Freeport Motorsport Facility (update pics on pg3)

Postby Monk BANzai » November 9th, 2009, 3:45 pm

Right...so I went down and see for meh self what wsa going on in Freeport with this "track" that is being built.

First things first. Its alot of land! I tried to take pics to cover the span of the land that is being used.

bounced up the main machine of the moment, taking a rest...

MOst of the pics i took was from the eastern edge of the land. So the only shots you wont get would be the 50 or so feet of land to the eastern boundary.

This is the view from prolly the highest point in the middle of the land, facing south towards the main access road. One thing to note. The access road is narrow, and its agood way in from the highway. I foresee some logistical issues with the locals.

another view...same direction..

This is whats being done now..grading down of the land and putting the dirt as land fill for other parts of the development..

We then went to the Most notherly part of the land. Its higher than most of the land and you can see (from the tree) where it stops.

You can also get a sense of just how much land is being used for this development. Alot more than i thought it would be.

The Northwestern edge of the land..its beautiful for autocrossing and circuit once the proper undulations and grading is done.

This is where i think the drag strip section of the "motorpark" will be, i'm facing the North west tip, and the land dips and then rises. Again, im not in the heads of the developers, but if ther was to be a strip this woud be it...you can squeeze out about 2000feet here (average).

Site office near the entrance to the development.

Some Farmer that was lending assistance....pesky little man he was...only asking questions...

More of the southern edge (to the road) of the facility

Nice land for soem nice curves for ciruit or autocrossing....even a driving school...

Thais it.

Timeline? I give them six -eight months to get everything together based on the fact that the soil is mostly a Clay compound. Great to work with in the dry, but a nightmare in the wet.

Lots of possibilities here though. You have to see the land to understand that with proper planning you can have a great setup there. most sporting bodies can have events there...though i am thinking that for now, the developers would want to ge a drag strip up and running and the n build off of that.

As I mentioned, you will have issues with access to the facility, especially leaving an event (just think about leaving Wallerfield carpark after Gangster drags..).

Wish the Developers best of luck.
Last edited by Monk BANzai on November 23rd, 2009, 9:36 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby VexXx Dogg » November 9th, 2009, 3:49 pm

wow, i got the chills just thinking about the possibilities!

Postby honda hoe » November 9th, 2009, 3:50 pm

very nice

hope this actually pulls thru

2 Towers Distribution

Postby 2 Towers Distribution » November 9th, 2009, 3:52 pm

nice info and pics banzai and as u mentioned about leaving an event, that should be a main factor they should deal with. No one will want that much chaos when leaving. :)

Dragist

Postby Dragist » November 9th, 2009, 3:55 pm

Looking good Ras ,

LOL @ Some Farmer

Midnight_Demon

Postby Midnight_Demon » November 9th, 2009, 3:58 pm

*edit* im concerned about the stopping space :?

Postby Monk BANzai » November 9th, 2009, 4:02 pm

Midnight_Demon wrote:*edit* im concerned about the stopping space :?

Its too early to say M_D....

I didnt measure it, but from working on construction projects, and if they maintain an UPWARD slope for stopping, you can get a decent 10 second car to stop safely. Anything other than that, i'd leave for the professionals to gauge.

De Bench

Postby De Bench » November 9th, 2009, 4:35 pm

that good just so for the first rally event!!!

Jonathan

Postby Jonathan » November 9th, 2009, 4:37 pm

My interest has been piqued...

You have a kmz location so we can see the location via google earth?

200sx

Postby 200sx » November 9th, 2009, 5:00 pm

site looks promising nice pics yow

southside connections

Postby southside connections » November 9th, 2009, 5:06 pm

better than nuttin right now, great effort

White CZ4A

Postby White CZ4A » November 9th, 2009, 5:07 pm

this will be a 2 yrs in the making at minimum.

good luck to those involved

worksux101

Postby worksux101 » November 9th, 2009, 6:27 pm

unkle belly geh big boy :|

Postby Rainman » November 9th, 2009, 7:07 pm

iz not ah water park?

chooooops

Postby Monk BANzai » November 9th, 2009, 10:33 pm

White CZ4A wrote:this will be a 2 yrs in the making at minimum.

hmm...

nareshseep

Postby nareshseep » November 9th, 2009, 10:42 pm

the Gods have spoken!!

Computerman

Postby Computerman » November 10th, 2009, 8:02 am

It have any land near the site for sale?

EVOlved

Postby EVOlved » November 10th, 2009, 8:16 am

Is this a privately funded venture? or does it have Government involvement?...

If this does come to pass, i am envisioning time attack, drags et al... :lol:

Postby zoom rader » November 10th, 2009, 8:16 am

Hmm, so where does this place TTASA? will they want control?

Cooper

Postby Cooper » November 10th, 2009, 10:38 am

Thanks for the pics Banzai. I think I'll take a Sunday drive down myself to check it out, looks promising.

duchess

Postby duchess » November 10th, 2009, 10:51 am

that's great.......

MANIAC

Postby MANIAC » November 10th, 2009, 10:52 am

Looking feasible .. lots of work ahead .. with that "farmers" involvement makes it more worthwhile !!!

DISRESPECTFUL KONCEPT

Postby DISRESPECTFUL KONCEPT » November 10th, 2009, 11:03 am

White CZ4A wrote:this will be a 2 yrs in the making at minimum.

roctt

Postby roctt » November 10th, 2009, 11:05 am

nice info....it looks like a promising start...kudos to those involve in finally making this happen....

R34girl

Postby R34girl » November 15th, 2009, 8:38 am

EVOlved wrote:Is this a privately funded venture? or does it have Government involvement?...

If this does come to pass, i am envisioning time attack, drags et al... :lol:

yes this is a private project being done by a company called 'Speed Vision Company Limited' .........and wish the government can come on board.

Postby Rainman » November 15th, 2009, 9:32 am

hello r34girl

Postby Cjruckus » November 15th, 2009, 1:10 pm

How you gonna race with that tree in the middle of the track?

The muffler bearings at EMA will not be pleased. Thats right, i called them muffler bearings.

AYE_SOLDIER

Postby AYE_SOLDIER » November 15th, 2009, 3:04 pm

Cjruckus wrote:Image

How you gonna race with that tree in the middle of the track?

The muffler bearings at EMA will not be pleased. Thats right, i called them muffler bearings.

i hope they dont interfere with this one

Shortie

Postby Shortie » November 15th, 2009, 3:11 pm

Christmas Tree.............. :twisted: :twisted: :twisted:

Terran

Postby Terran » November 15th, 2009, 3:23 pm

That 'farmer' looking familiar. MY... how he has aged!