Trinis Dotish when it comes to " Turtle watching "

Premera

Trinis Dotish when it comes to " Turtle watching "

Postby Premera » May 23rd, 2009, 9:38 am

So we went to Manzanilla last nite and was liming and waiting for turtles to come up. When one finally came up bout 10pm, the flippin people so dotish, they start flashin they lights at the animal and it returned to the sea. A couple others came after and same problem. I cn't understand WHY people doh watch the TV and learn how to act when the turtle is coming ashore.

A typical man and he family, decide to come up within 3 feet of the turtle while it digging, the turtle stayed probably cause it was just about ready to lay and could not hold the eggs in. Uncle wanted to fight an ting....he lucky we didn't bury him with some of the eggs too....lol

No matter how many times we asked them to move back and stop using their phone lights and torches. I tell you if i was a warden with a bull pistle boy.......when i done with them they woulda swim out and assisted the turtles onto shore, digthe holes, cover them and help the turtle back to the water.........

Trinis.....Why allyuh so ?????

JoKeR1980

Postby JoKeR1980 » May 23rd, 2009, 9:42 am

so there was no wardens around?

Postby Aaron 2NR » May 23rd, 2009, 9:50 am

firetruck dotish uneducated population...

Premera

Postby Premera » May 23rd, 2009, 9:53 am

no wardens cause they don't normally come up in manzan bu this year....WOW....every nite....8-10

I heard that they had to close off one of the beaches up there ( Grand Riviera or some other cause over 400 turtles came up in a couple hours one night.

JoKeR1980

Postby JoKeR1980 » May 23rd, 2009, 9:58 am

daz rell idiotic bahaviour man...should call de popo fuh dem

yeah i usually go grande riviere, rell turtles does come up there, the best thing is to spend the night then get up in the morning and you get to see the little ones coming out of the sand

Peanut Punch

Postby Peanut Punch » May 23rd, 2009, 10:03 am

'the nature seekers',.. they usually protect the turtles & guide visitors... they did a great' job! they're not aorund anymore...

Premera

Postby Premera » May 23rd, 2009, 10:06 am

JoKeR1980 wrote:daz rell idiotic bahaviour man...should call de popo fuh dem

yeah i usually go grande riviere, rell turtles does come up there, the best thing is to spend the night then get up in the morning and you get to see the little ones coming out of the sand

trust me pal....i waiting for July - Aug ( hatching season ) and goin up Mathura/Grand Riviere to help out in any way i could to save them.

I found out also, you can pay 100.00TT and own a turtle ( adult ). They put a tracking tag on it and informs you regularly about the location , the distance travelled thru the year and if it returned to T&T shores........can anyone confirm where i need to do this ?

Postby joker » May 23rd, 2009, 10:07 am

'the nature seekers',.. they usually protect the turtles & guide visitors

are they not based in matura?

Peanut Punch

Postby Peanut Punch » May 23rd, 2009, 10:08 am

^ don't know, but they do good work. :fadein:

JoKeR1980

Postby JoKeR1980 » May 23rd, 2009, 10:48 am

I found out also, you can pay 100.00TT and own a turtle ( adult ). They put a tracking tag on it and informs you regularly about the location , the distance travelled thru the year and if it returned to T&T shores........can anyone confirm where i need to do this ?[/quote]

dat sound cool, could be a family heirloom kinah thing lol

if you find out more info please let me know the details...

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » May 23rd, 2009, 1:17 pm

they see a animal about to make young but they go look to do all dat chupidnes ... yes we trinis r a dotish bunch of ppl - no further explanation needed ...

type r

Postby type r » May 23rd, 2009, 1:20 pm

My gul start to cuss ppl for that sheit they dotish 4 real the freaking turtle could not even go back into the water it started to walk along the shore line :? :?

Postby DFC » May 23rd, 2009, 1:23 pm

plenty pp, go to scope out the turtle..for eating purposes..... :sick:

just imagine, how much trouble and struggle that animal make, years and years of hard survival, finally it comes innocently to lay its children.....and some men , their greed and hunger has over taken their mind, and kill this animal, and even take the eggs....dont u know how much damage you are doing?

wrxdevil

Postby wrxdevil » May 23rd, 2009, 1:31 pm

good post.....saw how people react to the turtles and its just a shame.
no one would like a huge crowd infront of their mother , sister etc at the maternity ward!!!
Ther should be more awareness in situations like this....
An educational post stikified on an auto forum wouldnt hurt.

Postby Gem_in_i » May 23rd, 2009, 1:47 pm

Check the Nature Seekers website. They have the form etc to adopt a turtle.

Anyone kno of reasonably priced places to stay at Grand Riviere? Wud be nice to stay up there instead of making tht trip back South after finish late night.

Some Trinis really to damn dotish :roll:

Postby joker » May 23rd, 2009, 1:58 pm

you could stay @ the big yard. but that's up in toco

Postby equipped2ripp » May 23rd, 2009, 2:28 pm

:evil: :evil: :evil:

people are sooo stupid... when the turtles go back into the sea, they will just drop the eggs in the water.

Premera, allyuh shoulda hit him some good slap if he really wanted to start a fight yes. :x

Premera

Postby Premera » May 23rd, 2009, 3:26 pm

equipped2ripp wrote::evil: :evil: :evil:

Premera, allyuh shoulda hit him some good slap if he really wanted to start a fight yes. :x

Boy, the man bark was worse than he bite, if you breathe too hard around him he could get injured. Plus he had his wife and family there so, we really did not want to embarass the poor man.

We thought about throwing him in the hole with the eggs but then thought thr turtle might get vex and take back out she eggs because we nasty up she nest....hahaha

tourniquet

Postby tourniquet » May 23rd, 2009, 4:09 pm

these turtles are a protected species, so how come there aren't any guides/ enforcement down there? maybe the relevant ministry is waiting for a new santa fe or prado to send people down there :roll:

btw trinis are dotish when it comes to a lot of things eh :lol: :lol:

Postby Sky » May 23rd, 2009, 5:25 pm

^^X2
Just today it's with turtles..

phreakazoid

Postby phreakazoid » May 23rd, 2009, 6:06 pm

I was in Grand Riviere last week and I realized how commercialized they made turtle watching ...it's like they only concerned with taking the ppl money and no care for the turtles at all.... for the period I was there ...the guide took us to about 5 different turtles and each time we were taken to one ..the turtle abandoned the nest!.................tell me how this is helping the turtles ?...........I think they should ban turtle watching .....If they like...... they can make a documentary and host it online to show ppl the process.

Postby brams112 » May 23rd, 2009, 9:13 pm

Ok the name of the organisation is Nature Seekers they are at Po Box4535,Address,10 1/4mm Toco Main Road Matura Telephone Number-668-7337,Cell,366-1031,Email:natseek@tstt.net.tt,Website:www.natureseekers.org,hope that helps, i adopted a turtle back in 2005, imagine there were people from all over the world that night,met a guy from france,said he only comes for that event,strange how we take things for granted here in trini and people know a lot more about our natural gifts than us,phreak they made a dvd at the time i visited it was interesting,people form canada made it,even showed slaughtered turtles off the north coast,nets with them and saw one swiming,the dvd i had i gave it to my cousin to take back home to show the kids in her class in the us,,,,,great visit. :wink:
Last edited by brams112 on May 24th, 2009, 4:56 pm, edited 1 time in total.

мÑ

Postby Ð¼Ñ » May 24th, 2009, 3:11 am

^^^x 2...........

and d leatherback turtle finaly mad it in 2009 national geographic magazine :D :D :D **thumbs up**

Frankie_565

Postby Frankie_565 » May 24th, 2009, 7:56 pm

Funny to see this thread here just got back from Grand Reviere. Took the family and we spent the night at the hotel on the beach. Kids had a great time. The conservation effort at this beach was great but there are only three beaches in Trinidad that are protected during the season. there were many people in the tour groups and the tour guide had a tough time controlling the crowd. but luckily for the turtles it rained a couple of times and this gave the turtles a break during the excavation and laying process. It was an all around well worth while experience.

Postby Maserati » May 24th, 2009, 8:02 pm

if they are having problems controlling the crowds then they should consider restricting the number of visitors allowed each night.

Humes

Postby Humes » May 24th, 2009, 8:20 pm

Why is this seen as a "Trini" problem and not a dotish people problem? Thousands of Trinbagonians visit the turtles every year and manage not to disrupt or abuse them. The very posts in this thread (unless yall from some other country) show that many/most Trinidadians support the right thing.

So how do the actions of a dotish few paint the entire population?

Alyuh doh feel dotish callin yuhselves idiots?

Postby joker » May 24th, 2009, 8:43 pm

Humes wrote:Why is this seen as a "Trini" problem and not a dotish people problem? Thousands of Trinbagonians visit the turtles every year and manage not to disrupt or abuse them. The very posts in this thread (unless yall from some other country) show that many/most Trinidadians support the right thing.

So how do the actions of a dotish few paint the entire population?

Alyuh doh feel dotish callin yuhselves idiots?

aye Humes.......

is a dotish username eh :lol:

Postby Maserati » May 24th, 2009, 8:48 pm

tourniquet

Postby tourniquet » May 24th, 2009, 9:13 pm

Maserati wrote:if they are having problems controlling the crowds then they should consider restricting the number of visitors allowed each night.
well when I contacted the forestry division, they told me that the night I wanted to go was booked. My guess with regards to the poor crowd control above is either there was bad communication between forestry and the guides, or someone knew someone and made an exception to the number of people allowed that night :|

Postby SmokeyGTi » May 25th, 2009, 8:10 am

seriously, how ppl so blasted dotish?