District 9:- Don't ask Questions, Just go see it.

Postby Cjruckus » August 22nd, 2009, 11:46 pm

the plot had some holes in it.. but I think the creators were almost leaving it open for you to keep thinking about the movie.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » August 22nd, 2009, 11:48 pm

^ big holes - but it didnt matter, that wasnt the message in the movie.

Postby Cjruckus » August 23rd, 2009, 12:00 am

Well seeing that the majority of the movie was a flash back.. you'd expect it to be missing a lot. Plus the documentary was done by the perspective that Wikus had disappeared.

Jackson is doing the Adventures of Tintin though, thats gonna be cool

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » August 23rd, 2009, 1:18 pm

Cjruckus wrote:Well seeing that the majority of the movie was a flash back.. you'd expect it to be missing a lot. Plus the documentary was done by the perspective that Wikus had disappeared.

Jackson is doing the Adventures of Tintin though, thats gonna be cool

Actually Spielberg is directing and Jackson is doing the animation through Weta

Humes

Postby Humes » August 24th, 2009, 10:44 pm

Spielberg's doing one Tintin, Jackson's doing a second.

The movie was cool. I enjoyed it. Clearly a metaphor for racism, but it went a lot deeper than that. It had a lot to do with the issue of displacement, particularly in Africa, where entire peoples were moved around during colonisation due to the lands being carved up, and ended up sharing/fighting over space with other groups.

This has continued with the numerous coups and rebel fighting that takes place in Africa today. The refugees from Rwanda who fled the country fearing retaliation after the genocide ended up in the Congo, and that started a whole other conflict.

It also talks about how people go astray when they lack leadership. They didn't sugarcoat the fact that a lot of the aliens were really bandits and thugs, but it looked more like the group in general lacked direction.

The fact that they could have made about 7 of these on Transformers 2 budget is sad and scary. Sci-fi itself, as a genre, is less about technology and more about how science and technology affects the human condition.

Cjruckus...I doh think this will redefine sci-fi. It's one of a handful of movies (including, most notably, Children of Men) that have repped for "real" sci-fi in the last few years.

If you get a chance, download a movie called Primer. Or The Man From Earth. Fantastic stuff.

Humes

Postby Humes » August 24th, 2009, 10:47 pm

Duane: Enemy Mine is a favorite of mine as well. I found it ironic that it was a black man, Louis Gossett jr, under the alien make-up.

People tend to overlook a lot of themes in great sci-fi movies. Terminator 2 for instance, was fantastic action and time paradoxes, but one of the central themes of the movie was fatherhood.

larafan

Postby larafan » August 25th, 2009, 12:56 am

i dunno bout the show being as good as allyuh claiming....but it definitely was entertaining...lol..maybe for the wrong reasons....

but yeah...worth looking at....

Postby A172 » August 25th, 2009, 10:01 pm

'twas ok. :|

evo-STI-k

Postby evo-STI-k » August 25th, 2009, 11:11 pm

i laughed my ass off!

larafan

Postby larafan » August 25th, 2009, 11:20 pm

evo-STI-k,

thought was me alone.... :lol: ...which is why i said it was a highly entertaining show...

Postby Damien » August 26th, 2009, 7:39 am

Was fookin good

G-T

Postby G-T » August 26th, 2009, 10:01 am

Which scene was funny?

evo-STI-k

Postby evo-STI-k » August 26th, 2009, 10:28 am

G-T wrote:Which scene was funny?

everytime that man say "fuooking" was funny. :lol:

richardg1976

Postby richardg1976 » August 26th, 2009, 1:14 pm

evo-STI-k wrote:

Rebelb14

Postby Rebelb14 » August 26th, 2009, 4:15 pm

evo-STI-k wrote:

and that was most of the show

Postby cinco » August 28th, 2009, 12:33 am

yes go see it
if you dont get it well.....

W2J

Postby W2J » August 28th, 2009, 12:37 am

evo-STI-k wrote:

where meh wontan soup and flylice

W2J

Postby W2J » August 29th, 2009, 8:24 am

"3 Years I promise" will be what 2012 :shock: could it be that the prawns are the the Anunnaki

nareshseep

Postby nareshseep » August 29th, 2009, 10:09 am

rel good movie, it had a nice build up. movie took you away and brought you back.
8.5/10

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » August 29th, 2009, 10:16 am

W2J wrote:"3 Years I promise" will be what 2012 :shock: could it be that the prawns are the the Anunnaki

I think District 9 was set a few years into the future - judging by the vehicles and guns the humans had

Zorak

Postby Zorak » August 29th, 2009, 10:27 am

Humes wrote:
If you get a chance, download a movie called Primer.

downloaded it a couple months ago, was pretty good, but i'm sure i still not clear on some things. the budget of it is what really made me download it. $7000 and the quality was real good. no sorta fancy effects.

district 9 was excellent!

W2J

Postby W2J » August 29th, 2009, 10:37 am

W2J wrote:"3 Years I promise" will be what 2012 :shock: could it be that the prawns are the the Anunnaki

I think District 9 was set a few years into the future - judging by the vehicles and guns the humans had

sorry I never travel into the future so I won't know the difference.

Humes

Postby Humes » August 29th, 2009, 10:40 am

Primer is not a movie you can sit down and totally understand in one viewing. It really portrays the complexities of time travel realistically...makes Back to the Future II seem like Sesame Street by comparison.

I remember pausing it about 3 times to really figure it out in my head. You understand what's going on, but you doh easily understand HOW it going on. Wikipedia has a good diagram explaining how the time travel works.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » August 29th, 2009, 11:02 am

Humes wrote:... to really figure it out in my head. You understand what's going on, but you doh easily understand HOW it going on.

Humes you feel the same way about trinituner, don't you.

W2J wrote:

sorry I never travel into the future so I won't know the difference.

your evo real slow then :lol:

ZeroOne

Postby ZeroOne » August 29th, 2009, 11:34 am

Best movie since matrix hands down, looking forward to the next one hopefully i wont have to wait 3 years. That part had me ROFL.

Oh BTW Christopher is now officially an Alien name :lol:

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » August 29th, 2009, 12:15 pm

it cross anyone's mind that the liquid the ship used as fuel changed a human into a prawn. When the ship "landed" on earth it was filled with prawns who were disoriented, starving and didnt know how to operate the ship. Infact they didn't even use their own weapons. Perhaps they are not prawns at all, initially; perhaps they too were changed just like Wickus.

hmmm
Last edited by Duane 3NE 2NR on August 29th, 2009, 12:27 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby wagonrunner » August 29th, 2009, 12:25 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:it cross anyone's mind that the liquid the ship used as fuel changed a human into a prawn. When the ship "landed" on earth it was filled with prawns who were disoriented, starving and didnt know how to operate the ship. Infact they didn't even use their own weapons. Perhaps they are not prawns at all, initially; perhaps they too were changed just like Wickus.

hmmm

hits duane with finished cup of soda and ice.
keep it down in front there.

ZeroOne

Postby ZeroOne » August 29th, 2009, 12:25 pm

Could be but i doubt it, cause the prawn who left on the ship mentioned that their motherland had 7 moons thus indicating that the conditions there cannot facilitate human life.

Plus their technology is way more advanced than human tech, humans cant even use their guns.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » August 29th, 2009, 12:32 pm

ZeroOne wrote:Could be but i doubt it, cause the prawn who left on the ship mentioned that their motherland had 7 moons thus indicating that the conditions there cannot facilitate human life.

Plus their technology is way more advanced than human tech, humans cant even use their guns.

no no I'm not saying it was humans - could be any species the liquid turns into prawns

it was also obvious from the fact that prawn who left on the ship was more advanced than the others - he was also the one who broke away the smaller ship 28 years before and then hid it under his shack.

the guns looked for prawn DNA to work BTW

and also 7 moons is not a reason why a planet cannot support human life.

ZeroOne

Postby ZeroOne » August 29th, 2009, 1:01 pm

Well i didnt see any dog looking prawns but who knows, at this point i would say theoretically correct :P but no evidence to support.

Also wasnt the prawn who left had a son? Thus indicating that they procreate in some way.

As for the 7 moons, i just saying that if the planet has 7 moons then the atmosphere of that planet could be different as well, for ex. a different mixture of gasses like oxygen, nitrogen etc that enable us to breathe, trees to grow, rain to fall etc.

And what about food? Cant see humans living on cat food.

Not disreguarding your idea, just saying at this point the storyline could go either way. But i believe it wont go in the direction of your idea.