timothymcdavid wrote:Hmmm ... i was thinking about this same situation this morning and said let me see what folks saying on 2NR ... I must agree it is a joke but I tend to look on the dark side so here is what i will say.
Judging by the powers that be in this country always choosing the easy way out of any situation they find themselves in ... i think this whole talk about reducing emissions will just end up as another excuse to drop the subsidy on gasoline, diesel and raise electricity rates.
Before i get laughed at and worse yet cuss ... i think Trinidadians need to look around them and take notice ... power and fuel consumption in Trini is ridiculous ... people leaving their lights on whole night running air conditioners whole night ... little use of public transportation there is a car on the road in Trini for every 3 persons in this country as i understand it.
The basic cause of all of this is power and fuel is cheap and plentiful and there is no real motivation to reduce the use ... do you know in Europe diesel costs as much and in some cases even more than regular gasoline.
If Trini's were to pay as much as folks in the UK for fuel your diesel and premium would literally cost 13tt per liter i would tell you right away i was buying a bicycle at them prices. Now factor in about half of that cost is Tax we still with 6tt per liter.
Electricity UK has dual rate off peak and peak correct me if i am wrong but it is 27US cents per kilowatt hour peak and 15US cents per kilowatt hour off peak ... Trini as i understand it is about 4US cents per kilowatt hour.
Now is all well and good to say Trinidad and Tobago hosting climate change talks is a joke. The suggestion put forward by the Prime Minister of injecting CO2 into the ground well isnt really feasible right now for the quantities we will need to inject but lets not make to much noise before the politicians choose the easy way out as usual which will mean licks for the working man as usual and provide the added bonus as providing a distraction to the nonsense that is being done on crime and the economy.
Sorry for the long post
Notorious Scullman wrote:timothymcdavid wrote:Hmmm ... i was thinking about this same situation this morning and said let me see what folks saying on 2NR ... I must agree it is a joke but I tend to look on the dark side so here is what i will say.
Judging by the powers that be in this country always choosing the easy way out of any situation they find themselves in ... i think this whole talk about reducing emissions will just end up as another excuse to drop the subsidy on gasoline, diesel and raise electricity rates.
Before i get laughed at and worse yet cuss ... i think Trinidadians need to look around them and take notice ... power and fuel consumption in Trini is ridiculous ... people leaving their lights on whole night running air conditioners whole night ... little use of public transportation there is a car on the road in Trini for every 3 persons in this country as i understand it.
The basic cause of all of this is power and fuel is cheap and plentiful and there is no real motivation to reduce the use ... do you know in Europe diesel costs as much and in some cases even more than regular gasoline.
^^^^^^
So do YOU AGREE that trinidad does NOT need to look to alternative GReener sources of Energy?
If Trini's were to pay as much as folks in the UK for fuel your diesel and premium would literally cost 13tt per liter i would tell you right away i was buying a bicycle at them prices. Now factor in about half of that cost is Tax we still with 6tt per liter.
^^^^
How about NP actually trying to IMPROVE our standard of DIESEL?
Electricity UK has dual rate off peak and peak correct me if i am wrong but it is 27US cents per kilowatt hour peak and 15US cents per kilowatt hour off peak ... Trini as i understand it is about 4US cents per kilowatt hour.
Now is all well and good to say Trinidad and Tobago hosting climate change talks is a joke. The suggestion put forward by the Prime Minister of injecting CO2 into the ground well isnt really feasible right now for the quantities we will need to inject but lets not make to much noise before the politicians choose the easy way out as usual which will mean licks for the working man as usual and provide the added bonus as providing a distraction to the nonsense that is being done on crime and the economy.
Sorry for the long post
Thanks for trying to shed some light on yet another misinformed post
honda hoe wrote:RASC wrote:So people think it's time for T&T to explore green initiatives? Good stuff...first suggestion...raise FUEL and ENERGY costs to those of the developed world.![]()
Primarily those of Western Europe. I think that's a great start
only if its of the same quality
honda hoe wrote:RASC wrote:So people think it's time for T&T to explore green initiatives? Good stuff...first suggestion...raise FUEL and ENERGY costs to those of the developed world.![]()
only if the standard of living is raised to a level of the same quality
Jonathan wrote:honda hoe wrote:RASC wrote:So people think it's time for T&T to explore green initiatives? Good stuff...first suggestion...raise FUEL and ENERGY costs to those of the developed world.![]()
only if the standard of living is raised to a level of the same quality
Fixed!
RASC wrote:Think about it.
Less load on the power grid=less pollution
Less traffic on the road
Increased productivity as there will be less traffic...ppl will start car pooling as it would become too expensive to drive yourself to work. Again less pollution and congestion.
Less strain on our fresh water supply, ppl will install cost effective shower heads, and use less of their dishwashers as it wil be too expensive to run continuously
I could go on forever, I say increase the prices to western european prices! There will be a drastic drop off on consumption habits, which will lead to a less wasteful soceity.
timothymcdavid wrote:Make no mistake about it Manning gonna come under some pressure and lip service and impractical ideas ain't gonna work. I think Trinidad should look at alternative energy sources other than hydrocarbons.
Trini got experience building structures at sea and a large exclusive economic zone some wind farms might be just what the doctor ordered.
RASC wrote:Think about it.
Less traffic on the road
Increased productivity as there will be less traffic...ppl will start car pooling as it would become too expensive to drive yourself to work. Again less pollution and congestion.
Less strain on our fresh water supply, ppl will install cost effective shower heads, and use less of their dishwashers as it wil be too expensive to run continuously
I could go on forever, I say increase the prices to western european prices! There will be a drastic drop off on consumption habits, which will lead to a less wasteful soceity.
timothymcdavid wrote:RASC wrote:Think about it.
Less traffic on the road
If we increase prices to that rate now it will mean the working poor's standard of living will drop drastically and the rich folks read business and land owners who can pass on the cost of anything will not be affected to the same extent.
Make no mistake about it Manning gonna come under some pressure and lip service and impractical ideas ain't gonna work. I think Trinidad should look at alternative energy sources other than hydrocarbons.
Trini got experience building structures at sea and a large exclusive economic zone some wind farms might be just what the doctor ordered.
evo-STI-k wrote:Notorious Scullman wrote:timothymcdavid wrote:Hmmm ... i was thinking about this same situation this morning and said let me see what folks saying on 2NR ... I must agree it is a joke but I tend to look on the dark side so here is what i will say.
^^^^^^
So do YOU AGREE that trinidad does NOT need to look to alternative GReener sources of Energy?
^^^^
How about NP actually trying to IMPROVE our standard of DIESEL?
Sorry for the long post
Thanks for trying to shed some light on yet another misinformed post
^^^ do YOU ever contribute anything positive yet alone educational?
h my bad- now that this waste of money CHOGM is finished you have nothing to do!
FIgures yet again!
CArry on MOD!
timothymcdavid wrote:Nemram get your point but as i indicated wind power is more feasible when the farms are put out at sea since the wind blows harder and at a more constant rate also with Trinidads very limited land mass will make inland farms very unattractive.
Also the technology is still evolving Trini can invest some of those oil dollars and look to develop a new industry one that is sustainable that is also a good benefit to the environment where we can become regional leaders.
Yes it is expensive with a long pay back period compared to hydrocarbons but the benefit of taking Trinidad off that top ten list of carbon producers per capita and replace it with some positive press ... i think might well be worth it and it will show the country is making an actual effort in this a very hot issue right now Trinidad can't afford continued bad press also wind farms are something we can do rather quickly.
Nemram a Cabinet Appointed Renewable Energy Committee is lip service if all they are doing is talking and nothing tangible is being done or realistic alternatives put forward it is a talk shop a cabinet talk shop ... if the best they can come up with is injecting CO2 into the ground ... lets us be kind and say they need to redouble their efforts.
evo-STI-k wrote:And now this WASTE of a CHOGM! exacrtly how are we supposed to benefit? in the end is he not going to Danmark Soon for a Climate meeting?
Maserati wrote:RASC wrote:So people think it's time for T&T to explore green initiatives? Good stuff...first suggestion...raise FUEL and ENERGY costs to those of the developed world.![]()
people will bawl if they have to pay those prices.
RASC wrote:
Yeah allyuh love to talk this green talk, yet you don't realize HOW EXPENSIVE it is![]()
You guys want to save the world, yet pay the same prices you do now-IT DOES NOT WORK LIKE THAT
RASC wrote:RASC wrote:
Yeah allyuh love to talk this green talk, yet you don't realize HOW EXPENSIVE it is![]()
You guys want to save the world, yet pay the same prices you do now-IT DOES NOT WORK LIKE THAT
This is all I have to say, and will continue to say for this entire conversation...
Which one of you here are willing to pay for the SIGNIFICANT increase in cost of living as a result of going totally green???