wall

Postby wall » May 13th, 2009, 11:51 pm

Captainzaak wrote:
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:PM hotblue, Type Rated or scort on the forums
they are all full time helicopter pilots

I know hotblue trained abroad just a few years ago.

To add, norstar2k knows a lot about aviation, he'll be a great person to get information from as well.

wall,

Even tho is trinituner, its always good practice to spell properly, sure you don't wanna go and misspell words in the captain's log book now do you? :P
lol yeah your right .thanks for all the info btw

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » May 14th, 2009, 12:05 am

Nice one Capt :lol: :lol:

wall

Postby wall » May 14th, 2009, 12:09 am

norstar2k 1 more question what are the chances of getting a job down here as a commercial heli pilot? is there any need for them or are there enough already employed
?

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » May 14th, 2009, 12:44 am

Long answer - The energy sector, like so many other commercial/industrial sectors, has become a victim of the global financial crisis, and as a result even heli operators have had to cut back on their flying hours, which results in pilot down time.

At this time, such an investment $US100k plus is risky. (The FAA Professional
Pilot Program offered by the Bristow Academy (US) is 9-11mths.)

That said their is still a shortage of locally pilots, because many after accumulating hours, leave for foreign companies/countries - CHC, PHI, Canada, Nigeria, Emirates, etc., so expats still reign.

Short answer - IMHO, not at this time due to the heavy investment in an extremely unstable market.

If you have the cash, invest in your PPL ($TT35k) first and take it from there. TTAG might take PPL(A) as a minimum if they don't get the quota they want with CPL(H).
Last edited by NorStar2K on May 14th, 2009, 12:48 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Damien » May 14th, 2009, 12:47 am

The blimp looking for pilots :|

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » May 14th, 2009, 12:51 am

Special license - Commercial Pilot (Airship) Licence

Postby Damien » May 14th, 2009, 12:57 am

Ohh

Jack the Ripper

Postby Jack the Ripper » May 14th, 2009, 2:51 am

Sadly Hummingbird does not offer flight training anymore.After the Enstrom tailrotor strike incident,they've had a lot of problems with CAA and decided to close up shop and focus on safety training.

I did manage to finish my PPL(H) with them and started CPL training but to finish I'll have to go abroad.

eekipoo

Postby eekipoo » May 14th, 2009, 12:46 pm

norstar2k wrote:Long answer - The energy sector, like so many other commercial/industrial sectors, has become a victim of the global financial crisis, and as a result even heli operators have had to cut back on their flying hours, which results in pilot down time.

At this time, such an investment $US100k plus is risky. (The FAA Professional
Pilot Program offered by the Bristow Academy (US) is 9-11mths.)

That said their is still a shortage of locally pilots, because many after accumulating hours, leave for foreign companies/countries - CHC, PHI, Canada, Nigeria, Emirates, etc., so expats still reign.

Short answer - IMHO, not at this time due to the heavy investment in an extremely unstable market.

If you have the cash, invest in your PPL ($TT35k) first and take it from there. TTAG might take PPL(A) as a minimum if they don't get the quota they want with CPL(H).

I was actually looking into this before this post, who offering the PPL for 35k? Bristow? i'm heading for my CPL and instrument rating but was checking out schools abroad. I have my FAA 1st class medical at the end of this month.

Postby pugboy » May 14th, 2009, 2:29 pm

Briko is the airplane school people, Bristow is more helis

JBL

Postby JBL » May 14th, 2009, 2:31 pm

buzz wrote:pm honda hoe

he's an expert from what i hear

yeah he go teach yuh how to flip ah chopper

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » May 14th, 2009, 2:36 pm

eekipoo, I was referring to PPL(A) at Briko.

eekipoo

Postby eekipoo » May 14th, 2009, 2:40 pm

k cause i hear someone doing the PPL (A) i think locally and paying over a $100,000 thats why i ask where was offering at 35k so i might just do the PPL (A) down here and then look to head across the the US to do the rest. thanks anyway.

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » May 14th, 2009, 2:46 pm

$100K for Private Pilot's License - Fixed Wing????

PPL (A) @ Briko Update:
- Cessna 152 (40Hrs.) - $TT38K
- Cessna 172 (40Hrs.) - $TT45K

eekipoo

Postby eekipoo » May 14th, 2009, 2:55 pm

norstar2k wrote:$100K for Private Pilot's License - Fixed Wing????

PPL (A) @ Briko Update:
- prerequisites for Cessna 172 (40Hrs.) - $TT45K
at briko if you have that info.

i cant say, but if i'm not mistaken Briko doesn't offer fixed wing (i could be soooooo wrong about the statement please correct me if i am)

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » May 14th, 2009, 3:04 pm

eekipoo wrote:
norstar2k wrote:$100K for Private Pilot's License - Fixed Wing????

PPL (A) @ Briko Update:
- prerequisites for Cessna 172 (40Hrs.) - $TT45K
at briko if you have that info.

i cant say, but if i'm not mistaken Briko doesn't offer fixed wing (i could be soooooo wrong about the statement please correct me if i am)

Mr friend, what is a fixed wing aircraft? An airplane. What is a Cessna 152/172; rotary?

It's either fixed wing (airplane) or rotary wing (helicopter), you're getting them confused.

What you're probably trying to say is Briko doesn't offer ROTARY WING training.

eekipoo

Postby eekipoo » May 14th, 2009, 3:20 pm

my apologizes...... :oops: :oops:

wall

Postby wall » May 14th, 2009, 3:21 pm

norstar2k what are the minimum requirements to start cpl training? age , education tht kina thing

nismotrinidappa

Postby nismotrinidappa » May 14th, 2009, 3:26 pm

bump for a good post

wall

Postby wall » May 14th, 2009, 3:29 pm

^^^ indeed

GTi Guy

Postby GTi Guy » May 14th, 2009, 3:35 pm

the 35K at briko is just a figure for minimum requirements most time u go over it so expect to pay 40K+ for trainin on the 152 btw is 725per hour and 8sumthin for the 172 for students

hot blue

Postby hot blue » May 14th, 2009, 3:56 pm

PM me... I'll set you straight

and not to discourage you, but norstar2k is very correct... the heli industry in Trinidad is based primarily around the oil sector so it isn't the best industry to get into right now. There are app. 20 heli pilots fresh out of flight school waiting for a job and on avg. a total of 8 pilots are hired between Bristow and NHSL. With the recent economic downturn this number will probably fall.

forget doing anything in Trinidad. Briko is pointless IMHO and that is based on what ALL the pilots I know who trained there have said. The training there is inadequate in most areas and pilots seem to 'start over' when they go to the US to complete their training.

HOWEVER, I would suggest that you go to Briko for a familiarisation flight to see if being airborne is a feeling you like at all. The FAM flight as it is called has changed the minds of many ppl who wanted become pilots.

for heli training check these 2 sites for pricing and time frames:
www.cloud9helicopters.com
www.heli.com
Last edited by hot blue on May 14th, 2009, 4:52 pm, edited 1 time in total.

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » May 14th, 2009, 3:59 pm

CPL License requirements:
Completed your Private Pilots License (Aircraft)
Be at least 18 years of age.
It is recommended you complete your Instrument rating prior
First Class Medical from one of the TTCAA approved physicians
Two passport photos
Two forms of ID

wall

Postby wall » May 14th, 2009, 4:04 pm

hot blue wrote:lots of info and not much accuracy in this thread
PM me... I'll set you straight
and not to discourage you, but norstar2k is very correct... the heli industry in Trinidad is based primarily around the oil sector so it isn't the best industry to get into right now. There are app. 15 heli pilots fresh out of flight school waiting for a job and on avg. a total of 8 pilots are hired between Bristow and NHSL. With the recent economic downturn this number will probably fall.
oh okay thanks i still have some time to re consider am still in the process off putting things in place. you have any advice as to what carrer to pursue? lol

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » May 14th, 2009, 4:08 pm

BTW, Briko should begin doing the CPL(A) in a couple of months having received CAA approval.
Last edited by NorStar2K on May 14th, 2009, 4:14 pm, edited 1 time in total.

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » May 14th, 2009, 4:10 pm

See TTCAR No. 01 General Application and Personnel Licensing for further info.

eekipoo

Postby eekipoo » May 14th, 2009, 4:15 pm

Called Briko for info not too long ago they sent me a email with everything. if you all want give them a call tomorrow and they will send it to you orrr i could forward it to whoever want it.

nismotrinidappa

Postby nismotrinidappa » May 14th, 2009, 4:21 pm

well pm me flight school details nuh

eekipoo

Postby eekipoo » May 14th, 2009, 4:28 pm

nismotrinidappa wrote:well pm me flight school details nuh

i'll do better than that

BRIKO AIR SERVICES LTD
PRIVATE PILOTS BROCHURE

REQUIREMENTS:

1. 16 yrs and over
2. Basic knowledge of Mathematics and Geography
3. Medical examination conducted by an approved doctor.

TO OBTAIN STUDENT PILOT’S LICENSE (SPL):
The SPL is issued by the Civil Aviation Authority the following is needed:

1. 4 passport size picture
2. A medical report done by an approved doctor
3. National ID ( Passport or ID card)
4. Acceptance Letter from Briko Air Services Ltd

SYLLABUS:

Flight Training - Minimum 45 hours ( depending on students abilities)
Includes 10 hours SOLO training.

Ground School - Rules of the air
Technical Airframe and Engine
Aviation Law
Theory of Flight
Meteorology
Navigation
Radio Telephony
Human Performance and Limitations

RATES IN TT CURRENCY:

CESSNA 152 ( 2 SEATER)
45 hrs minimum Flt Training @ $725.00/hr………………… $32,625.00
Equipment…………………………………………………… $ 2,400.00
Ground School ……………………………………………... $ 3,000.00
Back Ground Check…………………………………………. $ 500.00
Equipment……………………………………………………. $ 2,400.00
Ground School………………………………………………... $ 3,000.00
Back Ground Check…………………………………………. $ 500.00

Minimum down payment $12,000.00
Medical and Examination fees(Borne by students) $2,000.00*
Examination fees are paid to TTCAA

* The above is an estimate. Actual costs may be higher depending on student’s unique abilities. Flight training is a highly individualized process and the actual number of hours required to reach a standard will vary by candidate.

N.B. – All refunds are subject to 20 % charge and all returned cheques are subject to $50.00 service fee.

We thank you for your interest in our Flight School and look forward to seeing you.

Regards,

APPROVED MEDICAL EXAMINERS:

DR. VICTOR COOMBS
#14 ENDEAVOUR ROAD
CHAGUANAS
671-4859

DR. CAROL BHAGAN KHAN
18 ELIZABETH STREET
ST CLAIR MEDICAL CENTRE
622-6081

DR. STUART MILLER
#66 PEMBROKE STREET
PORT-OF-SPAIN
623-6856 OR 624-5762

REQUIREMENTS FOR AIRPORT AUTHORITY SECURITY PASS

For Local Students – Temporary Security ID Pass And Vehicle Pass

1. Airport Authority Application Form (forms can be obtain at Briko)
2. 2 ID size pictures
3. Copy of Receipt for Certificate of Good Character
4. Letter from Briko for Security ID / Vehicle Pass
5. Copy of Vehicle Insurance
6. Copy of Student Pilot License 1st and 2nd page

For Permanent Security ID and Vehicle Pass

1. All of the above except Certificate of Good Character to replace
Receipt (no. 3 above)
2. Back Ground Check to be included

For Foreign Students:

1. Airport Authority Application Form (forms can be obtain at Briko)
2. 2 ID size pictures
3. Certificate of Good Character from Home Country
4. Letter from Briko for Security Pass
5. Copy of Passport – Picture Page and Date of Entry Page
6. Copy of Student Pilot License
7. Copy of Student Permit or Student Visa
8. If applying for Vehicle Pass, copy of insurance to be included

PLEASE BE ADVISED OF THE FOLLOWING:
1. AS WITH EFFECT FROM OCTOBER 15, 2007 A FEE OF $100.00 WILL BE CHARGED TO STUDENTS WHO FAIL TO CALL THE SCHOOL OR THEIR INSTRUCTOR TO CANCEL A BOOKING. STUDENTS HAVE A MAXIMUM OF THREE HOURS WITH WHICH TO DO SO. (E.G. BOOKING TIME 10.00AM MUST CANCEL BY 7:00AM.). CONSIDERATION WILL BE GIVEN IN EXTENUATING CIRCUMSTANCES.
2. STUDENTS WHO ARRIVE MORE THAN 20 MINS LATE AND IT RESULTS IN THE CANCELLATION OF THE FLIGHT WILL BE CHARGED $50.00.

Postby pugboy » May 14th, 2009, 4:48 pm

pilot is a great job, one of the few where you dont need cxc passes
just medical, skill, procedural ability and money to start