pugboy wrote:pilot is a great job, one of the few where you dont need cxc passes
just medical, skill, procedural ability and money to start
nismotrinidappa wrote:so what is the average time it takes to finish the course?
9 months? 1 year? 2 years?
norstar2k wrote:(The FAA Professional Pilot Program offered by the Bristow Academy (US) is 9-11mths.)
nismotrinidappa wrote:what is VFR AND IFR?
VIRGIN FRONT AND REAR
AND
INTERFERED FRONT AND REAR?
neega talk engleesh!
wall wrote:norstar2k come nah what u really think ? i wana go for it but if getting a job after spending all tht money on getting the license is hard i dunno if i wana take the risk.
Rory Phoulorie wrote:buzz wrote:licence
youre on the wrong track btw
grammar police strikes again
For my own education, what grammar crime has been committed with the word "licence"? Or is it the grammar police is conducting internal investigations with the word "youre"?
lol thanx fuh the info ... how hard portuguese is to learn now? lolnorstar2k wrote:wall wrote:norstar2k come nah what u really think ? i wana go for it but if getting a job after spending all tht money on getting the license is hard i dunno if i wana take the risk.
I answer yuh already yuh know, but consider this, give the economy 6-10 months, and watch the price of oil, exploration will not resume until the price is over $70USD.
The 15 pilot cadets hot blue mentioned still have to be absorbed. And, there aren't that many positions in the first place.
Go and get your fixed wing license PPL(A) by Briko during your waiting period. Decide from that experience if flying is what you want.
If you must get your CPL(H) now, do it, learn Portuguese, and head for Brazil. They have one of the largest civilian helicopter operations in the world.
hot blue wrote:PM me... I'll set you straight
and not to discourage you, but norstar2k is very correct... the heli industry in Trinidad is based primarily around the oil sector so it isn't the best industry to get into right now. There are app. 20 heli pilots fresh out of flight school waiting for a job and on avg. a total of 8 pilots are hired between Bristow and NHSL. With the recent economic downturn this number will probably fall.
forget doing anything in Trinidad. Briko is pointless IMHO and that is based on what ALL the pilots I know who trained there have said. The training there is inadequate in most areas and pilots seem to 'start over' when they go to the US to complete their training.
HOWEVER, I would suggest that you go to Briko for a familiarisation flight to see if being airborne is a feeling you like at all. The FAM flight as it is called has changed the minds of many ppl who wanted become pilots.
for heli training check these 2 sites for pricing and time frames:
www.cloud9helicopters.com
www.heli.com
hot blue wrote:bushwaka I strongly think you are straying from the topic at hand.
We are SIMPLY discussing whether it is viable to get into the helicopter industry in Trinidad NOW. If you don't know anything about the topic then don't say anything. Your are CORRECT in what you said and we all know that Trinidad's economy is strongly linked to the oil industry and that we have to deal with that. THIS thread is NOT discussing that at all so why bring it up here.
FACT is that the helicopter companies in Trinidad transport the workers for the oil companies to the offshore oil platforms HENCE being DIRECTLY affected by the oil industry.
If the oil & gas companies cut back operations offshore then the demand for flights will drop and hence the need for pilots.
I hope this clears up your obviously confused state of mind.
Not trying to be rude/mean but seriously read the thread and understand what is being discussed before you write.
bushwakka wrote:hot blue wrote:bushwaka I strongly think you are straying from the topic at hand.
We are SIMPLY discussing whether it is viable to get into the helicopter industry in Trinidad NOW. If you don't know anything about the topic then don't say anything. Your are CORRECT in what you said and we all know that Trinidad's economy is strongly linked to the oil industry and that we have to deal with that. THIS thread is NOT discussing that at all so why bring it up here.
FACT is that the helicopter companies in Trinidad transport the workers for the oil companies to the offshore oil platforms HENCE being DIRECTLY affected by the oil industry.
If the oil & gas companies cut back operations offshore then the demand for flights will drop and hence the need for pilots.
I hope this clears up your obviously confused state of mind.
Not trying to be rude/mean but seriously read the thread and understand what is being discussed before you write.
is you bring it up hoss, the man didn't ask if it was wise to do the flight training, he asked WHERE to do it, no offence taken
nismotrinidappa wrote:part two![]()
anyone can recommend affordable and competent flight schools in the US for private and commercial licence fixed wing?
or is better/cheaper to get private in trinidad first?