droppa wrote:Trinitrain holding consultations this evening in City Hall POS, tomorrow in Centre Pointe Mall,Chag and Thur in Centre of Excellence, Macoya, with residents to discuss matters pertaining to getting CEC from EMA![]()
Going City Hall jus now and see wat really going on.....
Dutty_S wrote:Any1 has a picture/map of the proposed path of the rail ???
I heard it was in the Express a few wks a back...
Kinda interested to see where it passes, esp if it goes anywhere near UWI...
shaneelal wrote:Dutty_S wrote:Any1 has a picture/map of the proposed path of the rail ???
I heard it was in the Express a few wks a back...
Kinda interested to see where it passes, esp if it goes anywhere near UWI...
Look at the fact sheet from the link posted by originalbling-
http://www.trinitrain.co.tt/uploads/Factsheet.pdf
[quote]sMASH wrote:why dont we get ethanol buses and grow the sugar cane or corn to make the ethanol with
..ok up to here. or we make more electricity and get electric buses
more electricity could be used to power the desal plants that UNC wanted to build.
electricity is a very efficient way of transporting energycan any one imagine how long and how much more energy a train with a load of 150 passengers will have to use to accelerate to its proper speed and how long it will take for it to come to a stop? imagine while it accelerating it start to slow back down to stop at the next stop. then wait till the people get on and off, and then start back to move again. then it reach cruising speed and start back to slow down again.at least with buses u can have separate long distance buses and short stop buses, to make the most economical, efficient, and ecological mix.
if u say the train goin to be only long distance, can u justify spending billions of dollars for just arima and grande persons to travel for 3 hours in the morning and 3 hours in the after noon?
Any mass transport decision is a long term investment and the cost must be compared with man hour loss/gain , vehicle maintenance , road use and maintenance cost among other cost that can be derived scientifically and imputedif u spend that money on the bus route and have police officers charging the non-bus route users, whether u goin long or short u could have ur necessary speed. plus u could take the same buses in off peak hours and use them for different routes,,, does the billion dollar have that flexibility?
If you have to get an estimated 400-600 thousand people to Port of Spain between 6:30 and 9 am and out again between 3pm and 7pm how many busses running on average every 5 minutes minimum would it take to get and greater percentage of those persons to and from Port of Spain in that window
Lets see even with an average of 60 persons per bus that is
one bus arriving every five minutes to Port of Spain brings 720 persons to Port of Spain in an hour , now with an effective window is 2.5 hours or so, with a bus arriving every five minutes "buses" can bring a maximum of 1800 persons to Port of Spain every minute is 3600 persons per hour , every 30 seconds its 7200 per our , you factor in what quantity can be "buses" can meet an conservative target of 150-200 thousand persons or at least 50,000 persons every hour
imagine if it suffer an electrical malfunction, not unlike the mansion on its inauguration, 150 or however many persons, goin to be stuck in traffic. what they goin to do, travel in maxi an bus and taxi.imagine if a tree fall down on the train line
imagine if a t&tec pole fall down,
imagine if the ground the pave for the train rail start to give and it bumpin and bump off the rail
imagine if u in a maxi of bus instead and the driver takes another route to avoid the tree, the pole and he could pass around the pot hole
for that amount of money being spent, u could develop other things which could return so much more value
plus, we spend out all the money behind summit and tall building and when the last remaining farm lands get pile drive, how de fcak we buyin food? or rather what price we goin to have to pay?