Facking Brilliant... Elderly doctor kills teen robber

Postby janfar » December 20th, 2009, 6:25 am

AN 89-year-old doctor shot and killed one of two bandits who broke into his Fort George home yesterday.

The 18-year-old bandit, Jamal Roper, sustained a single shot to his neck and died during a failed attempt to escape the elderly doctor, police said.

Western Division officers have launched a manhunt for the bandit’s accomplice.

Dr Ralph Hoyte sat down with the Sunday Express just after 4 p.m. yesterday to relive the extraordinary tale.

Hoyte’s calmness as he recounted the incident, which had only occurred mere hours before, was most striking.

The incident took place shortly after 8 a.m. while Hoyte was still in bed.

Two men broke down the door to his bedroom and tied Hoyte up with duct tape.

’Where the money, where the money?’ the bandits screamed at him, Hoyte said.

The men tried to cover his face with a pillow.

In the process of tying up Hoyte, one of the bandits rested his pistol on the bed. The men turned to ransack the bedroom.

’I struggled with the tape around my hands and loosened it a little bit enough to seize the gun,’ Hoyte said. With the gun in his hands, Hoyte fired a single shot at the men.

The bandits fled from the bedroom.

’One man ran down the stairs and turned left and the other man ran down the stairs and turned right, but he could not get out of the house that way,’ Hoyte said.

With his hands and feet still taped, Hoyte shuffled out of his bedroom with the gun still in his hands.

’Coming out of the bedroom with the gun, I fell, letting go the weapon,’ he said. The gun tumbled down the staircase, and the bandit who was still inside the house, because he had turned right, grabbed the gun and then ran outside.

Hoyte said he believed that was the end of the ordeal.

’They (relatives who also live with him) called an ambulance, but I told them I was not hurt and it was not necessary for the ambulance to come,’ he said.

The relatives also called the St James Police Station. It was when the officers arrived at Hoyte’s home that they saw a man lying dead in the driveway. The officers recovered a homemade shotgun.

Investigators also said two cellphones and a digital camera which were stolen from Hoyte’s home were found inside the dead man’s pants pockets.

Hoyte received minor injuries to his right hand and twisted his left ankle.

’I was able to stay calm because after operating surgeries for over a half a century, I have grown accustomed to blood and death,’ Hoyte said.

’I didn’t even get a chance to buy the newspapers and read about all the crime,’ he said about the early-morning attack.

Hoyte’s wife, Dr Wilma Hoyte, died of natural causes on December 31 last year.

He has three children and four grandchildren.

The escaped bandit was seen running north along the Fort George Road with gun in hand after the incident. Investigations are continuing.

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/index.pl ... =161572274

This man deserves Chaconia Platinum.

team 394

Postby team 394 » December 20th, 2009, 6:35 am

:elephant:

Sequel

Postby Sequel » December 20th, 2009, 7:26 am

They should really give that man a medal though.

biggy82

Postby biggy82 » December 20th, 2009, 7:38 am

facking brilliant is right....KABFAST ftw :mrgreen:

megadoc1

Postby megadoc1 » December 20th, 2009, 8:20 am

In the process of tying up Hoyte, one of the bandits rested his pistol on the bed. The men turned to ransack the bedroom.

’I struggled with the tape around my hands and loosened it a little bit enough to seize the gun,’ Hoyte said. With the gun in his hands, Hoyte fired a single shot at the men.

The bandits fled from the bedroom.

’One man ran down the stairs and turned left and the other man ran down the stairs and turned right, but he could not get out of the house that way,’ Hoyte said.

With his hands and feet still taped, Hoyte shuffled out of his bedroom with the gun still in his hands.

’Coming out of the bedroom with the gun, I fell, letting go the weapon,’ he said. The gun tumbled down the staircase, and the bandit who was still inside the house, because he had turned right, grabbed the gun and then ran outside.

Hoyte said he believed that was the end of the ordeal.
lol har har har :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

neoise

Postby neoise » December 20th, 2009, 8:28 am

splendid :mrgreen:

rossi

Re: Facking Brilliant... Elderly doctor kills teen robber

Postby rossi » December 20th, 2009, 8:51 am

janfar wrote: ’I was able to stay calm because after operating surgeries for over a half a century, I have grown accustomed to blood and death,’ Hoyte said.

amazing. we need more like him.

Postby UML » December 20th, 2009, 9:04 am

niceeeeeeee....kill dem!!!

Postby Gem_in_i » December 20th, 2009, 9:06 am

:twisted: :twisted:

Postby RASC » December 20th, 2009, 9:24 am

Great Start to the Sunday!

JoKeR1980

Postby JoKeR1980 » December 20th, 2009, 9:29 am

I wonder where exactly in Fort George he lives...thats where I am!

well done! I gonna do some neighbourly investiquiring!

Postby Damien » December 20th, 2009, 9:51 am

good work gramps

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » December 20th, 2009, 9:57 am

Good work Dr. Hoyte! and 89 years old too eh.
These bandits are preying on the weak and/or elderly this season.

worksux101

Postby worksux101 » December 20th, 2009, 10:04 am

my role model

Specracing

Postby Specracing » December 20th, 2009, 11:13 am

Doc should have emptied the clip on the mc...fecking clowns

minipresident

Postby minipresident » December 20th, 2009, 11:37 am

Hmmm...

i love gramps story!!!

could it be that gragps had ah 'PIECE' cheaply bought at your neighbourhood parlour; (since it hard to get a gun licence from gov't) just in case he needed to protect himself?

ah mean it lil fishy!
"the bandit rest down he gun" Then gramps 'slip & fall' and lost the gun to the bandit...
did gramps have a gun waiting?

Dead man tell no tale and dude that get away ain't going to come now and say "he eh use my gun to shoot meh padna,...he had he own"

...^ JUS SAYING ^...

You Are Quite The Mentor gramps!!!

GOOD WORK!

Captainzaak

Postby Captainzaak » December 20th, 2009, 12:03 pm

Kudos to gramps :D

Postby ..77. » December 20th, 2009, 12:08 pm

This guy should be working for the police ..77.

Postby pugboy » December 20th, 2009, 12:11 pm

where the response from neighbourhood friends/relatives "he was a good boy"
"he helping support his family"

shady23

Postby shady23 » December 20th, 2009, 12:12 pm

:pwned:

NY_Trini

Postby NY_Trini » December 20th, 2009, 12:19 pm

minipresident wrote:Hmmm...

i love gramps story!!!

could it be that gragps had ah 'PIECE' cheaply bought at your neighbourhood parlour; (since it hard to get a gun licence from gov't) just in case he needed to protect himself?

ah mean it lil fishy!
"the bandit rest down he gun" Then gramps 'slip & fall' and lost the gun to the bandit...
did gramps have a gun waiting?

Dead man tell no tale and dude that get away ain't going to come now and say "he eh use my gun to shoot meh padna,...he had he own"

...^ JUS SAYING ^...

You Are Quite The Mentor gramps!!!

GOOD WORK!
was now thinkin this same ting...

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » December 20th, 2009, 12:21 pm

heard it yesterday

he lucky d other bandit didnt come back up for him when d gun fell down d stairs

gr8 going gramps ! ... :D :D :D :D :D :D :D

Bacon

Postby Bacon » December 20th, 2009, 12:22 pm

Bogoooooooooooon!!!!!!!! :twisted:

1 facking less :drama:

eurotuner

Postby eurotuner » December 20th, 2009, 12:31 pm

yayyyyyyyyyyyyyy :elephant: :elephant: :elephant: :elephant: :elephant: :elephant: :elephant: :elephant:

ray_S.T.R.A_man

Postby ray_S.T.R.A_man » December 20th, 2009, 1:35 pm

well done gramps. one less bandit in the country :)

ek4ever

Postby ek4ever » December 20th, 2009, 2:58 pm

well done....is just to kill them fackers ....no court...no trial

Postby buzz » December 20th, 2009, 3:20 pm

shady23 wrote::rofl:

:pwned:

:arrow:

Postby Morpheus » December 20th, 2009, 3:30 pm

Sad that a life is lost. But...........we eh send him there!!

A$$

All the best Gramps............

Postby foss » December 20th, 2009, 3:32 pm

:wiggle: this story raised my pause :|

Postby buzz » December 20th, 2009, 3:34 pm

[img::]http://www.tiresias.org/images/pause.jpg[/img]