SUMMIT DONE NO MORE JOB

weedbouy

Postby weedbouy » April 22nd, 2009, 3:14 pm

Sorry to hear bout your job loss, did they give you any formal notice? Did they hire someone to do the job you were doing?

no i was told to come for a meeting the day before
then when i went in the day after they thret me like a criminal had me park outside the compound
and be escorted in with security personnel when i recieved the bad news
SAY WHAT GOD IS LOVE
I WILL FIND ANOTHER JOB

TURBOT

Postby TURBOT » April 22nd, 2009, 3:29 pm

good thing u talk to u talk to ur lawyer
i dunno bout ur contract but sounds like it could be a case of unfair dismissal

Postby Maserati » April 22nd, 2009, 4:03 pm

TURBOT wrote:good thing u talk to u talk to ur lawyer

:lol: what you mean unfair dismissal?

That is how companies is operate..they'll have you go to a meeting and they'll inform you that you will be terminated,in some cases a security guard will escort you to your desk get your stuff and out the door..

Also there MAY be labour laws that state that an employee should be given a certain amount of notice before he/she is laid off.
I would think this would depend on how long you have worked for the company, and as you worked 10 years....

I am not sure if you should have been entitled to a severance package though you should check on that.

*bit off topic, reminds me of a story I got in an email*
In a large multinational company..............

A fire alarm rang at 4 PM in a large office when almost all employees
were in office (approx 5000). As usual the entire office was evacuated
within 3 mins & all employees gathered outside the office in the designated area
waiting for further announcement.

The Security Officer in charge made the following announcement: "Dear
employees - with sincere regret I have been asked to announce that for
many of you it will be your last evacuation drill. Due to the recession
the company is laying off almost 50% of its employees. So when this
announcement finishes, I ask all of you to move back into the building
and if your swipe card does not work then it means you have been laid
off in which case you will not be allowed inside and all your belongings
will be couriered to you by tomorrow.

The Company has used this innovative approach as we didn't want to fill
up the email box with lay-off mails and good bye mails in thousands &
also to avoid any fight inside the office and the consequent security
issue for all staff.

Hope you have had a rewarding career with us and all the best ahead.

Please move back in & try your luck".

Postby Damien » April 22nd, 2009, 4:12 pm

Maserati wrote:

That is how companies is operate..they'll have you go to a meeting and they'll inform you that you will be terminated,in some cases a security guard will escort you to your desk get your stuff and out the door..

Also there MAY be labour laws that state that an employee should be given a certain amount of notice before he/she is laid off.
I would think this would depend on how long you have worked for the company, and as you worked 10 years....

I am not sure if you should have been entitled to a severance package though you should check on that.

within 3 mins & all employees gathered outside the office in the designated area

issue for all staff.

^That dread sah

Postby buzz » April 22nd, 2009, 4:14 pm

14 days as a permanent worker AFAIK

in the case of a contract i believe the remainder of the contract still has to be paid

open for corrections

casual/temp yuh arse dark :|

Postby Country_Bookie » April 22nd, 2009, 4:35 pm

manualmx wrote:
Maserati wrote:^them mofos still will tief trees :| teak etc they'll take it all.

manualmx, best you get some bear traps and lay them about for them :lol:

Yes they will still try to take the trees but its harder than the plantain etc.
Was thinking about some 'panjabi sticks' around some of the plants, its way more effective than bear traps :lol:
For me its ok up to a point, thats a side job, but for the people who need to make a living on agriculture I really feel it for them.

Breds ah know what yuh going thru as I know rel ppl who stop even going into the garden for the same reason. What are these 'panjabi sticks' u speak of?

weedbouy

Postby weedbouy » April 22nd, 2009, 6:26 pm

yeah well i waiting to hear from the company on the package severence etc they offering .. if I think its not fair ... i will take matters further .. eg. legal action
If it fair I will take ah much needed vacation

Postby buzz » April 22nd, 2009, 6:33 pm

prepare for fabricated annual appraisal reports :|

happened to a friend o mine

said he missed about 90 days of work last year with no record of such :shock: :lol:

robbieg

Postby robbieg » April 22nd, 2009, 7:48 pm

Good luck man hope you squeeze every cent out of them, send them out of business just like they sent you home.

0X

Postby Damien » April 22nd, 2009, 9:17 pm

Different companies different packages

0awg

Postby 0awg » April 22nd, 2009, 9:21 pm

cute corolla wrote:
Aaron 2NR wrote:time to go back to the land

we already started doing that at home..weekend gone we plant a set ah peppers, tomatoes, patchoi, ochro, seasonings etc...

sry to hear that about your job

you now start, we in this awhile now, we even sell produce.

pepper, paw paw, bodi, tomato, cabbage, plantain, fig, cassava, tipitambu, pineapples, avocado, bigan, dasheen (not at home), spinage & peas & sorrel when in season. we even planted rice once when I was a kid.

what we dont plant at home we have planted in some vacant lots of land in bewteen the bush & the lil ganja plants & the rest in the field roads.

rich topsoil & manure come from in the field roads where it have rotten wood & some places have nice black soil.

0awg

Postby 0awg » April 22nd, 2009, 9:28 pm

pioneer wrote:ganja earns alot too

so I heard, but we dont interfere with them pple ganja nuh.

Postby hustla_ambition101 » April 22nd, 2009, 9:42 pm

Was this company by chance given some award for employee relations recently? ANd also boasting of high profits for the year 2008?

Conrad

Postby Conrad » April 22nd, 2009, 9:47 pm

manualmx wrote:Yes they will still try to take the trees but its harder than the plantain etc.

I'm sorry to inform you but in Moruga they stole some of our saplings :lol:

Cedar & Teak FTL

Postby hustla_ambition101 » April 22nd, 2009, 9:55 pm

pioneer wrote:that "company" is KNOWN to have the most draconian HR policies ever

remember when workers started urinating in the b**r?

still tastes like it :|

Postby Sky » April 22nd, 2009, 10:02 pm

.:PROZAC:.. wrote:sorry to hear that man.
Just out of curiousity, have any of you had any experince working the land?
sounds like a romantic notion but it's hard work, very hard work. But it's always an option man. People shouldn't be starving in Trinidad if things get really bad.

Eh? Hard work?
I wish I had a 5 acres and a shotgun!
Some people look back at the past and look at the present.
They say things are much easier now. Pipe borne water, all foods in one single grocery. Electricity, communications etc.

But jed, imagine a century or two ago. (not here eh, imagine Cicily or sum)
You're born. You grow up on a farm, living a simple life and easily amused. There's always food because pops and moms planting, then going to the marketplace to trace theirs for what they didn't grow. You grow up in this life and you're trained how to do this. Pops handle you a piece of land and you find a nice girl to marry. You make your own way. Yes you have back aches, bee stings, sore palms, but your biggest worry is hoe the ox old and the young one not strong enough. You're set for life, and only the hands of God himself can change that.

Now... You're born, which is a lottery from the start because of poverty. Go to school and get an education. Need to decide what you're gonna slave behind for the rest of your life quick. Zone in on your field, and the better you do in school, the more successful you become. But you realise that the more successful you become, the more stress you're under. There's so many like you and you're easily replaced. There are bills for all these "modern conveniences" every month and you're so pussified by the present world you can't life without them. Of course courting changed a lot because you need money to do that and hence a job and now you don't have time to do it properly. You meet someone and y'all don't get to know each other properly then divorce in under 10 years.

I said Cicily because of this video. It just looked like there :oops:

<embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/zQ-InqiYEkU&hl=en&fs=1" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="425" height="344"></embed>

Anyone who doesn't want that life in the video is just too spoiled and lazy.

*edit* I know that vid isn't 1-2 centuries ago eh, nobody be a clong :lol:
Last edited by Sky on April 22nd, 2009, 10:05 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby joker » April 22nd, 2009, 10:03 pm

if you worked for that company for 10 yrs as a permanent worker you are entitled to a severance package ....

0awg

Postby 0awg » April 22nd, 2009, 10:10 pm

Soundwave wrote:it have easier ways to till the land...

<------by using this? :lol:

Postby joker » April 22nd, 2009, 10:14 pm

pioneer wrote:he could have been on contract or temporary for 10 years

3 mths of continuous work can be deemed permanent in industrial court

weedbouy

Postby weedbouy » April 23rd, 2009, 6:36 am

actually this year Agust would of made it 14 years
Yes I was permanent
Pioneer right I will be recieving 45 days pay since there was no prior notice.
Also I am getting a severance package and some other benefits
However if its not worth my period of hard work I will fight them for more

Sabot

Postby Sabot » April 23rd, 2009, 7:50 am

Country_Bookie wrote:
manualmx wrote:
Maserati wrote:^them mofos still will tief trees :| teak etc they'll take it all.

manualmx, best you get some bear traps and lay them about for them :lol:

Yes they will still try to take the trees but its harder than the plantain etc.
Was thinking about some 'panjabi sticks' around some of the plants, its way more effective than bear traps :lol:
For me its ok up to a point, thats a side job, but for the people who need to make a living on agriculture I really feel it for them.

Breds ah know what yuh going thru as I know rel ppl who stop even going into the garden for the same reason. What are these 'panjabi sticks' u speak of?

You take a good sized fish hook, straighten it out and stick it in a cup of wet cement with the sharp side out. When the cement dries you bury a few of these around whatever you're trying to secure with only the hook protruding from the ground. As I said its very effective. :lol:

bluespeed

Postby bluespeed » April 23rd, 2009, 7:58 am

Maserati wrote:

issue for all staff.

you are in title to a gratuity after 10yrs service in all companies.....and pension after 20yrs 1day.....

TURBOT

Postby TURBOT » April 23rd, 2009, 2:13 pm

I now think of something there.... Sorry if it is a little off topic... But how strict is the law on shrooms:) if someone can do this large scale ..... Crazy money!!!! Officer it's just some fresh mushrooms to make dinner ... Tonight is Italian :)