Trinidad hosted climate talks? what a joke!

evo-STI-k

Trinidad hosted climate talks? what a joke!

Postby evo-STI-k » November 30th, 2009, 7:20 am

thats such a HUGE fcukign JOKE!

Our Trinidad, all yuh PM. who does not give one fack about climate change or greenhouse gases.

Lets see

YOUR govt is planning on constructing LArge SMELTERS ( ANTI- green house)

YOUR govt recently erected a series of Tall modern buildings ( NONE of which were designed with harnessing any of natures gifts)
All depend on Electricity and High concentrations of air conditions.

Yor NAPA- VERY Much dependant on Air conditioning( ANTI- Green house)

Our country has absolutely NO Vehicle Emissions testing

Our Diesel is of the LOWEST standards in the WORLD ( WAy too much oil)

We have NO rules and regulations regarding the dumping and disposal of batteries and oils.

We have NO Promoting of recycling by our authorities.

Our GOVERNMENT does nto offer any Incentives for those whishing to go to GREEN sources of energy and they do nto offer any Rebates for those who have Solar systems on their houses.

But yet our stupendous JAckarse chairs a discussion on CLimate change!

:?

xtech

Postby xtech » November 30th, 2009, 7:28 am

i met minister of energy a few months ago an he was like...........

i have enough energy to see us through for another 100 years i dont see a need to invest in green energy systems or to even develop a renewable energy sector........but mind you the PM was very interested in what I had to offer an agreed with me and sent me to that clown

:? :?

timothymcdavid

Postby timothymcdavid » November 30th, 2009, 8:00 am

Hmmm ... i was thinking about this same situation this morning and said let me see what folks saying on 2NR ... I must agree it is a joke but I tend to look on the dark side so here is what i will say.

Judging by the powers that be in this country always choosing the easy way out of any situation they find themselves in ... i think this whole talk about reducing emissions will just end up as another excuse to drop the subsidy on gasoline, diesel and raise electricity rates.

Before i get laughed at and worse yet cuss ... i think Trinidadians need to look around them and take notice ... power and fuel consumption in Trini is ridiculous ... people leaving their lights on whole night running air conditioners whole night ... little use of public transportation there is a car on the road in Trini for every 3 persons in this country as i understand it.

The basic cause of all of this is power and fuel is cheap and plentiful and there is no real motivation to reduce the use ... do you know in Europe diesel costs as much and in some cases even more than regular gasoline.

If Trini's were to pay as much as folks in the UK for fuel your diesel and premium would literally cost 13tt per liter i would tell you right away i was buying a bicycle at them prices. Now factor in about half of that cost is Tax we still with 6tt per liter.

Electricity UK has dual rate off peak and peak correct me if i am wrong but it is 27US cents per kilowatt hour peak and 15US cents per kilowatt hour off peak ... Trini as i understand it is about 4US cents per kilowatt hour.

Now is all well and good to say Trinidad and Tobago hosting climate change talks is a joke. The suggestion put forward by the Prime Minister of injecting CO2 into the ground well isnt really feasible right now for the quantities we will need to inject but lets not make to much noise before the politicians choose the easy way out as usual which will mean licks for the working man as usual and provide the added bonus as providing a distraction to the nonsense that is being done on crime and the economy.

Sorry for the long post

Jonathan

Postby Jonathan » November 30th, 2009, 8:22 am

timothymcdavid wrote:... do you know in Europe diesel costs as much and in some cases even more than regular gasoline.

Not only in Europe, check right next door in Grenada.. Diesel is so expensive that even the buses (maxis) use straight-six gasolene engines!

Postby Sky » November 30th, 2009, 8:48 am

So what they gonna do with all the heat from the smelter?
Boil some water?
Spin some turbines?
Make some juice?
My money's on absolutely nothing.

Notorious Scullman

Postby Notorious Scullman » November 30th, 2009, 9:06 am

timothymcdavid wrote:Hmmm ... i was thinking about this same situation this morning and said let me see what folks saying on 2NR ... I must agree it is a joke but I tend to look on the dark side so here is what i will say.

Judging by the powers that be in this country always choosing the easy way out of any situation they find themselves in ... i think this whole talk about reducing emissions will just end up as another excuse to drop the subsidy on gasoline, diesel and raise electricity rates.

Before i get laughed at and worse yet cuss ... i think Trinidadians need to look around them and take notice ... power and fuel consumption in Trini is ridiculous ... people leaving their lights on whole night running air conditioners whole night ... little use of public transportation there is a car on the road in Trini for every 3 persons in this country as i understand it.

The basic cause of all of this is power and fuel is cheap and plentiful and there is no real motivation to reduce the use ... do you know in Europe diesel costs as much and in some cases even more than regular gasoline.

If Trini's were to pay as much as folks in the UK for fuel your diesel and premium would literally cost 13tt per liter i would tell you right away i was buying a bicycle at them prices. Now factor in about half of that cost is Tax we still with 6tt per liter.

Electricity UK has dual rate off peak and peak correct me if i am wrong but it is 27US cents per kilowatt hour peak and 15US cents per kilowatt hour off peak ... Trini as i understand it is about 4US cents per kilowatt hour.

Now is all well and good to say Trinidad and Tobago hosting climate change talks is a joke. The suggestion put forward by the Prime Minister of injecting CO2 into the ground well isnt really feasible right now for the quantities we will need to inject but lets not make to much noise before the politicians choose the easy way out as usual which will mean licks for the working man as usual and provide the added bonus as providing a distraction to the nonsense that is being done on crime and the economy.

Sorry for the long post

Thanks for trying to shed some light on yet another misinformed post

evo-STI-k

Postby evo-STI-k » November 30th, 2009, 9:16 am

Notorious Scullman wrote:
timothymcdavid wrote:Hmmm ... i was thinking about this same situation this morning and said let me see what folks saying on 2NR ... I must agree it is a joke but I tend to look on the dark side so here is what i will say.

^^^^^^
So do YOU AGREE that trinidad does NOT need to look to alternative GReener sources of Energy?

^^^^
How about NP actually trying to IMPROVE our standard of DIESEL?

Sorry for the long post

^^^ do YOU ever contribute anything positive yet alone educational?

h my bad- now that this waste of money CHOGM is finished you have nothing to do!

FIgures yet again!

CArry on MOD!

Notorious Scullman

Postby Notorious Scullman » November 30th, 2009, 9:32 am

lol.......*carrying on* :lol:

Postby Damien » November 30th, 2009, 9:35 am

:lol: :lol: :lol: smelter iwmc

Postby RASC » November 30th, 2009, 9:37 am

So people think it's time for T&T to explore green initiatives? Good stuff...first suggestion...raise FUEL and ENERGY costs to those of the developed world. :mrgreen:

Primarily those of Western Europe. I think that's a great start :wink:

Postby honda hoe » November 30th, 2009, 9:38 am

RASC wrote:So people think it's time for T&T to explore green initiatives? Good stuff...first suggestion...raise FUEL and ENERGY costs to those of the developed world. :mrgreen:

only if its of the same quality

Postby RASC » November 30th, 2009, 9:50 am

honda hoe wrote:
RASC wrote:So people think it's time for T&T to explore green initiatives? Good stuff...first suggestion...raise FUEL and ENERGY costs to those of the developed world. :mrgreen:

only if its of the same quality

That too. I think the avg. Electricity bill for a 3 bedroom family home in the U.K. is about $10,000TT per year

I think Trinis, with a constant, reliable supply would be willing to pay that.

Jonathan

Postby Jonathan » November 30th, 2009, 9:50 am

honda hoe wrote:

only if the standard of living is raised to a level of the same quality

Fixed!

Postby RASC » November 30th, 2009, 9:58 am

Jonathan wrote:
honda hoe wrote:

only if the standard of living is raised to a level of the same quality

Fixed!

Well obviously it will raise after the increased costs...more revenue=better public facilities.

It will become about 4times more expensive to run appliances/cars/gas and that will lead us to become a more energy conscience society and at the same time raising mass amounts of revenue for the state.

Win-Win situation. The country becomes more disciplined, energy conscience and conservative with their pollution of the environment...and the gov't raises capital through the increased prices.

Isn't that what you guys wanted :?

Postby RASC » November 30th, 2009, 10:04 am

Think about it.

Less load on the power grid=less pollution

Less traffic on the road

Increased productivity as there will be less traffic...ppl will start car pooling as it would become too expensive to drive yourself to work. Again less pollution and congestion.

Less strain on our fresh water supply, ppl will install cost effective shower heads, and use less of their dishwashers as it wil be too expensive to run continuously

I could go on forever, I say increase the prices to western european prices! There will be a drastic drop off on consumption habits, which will lead to a less wasteful soceity.

Postby 16 cycles » November 30th, 2009, 11:03 am

have a heart....everyone who doesn;t fall in the wealthy bracket will feel the bruising - transport, goods, food

back to pitch oil lanterns

timothymcdavid

Postby timothymcdavid » November 30th, 2009, 11:10 am

RASC wrote:Think about it.

Less traffic on the road

Increased productivity as there will be less traffic...ppl will start car pooling as it would become too expensive to drive yourself to work. Again less pollution and congestion.

Less strain on our fresh water supply, ppl will install cost effective shower heads, and use less of their dishwashers as it wil be too expensive to run continuously

I could go on forever, I say increase the prices to western european prices! There will be a drastic drop off on consumption habits, which will lead to a less wasteful soceity.

If we increase prices to that rate now it will mean the working poor's standard of living will drop drastically and the rich folks read business and land owners who can pass on the cost of anything will not be affected to the same extent.

Make no mistake about it Manning gonna come under some pressure and lip service and impractical ideas ain't gonna work. I think Trinidad should look at alternative energy sources other than hydrocarbons.

Trini got experience building structures at sea and a large exclusive economic zone some wind farms might be just what the doctor ordered.

nemram

Postby nemram » November 30th, 2009, 11:27 am

timothymcdavid wrote:Make no mistake about it Manning gonna come under some pressure and lip service and impractical ideas ain't gonna work. I think Trinidad should look at alternative energy sources other than hydrocarbons.

Trini got experience building structures at sea and a large exclusive economic zone some wind farms might be just what the doctor ordered.

Actually its more than lip service, there is a Cabinet Appointed Renewable Energy Committee charged with developing the renewable energy sector in TT.

Wind Farms are not as feasible because of the variations in wind speeds across trinidad. Also the scale needed and initial capital cost is not attractive due to low energy costs.

Postby Sky » November 30th, 2009, 11:31 am

Less traffic on the road

No silly. We want to complain all the time and not be part of the solution. The solution must just happen.

timothymcdavid wrote:

Less traffic on the road

If we increase prices to that rate now it will mean the working poor's standard of living will drop drastically and the rich folks read business and land owners who can pass on the cost of anything will not be affected to the same extent.

Make no mistake about it Manning gonna come under some pressure and lip service and impractical ideas ain't gonna work. I think Trinidad should look at alternative energy sources other than hydrocarbons.

You'd think with this logic poor people would be extinct by now eh.

Postby Maserati » November 30th, 2009, 11:35 am

:lol: people will bawl if they have to pay those prices.

Postby Monk BANzai » November 30th, 2009, 11:48 am

evo-STI-k wrote:
Notorious Scullman wrote:

^^^^^^
So do YOU AGREE that trinidad does NOT need to look to alternative GReener sources of Energy?

^^^^
How about NP actually trying to IMPROVE our standard of DIESEL?

Sorry for the long post

^^^ do YOU ever contribute anything positive yet alone educational?

h my bad- now that this waste of money CHOGM is finished you have nothing to do!

FIgures yet again!

CArry on MOD!

eh...fadda....used one lately?

Postby buzz » November 30th, 2009, 11:55 am

Mr scully

seriously (no this isn't a knit pick post, forum troll, looking for e rank type sh1t etc.)

can you educate us more on the gov't's stance on climate change and environmental responsibility.. after all we're all making assumptions on what we are seeing and nothing is being said from the authorities to re-butte this POV

so again honestly (even if in a pm) can you enlighten (at least me) on the issue if you can, a source of info even would be appreciated

timothymcdavid

Postby timothymcdavid » November 30th, 2009, 11:56 am

Nemram get your point but as i indicated wind power is more feasible when the farms are put out at sea since the wind blows harder and at a more constant rate also with Trinidads very limited land mass will make inland farms very unattractive.

Also the technology is still evolving Trini can invest some of those oil dollars and look to develop a new industry one that is sustainable that is also a good benefit to the environment where we can become regional leaders.

Yes it is expensive with a long pay back period compared to hydrocarbons but the benefit of taking Trinidad off that top ten list of carbon producers per capita and replace it with some positive press ... i think might well be worth it and it will show the country is making an actual effort in this a very hot issue right now Trinidad can't afford continued bad press also wind farms are something we can do rather quickly.

Nemram a Cabinet Appointed Renewable Energy Committee is lip service if all they are doing is talking and nothing tangible is being done or realistic alternatives put forward it is a talk shop a cabinet talk shop ... if the best they can come up with is injecting CO2 into the ground ... lets us be kind and say they need to redouble their efforts.

evo-STI-k

Postby evo-STI-k » November 30th, 2009, 12:05 pm

Buzz dotn waste your time.
its just like when I spoke out on how Government wasted money on the SUMMIT - and he came out and stated categorically how those that spoke against the summit did not know what was going on and how it WOULD benefit this county.

And what came of it? besides 750 million dollars down the drain?

And now this WASTE of a CHOGM! exacrtly how are we supposed to benefit? in the end is he not going to Danmark Soon for a Climate meeting?

And then he has the ignorance to say that he does not subscribe to the reults per capita?

nemram

Postby nemram » November 30th, 2009, 12:10 pm

timothymcdavid wrote:Nemram get your point but as i indicated wind power is more feasible when the farms are put out at sea since the wind blows harder and at a more constant rate also with Trinidads very limited land mass will make inland farms very unattractive.

Also the technology is still evolving Trini can invest some of those oil dollars and look to develop a new industry one that is sustainable that is also a good benefit to the environment where we can become regional leaders.

Yes it is expensive with a long pay back period compared to hydrocarbons but the benefit of taking Trinidad off that top ten list of carbon producers per capita and replace it with some positive press ... i think might well be worth it and it will show the country is making an actual effort in this a very hot issue right now Trinidad can't afford continued bad press also wind farms are something we can do rather quickly.

Nemram a Cabinet Appointed Renewable Energy Committee is lip service if all they are doing is talking and nothing tangible is being done or realistic alternatives put forward it is a talk shop a cabinet talk shop ... if the best they can come up with is injecting CO2 into the ground ... lets us be kind and say they need to redouble their efforts.

you see timothymcdavid all these efforts are not feasible as Trinidad is not into carbon trading. If Trinidad and trinidadians were to holistically look at wind farms or any other energy source and get the necessary private sector involvement and funding, trinidad first needs to develop carbon trading. This would make the investment much more viable and increase the IRR of projects with revenue from carbon trading.

evo-STI-k wrote:And now this WASTE of a CHOGM! exacrtly how are we supposed to benefit? in the end is he not going to Danmark Soon for a Climate meeting?

had you attended the business forum and took part in some of the presentations, you would have benefitted from knowing the above, the value of carbon trading and development of renewable energy sector.

Postby RASC » November 30th, 2009, 12:16 pm

Maserati wrote:

:lol: people will bawl if they have to pay those prices.

ZERO subsides for energy, trust we will now see what developed nations go through. You better believe ppl will start using less...saving more energy.

Which one you want, save the planet and cost of living SKYROCKET or progress into a more developed state with normal inflationary levels?

VERY hard to get both at the same time-Pick your poison...

:? Let me hear which ones Trinis gonna pick :arrow:

Yeah allyuh love to talk this green talk, yet you don't realize HOW EXPENSIVE it is :idea: :idea: :idea:

You guys want to save the world, yet pay the same prices you do now-IT DOES NOT WORK LIKE THAT
Last edited by RASC on November 30th, 2009, 12:17 pm, edited 2 times in total.

JoeBama

Postby JoeBama » November 30th, 2009, 12:17 pm

ya'' talking the talk but if all what ya'll taking bout come to pass ya'll will be the first in here bashin ohhh how everything so bommo high.....cause ones rates go up it never come down ps ya'll thinkin about raising the minumum wage also?? cause it done hard already for the masses but i guess some just have the luxury of being on the other side looking in.
Dont get me wrong ya''ll got valid points just its more to the situation!

Postby RASC » November 30th, 2009, 12:19 pm

RASC wrote:
Yeah allyuh love to talk this green talk, yet you don't realize HOW EXPENSIVE it is :idea: :idea: :idea:

You guys want to save the world, yet pay the same prices you do now-IT DOES NOT WORK LIKE THAT

This is all I have to say, and will continue to say for this entire conversation...

Which one of you here are willing to pay for the SIGNIFICANT increase in cost of living as a result of going totally green???

nemram

Postby nemram » November 30th, 2009, 12:21 pm

RASC wrote:
RASC wrote:

This is all I have to say, and will continue to say for this entire conversation...

Which one of you here are willing to pay for the SIGNIFICANT increase in cost of living as a result of going totally green???

NUFF SAID

jhonnieblue

Postby jhonnieblue » November 30th, 2009, 12:25 pm

honeslty ...people does real waste elctricity here
it hav a man renting nexdoor to me..he does leave on every light in the house...and TV and about 3 pc's i sure and half the time he does not be at home
we are a very wasteful society and take a lot of things for granted
but hey
we like it so