Brake Upgrades for CK Mivec?

Mitsu Lancer, Evo, GSR, MIVEC, 4G**, GDI, Galant, Outlander, L200 Sportero/Triton etc.

shaker

Brake Upgrades for CK Mivec?

Postby shaker » July 27th, 2009, 7:13 pm

i am currently using CK Mivec Front brakes and CK6 rear discs; using wagner quick stop brake pads with a mivec brake booster.

brake pads have recently been changed, lines bled, fluid changed, front rotors skimmed etc etc.

however, to me, my car's braking system is not as efficient as i would like it to be.

For example just recently i ran my car hard from San Fernando to Barrackpore and when i reached my destination my rotors were smokin'.

What options do i have for an upgrade?

Rudman
Location: Finding out all the good tyres in life begins with "R".

Postby Rudman » July 27th, 2009, 7:26 pm

Stop driving hard...... :|

shaker

Postby shaker » July 27th, 2009, 7:42 pm

where's the fun in that?

fras

Postby fras » July 27th, 2009, 10:20 pm

upgrade brake rotors & brake pads
or
twin piston front brakes

Re: Brake Upgrades for CK Mivec?

Postby *KRONIK* » July 27th, 2009, 10:56 pm

shaker wrote:using wagner quick stop brake pads

dats ur problem rite there

QuickPc's

Postby QuickPc's » July 28th, 2009, 2:00 am

first of all skimmin your rotors is not always a good idea... look @ them from an angle and see if they have small surface cracks on them... if they do that tends to hold gas makin them less efficient... you can also try upgrading to an evo 4 brake booster if you can find one to buy... if all else fails stop drivin hard as rudman said...

Sanctifier

Postby Sanctifier » July 28th, 2009, 10:09 am

shaker wrote:What options do i have for an upgrade?
Just how fast do you want to stop?... Just how big is your budget?... It's the same question.
Sanctifier wrote:Mivec/1800 GSR BRAKE UPGRADE:
Stage 1: ... Evo 4/VR4 2-pot front calipers... PLUS E4/VR4 Master cylinder
................ PLUS OEM (E4/VR4) pads.

Stage 2: ... Stage 1 parts... PLUS 1-1½" WIDER rims & tyres.

Stage 3: ... Evo 5-9 BREMBO calipers (4-pot front / 2-pot rear)... PLUS E5-9 Master cylinder/Booster...
................ PLUS 17" Evo rims & tyres.

Stage 4: ... Stage 3 parts... PLUS Evo X rotors ft & rr... (Evo X MR Rotors are BIGGER/LIGHTER than E5-9)
................ PLUS 18" (Evo X ???) rims & tyres...

PHYSICS: Same braking effort + Greater "Moment of force" (bigger Rotors) = SHORTER Stopping Distance!

Your choice... BTW I went with Stage 3 for my GSR/Evo 6 conversion...
Just bought another set (ft. & rr.) for upcoming rwd Lancer 1800 GSR Project... No regrets. :wink:
Sanctifier wrote:After using Evo 6 RS in anger... NOTHING else comes close to Brembos IMHO.
After the steering, the Brembo brakes are even more impressive than the power of the E6.

An Evo 6 RS2 goes from 0-60 mph in 4.5 sec... and STOPS from 60-0 mph in 2.5 sec.
... with NO ABS... No tail-waggling... NO Tyre Noise... NO DRAMA!
For even SHORTER stopping and less fade use Ferodo DS2500 pads with Brembos.

My $0.02¢
Last edited by Sanctifier on July 28th, 2009, 11:08 am, edited 7 times in total.

Death-Row

Postby Death-Row » July 28th, 2009, 10:28 am

Sanctifier,check pm.

Sanctifier

Postby Sanctifier » July 28th, 2009, 10:42 am

^ ^ ^ You have reply. :) Call 633-4552 if you need more details.

MISHI
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby MISHI » July 28th, 2009, 10:46 am

Was the MIVEC brake upgrade a full one with the Booster?

The proportioning valve on MIVEC/ GSR/ 1.8 Lancer wagon/ galant models had a different orientation to the ones used on the 1300/ 1600 models...

trace the lines to the valve... the front lines should connect to the point closest to the the lines from the brake master cylinder

fras

Postby fras » July 28th, 2009, 11:15 am

Sanctifier what is the E4 bolt pattern? Isn't the E3 twin pistion a good upgrade also (4X114)... VR4 is also 4X114?

Sanctifier

Postby Sanctifier » July 28th, 2009, 11:35 am

^ ^ ^ AFAIK E3 / E4 and VR4 2-pot front calipers should be the same part. MISHI is the guru on that one.

Just checked with Haywire (ex E4 owner) E1-3 = 4-stud hubs... 114.3mm & various offsets.
E4-9 = 5-stud hubs... 114.3mm & various offsets. More info here...

Link--> Evo Essentials - The Definitive Mitsubishi Lancer Evolution Owners Guide.

My $0.02¢

MISHI
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby MISHI » July 28th, 2009, 12:19 pm

^ yep correct

All performance mitsu cars were 114.3 pattern it seems...

MIVEC and GSR run a single pot 254mm braking system, whereas the evo 1-3 is 276mm twin pot.

In my opinion though, the GSR 1800 AWD would benefit from the stage one 276mm upgrade. The mivec brakes suit it fine with a set of good brake pads, and a maintained system (good fluid and pedal in spec with regard to free play)

shaker

Postby shaker » July 28th, 2009, 1:13 pm

would the stage 1 upgrade be a straight bolt on job?

i was told that if i wanna use evo calipers i would need to build some sort of a bracket...

i am currently running 15" rims, woul i also need to upgrade those to 17"?

shaker

Postby shaker » July 28th, 2009, 1:14 pm

what about using slotted rotors?

fras

Postby fras » July 28th, 2009, 1:34 pm

I'm using slotted & cross drill rotors on my mivec... stopping has improved but need to get better pads... currently using wagner pads

MISHI
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby MISHI » July 28th, 2009, 1:59 pm

shaker wrote:would the stage 1 upgrade be a straight bolt on job?

i was told that if i wanna use evo calipers i would need to build some sort of a bracket...

i am currently running 15" rims, woul i also need to upgrade those to 17"?

Once it's the complete spindle, it should bolt up. And yes you can use your 15's fine. 17's were mandatory in the Evos form 5 up because of the brembo setup.

I never heard anyone talk about using a bracket to mount it unless it's the calipers themselves...

blazing

Postby blazing » July 28th, 2009, 2:08 pm

Calipers from Eclipse GSX, Stealth, Diamante, VR4 galant, Evo 1-3 are a direct bolt on the CK.

There are 2 different types of brake fittings to the caliper. A banjo bolt type and a screw in type. I have used both types with no problems.

Master cylinder should be upgraded too with a 1 1/16 bore from ABS vehicles or at least a 1" bore one.

I have used the 276mm 4x114 VR4 discs already on 4x100 CK already and it still works excellent up to today.

Another great benefit from upgrading to twin pots is the ease of acquiring better pads such as Hawk.

blazing

Postby blazing » July 28th, 2009, 2:10 pm

Isn't the Mivec 4x114? and the mounting holes for the caliper are the same?

If so, he will not need the complete spindle.

Just VR4 4X114 discs and twin pot calipers from any of the listed...

shaker

Postby shaker » July 28th, 2009, 5:42 pm

how available is the VR4 set up or evo 1-3?

Average price?

Rudman

Postby Rudman » July 28th, 2009, 8:11 pm

Sanctifier

Postby Sanctifier » July 28th, 2009, 8:27 pm

shaker wrote:would the stage 1 upgrade be a straight bolt on job?

I wasn't sure either but here's another Zorce 2nr's experience...
Sanctifier wrote:E4 has 2-pot ft. calipers. Don't you need the E7 caliper bracket etc. to bolt on the Brembos?

nipe wrote:The awesome thing is: brembo calipers fit straight to evo4 hub carriers!!!
With no adapter plates needed whatsoever!...

So it looks like both the 2-pot and Brembo calipers will be a "bolt-on" for you too.

shaker

Postby shaker » July 29th, 2009, 12:44 pm

i forgot...

would i need to upgrade my booster and cylinder as well or woul the mivec one do?

rjaggs

Postby rjaggs » July 29th, 2009, 1:47 pm

i currently running a double diaphragm booster from a cedia and stock rotor & caliper setup with mintex pads (vrg galant) - works pretty good

fras

Postby fras » July 29th, 2009, 2:23 pm

rjaggs where u got those pads n price

Rudman

Postby Rudman » July 29th, 2009, 6:27 pm

So wha happen?

Nobody like K-Sport?..... :|

Postby *KRONIK* » July 29th, 2009, 6:45 pm

Rudman wrote:So wha happen?

Nobody like K-Sport?..... :|

i like K-sport

i cyah afford K-sport :lol: :lol:

fras

Postby fras » July 29th, 2009, 6:51 pm

dont know what Rudman going and stop with that

Postby *KRONIK* » July 29th, 2009, 6:54 pm

fras wrote:dont know what Rudman going and stop with that

maybe he comin with something that need K-sports 6pot bizniss to stop it

BOOSTED 92
MODDED 93T
63T
????

renegade_wolf

Postby renegade_wolf » July 29th, 2009, 8:19 pm

I didn't know that VR4 and Evo 7,8,9, front brakes could work in a CK.
But I doubt doing this would be a bolt for bolt job. What exactly would need to be changed to make this work

Additionally I gather you all talking about the front brakes but would rear disk brakes of these cars work in the rear of a CK?(correct meh if i wrong)

Return to “MITSUBISHI”