Right...so I went down and see for meh self what wsa going on in Freeport with this "track" that is being built.
First things first. Its alot of land! I tried to take pics to cover the span of the land that is being used.
bounced up the main machine of the moment, taking a rest...
MOst of the pics i took was from the eastern edge of the land. So the only shots you wont get would be the 50 or so feet of land to the eastern boundary.
This is the view from prolly the highest point in the middle of the land, facing south towards the main access road. One thing to note. The access road is narrow, and its agood way in from the highway. I foresee some logistical issues with the locals.
another view...same direction..
This is whats being done now..grading down of the land and putting the dirt as land fill for other parts of the development..
We then went to the Most notherly part of the land. Its higher than most of the land and you can see (from the tree) where it stops.
You can also get a sense of just how much land is being used for this development. Alot more than i thought it would be.
The Northwestern edge of the land..its beautiful for autocrossing and circuit once the proper undulations and grading is done.
This is where i think the drag strip section of the "motorpark" will be, i'm facing the North west tip, and the land dips and then rises. Again, im not in the heads of the developers, but if ther was to be a strip this woud be it...you can squeeze out about 2000feet here (average).
Site office near the entrance to the development.
Some Farmer that was lending assistance....pesky little man he was...only asking questions...
More of the southern edge (to the road) of the facility
Nice land for soem nice curves for ciruit or autocrossing....even a driving school...
Thais it.
Timeline? I give them six -eight months to get everything together based on the fact that the soil is mostly a Clay compound. Great to work with in the dry, but a nightmare in the wet.
Lots of possibilities here though. You have to see the land to understand that with proper planning you can have a great setup there. most sporting bodies can have events there...though i am thinking that for now, the developers would want to ge a drag strip up and running and the n build off of that.
As I mentioned, you will have issues with access to the facility, especially leaving an event (just think about leaving Wallerfield carpark after Gangster drags..).
Wish the Developers best of luck.