on the roads.

in some cases it's just regular Joes doing it for extra cash. dey partners and dem doing a PH, so they ask to do a couple of shifts to tide things over.

i use PH sometimes, but only if ah have to. dey seem ok though, ah never had any worries or trouble and ting in them.

Postby buzz » March 17th, 2009, 10:44 pm

buzz wrote:If we are to fix the problem of the illegal plying a vehicle for hire, shouldn't we first address the problems that many commuters face with the current public transportation system ?

regardless if there is a race track or not, street racing is still illegal and wrong
and whether there is good public transport or not, running PH is illegal

illegal is illegal

clearly the characters plying this trade are either overly and unnecessarily being subjected to the wrath of criminals and murderers, which makes their job far too dangerous to be allowed to continue OR they themselves are tied up in the criminal circles.

Now we have to ask how many licensed taxi drivers running the same routes as the murdered PH drivers were also murdered, if any at all, and what is the inherent difference between the two that one ends up with a far more dangerous job than the other. Surely it cant be because of a taxi badge - otherwise Batman should keep a T&T taxi badge in his utility belt!!!

i'm not condoning it

but duane ppl need transport

we dont need to race

my majour issue/arguement if u will is that all of this stems from crime

clamping down on noise levels from vehicles, tint, PH drivers etc would do just about nothing for the current crime situation

another smoke screen to make ignorat citizens feel that the TTPS is addressing the issue with an iron fist...

eurogirl

Postby eurogirl » March 17th, 2009, 10:47 pm

streetbeastINC. wrote:^gold teeth..bandana...dub music ...b14/almera......rasta oil... etc

no thats for PH

nopes

lots of H drivers dress and act like tht now .. kinda scary :?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » March 17th, 2009, 10:54 pm

buzz wrote:

and whether there is good public transport or not, running PH is illegal

illegal is illegal

Now we have to ask how many licensed taxi drivers running the same routes as the murdered PH drivers were also murdered, if any at all, and what is the inherent difference between the two that one ends up with a far more dangerous job than the other. Surely it cant be because of a taxi badge - otherwise Batman should keep a T&T taxi badge in his utility belt!!!

i'm not condoning it

but duane ppl need transport

we dont need to race

my majour issue/arguement if u will is that all of this stems from crime

clamping down on noise levels from vehicles, tint, PH drivers etc would do just about nothing for the current crime situation

another smoke screen to make ignorat citizens feel that the TTPS is addressing the issue with an iron fist...

the "waste of time smoke screen" that was the tint exercise caught 11,000 law breakers and 45 persons with outstanding warrants who were evading police for criminal charges.

to me that's 45 or more future crimes prevented there - old habits die hard, and all that jazz

Postby buzz » March 17th, 2009, 10:57 pm

the "waste of time smoke screen" that was the tint exercise caught 11,000 law breakers and 45 persons with outstanding warrants who were evading police for criminal charges.

to me that's 45 or more future crimes prevented there - old habits die hard, and all that jazz

do you think they could have gotten more if ALL the cars in these road blocks were searched as well ?