Sorry to hear bout your job loss, did they give you any formal notice? Did they hire someone to do the job you were doing?
TURBOT wrote:good thing u talk to u talk to ur lawyer
i dunno bout ur contract but sounds like it could be a case of unfair dismissal
In a large multinational company..............
A fire alarm rang at 4 PM in a large office when almost all employees
were in office (approx 5000). As usual the entire office was evacuated
within 3 mins & all employees gathered outside the office in the designated area
waiting for further announcement.
The Security Officer in charge made the following announcement: "Dear
employees - with sincere regret I have been asked to announce that for
many of you it will be your last evacuation drill. Due to the recession
the company is laying off almost 50% of its employees. So when this
announcement finishes, I ask all of you to move back into the building
and if your swipe card does not work then it means you have been laid
off in which case you will not be allowed inside and all your belongings
will be couriered to you by tomorrow.
The Company has used this innovative approach as we didn't want to fill
up the email box with lay-off mails and good bye mails in thousands &
also to avoid any fight inside the office and the consequent security
issue for all staff.
Hope you have had a rewarding career with us and all the best ahead.
Please move back in & try your luck".
Maserati wrote:TURBOT wrote:good thing u talk to u talk to ur lawyer
what you mean unfair dismissal?
That is how companies is operate..they'll have you go to a meeting and they'll inform you that you will be terminated,in some cases a security guard will escort you to your desk get your stuff and out the door..
Also there MAY be labour laws that state that an employee should be given a certain amount of notice before he/she is laid off.
I would think this would depend on how long you have worked for the company, and as you worked 10 years....
I am not sure if you should have been entitled to a severance package though you should check on that.
*bit off topic, reminds me of a story I got in an email*In a large multinational company..............
within 3 mins & all employees gathered outside the office in the designated area
issue for all staff.
manualmx wrote:Maserati wrote:^them mofos still will tief treesteak etc they'll take it all.
manualmx, best you get some bear traps and lay them about for them
Yes they will still try to take the trees but its harder than the plantain etc.
Was thinking about some 'panjabi sticks' around some of the plants, its way more effective than bear traps![]()
For me its ok up to a point, thats a side job, but for the people who need to make a living on agriculture I really feel it for them.
cute corolla wrote:Aaron 2NR wrote:time to go back to the land
we already started doing that at home..weekend gone we plant a set ah peppers, tomatoes, patchoi, ochro, seasonings etc...
sry to hear that about your job
.ROZAC:.. wrote:sorry to hear that man.
Just out of curiousity, have any of you had any experince working the land?
sounds like a romantic notion but it's hard work, very hard work. But it's always an option man. People shouldn't be starving in Trinidad if things get really bad.
Country_Bookie wrote:manualmx wrote:Maserati wrote:^them mofos still will tief treesteak etc they'll take it all.
manualmx, best you get some bear traps and lay them about for them
Yes they will still try to take the trees but its harder than the plantain etc.
Was thinking about some 'panjabi sticks' around some of the plants, its way more effective than bear traps![]()
For me its ok up to a point, thats a side job, but for the people who need to make a living on agriculture I really feel it for them.
Breds ah know what yuh going thru as I know rel ppl who stop even going into the garden for the same reason. What are these 'panjabi sticks' u speak of?
Maserati wrote:TURBOT wrote:good thing u talk to u talk to ur lawyer
what you mean unfair dismissal?
That is how companies is operate..they'll have you go to a meeting and they'll inform you that you will be terminated,in some cases a security guard will escort you to your desk get your stuff and out the door..
Also there MAY be labour laws that state that an employee should be given a certain amount of notice before he/she is laid off.
I would think this would depend on how long you have worked for the company, and as you worked 10 years....
I am not sure if you should have been entitled to a severance package though you should check on that.
*bit off topic, reminds me of a story I got in an email*In a large multinational company..............
issue for all staff.