Who buys old car batteries?

d spike

Who buys old car batteries?

Postby d spike » November 28th, 2009, 10:51 am

Anybody knows of someone who buys old car batteries? Got a few, never got around to getting rid of them... :oops:

Postby DFC » November 28th, 2009, 10:53 am

i got a few old batteries too...
hmmm........

Postby *$kїđž!™ » November 28th, 2009, 11:29 am

I am asking this question for a long time now........

http://forums.trinituner.com/forums/vie ... highlight=

I still have a few to dispose of also....

d spike

Postby d spike » November 28th, 2009, 12:51 pm

You mean this is a :repost:??? :oops: :oops: :oops: :mrgreen:

So what happened to these people: "caribbean batteries located at # 2 el socorro extension ph 675 5757 ext 28
or called there delivery driver at 312 2705 they will pick up or u can drop off, they pay you $25 instantly....... " :?:

allblacks

Postby allblacks » November 28th, 2009, 12:52 pm

Battery Doctor on Point a Pierre Road.

Postby equipped2ripp » November 28th, 2009, 4:10 pm

Lange Trinidad... they pay you $10 for each old battery.

minipresident

Postby minipresident » November 28th, 2009, 4:36 pm

i also have about 15 or 20 of the large batteries to dispose off.

i remember hearing talk that a large battery can fetch you $75. a piece but i ain't know where.

saw it suggested on a forum somewhere on tuner so i
called 800JUNK

an they said once i have somebody to load the batteries they will (get this!) charge me a mere $300. to take them off my hands! :(

kiamotors

Postby kiamotors » November 28th, 2009, 7:34 pm

some mechanics takes old batteries, ask around you will be surprise...

Postby MG Man » November 28th, 2009, 7:56 pm

Automotive Components Ltd in O'meara Industrial Estate, Arima buys back old batteries.
The lead is recycled for use in new batteries. Great way to dispose of old batteries :!:

Postby wagonrunner » November 28th, 2009, 8:39 pm

MG Man wrote:Automotive Components Ltd in O'meara Industrial Estate, Arima buys back old batteries.
The lead is recycled for use in new batteries. Great way to dispose of old batteries :!:

how much they paying for a battery?
*could possibly supplement meh income in these trying times.*

Postby MG Man » November 28th, 2009, 8:41 pm

$10 I think

Postby buzz » November 28th, 2009, 9:58 pm

as we here (no i eh using d search)

used oil? where? :oops:

Postby MG Man » November 28th, 2009, 10:00 pm

do a search

topshotta

Postby topshotta » November 28th, 2009, 10:07 pm

$7 for one and they does pass around

Postby equipped2ripp » November 28th, 2009, 10:08 pm

kiamotors wrote:some mechanics takes old batteries, ask around you will be surprise...

yeah they would take it... try to charge it.. and when they realise it ain't good, they'll dump it in the bush somewhere.

best thing to do is carry it Lange or ACL and let them take care of it.

Postby buzz » November 28th, 2009, 10:11 pm

MG Man, :oops: :lol:

Postby *$kїđž!™ » November 28th, 2009, 11:18 pm

d spike wrote:You mean this is a :repost:??? :oops: :oops: :oops: :mrgreen:

So what happened to these people: "caribbean batteries located at # 2 el socorro extension ph 675 5757 ext 28
or called there delivery driver at 312 2705 they will pick up or u can drop off, they pay you $25 instantly....... " :?:

I fed up call them ...they never responded bro...to pick up the batteries...

InDeForest

Postby InDeForest » November 28th, 2009, 11:20 pm

Dump what? You know how much blasted money fellas was making 'recycling' the lead i.e packing them back in a container and shipping back abroad

d spike

Postby d spike » November 29th, 2009, 12:04 pm

Nigson wrote:
d spike wrote:You mean this is a :repost:??? :oops: :oops: :oops: :mrgreen:

I fed up call them ...they never responded bro...to pick up the batteries...

Too bad... there used to be ads in the classifieds claiming a price of $20 per battery, but (now that I have the old buggers) I don't see these ads anymore.

d spike

Re: Who buys old car batteries?

Postby d spike » May 20th, 2010, 9:24 pm

Automotive Components, O’Meara Industrial estate, Prices start at $25 for small batteries and go up from there... You drop them off and the cheque is ready about 3 hours later – I arrange to collect it the following day. They also buy old tyres for recapping (don’t know the particulars about that).

Postby *$kїđž!™ » May 21st, 2010, 5:24 am

d spike wrote:Automotive Components, O’Meara Industrial estate, Prices start at $25 for small batteries and go up from there... You drop them off and the cheque is ready about 3 hours later – I arrange to collect it the following day. They also buy old tyres for recapping (don’t know the particulars about that).

So they write you a cheque for $25 ?

LOL thats so hilarious......and you have to wait 3hrs for $25.......?

Fellas usually pass with their old van buying batteries and give you cash on the spot.....

bigchief3679

Postby bigchief3679 » May 21st, 2010, 6:55 am

^well..............$7.00 on the spot or $25.00 after 3 hours make ur pick! for people like me with alot o them it makes a huge difference

d spike

Postby d spike » May 21st, 2010, 7:41 am

Nigson wrote:
So they write you a cheque for $25 ?

LOL thats so hilarious......and you have to wait 3hrs for $25.......?
Well, considering that the batteries have been sitting at home for a few years, 3 more hours doesn't seem that much. The resale of the 6 dead ones on the estate, and the others at the garage have just paid in full for a new battery for the solar-panel system, and I have extra in hand as well! :lol:

Fellas usually pass with their old van buying batteries and give you cash on the spot.....
Obviously, none ah dem never pass by mih... :(

Postby Mr. Red Sleeper » May 21st, 2010, 12:32 pm

Yo Spike.

when leaving west and heading over the flyover into st james, hang a left as if you were heading to fort george. About 50m in, on your left, youd see a steep drievway . Stay at the bottom of the drivewaay (due to steepness and knowing that the red car eh able to go up) lol - and call out "Ras" .thats what everyone calls him.

he buys for 30 - 50 $ ea.
Apparently, he has a great business going on . He changes the plates and recharges them somehow and sells for 100 - 200 dollars.

I have a cheap ass uncle who refuses to spend anything pass 300$ for batteries, so i wanted to see for myself where he gets his "2 month batteries" from.

Unbelievable.

Postby pete » May 21st, 2010, 1:08 pm

^^^ the battery lasts 3 months for $100-200?

And if ya pay 650 it would last probably 2-3 years?

turbo_beast369

Postby turbo_beast369 » May 21st, 2010, 2:04 pm

312-6845...his name is Kevin...he is d guy from Caribbean Battery recycling who comes with d van and picks up the batteries from u...dealt with him twice and he pays u on the spot $20-$25 depending on the size...

Postby Mr. Red Sleeper » May 21st, 2010, 4:27 pm

pete wrote:^^^ the battery lasts 3 months for $100-200?

And if ya pay 650 it would last probably 2-3 years?

When ya catchin ya a$$, the 200 is easier to come by i guess....

d spike

Postby d spike » May 21st, 2010, 8:32 pm

Mr. Red Sleeper wrote:Yo Spike.

when leaving west and heading over the flyover into st james, hang a left as if you were heading to fort george. About 50m in, on your left, youd see a steep drievway . Stay at the bottom of the drivewaay (due to steepness and knowing that the red car eh able to go up) lol - and call out "Ras" .thats what everyone calls him.

he buys for 30 - 50 $ ea.
Apparently, he has a great business going on . He changes the plates and recharges them somehow and sells for 100 - 200 dollars.

I have a cheap ass uncle who refuses to spend anything pass 300$ for batteries, so i wanted to see for myself where he gets his "2 month batteries" from.

Unbelievable.

Know of the guy/place for quite a while now... used to go there to scrounge tyres... used to go there through the back, though... umm, compared to what the ol' Viva has had to contend with, that driveway is smooth, well-paved, and with a slight gradient :lol: :lol:
Had a pardner who "bought" a battery there, and used to go back regularly to make a fuss in order to get it replaced with another one (dis one go wuk real good now) :lol:

geodude

Postby geodude » May 21st, 2010, 8:43 pm

he buys for 30 - 50 $ ea
serious, hmm i have so many around the place, i could make ah nice gas money , next time i heading up that side i will check this guy.
sound good man.
recycling pays man every couple months i get a free beers for my old bottles by tanty, add that to meh magna points and i ah high roller yo