High paying jobs in TT

Postby Chimera » February 24th, 2010, 7:29 pm

AbstractPoetic wrote:
ABA Trading LTD wrote:
RASC wrote:-Alot of people in the Engineering, Manufacturing and/or highly specialized manual labor fields are watching these salaries and laughing their butts off as they make way more than this :lol:

Boss..I know men who does sell Dvds on chaguanas main road making $3000 a day

:roll: :roll: :roll:

Seasonal at best. Does that profession come with insurance? retirement accounts with company match? stock options? paid vacations and holidays? What would that individual have to fall back on if competition around the block are offering similar product for half the price?

Job security has little to do with how much one can make per day/month/year. If speaking long-term, such profession is less reliable than a position requiring professional degrees where the market is not as niche.

I was just stating how much the Dvds salesmen make in response to RASC saying how much business men making.

Don`t roll your eyes at me your glorified coffee girl.

Sumana.00

Postby Sumana.00 » February 24th, 2010, 7:30 pm

ABA Trading LTD wrote:
RASC wrote:-Alot of people in the Engineering, Manufacturing and/or highly specialized manual labor fields are watching these salaries and laughing their butts off as they make way more than this :lol:

hahaha i know who dat is!!

AbstractPoetic

Postby AbstractPoetic » February 24th, 2010, 7:30 pm

ABA Trading LTD wrote:
AbstractPoetic wrote:
ABA Trading LTD wrote:

Seasonal at best. Does that profession come with insurance? retirement accounts with company match? stock options? paid vacations and holidays? What would that individual have to fall back on if competition around the block are offering similar product for half the price?

Job security has little to do with how much one can make per day/month/year. If speaking long-term, such profession is less reliable than a position requiring professional degrees where the market is not as niche.

I was just stating how much the Dvds salesmen make in response to RASC saying how much business men making.

Don`t roll your eyes at me your glorified coffee girl.

Keep thinking I'm still a coffee girl. Go right ahead. :lol:

Postby Chimera » February 24th, 2010, 7:34 pm

AbstractPoetic wrote:
ABA Trading LTD wrote:
AbstractPoetic wrote:[quote="ABA Trading LTD"][quote="RASC"]-Alot of people in the Engineering, Manufacturing and/or highly specialized manual labor fields are watching these salaries and laughing their butts off as they make way more than this :lol:

Don`t roll your eyes at me your glorified coffee girl.[/quote]

Keep thinking I'm still a coffee girl. Go right ahead. :lol:[/quote]

Postby Sky » February 24th, 2010, 7:47 pm

AbstractPoetic, with regards to those people:
Job security is what you make it
Pension plans are what you make it
Vacations...lol you could allply this morning for 2 months starting today :lol:
You are your own boss.
And running those stands can easily land you the debt free (and did I mention tax free >_>) capital you can put to better use.

Those ARE legit occupations. You don't need a degree and suit to make money.
And from my experience, those people make better characters.
Not the dvd men eh, I mean people who make their own cheddar their way on the whole.

ebonysweetness69

Postby ebonysweetness69 » February 24th, 2010, 7:56 pm

Rooki3 wrote:tell him apply to the Board of inland Revenue, they hiring Clerk 1's

how can i apply?

AbstractPoetic

Postby AbstractPoetic » February 24th, 2010, 8:05 pm

Sky wrote:AbstractPoetic, with regards to those people:
Job security is what you make it
Pension plans are what you make it
Vacations...lol you could allply this morning for 2 months starting today :lol:
You are your own boss.
And running those stands can easily land you the debt free (and did I mention tax free >_>) capital you can put to better use.

Those ARE legit occupations. You don't need a degree and suit to make money.
And from my experience, those people make better characters.
Not the dvd men eh, I mean people who make their own cheddar their way on the whole.

I never stated you NEED a degree and suit to make money, but they certainly are valuable given today's job market even if to help better advance/market your name/company/niche.

Anyone knows that a law degree, business degree, medical degree or whatever the professional degree is only part of achieving that success. It lays the foundation and opens doors that may not be all that accessible to those without it. It provides social networking opportunities and settings with partners, VPs, CEOs, CFOs and other big names in your specified industry that you would not have met or entertain discussion with if not part of that fold.

It is often in the halls and classrooms of the selective higher learning institutes where business partnerships are made and names/business contacts are exchanged that does matter 5, 10 or 15 years down the line during the course of your career.

To be provided with such opportunity is invaluable and makes the path to success, whatever one's individual definition of such, that much easier.

Postby Rooki3 » February 24th, 2010, 8:09 pm

DVD man don't have tuition fees to pay
He can easily take out a retirement plan @ sagicor, tatil etc.

you'll be amazed @ the kind of $$ these MoFo's make, especially the little they have to spend in regard to expenditure!

I personally know DVD men who buying brand new SUV's cash, while i was ketching me skunt to get a loan for mines :x

Postby Chimera » February 24th, 2010, 8:11 pm

the Dvd baron of chaguanas collecting upwards of 50 grand a day eh...

Because it's him , that the men on the street have to buy from.

One of them offered me 600 dvds (with movies on them and casings) for $250...just because he lazy...

Postby Redman » February 24th, 2010, 8:13 pm

RASC wrote:Two things are somewhat interesting in this thread:

1. You guys seem to be by passing one important fact here. This youth went to WHARTON...which by all purposes runs neck to neck with the Harvard's, Stanford's, Oxford's & London School of Economics of the world.

They are the most wanted graduates the Globally, and also the highest earners...I highly doubt any trained financial team in T&T is that naive to watch his credentials and just say "Meh, hole ah 12k ah month"-come on that's a bit brutal. Regardless of how many years experience he has.

2. Also on a lighter note-Alot of people in the Engineering, Manufacturing and/or highly specialized manual labor fields are watching these salaries and laughing their butts off as they make way more than this :lol:

So did plenty people from Lehman Bros,AIG,Merril Lynch and a host of other companies.
This aint normal times and there is a GLUT -AND unemployment is way north of 15%.
THAT sector is bawling.
It Tdad I know agents that made 1,000,000 TT in 2008.Yes its a CLICO agent. So there is an ebb and flow that will always be playing off.

And talent follows the money.

Later

AbstractPoetic

Postby AbstractPoetic » February 24th, 2010, 8:15 pm

I'll also like to add that while the hardworking doubles man, salesman, farmer or entrepreneur and other customer service sectors can (and do) make a good salary within their specified markets, he/she is much more limited in earning potential to that of someone with a degree whose markets and earning potentials are often not limited to one corner street, one neighborhood, or one country/island.

Of course, there are some exceptions, but those are few and far between.

Postby Redman » February 24th, 2010, 8:17 pm

geodude wrote:it does't matter if its relative,

we scientist and engineers are the back bone of most industires and yet its all these paper pushing accoutants and middle managers that get all the credit for our hard work,
And all those ppl that work in the bank that feel them so smart when they was in school with you and yet they working for 1/5 my salary, and the frigging accountats in the office that feel we work for them.

screw all ah them , we run things, without us field personel you itches would't even have jobs!!!!!!!!!!

i know this have nothing to do with the topic but i have issues :D
thank you trini tuner for allowing me this rant.

LOL
Like geodude waiting since primary school to get that off he chest
Tell dem!!!!!

I uh get a 3 in Chem.

Later

AbstractPoetic

Postby AbstractPoetic » February 24th, 2010, 8:18 pm

Rooki3 wrote:DVD man don't have tuition fees to pay
He can easily take out a retirement plan @ sagicor, tatil etc.

you'll be amazed @ the kind of $$ these MoFo's make, especially the little they have to spend in regard to expenditure!

I personally know DVD men who buying brand new SUV's cash, while i was ketching me skunt to get a loan for mines :x

So why aren't there more DVD men around (ie pirating)? In fact, why haven't you entered the world of pirating?

Postby Rooki3 » February 24th, 2010, 8:22 pm

So why aren't there more DVD men around (ie pirating)?

because they have mis conceptions likeAbstractPoetic,

In fact, why haven't you entered the world of pirating

I hate hot sun :roll: :roll:

AbstractPoetic

Postby AbstractPoetic » February 24th, 2010, 8:27 pm

Rooki3 wrote:

Piracy is illegal in Trinidad and Tobago.

Postby Chimera » February 24th, 2010, 8:31 pm

AbstractPoetic wrote:
Rooki3 wrote:

Actually those guys are just selling printed dvd casings, with free dvds inside.

Postby Rooki3 » February 24th, 2010, 8:31 pm

^^ no sheit sherlock

who said otherwise :?

MonsterPower

Postby MonsterPower » February 24th, 2010, 8:31 pm

tell him come back and find a decent high traffic area and open up a burger and hot dog stand.. low over head and high turnover will yeild a great profit .. ahotdog makes about 200% profit at least

u can clear $1500 a day easily

as with all jobs u have to be prepared to work hard and the dividends will be great .

Postby Sky » February 24th, 2010, 8:34 pm

When last you was in T'dad?
The amount of cart pirates I see when I'm walking.

AbstractPoetic

Postby AbstractPoetic » February 24th, 2010, 8:39 pm

Sky wrote:When last you was in T'dad?
The amount of cart pirates I see when I'm walking.

Are you speaking to me?

I was there recently and know how popular piracy is in TT. Either way, that does not make it OK and eventually there will be a crackdown.

Bye Bye 3kTT-50kTT/day.

Secured job, indeed. :roll:

blizZard

Postby blizZard » February 24th, 2010, 8:44 pm

Conrad wrote:
blizZard wrote:i kno ppl working in the bank...who have more yrs experience together with acca and an mba....making around 9k - 12k

You know the wrong people :lol:

Yup i really feel so!

i kno ppl who just have cxc and working for 15k up too...

Postby Sky » February 24th, 2010, 8:44 pm

1st, I never said the jobs were secure. I said you can get capital to move onto better things.

It have no second nah. Since the beginning of time there were hustlers. And your opinion can't stop them.

AbstractPoetic

Postby AbstractPoetic » February 24th, 2010, 9:01 pm

Sky wrote:1st, I never said the jobs were secure. I said you can get capital to move onto better things.

It have no second nah. Since the beginning of time there were hustlers. And your opinion can't stop them.

I wonder if the majority of those hustlers live in gated communities or have maids in their gated homes?

I wonder if the majority send their children to McGill, McMaster, Queens Mary and Oxford?

I wonder if the majority have shares in major conglomerates within and outside the Caribbean or do they prefer to stuff their earnings in brassieres and under mattresses?

I wonder if all they have to show of their hard earnings is the squandering on fancy cars, bling jewelry and material possessions ?

I wonder?

Success is a mindset. Though quantifiably attainable it is often less maintainable by the mind/vision/goal that can only see so far ahead.

Postby Chimera » February 24th, 2010, 9:04 pm

AbstractPoetic wrote:
Sky wrote:1st, I never said the jobs were secure. I said you can get capital to move onto better things.

I wonder if the majority of those hustlers live in gated communities or have maids in their gated homes?

I wonder if the majority send their children to McGill, McMaster, Queens Mary and Oxford?

I wonder if the majority have shares in major conglomerates within and outside the Caribbean or do they prefer to stuff their earnings in brassieres and under mattresses?

I wonder if all they have to show of their hard earnings is the squandering on fancy cars, bling jewelry and material possessions ?

I wonder?

Success is a mindset. Though quantifiably attainable it is often less maintainable by the mind/vision/goal that can only see so far ahead.

I wonder if you have any of those things
or you so called "significant other"

AbstractPoetic

Postby AbstractPoetic » February 24th, 2010, 9:08 pm

ABA Trading LTD wrote:
AbstractPoetic wrote:

I wonder?

Perhaps your focus shouldn't be on me and my life but that of your own.

No need to place the "significant other" in quotation marks. He does exist and certainly has attained all of the above and then some. :D :D :D

Postby r3iXmann » February 24th, 2010, 9:10 pm

hey AbstractPoetic :oops:

Postby Chimera » February 24th, 2010, 9:10 pm

AbstractPoetic wrote:
ABA Trading LTD wrote:
AbstractPoetic wrote:

I wonder?

Perhaps your focus shouldn't be on me and my life but that of your own.

No need to place the "significant other" in quotation marks. He does exist and certainly has attained all of the above and then some. :D :D :D

but your life sounds oh so interesting.

Terran

Postby Terran » February 24th, 2010, 9:11 pm

AbstractPoetic wrote:
Rooki3 wrote:

It's SUPPOSED to be illegal.

And to hell with all the advice and beliefs in this thread. Manning is a qualified geologist. And just take a look at how he lives, where he lives, and what he is doing to enjoy - not earn - that standard of living.

But on a serious note, I believe at best that with 3 years experience, this person would not fetch more than $30K per month - maximum. Perhaps within 2 years of pulling strings and panties, and fooling all the people all the time, that can easily double to quadruple.

Smokey

Postby Smokey » February 24th, 2010, 9:13 pm

AbstractPoetic wrote:
Rooki3 wrote:

what a month?
or a year?

a year, of course.

Though, something like 250kTT/month is definitely attainable with senior experience, though, you will more than likely be looking at places like TCI, Caymans, Bermuda, Jersey, Channel Islands etc. . :D

There are quite a number of Trinidadian nationals working in such territories. Their lives are beyond sweet.

AP with jus over 4 years experience,

I make about TT 400K a year (that is before tax and with bonus and monetary benefits) and while I can live a very comfortable lifestyle it is still not enough to have a decent lifestyle in Trini.

I can't afford a home costing more than 1M TT and tell what kind of place does 1M buy rite now? Nothing worth buying.

Postby Chimera » February 24th, 2010, 9:18 pm

Smokey wrote:
AbstractPoetic wrote:
Rooki3 wrote:

what a month?
or a year?

a year, of course.

Though, something like 250kTT/month is definitely attainable with senior experience, though, you will more than likely be looking at places like TCI, Caymans, Bermuda, Jersey, Channel Islands etc. . :D

There are quite a number of Trinidadian nationals working in such territories. Their lives are beyond sweet.

AP with jus over 4 years experience,

I make about TT 400K a year (that is before tax and with bonus and monetary benefits) and while I can live a very comfortable lifestyle it is still not enough to have a decent lifestyle in Trini.

I can't afford a home costing more than 1M TT and tell what kind of place does 1M buy rite now? Nothing worth buying.

*adds smokey to last resort kidnap list*